Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Villa Overlooking the Ocean 4 Great Golf Courses

Bedrooms 4
Property type villa


About the property

Villa, 4 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, (Sleeps 8-9)

This lovely villa sits on a hill overlooking the beautiful Caribbean Ocean. The veranda is the hub of the villa and runs the entire length of the villa. Outdoor dining is on the veranda. The humming birds will entertain you while you enjoy a relaxing breakfast starting with wonderful tray of local fruits. The well appointed indoor living area is off the veranda. There you can watch TV or play backgammon or chess on the Jamaican made backgammon table. Read from the library of books or play many games. There are four bedrooms with four baths. All bedrooms have twin beds which can be made into kings. Two bedrooms open onto the veranda. One bedroom has its own private veranda is round in shape and overlooks the ocean and the pool. This bedroom has an outdoor shower as well as indoor bath with shower. The fourth bedroom is a separate building round in shape with a garden bath and lots of privacy.

There is a wonderful staff of four. Cassie the best housekeeper on the Island, Bajee is the cook who will shop, cook and prepare dishes to delight you, Miss Coolie is your laundress and will care for your clothes and linens daily. Steven cares for the two acres of fenced gardens, pool & your every need. You will be pampered.

Skibereen is within walking distance of Half Moon Bay Resort One of the finest in Jamaica. There you will find horseback riding, water sports, duty free shopping, fine dining. The villa is within a few miles from four great golf courses. Several of which honor villa discounts. The courses are: Half Moon, White Witch, Cinnamon Hill and Ironshore. It's a golfer's paradise.

Tipping: 20% of the $3600.00 weekly rental is the requested gratuity. Laundress only works 5 days and shorter hours. Cook and Housekeeper receives a larger portion. Pool/Houseboy receives a little less. However he works the most hours. He wakes very early and goes to bed when you do. Life is very difficult on the Island If you wish to leave extra it will be very gratefully received. Keywords: Villa

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 8, 2018


We are a family of four. We own and operate several restaurants and golf courses in the U.S. I manage the Restaurants; our Sons work The Golf Courses in the U.S. Mr. Smedley designed & built the Cinnamon Hill Golf Course in Jamaica in 1972. The country was at that time under communist control. It was a very difficult time. Very hard to get equipment or supplies. He did however get a hiatel hernia from the stress of working with the communist government. The Government has changed - we love the Island especially the people. The Course has had some changes made. One of the best holes removed and Mr. Smedley's name has been removed from Course. If you play Cinnamon Hill mention the Smedleys to the caddies.

VIRGINIA SMEDLEY purchased this villa in 1989

Why VIRGINIA SMEDLEY chose Coral Gardens

We have been going to Jamaica since the 1960's. When building the golf course in Jamaica we fell in love with the Island and decided to buy a vacation home. We are golfers and this area is a golfer's paradise. We also wanted to share the Island and our wonderful home with friends and family. We now want to share our paradise with the world.

What makes this villa unique

Skibereen is secluded, very private and secure. A privacy fence surrounds the entire 2 acres. I love sitting on the veranda watching the birds and the ocean. I enjoy walking the property and visiting the fruit trees and humming birds. We are so close to fun things to do and are surrounded by golf courses, tennis, water sports, horse back riding, fine restaurants and duty free shopping. All this within 5 minutes of the Villa and I do not feel the pressure. Skibereen has the most loving staff on the Island. They take such good care of everyone.


Coral Gardens Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Booking Possible
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (?), Twin or Single Beds (8), Baby Cribs (1) All twins can be converted into king beds
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • nude beach
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Fully staffed (4) All meals will be prepared for you. You pay for groceries. Full size Shuffle Board Court, Volley Ball Court, Security fencing around 2 acreas, Security System in all rooms


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Villa Overlooking the Ocean 4 Great Golf Courses
average rating of 4.85 based on 20 reviews


  • 4 of 5

The vacation was overall a wonderful experience. The villa was gorgeous and very clean. I enjoyed talking with the cook and the other staff members that were there. The meals were great, the children really enjoyed the pool. The only thing I would recommend is a better working television (it could have been the cable that was messing the tv up) and maybe adding some air condition units. However, this did not make or break the trip. Everything was still absolutely Beautiful and we had a great time. By the way...the art work in the villa was inspiring and awesome!

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your vacation. As you may have noticed the villa doesn't have glass windows. Just screens and shutters. Air conditioning is very costly because of this. Sorry the T.V. WASNT WORKING it is not a month old. Perhaps it was the cable. The things we take for granted are no so on the island. Again thank you for trusting Skibereen for your vacation. Hoping we will see you in the near future. Blessing. Virginia
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

So relaxing..

  • 4 of 5

Magnificent villa, very large well furnished and with every comfort. Staff very discreet but always present. We were not used to having service staff so at the beginning we were a bit embarrassed but after a while we felt comfortable. The air conditioning only in one room, but honestly not needed, it was very windy and cool at night.

The only problem, that it's 15 km far from the city or anything like super market and we could not move as if we were in the city, but it was also a plus because it was very quiet and safe. If you have to move, take a fixed driver like us.

Definitely recommended!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and welcoming. Staff was excellent. Very Happy with our choice.

  • 5 of 5

Our family took our first trip to Jamaica as a Christmas present this year and stayed at this villa. The staff made us feel at home immediately and were excellent. Our cook prepared fantastic meals for us each day and never disappointed. Cassie kept the villa immaculate and was always cheerful. Newman, our driver was excellent also, he knew exactly where to take us and advised us on what to see. Highly recommend this location for family or friends getaway.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Your Home in a Jamaican Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Our family had been looking forward to our trip to Skibbereen for over five months. What was it going to be like? Pictures tell part of the story but people and experiences tell the real tale.

Upon arrival in Montego Bay we were met by Newman, our driver for the vacation. He greeted us warmly and took us on the brief trip to Skibbereen. Newman proved to be an invaluable individual for our Jamaican experience.

Arriving at Skibbereen we were greeted by the staff and after a quick look at the property we were directed to our accommodations. Rooms were spacious and took full advantage of the tropical surroundings. It immediately became apparent that the staff was going to make our stay one we would never forget. Talk about pampered! - meals prepared at our request, linens and bedding tended to daily, laundry service to ensure clean and pressed clothes, along with a pool and grounds that were sparkling clean.

Baygie, the cook, Cassie the housekeeper, Steven the "all around" man and Donna, the laundress, were key to our vacation being utterly relaxing. Baygie prepared meals based on our requests, local favorites or whatever we selected. Meals that stood out were lobster omelets and fish dishes - barracuda and red snapper! But it was not just the food and pampering that made Skibereen special. It was the quality of the people mentioned. Always smiling faces, accommodating our requests and wanting US to be satisfied.

The setting at Skibbereen is perfect for a secluded vacation. There were nine of us (all family)in our group, but the setting was quiet and peaceful. The villa is in a secure community, surrounded by beautiful tropical vegetation but allowing a glimpse of the Caribbean Sea over the treetops. Our family enjoyed the shuffle board court, located adjacent to the pool, and we had a lot of fun conducting an on-going tournament that no doubt broke all rules but was immensely enjoyable and fun. The volleyball court (on site) was very popular with the younger members of the group and of course the pool was heaven for all.

As mentioned earlier, Newman, the driver, added a positive element to our vacation. Not only did he drive us where we wanted (or needed) to go - bank, shopping, beaches, sightseeing - but he added that positive "no problem, mon" Jamaican attitude. He was both a tour guide and friend.

In closing, this trip exceeded expectations. The villa's beauty and the quality of its staff

were outstanding.

  • Submitted: Dec 23, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Stunning and Peaceful

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here for our annual girls trip. This place was truly beautiful and amazing. The convenience of having your own pool was great. It was four of us and we how the bedrooms are set up we each had our own space. I had the pleasure of staying in the master and it was true luxury. The outside shower was rejuvenating and the space in all the showers was great. The place is very clean but a little dated. The roof in the garden shower needs to be repaired there is a slit that lets bugs in. There is not air conditioning in all the rooms just the master so during the day the other rooms can be miserably hot. Every one was running to my room for cover!! The staff is amazing. Miss Cassie is so sweet!! Everyday our beds were turned down and made. Rooms cleaned everyday. Steve cleaned the pool before we woke up and after we went to bed plus served all our meals. Chef made his lobster omelet and pineapple upside down cake which was delicious. The guava jelly, mangos and bammee were some of my favorites. Donna washed our clothes daily which was refreshing to not have to travel back home with dirty clothes. The owner Virginia and property manager Mrs. Bailey were great making sure they responded quickly and solving any complications. I would definitely recommend this villa and we will definitely be back next year.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. Things you mentioned that needed attention are being cared for as I write. I was not aware so I thank you for the heads up. I am very proud of my staff. Miss Cassie has been with the villa since its inception. She was trained the European old school way and insists all staff members hold to the tradition.. I am pleased that your stay was so pleasant. Staff tells me you were serve, I thank you for that. We will look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards and blessings. Virginia
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderfully Eclectic and Classic Jamaica Experience

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property, classically constructed with artistic flair, atop lushly covered hills that view the ocean and catch its breezes. The staff provides fantastically warm, friendly, professional service that has been lost in the more modern establishments that I've vacationed at much higher expense. I had opportunity to experience the service and accommodations of a highly touted resort during this same trip, was welcomed to remain at the resort by friends and family, but gladly chose to come back "home" to Skibereen. Highly recommend for family, couples, small groups.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am always pleased when guests find my home away from home as comfortable and charming as I do. I am very fortunate to have such a talented and accommodating staff. Cassie was trained by a cultivated French couple. She came with the house as a very young women and is my treasure making it possible for me to stay at Skibereen. They very much enjoyed serving you and yours and would love to serve you again. I am so pleased your vacation was enjoyable. Thank you for trusting in us. Virginia
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: not necessary

We are located in a lovely community overlooking the Half Moon Resort. Are within walking distance to one of the finest resorts in Jamaica. On property there is a Volley Ball Court, A shuffle Board Court & Pool. We have total security & a very fine staff of four to tend to your every need. They will shop, cook, clean & wash & iron your personal clothing daily. No need to carry lots of chances of clothes. We have a fine driver with van to take you where ever you might want to go. He will take you on two day trips and as many local runs as you desire. His price is $600.00 per week. Your driver can recommend and take you to all the local interesting places to see. There is excellent shopping close by and four golf courses. Three are very well maintained championship courses. Beaches are within 10 minutes from the villa. Fine Restaurants are within minutes. The food at the villa is every bit as good as the finest restaurant.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Deposit is nonrefundable. Owner discretion for refund of balance

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund