Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Ski Chalet with Hot Tub, Gameroom and Wifi, Sleeps up to 10

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 7-10)

Looking for a spot for your family getaway or group trip? Mt Baker is it! In the summer, enjoy world-class hiking and biking in the mountains. In the winter, experience the legendary Mt Baker powder on skis, snowboard, snowshoes, or sleds!

Mt Baker Ski Area is only two hours from Vancouver or Seattle, and it’s a great alternative to Whistler, with loads of snow, challenging terrain, cheaper lift tickets ($52/adult) and a relaxed spirit.

Don't you hate when you're on holiday and have to check out Sunday by 11:00 AM? We offer a 6:00 pm check-out for weekend stays at no additional cost. Enjoy an extra day in the mountains!

About our chalet …

This is one of the nicest cabins available for rent at Mt Baker – wood floors, leather sofa, modern furniture, new linens, and a spacious kitchen with stainless appliances.

We now offer wifi and free long distance phone calls within the USA. (Sorry, still no cell service.)

Our house is KID FRIENDLY and has a separate basement playroom and living/dining room so you and your kids aren't right on top of each other. There is sleeping for 7-10 comfortably.

Our Chalet is only three years old and has:

- New hot tub on our private back patio

- Ping pong, air hockey, and foosball tables

- Two large decks with patio furniture and outdoor dining

- New Weber Q barbecue

- Calphalon cookware and stainless steel appliances

- 2 iPod compatible stereos – easy to bring your own music!

- TV with a DVD player, VCR & movies on site (but no cable/satellite)

- Xbox with Kinect and video games

- Toys for kids to play with

- Large kitchen with dishwasher

- New 600 thread count sheets, pillows & comforters on most beds

- Propane stove fireplace

- Washer & dryer

- 3 full bathrooms

- Over 1800 sf

On the bottom floor, we have a large garage rec room with air hockey and ping pong and space to stash your wet gear; a large indoor rec room with foosball, the TV area, and one queen futon and one double futon; and a bathroom.

On the second floor, we have a living room, eating area, and large kitchen, along with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The master bedroom has a queen-sized bed, and the second bedroom has 3 twin-sized beds, including a bunkbed.

The third floor loft bedroom has a king-sized bed.

SPECIALS

We do offer a special rate for 4-night weekend stays and 3-plus-night midweek stays. We are not able to load these into the VRBO system, but just ask! Also, we only have a 2-night minimum for midweek stays during ski season, but we can't load that into the system either. Just ask!

We accept credit cards via PayPal.

Please note: Rates during Christmas and New Year's holidays are $300/night, 3-night minimum.

Keywords: ski chalet, ski cabin, retreat, family reunion, getaway, mountains, Mt Baker, Glacier

More Details

Owner
Kathryn Sorrells
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2018

About Kathryn Sorrells

We are a family that lives in Vancouver, B.C. We've been skiing Mt Baker for 12 years, and love this area!

Kathryn Sorrells purchased this chalet in 2007

What makes this chalet unique

We enjoy the cabin ourselves often, so we try to have a well-stocked kitchen (which we use ourselves often) and lots of fun things for our/your kids to do. Another thing that sets us apart is our 6:00 pm check-out on the weekends!

Amenities

Glacier Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master bedroom - 1 queen , with en suite bathroom
    Kids bedroom - 3 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , 1 bunkbed plus one extra twin
    Loft bedroom - 1 king
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 sleep sofa /futon , in rec room in basement
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
17% Complete
6% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Ski Chalet with Hot Tub, Gameroom and Wifi, Sleeps up to 10
average rating of 4.630435 based on 46 reviews
5

Very nice place for this price

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay at this cabin. Kids loved all the toys, movies, and riding bikes in the couldesack without cars passing by. Nice clean place with enough of everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location and space, but has room for improvement

  • 3 of 5

The good: The house is in a great location for skiing and outdoor activities near Mount Baker and not far from Bellingham, the surroundings are beautiful, the home has lots of space, including a large recreation room for storing equipment and playing ping pong.

The opportunities for growth: When we arrived, a smoke detector was missing and the other one was beeping due to dead batteries -- we ended up not having a working smoke detector in the house. There was also mold in shower of the main bathroom, the dishwasher was full of dishes when we arrived, and the silverware in the drawers were dirty. The outdoor space could also be maintained better; the door to the porch was difficult to lock and the deck stain (paint) was completely peeled and chipped.

Overall, the place is great for a large group to do outdoor activities, but should be maintained better.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Thoroughly enjoyable

  • 4 of 5

Ticked all the boxes for a relaxing weekend away with friends

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, OR
3

Cute vacation house but needs some love

  • 3 of 5

House was as expected and had basic necessities but the hot tub did not seem like it was cleaned from the previous people staying there. The deck was slanted, making the hot tub slanted as well. The propane fireplace also looked like it had not been cleaned in a while due to the black char on the outside of the house. It would also have been nice to have a few more amenities to make it feel homey such as mood lighting, furniture and rugs. The washer also sounds like something is broken in it. All in all a good stay but lacks certain necessities that come with renting a vacation house.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great stay at a great chalet

  • 4 of 5

My group and I enjoyed staying at this location and had a wonderful time at this chalet. The place is fantastic for spending time in a group which needs a big kitchen and a big living space for board games and other activities. Considering the density of the surrounding community I was surprised by the privacy that this property offered as it was a comfortable distance from other residences. The location is beautiful and the chalet is perfectly cozy with its gas fireplace and hot tub.

The only reason for 4 stars was that we found the place to be slightly under-prepared for power outages. During our stay, an ice storm knocked out the power for roughly 36 hours which required us to make a trip one afternoon to pick up lanterns and candles for our evening's cooking and entertainment.

Other than that, the place was fantastic.

Thank you Kathryn and Brett!

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, David, Thanks for your positive review - and for the feedback about power outages. We have gone back and forth about what to do about occasional (although somewhat more frequent this year!) power outages. We used to stock the cabin with flashlights, but they all disappeared. We don't really want to stock the cabin with candles, since they have a high risk of fire, especially when combined with alcohol. But thank you for the feedback and we will discuss it again. Thanks!, Kathryn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was very nice

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful home and kitchen was fully stocked. Beds were comfortable. Warm and clean.

Just a couple of issues:

The fainting couch in the living room needs to be replaced, totally broken down.

The lights went out for 4 hours, I hear this happens often so bring candles.

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Priscilla, for the positive review! Thanks for letting us know about the "fainting couch" or chaise lounge. We had already ordered a replacement before your stay, but it had not yet arrived. It did arrive later in December. THanks!, Kathryn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300

Please note: we have a 3-night minimum stay on holiday weekends and ski season weekends.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.