Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Yurt in the Sky - great views

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 700 sq. ft.
Property type cottage

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6)

The “Yurt in the Sky” is above and away from the bustle of civilization. Here you have wide open spaces – ocean, sun, sky and the contrast of the rich lava rock with the delicate red Ohia flowers. ( (We've never seen a mosquito or a bee) Here you can live simply but very comfortably -- off the grid but with almost all the conveniences of home. Stock up on your favorite foods and enjoy meals on the deck gazing out at sky and sea, feeling the cool breezes from across a thousand miles of unobstructed ocean. Then, you can descend from your 4500 ft. retreat to Big Island’s beaches, botanical gardens, volcanoes (30 beautiful miles away) snorkeling, adventure attractions or entertainment spots. South Big Island Beaches are about 30 minutes away, greatest snorkeling in the state is about 45 minutes and Kona with all its beaches and activities is about one hour.

When you come back, sip some wine or some freshly brewed tea as the sun sets, cook up your favorite meal on the propane stove and get ready for the best show on the Island: the stars! You can lie on the deck or view them all night inside through the circular skylight. If the air is chill, just turn on the romantic fireplace. You will be warm in minutes. Curl up with a book, or stay in touch with the distant world with high speed internet.

Why stay in one more conventional resort room, when you can experience first-hand a whole new way of life – off the grid? Why not give it a try?

Keywords: Yurt

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About The Owner

Hi future guests! I’m a retired community college teacher from Wisconsin in partnership with my son David, who fell in love with these islands as a student at the University of Hawaii. Designing and building our “Yurt in the Sky” has been a fun joint project. This year David is going back to school in Hilo, so we’re happy to share our retreat with you. About me? I keep busy here in Wisconsin with outdoor sports, movies and playing music. I'm always here on my cell in Wisconsin to answer questions or our very capable local cleaning person is very nearby.

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2007

Why The Owner chose Ka'u District

We looked at many lovely lots on the Big Island and at first were drawn to the lush jungle atmospheres of the lowlands. But when we visited the exhilarating height of this little-known area, with its spacious views and friendly, laid-back people, we decided within a day.

What makes this cottage unique

This “Yurt in the Sky” is very different from other rentals. First, we can offer you a low price because we have little overhead. This frees up your vacation budget for more fun. Second, in contrast to other yurt rentals, we offer total privacy and independence. There is no sharing of any facilities. Third, we have NO bugs or other pesky creatures. Just leave the door open all day! Fourth, although we are 'away from it all,' it’s easy to get around. The paved roads to the yurt are excellent and from down in the nearby village of Ocean View there are free buses around the entire island! Finally, our 150 degree view of the distant ocean below is spectacular.

Guestbook comments from the owner

http://www.jeffsetter.com/hawaii-yurt-in-the-sky-review/
Jun 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Ocean View Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • PC
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 2 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom is directly attached to the yurt and has a hot shower, flush toilet and mirror. It is lighted by a skylight or you can take in one of our solar powered lamps at night. For our special system, toilet paper needs to be put into a closed can next to the toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1) This is a double foam mattress with linens which can be moved in and out of the living area., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There are two very comfortable sofas that do not convert to beds, but you can use our sheet sleeping bags, covers and pillows.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Cell phone access is excellent. The attached bathroom with skylight has a flush toilet with paper disposal can, and a hot shower.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

49% Complete
30% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
5% Complete
Yurt in the Sky - great views
average rating of 4.109091 based on 56 reviews
5

Exactly as described, easy check in, absolutely adored the place!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a fantastic time staying at this yurt. Exactly as described, easy to find, and simple check in. If we ever venture back to the Big Island we will absolutely come back- and make our stay longer than one night. Thanks again!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful, relaxing, quiet

  • 4 of 5

Place was great. It was so quiet, very little traffic around. The bed was super comfortable. I gave it a 4 only because I couldn't get the heater to work and it was quite chilly, although there were extra blankets in the bin that made up for it . Also if you do stay and find there is no hot water after numerous attempts of following the directions make sure to check that the propane tank is attached LOL

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Underwheliming and not worth the money

  • 1 of 5

We are a couple with a small child and we have had quite a bit of experience in off-grid living: we knew what we were getting into.

The pros:

The quiet and the view were great.

The WiFi was good.

The cons:

There was no microwave despite the fact it was written in the description. We purchased food with that in mind and were stuck having to trek to buy restaurant food.

The little gas stove has seen better days and we had to repair it to get it operational. We managed to make coffee only.

The bathroom is essentially outside because the tarp covering is ripped. The towels were wet because it had rained.

The yurt floor was quite dirty.

The bed sheets smelled funny and were stained.

The upstairs bed was not a bed at all but a blow-up mattress, which was uncomfortable.

The couches were old and dirty, and he cover/blanket on both of them hadn't been washed in a while.

When we contacted the owner, Marilyn, via text and email and she responded on the day we were leaving completely unaware we were leaving.

I would definitely not recommend this to anyone, and considering there were only 3 of us, certainly not for 6 people.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This woman felt very frustrated about the lack of a microwave. We had decided to remove it because with guests coming in one after another and on unpredictable cloudy days the extensive use of the microwave could not be sustained 100% of the time by our solar panels. We thought we had deleted the microwave from all our advertisements but we missed one website from long-ago. Now, that has been corrected. In one very strong storm, the seams of the canvass in the bathroom pulled apart. This is no simple matter when you are on the side of a volcano thousands of miles from the California yurt supplier who had to ship special flammable glue by boat from California. No one knew how long it would take! We just smile at these inconveniences are are so happy to be up and away from civilization. (We usually live in midwest suburbia) I can guarantee you that our wonderful cleaning lady, Sharon, does a great job with laundry and the place is as clean as a yurt can be. She lives only two blocks away and is handy for any needs . .. .but this is a yurt, not the "Hilton." Come ready to stretch your mind and enjoy something completely new.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Colorado
4

Relaxing stay!

  • 4 of 5

We found the yurt to be very clean and quiet. Would have enjoyed the views had the weather cooperated better. Most of our 9-day stay had overcast, fog, and/or vog from mid-morning through the rest of the day. Got to see a nice harvest moon one evening, but not much star-gazing as we had hoped - just a little unlucky there. The yurt was roomy and comfortable. No problems with enough power for our laptop and phone charging, even with the cloudy weather. We got along fine with the facilities by following the emailed instructions as provided. The solar lanterns worked great! The bathroom had ceiling with a portion open to the sky which was pleasant while showering, but not so much during rainy nights. Keep your sense of humor and this can be fun. Shower was nice and warm, fridge/freezer was nice and cold. We got along great with the Coleman camp stove for cooking. No microwave or oven, so we were glad we did not bring any groceries that required them. Probably a good thing, as we might have had solar issues had we used any power hog appliances. The solar meter was not working, so we aren't sure how much electricity we used, but we never ran out of power. All-in-all a pleasant stay if you approach it from a "glamping" perspective. Good job of handling the basic survival needs and mostly as represented. Thanks for a relaxing stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet and Well Prepared

  • 4 of 5

This was super. The site is well prepared for people to be comfortable. Also it is a bit hard to find but definitely worth it (Yes go there during the day). The scenery is nothing like anything we have seen in other places, the shower was super simple. I probably could have stayed there more than one night for sure. I appreciated the cool air at night also.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vildbjerg
4

Meget autentisk Hawaii

  • 4 of 5

Lækkert område med mange gode oplevelser

Teltet levede helt op til vores forventninger og det har været en dejlig oplevelse

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Ocean View, Ka'u District, Big Island, Hawaii, USA (One Hour 15 Min South from Kailua/Kona Airport - Big Island)

The recent Lava Flow near Pahoa is a safe 40 minute drive away, so don't worry.

Other Activities: Exploring lava tunnels. Being away from it all! Exploring back roads. Fishing, shopping, kayaking

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60
Damage Deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.