Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Luxury Cottage on Three Lakes Chain of 28 Lakes

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

The Pinecone Cottage is a northwoods getaway, located on a beautiful chain of twenty eight lakes in and around Three Lakes, Wisconsin. A stand-alone house on the shores of Deer Lake with your own private dock just feet away, The Pinecone Cottage offers all the comforts of home, plus more. This is your place to relax and play, to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The home is spacious enough to visit with family and friends, or cozy enough for an intimate retreat.

The Pinecone Cottage has three bedrooms and three baths, plus two sleeper sofas to accommodate up to ten people. Tiled slate floors line the foyer, kitchen and porch, with plush carpeting adding comfort to the living areas and bedrooms. A large, wrap-around deck faces the lake, and expansive windows bring the outdoors in to the dramatic two-story great room. Each of the bedrooms has access to a full bath, while the master bedroom has its own luxury bath with separate whirlpool tub, king-size bed and large walk-in closet.

Each season in the Three Lakes area of Northern Wisconsin has it individual charms. Spring and fall are peaceful, reflective times that can be punctuated with amazing beauty. Summer and winter are picturesque times of fun and excitement. There are seemingly endless lakes to explore, while enjoying fishing, skiing, tubing, sailing, swimming or simply boating and relaxing. Close by are excellent trails for hiking, biking, Nordic skiing, and of course, winter’s favorite sport, snowmobiling. Nearby Eagle River hails itself as the snowmobiling capital of the world, and groomed trails can be accessed right from Northenaire that can take you hundreds of miles through pristine forests to dozens of restaurants and pubs.

Keywords: House

More Details

Bill Henderson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2017


Three Lakes House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Luxury Cottage on Three Lakes Chain of 28 Lakes
average rating of 4.857143 based on 7 reviews
Red Wing, Minnesota/United States

Pine Cone Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Pine Cone Cottage was a glorious stay for my family, friends, and I. The snowmobile trails were well groomed and had plenty of snow. Michigan trails were very accessible and close as well. The local bars and restaurants were very appreciative and welcoming. The Pine Cone Cottage is a really modern well equipped home with a beautiful stone, wood-burning fireplace. Incredible views out the windows as the home is set in an evergreen woods. A Winter Wonderland when we woke to beautiful frost mornings! The house was very well equipped for entertaining our guests and included a popcorn pooper, blender, 2 crock pots, single cup coffee brewer plus coffee pot and many serving pieces. For anyone who loves a modern cabin/home that is clean and very spacious I would recommend this as a great value! I plan on coming back again this fall for a great Girls Get-a-Way.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our stay at the Pinecone cottage.

  • 4 of 5

We rented this house for our family of 7 to stay in and to host a reherseal dinner for our son's wedding in Three Lakes. We had 30 at the dinner and with two rented tables and what furniture was there had enough to seat everyone. The kitchen was very well equiped and we were able to cook all the food there. My kids, 33,31,29 and 26 really enjoyed the firepit. We loved the view of the lake and being able to sit out on the deck. This is a lovely home and very comfortable. We did however encounter a few problems. There is only one table and it has two chairs and two benches to seat 6 or maybe 7 if you are small. When we arrived one of the benches was broken and in the closet. We had to go to the hardware store and buy parts and fix it ourselves as we really needed the seating. Also the screen on the door to the deck was all torn out and so you had to keep it closed to keep the flies out. I have never seen so many flies in my life! They were everywhere and very irratating! I feel that for the price the home should have been maintained better. Maybe it was the renters right before us that broke the bench and tore out the screen but those things should have been fixed before we got there. Bill was very nice through the whole process but was unable to take care of either of those two problems. We both called and texted the caretaker but never got any response. This is a great property but needs to be maintained a little better.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nancie, Thanks for your comments . The bench and screen must have happened just before you arrived. We had not had any complaints regarding those issues. With such a short notice regarding these maintenance issues we apologize for not being able to address those things while you were there. We are working on these now and will be corrected very soon. Glad your group enjoyed the home. We wish the newly weds a happy healthful marriage.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Perfect place. Lovely atmosphere, relaxing views, all amenities and conveniences have been thought of and are supplied. The bathrooms and showers are nicer than my own. I've stayed with friends twice and have a fantastic week both times. It's quiet, there is solitude and also close to town. The fishing is also very good. I've caught muskies every year, and even off the dock. It's the perfect balance of luxury and charm in the northwoods.

Bill was very helpful, thanks again.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Garrett thanks for your kind words. Glad you continue to catch fish. We hope you make it again next year. Thank for becoming a repeat visitor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Verona, WI

Wonderful Home

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay at the Pinecone "Cottage". This home is so much more than a cottage! We had three couples and it worked out great for us. The fire pit area is so wonderful and peaceful and fishing on the shoreline off of the dock was nice too. We had the kayaks out every day and biked from Three Lakes to Eagle River and back on the wonderful Three Lakes Trail. We are definitely coming back next year. Thanks so Sue for making our stay wonderful!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Sep 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Milwaukee, WI

Happy Repeat Renters

  • 5 of 5

We just completed our second annual stay at the Pinecone Cottage and enjoyed it again. The house is in great shape, and Sue the local property manager does a great job making sure you are happy. It is a nice combination of stand alone house by the water, with the larger resort a short walk away for the pool, hot tub, volleyball court and wi-fi. The swimming area off the dock has a few weedy areas, but plenty of open sandy area too. We rent a boat from a marina on the chain, and the dock is very convenient to the house. Kitchen area is huge, and great for group cooking. The lakes are never very busy, and either is the resort, so don't worry about a lot of neighbors or noise.

Only things on the wish list would be wi-fi in the house instead of walking to the resort, and since the closets are gigantic, I think they could have used some of the space for an extra bedroom.

Would definitely recommend for a larger family(s) looking for a very nice, modern house to rent on the lake.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dave since your stay we have put a modem in the home so the wifi is now strong as ever in the home. Thanks for your comments and business. See you next summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
cortez, co

Unexpected LUXURY!

  • 5 of 5

From the first exterior view to the moment you step in the front door, this is so much more than just a "cottage". It's beautifully decorated, the bedrooms are fabulous, the kitchen meets all your needs, and the setting on Deer Lake is very cozy. Plus, the managers, Sue and Mal make you feel right at home. In fact, we became friends. The whole area around Three Lakes and Eagle River is such a delight to explore! Cranberries were at their peak in late September--a great treat to take a tour! Highly recommended for a truly relaxing getaway.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bryan thanks for your wonderful comments. We are glad you had a great tome at Pinecone Cottage. We hope you return and make it an annual event. We agree Mal and Sue do a great job.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Three Lakes House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee $125
Tax Rate 10.0%

Deposit Due at Reservation. Rental Fees Due 30 days prior to stay. No refunds within 60 days. Cleaning Fee of $125 per stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


You might like these similar properties