Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

SPECTACULAR CHEF'S KITCHEN, Private Terrace, Sleeps 6, DOWNTOWN Ottawa!!!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights


About the property

This well appointed suite is fully furnished and unique.

I have been renting this condo for years (which can be verified at the bottom of this page). As the overwhelming majority of my reviews reveal, I do my best to help my guests' make their experience be a positive one.

In order to ensure the protection of both parties, I do not accept any reservations that are requested within 14 days of arrival. The credit card used to book a reservation will be verified with matching government photo i.d. upon arrival at my property.

- 1100 square feet (about 110 sq m); 10 foot high ceilings

- lovingly restored 1871 hardwood floors; porcelain tile with toasty under-the-floor heating in kitchen and bathrooms

- queen size sofa bed in living room with privacy French doors so the living room can be used as a 3rd bedroom

- 3 42” LED TV's (with 290+ digital and HD channels); 1 in each bedroom and 1 in the living room

- expansive 7 foot high windows with built-in window seats

- well laid out floor plan; very private between the two bedrooms

- queen-size beds

- cotton linens

- duvets

- two full bathrooms

- soaker tub with shower

- glass enclosed shower, with waterfall shower head, in second bathroom

- facecloths, hand towels, bath towels

Fully-equipped, well stocked modern kitchen with granite counters has:

- 6-burner gas range imported from Italy (Bertazzoni-easy to use)

- microwave oven & Krug stainless steel toaster/oven

- stainless steel pots and pans

- full dinnerware sets and china

- abundance of cooking utensils, cutlery and glassware

- coffeemaker

- large selection of dried goods, spices, rices, grains, baking needs, teas, coffee, etc., all complimentary during your stay

- customized cedar dining table on private, well lit (everything on dimmers) outdoor terrace, BBQ

A full-size in-suite washer and dryer for your convenience (including soap, stain remover and dryer sheets)

Parking is 1/2 block (30 second walk) from the condo and is $16 per 24 hours, with in/out privileges and no reservation required.

Ours is a non-smoking, pet-free building.

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 21, 2017

What makes this condo unique

Lovely decor. Beautiful, large well-stocked kitchen enjoyed by many chefs from around the world. Outdoor private terrace. Walking distance to tourist attractions, business district, university, live theatre.


Lower Town Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Two sinks vanity.
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Heated porcelain floors, glass-enclosed shower.
  • 2 full bathrooms at either end of the condo so perfect for privacy between the two bedrooms. Completely updated and renovated, both bathrooms are super-clean, well-detailed, and fully stocked.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • 2 Queen size Bedrooms) with privacy between the two bedrooms. The living room, which has French doors and privacy drapery, offers a queen size sofa bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
10% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
SPECTACULAR CHEF'S KITCHEN, Private Terrace, Sleeps 6, DOWNTOWN Ottawa!!!
average rating of 4.74359 based on 39 reviews
northern Canada

Convenient to public transportation

  • 3 of 5

Convenient to the bus stop..just outside. Not as noisy outside as we expected. Much noisier within the building than we expected. Despite the gourmet kitchen, very disappointed to realize there was only a couple of stools to perch on in the kitchen, facing a dining room or even kitchen table at all.

Would we stay here again? Would we visit Ottawa again?....for sure !

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that Carol did not enjoybher stay. It seems it was mainly because there was no table. This is an example of a situation whereeverything could hsve been resolved if I had been contacted while thr guest was there. Though there are five stools and a built in counter in the large kitchen here is a table too, however, it had been removed while the peoperty was painted and accidentally not put back, leaving a big gap where the table is usually kept. As soon as another guest following Carol's stay mentioned it upon their arrival the table was out back into its rightful place in a matter of minutes. I encourage open communication between my guests and me. I have it written in my arrival package and in my manual. I can fix virtually any issue that arises, usually in minutes. As you can read, this condo gets positive reviews. I feel badly that this guest did not feel the same, especially due to a human error that was easily fixable. The overwhelming majority of hosts want to help their guests enjoy their stay, myself included. .
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great get away location

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful home with all the amenities and comfortable beds, nice furnishings and a pleasure to land there after a day downtown which is easy walking distance. Easy in and out. We loved it!

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming place

  • 5 of 5

Very pretty home close to all the amenities.

  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Easy check in

  • 5 of 5

Easy check in, condo was clean and well kept. You can tell this house is well loved, there are beautiful touches through out.

One thing though, the cushions outside are to be brought in when it rains...I accidently left them out when we went out for dinner and it rained. I felt bad so proceeded to dry them in the dryer which was very handy. Just thought I would let you know not to forget them out there cause it takes awhile to dry them all!

I would stay there again as it is beautiful and I walked everywhere!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Close to Byward Market with everything that we needed

  • 5 of 5

We were pleased with this rental! The two bedrooms were spacious and comfy. We were joined by a guest for two nights and they were able to use the sofa bed in the living room (which was as comfortable as any sofa bed usually is!).

Yes, we could hear people walking above, but that's what you get in a house and it didn't bother us at all.

The property is located on a busy street but we found that once inside, it was quiet.

We enjoyed using the large gas stove to make brunch for our group!

This rental was just as we expected it to be from the pictures - very clean and interesting on the inside. The owner was easy to reach and communicated well both before and during our stay.

I would especially recommend this property for adult couples who are traveling together (there are 2 great rooms).

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The Beautiful City of Ottawa

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this property for 5 nights and used all the amenities with the exception of the patio and bbq (it was cool and rainy). This is a very comfortable rental and we all (all 6 of us) agreed that it would have been easy to rent this unit on a long term basis, it was a home away from home. Dennis and Catherine are also very accommodating and addressed any questions immediately. The location is excellent, make sure you try the Shrawma Palace just down the street, cheap and soooo good. Groceries and beer store are also close and the bus system is easy to use. Would definitely stay there again, Thank you, the crew of six. :)

  • Submitted: May 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Ottawa International-about $40 taxi ride
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
1 block from front door
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Many golf courses in the area-public and private
Nearest Train
3 Kilometres
Ottawa main station
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Highway 417
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Many restaurants starting across the street!
Nearest Beach
9 Kilometres
Britannia or Meech Lake
Nearest Point of Interest
Byward Market
Nearest Point of Interest
University of Ottawa
Nearest Point of Interest
The Rideau River
Nearest Point of Interest
National Gallery of Canada
Nearest Point of Interest
Royal Canadian Mint
Nearest Point of Interest
Rideau Centre
Nearest Point of Interest
Parliament Hill
Nearest Point of Interest
Supreme Court of Canada
Nearest Point of Interest
National Archives of Canada
Nearest Point of Interest
Museum of Nature
Nearest Point of Interest
Rideau Hall
Nearest Point of Interest
Prime Minister's residence
Nearest Point of Interest
Major's Hill Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Strathcona Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Grocery stores
Nearest Point of Interest
Liquor and beer stores
Car: not necessary

Walking distance to Parliament Hill, Governor General's Residence, 24 Sussex, Byward Market, U.S. Embassy; University of Ottawa; Cordon Bleu Culinary Arts Institute, Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre; National Arts Centre; National Arts Gallery; Ministry of National Defence, French Embassy, British High Commission, Dept of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, 4 live theatres, 1 rep theatre, parks; 2 large grocery stores open 24 hours, liquor and beer stores, restaurants, bars, night life.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $158.39
Cleaning fee $38.81


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties