Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Mountain Vacation at it's Best with 3 Lakes and Hiking Trails

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Awenasa (the Cherokee word for 'my house') is a cozy cabin on a private acre of land, but with access to hiking, neighborhood lakes, mountain views, the Aska Adventure Area, Lake Blue Ridge, Carter's Lake, and other lakes within a short driving distance. The Benton MacKaye hiking trail runs through the neighborhood and there are other local hiking trails. Blue Ridge and Ellijay, GA both have great shopping, antiquing, galleries, festivals - apples in fall and peaches in summer. Horseback riding, canoeing along the Toccoa River Canoe Trail, tubing, and charming dining experiences await you during your visit. Best of all, sitting on the screened porch, watching the birds and wildlife, or enjoying a fire in the fireplace indoors or out, and relaxing in rustic decor provides a perfect getaway for a short weekend or a longer vacation.

In all this rustic paradise, you still have all the comforts of home if you like, including internet, satellite, movies, and games. Whether a romantic weekend for two, a girls' getaway, or your family enjoying the mountains, Awenasa can be your perfect mountain retreat.

Keywords: Cabin, Log

More Details

Owner
Patti Zimmermann
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, german
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2018

About Patti Zimmermann

My wife and I built this cabin in 2001. We have 7 dogs, 2 cats, 1 Parrot, 9 chickens, 5 horses and 1 donkey! We live in Ball Ground, GA which is about 1 hr. drive from the Cabin. We enjoy traveling with our dogs, and some of the cabin decor are antiques collected from around the country during our travels. We love the outdoors, good wine, good food, and interesting people and places.

Patti Zimmermann purchased this cabin in 2001

Why Patti Zimmermann chose Cherry Log

We chose this location because it's close to home. We enjoy the privacy of the 1 acre mountain property, however having some people close by for socializing or in case of an emergency. The city of Blue Ridge is full of little shops, and also offers the Scenic Mountain Railway. It's a very pet friendly town, with lots of activities. One of the only first run drive-in Movie Theaters in Georgia is just the fun way to end the day in town. Then, come back up the mountain and enjoy the evening on the porch with a glass of wine...

What makes this cabin unique

Quiet, private, peaceful, things to do nearby, comfortable, rustic, yet modern.

Amenities

Cherry Log Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please do not have a fire in fireplace if temp is above 60 degrees. If you have questions about the air conditioning or heating, please call us.
  • Please do not move furniture, change or loosen lightbulbs or change the TV and sound equipment settings.
  • Thank you for moving something to keep a child or dog from bothering it, but please put it back before you leave. It makes clean-up easier!
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Tub with shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Daybed with trundle
  • Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Daybed with pull out trundle, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
A canoe is free to use on the lakes around the cabin. A fire pit outside is available for roasting marshmallows and enjoying the mountain atmosphere. The Benton McKaye Trail goes through the neighborhood as well as other hiking trails.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(65 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain Vacation at it's Best with 3 Lakes and Hiking Trails
average rating of 4.8153844 based on 65 reviews
5

Overall great experience

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was furnished nicely with all the necessities you need. We found the cabin to be in clean condition. Very nice queen size bed. Because of the very steep paved roads going into the cabin, I would not recommend renting if you have any inclination of ice or snow. There should be something in the lease about getting a refund with inclement weather that would not allow you to get to cabin or to get out.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your nice comments and glad you enjoyed your stay! We don’t have refunds for bad weather and our rental agreement specifically addresses mountain weather. We ask guests to monitor conditions before arrival and if the weather is turning bad before, we always let the guest know and offer a reschedule for a date within 6 months. We do suggest trip insurance during winter months if you are not inclined to take a reschedule as we have no control over weather and road conditions. Just as an FYI, this has never been a frequent problem during the years that we have been on VRBO. (Chris one time had to go up and rescue a family that got stuck, but it puts us at danger also.)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

the beginning was great .......

  • 4 of 5

the cabin is absolutely adorable !!!!! exactly what we were looking for for a Xmas weekend . We got there Friday and everything was great ( tip : if you are a big coffee drinker you may want to bring your coffee maker since there is only a Keurig ) . Saturday we had a power outage from early am to late afternoon . We made it work with candles and fire but then it happened again on Xmas morning at 8 am which meant no breakfast, coffee, cooking etc......power company had no idea when it would be fixed so we decided to pack up at 10 am and go home so we could at least have some sort of Xmas. .........Patti had been very available the whole weekend which was very appreciated but was very adamant about no refunds .......

I completely understand that this is out of owners control but offering one night at some other time as a makeup would have been the nice thing to do I think.

But amazing area and adorable cabin besides that

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for the super clean way you closed up the cabin. I'm sorry you had the issues with power and they were probably the result of weakened limbs that fell on power lines from the previous week's snow storm and weekend wind. In the past, if issues have happened that are under our control, we are always more than happy to offer additional nights or reschedules, etc. but for things that we have no control over such as weather related issues, we have to adhere to our rental agreement terms which states the no refund policy. The cabin is in the mountains where this kind of issue can happen and we (as well as VRBO) recommend trip insurance, especially during the winter season when things can go wrong due to weather. We hope you will come back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cherry Log, #274609

  • 5 of 5

This is a sweet cabin with all the extra care provided by the owner, Patti Zimmerman. Beautiful quilts and décor and I loved it! Everything was provided for a wonderful stay. I was a solo woman traveler and felt very safe and comfortable. I am so thankful and happy in finding this Georgia beauty. I hope to stay here again and bring my husband next time!

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Loved the layout of this cabin. The Decor was 👍�

  • 4 of 5

Would have appreciated a hot tub and fire pit. No unobstructed view thi time or year. Garbage arrrangement was awkward..never did find the spot...transported 400 miles home.. Saw many deer and one very sickly looking 🦊�

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments. We have considered a hot tub, but there is not a feasible location on our cabin layout for one and with the private water system, we feel we could not drain and refill often enough to insure a completely sanitary tub (up to our standards). There is a firepit with chairs, though, down the hill from the deck. I'm sorry for the garbage situation, but we don't have pickup and only ask that you take it with you if it is not an imposition to do so. If you have long distances to travel, you can leave the garbage in one of the large black trash bags provided and we will take it away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great fall getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Awenasa was just perfect for us! The cabin was so cozy and comfortable, and it was well equipped. We enjoyed the outdoor spaces...loved the screen porch rockers and the fire ring area too. We enjoyed visiting Elijah and Blueridge...shopping and wine tasting, but we were always anxious to return to our cozy little cabin each night for sunset and dinner by the fire!

Can't say enough about the comfort and charm of this little place!!😍?👏?👏?👏?

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Cordele, GA
4

Very enjoyable and relaxing time away from home in a beautiful part of Georgia

  • 4 of 5

Nice quite location to unwind and enjoy nature. Really enjoyed relaxing on the screen porch in the morning with coffee and late in the afternoon with wine. Cabin is very well appointed and we lacked for nothing.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Pink Pig
Blue Ridge
Mercier Orchards
Harvest on Main
The Black Sheep
Christy Lee's Courtyard Grille -- CLOSED
Toccoa Riverside Restaurant
The Black Sheep
L&L Beanery
Charlie's Italian Restaurant & Pizzeria
Out of the Blue
Fezziwig's
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Atlanta Hartsfield
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Blue Ridge, GA
Nearest Motorway
2.5 Miles
Hwy 515
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Blue Ridge, GA
Car: necessary

The Blue Ridge Scenic Railway

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $60
Pet Fee $75

We take Visa, MasterCard, and Discover. Holidays - ask about rates; If early check-in is desired, or late departure, there is a $25.00 fee, if it is possible to accommodate.; must follow checklist for check-out. If not followed, there will be a $50 fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties