Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Townhome on Main Street-Grand Lake, Colorado

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhome, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 7)

GREAT LOCATION ON GRAND AVENUE. MODERN 3 BEDROOM TOWNHOME IN GRAND LAKE IS THE PERFECT GETAWAY AND JUST A 2 HOUR DRIVE FROM DENVER. 3 STORY, 2 CAR HEATED GARAGE KITCHEN W/HICKORY CABINETS & SLAB GRANITE COUNTERTOPS, WOOD FLOORS, SLATE TILE IN BATHS*RADIANT HEAT FLOORING. 42' LCD TV w/DVD PLAYER OVER THE FIREPLACE.

Our townhome layout include a 2-car heated garage 1st floor, 2 bedrooms and one Jack/Jill Bathroom on 2nd floor, Kitchen, Livingroom, full bath and bedroom are on 3rd floor. Sleeping arrangements: Three bedrooms. Master on top floor has a king bed. Second floor bedroom has a queen and third bedroom has one twin bunk bed set and one single twin. Perfect for families or groups of friends. LCD T.V. in master and queen.

Perfect location- right on Grand Avenue near the entrance to the town of Grand Lake. Park the car and walk to Boardwalk, restaurants, market and beautiful Grand Lake. Within 2 miles of Golf, Rocky Mountain National Park and more!

Grand Lake has the largest display of Fireworks in Colorado for Fourth of July...Don't miss it!!

The summer months provide a myriad of activities. The Grand Lake area is your destination for hiking, backpacking, boating, ATV trips, fishing, go-kart racing, golf, horse-back riding, live theater, and festivals. The town of Grand Lake also has a list of summer events and festivities. Rent power boats, canoes, sail boats, kayak's and more at area marinas. The visitor center for Rocky Mountain National Park hosts many FREE activities including guided hikes, nature walks, and evening lectures.

Play Bingo Friday and Saturday nights outdoors during the summer in beautiful downtown Grand Lake. For a good time, visit nearby Kremmling during rodeo days in August and take in a demolition derby followed by fireworks.

Fall is a beautiful time to visit Grand Lake as leaves begin to turn around Labor day. Adams Falls is a favorite hike for families and you can hike further past the meadow if a longer hike is desired. Horseback stables are 1/4 mile from the townhome.

As winter settles in, Grand Lake becomes an entirely new playground. Over 120 miles of groomed snowmobile trails await you! Rent a snowmobile in town or bring your own. Zoom right up to restaurants from the townhome and park your snowmobile. Skiers can take a short drive to Sol Vista Ski Resort, Fraser Ski resort or Winter Park Resort to get a taste of Colorado's world-class skiing. Cross-country ski or snowshoe at the Grand Lake Nordic Center, or right out the front door! Sledding is great fun in Grand Lake during the winter as is ice skating or a game of pond hockey. Try ice fishing on one of three area lakes. No supplies? No problem; many guides are happy to offer ice fishing supplies and services. Numerous festive events are planned in the town of Grand Lake during the holiday season; fireworks over Grand Lake at New Year's and full- moon ski tours each month!

Grand Lake is a quaint town on the shores of Colorado's largest natural lake and the western entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. With Shadow Mountain Lake & Lake Granby nearby there are more than 150 miles of scenic shoreline to explore, hike or fish. The Grand Lake area has plenty to do including: boating, sailing, fishing, kayaking, hiking, golfing, hot sulphur springs a short drive, shopping, live theatre or just enjoying the warm sunny days and cool evenings in the summer. In the winter you can enjoy snowmobiling, cross country & downhill skiing, snow shoeing, sleigh rides, dog sled rides & sledding. In the fall you will appreciate the smaller crowds & the Aspen leaves that turn a golden yellow & great wildlife viewing as the elk & moose make their way down from the mountains.

Keywords: vacation townhome, Colorado vacation, Grand Lake, snowmobile trails, rocky mountain national park, Grand Lake vacation rental

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
October 22, 2017

About The Owner

The owners, husband Sam and wife Karen, both lived all around the US while growing up, thanks to their fathers' occupations. Such areas include New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Georgia and South Carolina. And that is just Sam! Karen is an Air Force brat who hails from Minnesota but has lived in Arizona, Ohio, Kansas, Iowa, North Dakota. Our childhoods spent traveling enriched us and while we now call Dallas, Texas home, our hearts are always in Colorado.

The Owner purchased this townhome in 2012

Why The Owner chose Grand Lake

We fell in love with the town of Grand Lake while on vacation to Rocky Mountain National Park several years ago. We rented a cabin in the woods during one summer in Estes Park. After driving through Estes Park, we ended up in Grand Lake. The difference between Estes Park and Grand Lake is that in Estes Park you see deer year round. In Grand Lake, you see Moose year round. We adore moose sightings. It was love at first sight with Grand Lake as we sat on benches located under the flagpoles in the middle of town, enjoying ice cream cones. The sky was ultra blue that day, with the Grand Lake city flag flowing in the breeze over our heads. We marveled that, if we could find the right fit, we had to own a little piece of heaven in Grand Lake to call our own -- which resulted in us purchasing the townhome the following year.

What makes this townhome unique

Foremost, we chose this property over others because of its great location, which is at the entrance of the resort town of Grand Lake, Colorado. The entrance of town is where all the action starts; walking distance to restaurants, bars, mini race car track, putt-putt golf, grocery store, reparatory theater in summers, and more. Secondly, this townhome is comprised of an enclave of three 3-story buildings totaling 11 units. The townhome is modern with numerous amenities and it is sparking clean, thanks to a wonderful cleaning crew.

Amenities

Grand Lake Townhome Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • townhome
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • All furniture needs to be returned to it's original location upon checkout, please.
  • Out of respect to our guests who may be allergic, pets are not allowed.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Guest bathroom - toilet , shower , Jack/Jill set up. 2 toilets w/sinks. 1 large walk-in shower
  • Master bath is next to master bedroom. Guest bedrooms share Jack and Jill bathroom with shared shower and each bedroom has a private toilet and vanity area with locking doors.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Guest Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Guest Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Sleeps 3
  • King size beds (1) Queen size Beds (1) Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Within easy walking distance to the town of Grand Lake, the townhome is perched at the entrance of town, a stone's throw from a well-stocked grocery store.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
20% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Luxury Townhome on Main Street-Grand Lake, Colorado
average rating of 4.586207 based on 29 reviews
5

Perfect Introduction to Staying in Grand Lake, Colorado!

  • 5 of 5

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay! We couldn't help but think how great it would be to invest in one of these townhomes for ourselves ... location, nice upgrades, personal garage, views ... this lodging has it all! We parked our rental car in the garage and walked to the restaurants and shops we wanted to visit. The townhouse is clean, comfortable, much nicer than a hotel room. The area is just gorgeous during September w/ the Aspen leaves beginning to change and the temperatures just cool enough to give you a taste of fall, which was an extra welcomed experience for us Texans! We especially enjoyed the live music at Pancho & Lefty's, an unexpected bonus on a Monday evening, by a great cover band. We had spent the day riding ATV's at On The Trail Rentals ... my first time ever ... and the experience was great! Sure wouldn't mind staying longer in Grand Lake ... will have to plan another visit soon!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Unreasonable owner

  • 1 of 5

Unreasonable owner will try to keep your security deposit without notifying you. In the owner's own words, “We have kept the security deposit in the past for folks having brought dogs, taken kitchen utensils, glasses, etc.” If you break a glass or dish, you may end up fighting with the owner to get your security deposit back.

Our unfortunate experience could easily have been avoided if the owner were reasonable. We (a couple and four children ranging in age from 19 to 23) rented in August.

We were disappointed in the cleanliness when we checked in, especially after being charged a large cleaning fee as part of rental cost. Some sheets had fresh stains on them and needed to be washed before we could use them. Ewwww. It happens, we moved on.

We took care of the property as if it were our own. After two weeks, I had not received the security deposit back so I wrote to the owner. The response I got was, “Your security deposit will not be returned. You moved the bench from the front door to the 2nd floor outdoor deck and neglected to return it to it's proper location. Subsequently it was damaged by rain.”

Points from my response to him:

• I have no idea what you are talking about and I find it in very poor taste that you would wait until I asked about the security deposit to mention the issue. What would you have done if I didn't write?

• I find it hard to believe that $X worth of damage was caused. Giving you the benefit of the doubt that the bench is in fact damaged, by failing to mention it right away, there is no way to tell for sure when it was damaged.

• It seems the responsible and professional thing to do on your part would have been to notify me of any damage instead of waiting for me to ask about the security deposit. Furthermore, it seems some kind of evidence is necessary on your part, rather than just your say so. Some pictures, receipts and further explanation on your part is required.

• For my part, if something were damaged, I would feel responsible for paying for it, even if it were more than $X.

We went back and forth. After telling the owner the kids had moved a wooden bench from a mudroom because they had no furniture on their covered balcony, I convinced him to return 80% of the deposit.

The owner should have duly informed us, and a photo of alleged damage seems a simple matter when trying to keep someone's hard earned money. If that had occurred, we would have been happy to set things right, whatever the cost.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, I did attempt to keep this guest's security deposit - because his party treated our home as if it were their personal barn. He left a very nice piece of furniture outdoors where it was rained upon and ruined. I indeed took no pictures, as I figured the security deposit would cover the cost of the furniture. In hindsight, I certainly should have taken pictures of the damage. I also should have listened to my wife and cancelled the reservation, as this guest insisted on getting codes to access our townhome many weeks prior to his visit (which is contra to our security protocols - I did not give him those codes). I'm hoping if you're reading this that you will see that most of our reviews show that our townhome is worthwhile for your vacation investment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Property!!

  • 5 of 5

Great location, very clean and perfect for our vacation!!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Property

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for 2 nights at this property and it was wonderful. Everything was upgraded so beautifully and everything flowed so nicely. This is a great place to stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great in the Mountains

  • 4 of 5

Everything was very good - Being in our eighties, we were concerned about all the steps, but it proved to be manageable. Great set up for four and the jack - n - Jill bathrooms were very much appreciated. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful setting, steep stairs though.

  • 4 of 5

I should have paid attention to the review that included a comment about the steps. The great room, kitchen and master suite are on the 3rd level - that is about 34 steps from the ground level. A bit much for our 75 year old knees. It was a hot weekend as well, so that 3rd level was very warm with only open balcony door and rear bedroom windows for moderate cross ventilation. For an active, younger family it would be perfect.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Sagebrush BBQ & Grill
"Family-friendly with food from hot dogs to steak and ribs. Full bar."
Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre
"Fabulous live theater smack in the middle of town. Takes 5 minutes to walk there from our t..."
Rapids Lodge Restaurant
"Romantic restaurant with fabulous view of roaring river amid giant boulders. Okay to bring t..."
El Pacifico LLC
"Best Mexican food restaurant in town. Live music often year around."
Lulu City Pizza -- CLOSED
"Cutest little bowling alley you've ever seen. Untouched by time (and some maintenance) :) ..."
Miyauchi's Snack Bar
"As close to heaven as you will get for a snack shack. Try the patty melt...it's fab. Onion..."
Adams Falls
"Family friendly hike to the falls less than an hour. Walk past the falls for a gorgeous mea..."
Grand Lake Golf Course/Nordic Center
"Beautiful course. Family friendly. Free loaner clubs to out-of-towners."

Rocky Mountain National Park, Golf, Horseback Riding, Hiking, Biking, FIshing, Boating, Wildlife

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 11.0%

Rate are subject to change until rental is confirmed.
NO SMOKING
NO PETS

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.