Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family Lake Cabin, Lipsett Lake in NW Wisconsin.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 4+ Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12+)

The Lipsie Ritz - A place where life sets its own pace. This is a rustic cabin among the pines, originally built in the 1930s and expanded/renewed over the years. Plenty of room for the whole family. New roof completed Fall 2017!

Facing west across the lake provides the perfect view of the most amazing sunsets. Check us out for SUMMER FUN, FALL COLORS, the BIRKEBEINER, cross country skiing, snowmobiling, or ice fishing. Local tavern within 3 miles has multiple big screens for football and other entertainment.

Relax among the pines in a private family lake cabin in northwest Wisconsin. Hear the loons in the morning and evening. Watch bald eagles soar over the lake. Swim, canoe, or paddle boat (it's old but it has worked for most) in the lake. Ice fish in the winter, fish in the summer. Watch your kids create their own fun in the woods, or play a game as a family. Watch the sun set over the lake in hues you won't see anywhere else. A large screen porch, a lakeside patio, and a fire pit offer plenty of gathering spots for friends and family. Grab your book and claim the hammock for some quiet time. Cozy fireplace indoors for fall and winter stays.

Big screen TV with BlueRay player with a variety o f DVDs (no cable TV - too many other things to do at the cabin). There is good cell phone coverage, especially for Verizon, AT&T and Sprint (T-Mobile is so-so) but it's remote enough that you don't have to admit it unless you want to. Internet is what you can get on your smart phone or use your phone or tablet as a hotspot. It's worked for me. Couldn't install WiFi out there yet as it's too remote.

Enjoy the local tourism, a train museum, the fishing capital of the world, the Gandy Dancer snowmobile, bike and ski trail.

Once you turn down the gravel road it's 1/2 mile to the cabin, you'll feel your shoulders relax, your mind clear, and your worries melt.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Carol
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Carol

I grew up in Minnesota and remember fondly the weekends 'at the lake' where my grandparents lived. That memory lives on, and I have created a similar experience for my sons - though we only get to the cabin a couple of times a year. I live and work in Virginia (just outside of DC) and we don't get back to the area as much as we'd like. I have family in Minnesota. The cabin is where my extended family gathers and where my friends from the area come to see us during the summer or holidays.

Carol purchased this cabin in 1994

Why Carol chose Northwest

I moved to the DC area in 1992 yet stayed connected to my family in Minnesota. My Mom and I decided to buy a cabin. We searched for a couple of months (me flying back from DC on weekends to look) and almost gave up when we learned about this 4-season cabin on Lipsie Lake. Mom toured the cabin and sent me a video because I couldn't get back to Wisconsin to see it. I decided to buy it from that video - it was exactly what we were looking for!

What makes this cabin unique

Peace & quiet, time to read, relax in the hammock, play games with the family, take a walk, canoe on a glassy lake in the early morning, see the sunset across the lake...there are also may local tourism opportunities and festivals to enjoy.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for sharing a piece of paridise with us. We had a wonderful time at your cabin, the weather was perfect most of the time, we had a breathtaking sunset seven our of seven nights. Can't ask for much more than that.

Your manager was great, he called both Sunday and Wednesday when we had bad storms just to make sure that we were aware of the weather, that is very reassuring. The lake provided hours upon hours of entertainment for our grandchildren (3 nd 5) plus our three children [and] their spouses. We had a great time and hopefully will be able to get everyone together for another vacation in the next couple of years.
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 4

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Duluth
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Lipsie Pines Tavern
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Spooner Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Highway 70 (WI)
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Lipsie Pines
Car: necessary

Amenities

Spooner Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - entry way - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - main level - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , living room futon sofa
    Bedroom 3 - lower level - 3 twin/ single , two twins can be combined for a king upon request
    Bedroom 1 - main level - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - main level - 1 double , 2 twin/ single , curtain door, sliding door & wall divides room
    Bedroom 4 - lower level - 1 king , 3 twin/ single , two twins combined to make a king, can be split for 5 twins
  • Queen size Beds (1) main level bedroom, Double Beds (1) main level bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (8) 2 single beds in main level bedroom. 8 single beds in 2 lower level bedrooms (can be made up in pairs with king sheets), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Futon sofa converts to a double bed in the living room
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Dock, Canoe, Paddle Boat, Rowboat, Public Access on Lake, Bald Eagles, Loons, Deer, Privacy, Fishing,

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
3% Complete
Family Lake Cabin, Lipsett Lake in NW Wisconsin.
average rating of 4.37931 based on 33 reviews
5

Puttin on the ritz!

  • 5 of 5

Third straight year, love it. Great lake, great views, great fishing and a great cabin to stay in. Looking forward to future trips!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: SO glad you enjoyed your stay again. It's great to have folks year after year and I appreciate your review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely cabin on on a wonderfull lake!

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed our stay at this cabin on Lake Lipsett. Great location close to the water. We could see our younger kids swimming on the dock from the windows which gave us peace of mind. Great fire pit area and plenty of wood provided. The cabin was simply furnished and supplied, but met all our needs. The canoe, trolling motor, and paddle boat were a big plus! We were able to canoe around the whole lake. Eagles were flying overhead throughout the day and loons were greeting us in plenty. We got our dose of the pine scented north and headed back home rejuvenated.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your comments. You describe so many of the things I love about the cabin, and it makes me wish I could spend more time there myself. The eagles and the loons are always a plus!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Live in Winona Mn
2

The Lake is Beautiful

  • 2 of 5

The lake is incredible with its Eagles, Loons and Fish! The dock is a great place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. This is our third trip to your cabin. We were disappointed with the deterioration and uncleanliness of the cabin and the paddle boats condition. Last year the paddle boat's rudder only turned you in circles. This year the same thing happened, plus on our first excursion, the paddle boat began to sink. Thank God we brought our kayaks and floaties with us.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I appreciate your feedback. I'm so sorry the cabin did not meet your expectations this year, and that you had issues with the paddleboat. We used the paddleboat during our stay (Aug 1-10) and it worked, though the rudder is slightly warped due to the age of the boat. We made some minor adjustments to make it work better. I have also shared your feedback with my cleaning team. They take pride in their work and I'm sure they will work hard to correct any areas that are lacking. Without specifics it's difficult to know what you found lacking. I have plans to replace the carpet and the roof in the next year. As is always the case, if there is anything not functioning during your stay you can contact the local caretaker for help.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Wausau, wi
5

Memorial Weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

Loved the Lipsie Ritz! Surprised at how much beds there were, as was advertised. Great scenery off the dock and had fun catching pan fishes, bass, and crappies.

The paddle boat and canoe was a plus for us because we mostly fish. Used it as much as we can. After a long day of fishing the bonfire pit was perfect to relax to, we used it most of the time and there was enough firewood for three days! The basement was pretty big and had tv with cable and a foosball table for the after hour nights when we stayed up.

All in all it was great stay and we'll definitely be back for a second time!

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the fish were biting, but it's fun to fish anyway. The lake was stocked with walleye last year, and I'm not sure how long it takes to reap the benefits. Thank you for the review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great cabin for a large group!

  • 4 of 5

We loved our stay here! We visited as a group of 8 with 2 dogs in tow and there was plenty of space for everyone. The fireplace was a huge plus for us, visiting in the middle of winter. There were loads of board games and trivia books for us to enjoy as well! The only real down side is that the bedrooms on the outer corners do not heat well and were very cold. Also, make sure to bring bottled water if you are not fond of well water. Overall, we had a wonderful weekend at this cabin and would love to visit again in the summer!

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Second Timers!

  • 5 of 5

Overall it's a great cabin on a absolutely wonderful lake! Always have enjoyed the stay! We even got to see the colors on the trees change. Great fishing.. caught numerous panfish (bluegill and pumpkinseed), crappie and bass off the dock! It was a nice addition of the paddle boat and canoe to have this year, but I do miss the outboard on the fishing boat. The trolling motor just wasn't enough to get to the other side of the lake to the spots I know! But on the calmer days, the troller was enough to get around and explore the lake. People on the lake are wonderful and it's a great place to stay and slow down! Look forward to next year!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear you had a great time. Regretfully, the small outboard was stolen over the winter, and I opted to replace it with the trolling motor for ease of use for most renters. I aim for a few improvements each year, while sometimes maintenance takes precedence. Look forward to having you back again next year. Thanks for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 5.5%

Weekend rates include early check-in (10:00am) and late check-out (5:00pm) for a full weekend of fun! EXCEPTION: If there is a weekly stay prior to the weekend stay, check-in time will be 3:00pm and check-out will be extended to7:00pm.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties