Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanview, Steps to the Beach, Private Pool, Elevator, Great Location!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Space 4,041 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, Sleeps 14

12 Whelk Street, located on Bradley Beach is a luxurious 5 bedroom, 5 bathroom ocean view house just 145 feet to the beach! This beautiful 3 story home has an open concept first level perfect for entertaining and coming together after a long day at the beach. This house also has ten balconies, an elevator, a private pool, an outdoor dining area and a propane grill for your convenience.

ENJOY FREE ACTIVITIES ON US! When you stay with Vacation Homes of Hilton Head, you will receive 1 free round of golf, 1 free round of mini-golf and 1 free dolphin cruise (March-October) every single day of your stay (Valid on 3-7 night reservations; offer expires daily)!

12 Whelk Street, Hilton Head, SC

First Floor: Kitchen Area (Bar seating for two), Living Area (Sleeper Sofa), Dining Area (Seating for ten), Two Balconies, TV

Bedroom 1: First Floor, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Shared, Walk-in Shower), Balcony (Private)

Second Floor: Two Bedrooms, Laundry Room (HE Washer/Dryer, Iron/Board)

Bedroom 2: Second Floor, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in Shower), Balcony (Private)

Bedroom 3: Second Floor, Master, King Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in shower, Jacuzzi Tub), Balconies (2-Private)

Bedroom 4: Third Floor, Twin/ Full Bunk Bed with Twin Trundle Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in shower), Balcony (Private)

Bedroom 5: Third Floor, Master, Queen Bed, TV, Bath (Walk-in shower, Jacuzzi Tub), Balconies (2-Private)

Ground Level: Two Car Garage (Total Parking: 4 Cars), Foosball Table, Elevator (30” by 36”), Entrance to Pool (Unheated- 20' by 8’), Gas Grill (Propane Included), Lounge Chairs and Seating.

IMPORTANT: Ongoing construction next to this home will begin December 2016 and continue on until September 2017.* The prices have been reduced to take this into consideration. Construction does interfere with ocean view advertised in photos.

To secure a reservation, we require a 50% deposit upfront and the balance payment due thirty days prior to arrival via *E-Check (*domestic accounts only) or Visa, Master, Discover or American Express card.

More Details

Property Manager
Vacation Homes of Hilton Head
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, french
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

Amenities

Hilton Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 4041 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • 1 King bed, 3 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 1 Full bed
Entertainment:
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

21% Complete
34% Complete
21% Complete
13% Complete
8% Complete
Oceanview, Steps to the Beach, Private Pool, Elevator, Great Location!
average rating of 3.4782608 based on 23 reviews
1

Construction sound and view all day long

  • 1 of 5

Please, if you are looking to rent this property while construction is happening - DON'T! I believe this property shouldn't be for lease during the massive construction that is happening right next door. At 6am on weekdays the crew started working (yep, 6am!) at 8am the noise of heavy machinery started. The pool was full of white powder because of them sanding walls... There is not privacy at all in that property. No curtains in the main level... and people are working right outside your window... seriously, I could hear them talking outside of the balcony. There isn't a fence or any kind of division that would make the pool more private. When I call the office (days before arriving) I asked how the status of the construction was, and if that would make my stay uncomfortable- they said that they were working mainly on the inside (Lies!) As well I asked for the "famous" discount that we were supposed to had - when we did the math (the office secretary and me) we could tell that the discount was a little off. When I asked why the price wasn't right... she said that they increased their fees.... The House it self it's ok. It smells like dust and humidity, I noticed there where no filters in any of the returns... maybe that was one of the reasons for the funky smell. Forget about the ocean view... the only room that had a nice view of some part of the ocean was the children's bedroom. If I would know all of this , I wouldn't rent this property. Definitely not worth the money. The only positive thing we enjoyed was the closeness to the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Construction View and noise all day long

  • 2 of 5

Please, if you are looking to rent this property while construction is happening - DON'T! I believe this property shouldn't be for lease during the massive construction that is happening right next door. At 6am on weekdays the crew started working (yep, 6am!) at 8am the noise of heavy machinery started. The pool was full of white powder because of them sanding walls... There is not privacy at all in that property. No curtains in the main level... and people are working right outside your window... seriously, I could hear them talking outside of the balcony. There isn't a fence or any kind of division that would make the pool more private. When I call the office (days before arriving) I asked how the status of the construction was, and if that would make my stay uncomfortable- they said that they were working mainly on the inside (Lies!) As well I asked for the "famous" discount that we were supposed to had - when we did the math (the office secretary and me) we could tell that the discount was a little off .

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Elizabeth, It is clearly advertised on our website that there is ongoing construction right next door to this property. We make every attempt to make renters aware of this prior to booking. The rates were lowered for the season prior to the start of the construction. We are sorry that you weren't pleased with your stay but again we make all renters aware of this prior to booking.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Gibsonia
4

July 2017 Stay

  • 4 of 5

The house is large and spacious, which easily accommodated our large family without feeling like we are on top of one another. The construction next door is very close and unfortunate and does take up what was one probably a fantastic view, but we knew that going in and received a discount. We are beach bums and spend most of our time there, so other than being inside during poor weather or at night, it didn't really effect us too much. The great thing about this house is the proximity to the beach. The walkway is feet away and makes it very convenient. The pool isn't large but was fine for our kids to splash around in.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Homes of Hilton Head
Owner's Response: Jenna, Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you all enjoyed the home and we hope to have you again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Peaceful? What ocean views!? June 24-July 1

  • 1 of 5

This house was advertised and showed pictures as having 6 ocean views. There was ONE view (from the back bunk bedroom). What may be considered a small sliver of beach view from 2 other areas was greatly obstructed by new construction (which was about 10ft from the balconies of this house). Instead of the sound of the ocean, we heard construction starting early (6ish) every morning which continued throughout the day. One morning the beeping of a truck switching dumpster bins continued from 6:15am-6:55am. Relaxing on the balconies or at the very small pool, was impossible. With workers next door it was also very uncomfortable. Also, check in was 45 min later than we were told it would be. When I expressed some of these concerns to a lady with the reality company, I was told they were already aware in December that there would be construction. This was NOT noted on the website and we were not made aware at the time of our booking. We would NOT have booked this property had we known this in advance. I will say the house on the inside is nice, however, the advertised views, even on the brochure advertising the sale of this house, are definitely NONEXISTENT. Very misleading and disappointing. What would have probably been 4/5 star rating, became a single star.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Shelia, You booked your reservation online and didn't call in with any questions or concerns about the home or the area. It has been advertised that there is ongoing construction next door to this home for several months now. On the website it states "IMPORTANT: Ongoing construction next to this home will begin December 2016 and continue on until September 2017.* The prices have been reduced to take this into consideration." We do apologize that the home wasn't ready right at 4 but we do state that check-in only begins at 4 but the cleaners were done just shortly after 4pm. We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed and we hope that you will consider us in the future as we do have many beautiful homes available for rent. Please don't hesitate to call our office with any questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Moncks corner
2

July 2017 Stay

  • 2 of 5

I really wish the pictures had been more accurate. We would not have booked this home if they had been.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Homes of Hilton Head
Owner's Response: Hello, The pictures advertised on the website are accurate. If you read the property description it notes that there is construction going on as a house id being built next door. We do not try to mislead our guests and let everyone know prior to booking this home during the 2017 summer season that the views will be obstructed but there will still be ocean views.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

March 2017 Stay

  • 4 of 5

We found the house easily. When we were staying, there was ongoing construction which would start at 7:30am. So sleep was disturbed by the noise. The price was adjusted for this inconvenience, so it was still worth it. The location to the beach is amazing. The views from the bedrooms are great, but the construction is an eye sore from the main living room area. We had three generations staying in the home and the elevator was a big help for the grandparents and pregnant sister in law. The kids bedroom accommodated all the kids and the second master across from the kids room was extremely convenient for the young parents. We had a wonderful time staying in this house. Unfortunately when the new homes are built, the views of the beach for this home will be compromised. The pool was ok, not really an amazing sitting area by the pool. But our kids enjoyed nonetheless. There was a leaking pipe on our access to the beach. It was smelling really bad. We thought it was sewage water. I hope that is fixed for other gue

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kamran, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that you guys enjoyed your stay with us. There is a home being built next door and we do make all guests aware of this at the time of booking and as you mentioned the rates have been lowered for this home due to the construction. The standing water that you believed to be sewage was actually coming from a neighboring property that we do not manage and we have made their rental company aware of it. Again, we are so happy to hear that every generation enjoyed this home and we hope to have you all again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees