Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Experience the Island Paradise of Kauai's North Shore from above the Treetops.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Side 1 of 2 Studio Aptartments across from Beach w/ Great Ocean & Mountain Views

This spacious, newly renovated second floor unit provides unique, breathtaking views of South Pacific with Whale Watching against the backdrop of mesmerizing, romantic sunsets behind Bali’ Hai’ from your front porch.

The rear balcony offers equally spectacular views of Hanalei Bay, with waterfalls gently cascading into the green lush rainforest of the World Famous Napali Coast. Because you are above the tall tree tops, you get the sense that you are in your very own Tree House! It is the perfect place for a romantic Honeymoon, family vacation, or just a special get-away. Literally, across the street, is the perfect location to catch the seasonal whale migration and the big surf of Kauai's famed North Shore. You can take one of three paths to three different beaches, including Hideaway’s Beach, Secret Beach, or the beach at Hanalei Bay at the base of The St. Regis Hotel. All offer safe snorkeling areas where you can enjoy colorful marine life with snorkel gear provided with each studio apartment. Beach chairs and beach towels are also provided to our guests. There is free reserved, permitted off-street parking steps from the front door. There is also free Wi-Fi and land line long distance telephone service to the US Mainland and Canada. There is a wall mounted cable HDTV, DVD player, and CD player.

This unit has recently been completely renovated with the assistance of a professional decorator and designer to give it that genuine old Hawaiian look that is clean and inviting. The 20' ceilings gives a sense of spacious openness typical of traditional Polynesian homes. The unit was just furnished with a brand new, super comfy deep plush King Mattress and high thread count linens for a comfortable night's sleep after exploring the Island.

The FULL kitchen has also been recently remodeled with all new major appliances, cabinets, granite countertops, deep well sink with a garbage disposal, and other convenient amenities. The kitchen is fully equipped to prepare meals. There is a new stackable washer/dryer behind closed doors.

The bathroom has also been completely modernized with new granite tile, cabinetry, granite countertops, and vessel sink. A hairdryer, iron, and ironing board is also provided.

This unit sleeps up to six guests with a king bed, a queen sleeper sofa, and two twin beds in the loft area which is easily accessible with a newly designed staircase. The unit has a window AC unit as well as two new remote control ceiling fans for those rare warm days.

Do you need more room? Please see my HomeAway Property #3957852 for Side 2 of this duplex which can sleep an additional four adults. Side 2 is smaller and perfect for a couple, but sleeps up to 4 guest. It has a kitchenette with a full size refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee pot, blender, toaster, and wet bar, including a garbage disposal. Perfect for preparing breakfast and light snacks.

You can rent just one side or both, depending on the number of guest in your party. Side 2 rents for $135.00 per night, plus applicable tax and a maid service cleaning fee of $95.00. If a guest rents BOTH Sides 1 & 2, I offer a special "Combo" rate.

Gentle, cool trade winds off the South Pacific, complimented with your private views of the mountains, Bali’ Hai’, and Hanalei Bay will leave you with lasting memories of The Garden Isle. Come and allow yourself to be pampered in what is truly Paradise.

As a seasoned traveler myself, the condo has been specially appointed with every amenity and convenience to make your vacation truly stress free. No unnecessary trips to the store to buy things for your stay. All is provided. Just bring your sunscreen and Mai Tai mix.

Of the dozens of countries and hundreds of towns and villages I have traveled to in the world, none compares to the sheer natural beauty of the North Shore of Kauai. Come to relax...and be pampered...you deserve it!

More Details

Owner
Jim Nicholas
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Jim Nicholas

Originally from Philadelphia, followed by Law School in Chicago, I have lived in sunny Florida for the past 31 years, and have been blessed with the opportunity to travel the world many times over, and although I have experienced, first hand, the beauty and adventure of many foreign lands, nothing in my travels compares to the North Shore of Kauai. It is, by far, the most beautiful, exotic, and romantic place on earth...a place where the landscape seems almost unreal...a place where one can truly find a piece of Heaven, right here on earth.

Jim Nicholas purchased this studio in 2009

Why Jim Nicholas chose North Shore

Hale Moi is conveniently located directly across from Hideaways Beach and the whale watching area...a place to enjoy the spectacular sunsets behind Bali Hi'. This second floor duplex is fully equipped with all the amenities and conveniences of modern living, nestled between the ocean and mountains, with full vistas of both. Truly, the best of both worlds.

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Lihue, Kaua'i
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
St. Regis Hotel and Resort
Nearest Golf
0.3 Miles
Makai Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Route 46
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
St. Regis Hotel and Resort
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
HideAway Beach
Car: recommended

Hale Moi is in a unique location directly across from The Whale Watching area and the South Pacific ocean with spectacular views of nearby Bali Hai' against the backdrop of the famous Hanalei Bay (home of 'Puff the Magic Dragon'), and only steps away from one of the most beautiful beaches on earth. The North Shore of Kauai is the very reason it's called "The Garden Isle".

Other Activities: kayaking, snorkeling, paddle boarding, boating, parasailing, wildlife viewing, and a nearby health/beauty spa.

Golf: The newly re-designed Makai Golf Course is located just behind the condo and the Princeville Golf course is nearby. The condo is also located just a few steps from the entrance to the newly remodeled St. Regis Hotel (formerly the Princeville Hotel) where you can enjoy fine dining, cocktails at the Bali Hai Piano Bar, and pool area of the St. Regis.

Amenities

Princeville Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Local Calls
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Garbage Disposal
  • Gourmet Kitchen
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 6
  • Studio - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , twin beds are in a loft
  • Side 1 has a king bed, a sleeper sofa, and two twins in the loft, for a maximum sleeping capacity of six people.
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Beach Umbrellas
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Porch Furniture
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Singles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A large capacity dehumidifier is provided to provide a moist free environment, coupled with a new air conditioner unit. Check-in time is 3:00 p.m., and Check-out time is 10:00 a.m.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
18% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Experience the Island Paradise of Kauai's North Shore from above the Treetops.
average rating of 4.8125 based on 32 reviews
5

Great spot

  • 5 of 5

Not our first time to the Island but our first time to this property and it was perfect. If you are a northshore beach bum like us this place is right where you want to be, its location is perfect. The Unit is perfect for 5 people.. which is what we where. would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Payette, Idaho
5

The place was great for the two of us. We had almost all the comforts of home.

  • 5 of 5

The location was ideal for us. We like to walk/run in the morning, and the paths were good. The VRBO was very comfortable and we felt welcome. The bed was comfortable, the kitchen had all the appliances we need; it was fun to use a rice cooker again. There was room for six, but it was just the two of us most of the time. We had the family over for breakfast the morning of the wedding and it was comfortable.

The equipment for the beach was awesome! Thank you for thinking of things that we didn't. We would love to stay at your place again.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Unit was perfect. Great decor with great amenities. Upstairs loft for kids was a hit. Great location

  • 5 of 5

Great unit in a great location. Close to beaches and closer to shopping center. Unit furnishings were awesome. Great views from rear lanai. Good cross-breezes throughout the unit. Awesome sunset views just steps from front door.

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome in every way!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this condo! Location great to Hideaway beach and queen's bath. Sunsets are amazing, just walk across street at night. Condo is nicely upgraded! Very comfy king bed and my kids loved their upstairs space. Kitchen wonderful to cook in. We loved staying at this condo in Princeville! And can't beat the view off the back deck!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very nice owner !

  • 4 of 5

The owner was so kind to let us check out late and replied right away. The location is a walk to see the sunset and go to the at Regis. You can walk to the tidal pools. It's very resort like vs an authentic more unique locAtion. The drive to town is ten or fifteen minutes depending which area you want to be in. The unit is cute and log cabin like. It is for couples or a family- limited privacy. The laundry and towels are mildewed which was unfortunate. I really enjoyed the view off the balcony!

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am delighted that this guest enjoyed our condo in Kauai. Regarding the issue of the towels smelling mildewed, the towels themselves are brand new. However, I suspect that the maid service allowed the laundered towels to sit in the washer too long before putting them in the dryer. If that happens, in a humid climate like Kauai, towels can take on a mildew odor which requires they be washed again. I had the same experience in Side 2 of my duplex in Kauai. Hence, the reason I purchased a new washer/dryer for that unit as well; not just for guest, but for the maid service as well. The unit is, of course, supplied with extra linens and towels for use by guest. Nevertheless, I have placed my cleaning service on notice to make sure that all towels are clean, fresh, and dried with dryer sheets before being placed on the towels racks. I am sorry for this unfortunate incident, but I thank the guest for bringing it to my attention so that I could remedy the situation in a timely fashion. Jim Nicholas, Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

This location is hard to beat.

  • 4 of 5

It was our first time in Kauai and we made a great choice with this condo. The best part about it was it's location. The kitchen was very nice and newly updated as well as the bathroom. The king size bed was definitely the only problem. It was very old and worn down. Sleeping was very uncomfortable and if the bed could be replaced this condo would be even more amazing. We would have given 5 star review but not getting good sleep on vacation is a minor let down. Not only could this condo use a new king size bed but it could use a new overall upgrade in linens and area carpet as well. They are old and stained. I rewashed the sheets because they were a little dingy and didn't look very clean and I removed the comforter for the same reason. Coffee on the balcony was very beautiful every morning and watching the sunset across the street was breath taking.

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I haven't received any prior complaints regarding the king bed but I certainly have no reason to doubt the guest comments that it is not very comfortable. I further agree that a good nights sleep, especially while on vacation, is of paramount importance; I know it certainly is to me, and because I want the very best for all my guest, and for them to enjoy my condo in complete comfort during their stay, without hesitation, I ordered a brand new Pillow Top King mattress and box spring today, to be delivered within the next few days, along with new high-thread count quality linens. "Thank You" for bringing this to my attention so I was able to address the problem promptly. Jim Nicholas, Owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Damage Deposit $100

*If you book directly with me, you can avoid the "Service Fee" now charged directly to guests by HomeAway.com and VRBO.com. Therefore, feel free to contact me directly at jknlegal@aol.com or on my cell phone at 321-427-9942.

Base Rental Rates:
$175.00 per Night for a 6 day stay or less
$ 1,100.00 per Week (7 night stay or more)
$3,500.00 Per Month (28 Nights or more)
Side "2" of the Duplex is $ 135.00 per night should you need more space. Side 2 sleeps up to four guest. Please see HomeAway Property # 3957852 for more details on Side 2 of the Duplex. *EVEN IF THE CALENDAR SHOWS THE UNIT IS BOOKED, STILL INQUIRE BECAUSE, OFTEN TIMES, A GUEST WILL RENT ONE SIDE OF THIS DUPLEX, BUT NOT BOTH SIDES, THEREFORE, ONE SIDE WILL STILL BE OPEN AND AVAILABLE FOR RENT.

****CANCELLATION POLICY: There is a 50% Penalty if a Guest cancels more than 30 days PRIOR to the scheduled arrival date. If the guest cancels 30 days or less than the first reserved and scheduled arrival date, there is a 100% Penalty of monies paid UNLESS the Owner is able to re-let the unit to another guest. I always strive to work with guest to avoid any forfeiture or penalty. Thank You.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.