Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Experience 1908 True Craftsman Home: Right Above Downtown

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Short/Mid Term Executive stay or vacation rental 5 minutes from Downtown. 1908 Portland Heights home Restored and Furnished to its original Craftsman Period. One Queen bedroom, one full bath, LR, Den, Dining and Kitchen all on the main level (Basic rental area). The base rate covers the main level and the second level which has another 2 bedrooms and 1 bath on upper floor. As an option you can rent just the main level for 140.0 per night. House is one block to city park, tennis and family market/gourmet Wine store. On Bus Line 51, NW 23rd and Downtown 5 minutes away, or take a healthy walk downtown.

• Brand new period style kitchen; featuring stainless/black appliance, tile and cherry cabinetry.

• Home is tastefully furnished in period antiques, with a working fireplace in the living room.

• You will have cable TV, access to Wi-Fi (wireless internet), and a landline.

• All linens, towels, kitchen equipment and utensils are provided. Full laundry in basement.

Options available:

• Main level only or Main and upper level which has 2 Extra bedrooms and bath, and also sofa bed in open loft area . price quoted on site is for main and upper levels together. main only rents for 140.00 per night

Mid-stay house cleaning, optional (for fee)

• A $250 deposit will be taken at time of reservation, to be returned within 48 hours after stay is complete - 3 night minimum

• Please reserve your stay with a deposit (VRBO, PayPal or checks).

We would also being will to trade time in this home, for time in another home or vacation rental.

Keywords: House, home, bungalow, craftsman, Portland Heights

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
75%
Calendar last updated:
May 20, 2017

Why The Owner chose Portland

We own two homes in this area, so this is our 'extra house'. This is one of the original upscale neighborhoods in Portland established in the 1870's, always in high demand due its unique character and closeness to downtown.

What makes this house unique

Very close to all the action, music, theaters and restaurants in downtown Portland. Great walk to Council Crest Park with 360 degree view from the hilltop, lots of bike friendly paths. Near a great neighborhood market with Gourmet food, Wine (liquor) and deli.

Amenities

Portland Heights House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2) 2 separate bedrooms with queen beds ( one bedroom lower/main level and 1 upper), Double Beds (1) 1 seperate bedroom with a double (lower main level), Twin or Single Beds (1) own small bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Pull-out sofa bed in upper loft
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

Experience 1908 True Craftsman Home: Right Above Downtown
average rating of 4.28 based on 50 reviews
Sacramento, CA
4

Accommodates whole family!

  • 4 of 5

It was enjoyable staying at this fun house. My whole family had a place to sleep. Very close to down town with plenty of street parking. Thanks! Water pressure was a little low upstairs but downstairs shower was a fine backup.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good, but could be great!

  • 4 of 5

Dang you VRBO, for not letting me give something 3.5 stars, because that is what I want to give this property.

I wanted to like this place more than I actually did. The bones of the house, the layout of the house, and above all, the furniture and décor of the house were perfect, and perfect for each other.

There was plenty of space for our family to get away from each other after our first day spent cramped in the car.

This is an older house, and the longer you look, the more you can see signs of that age in some places. Or rather, as my wife said, the upgrading is very targeted. The kitchen is splendid and the den and sitting room were very nice...but, some corners and alcoves were...less pristine. Not a huge deal to us, but if you were spitting the pace with picky in-laws, they would point it out.

Continuing with negative to get that out of the way: Water pressure in the showers was NO good...and the cable...we got the Direct TV to work, but I could only get 2 channels to come in. Luckily, we brought our laptop and an HDMI cable, so, we had Netflix and Amazon Prime...but...you need to plan ahead to that.

Final Negatives: If you are going to advertise having a full washer/dryer available, they probably shouldn't be full of sheets when someone goes to use them. And...as someone else pointed out...this is not a house to rent if someone in your group has mobility issues. From the one street parking, it is about 20 stairs down to the house.

So...I mean, I know that sounds like a lot of negatives for 4 stars...but, on the other hand, compared to other houses in the area, you are getting a lot of Square Footage for the cost. We had two adults and three kids, and space was never an issue. There was also a HUGE amount of spare towels and pillows/blankets available. While it was good for 6 or so people, I'm not sure I would recommend the house for toddlers...there are some steep inside stairs and wood furniture.

The final thing that caused me to go with 4 stars over 3(think 3.5 in your head though) was that we had out security deposit refunded within 24 hours of checking out...so, that was very nice, and prompt.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Bug Infested and Non-Responsive Owner

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house for my birthday vacation because the house looked amazing and had pretty good reviews. First, we had a really hard time finding out how to get into the house because the directions we received for getting into the house weren't great. The bottom floor of this house was a nasty, smelly construction zone and may be part of the reason the bugs were such an issue. We tried calling the owner for clarification three times (left 2 voicemails) with no response. We finally figured out how to get in after about 45 minutes of being stuck out in the rain and the house was ok, not great and kind of dingy and dirty, but we were out of the rain so we joked about it being haunted and then went to dinner. When we came back a few hours later, there were bugs. Lots and lots of bugs. They looked like stink bugs to us - about 1.5" long and brown. They were flying around in the living room and crawling on the walls, couches, everywhere. There was one lamp they really seemed to like and it was a bowl lamp - the inside of the lamp was full of bugs. It was fricking disgusting - there were seriously dozens. We decided to try to go to sleep after they started flying at us. My poor sister and her boyfriend ended up switching rooms in the night because they kept finding bugs in the bed and the bugs were crawling on them. In the morning we found bugs all over the bathroom, even on my sister's boyfriend's toothbrush. They were all over the upstairs hallway. We took videos and pictures because it was so unbelievable. We called the owner again, and surprise surprise, no answer. Finally I called VRBO because we didn't know what else to do and we couldn't stay in the bug infested house.

Finally the owner called me as we were leaving, and then tried to claim the bugs were "no big deal" and every house in Portland has the problem. SORRY BUT NO. I have friends in Portland and I've come to Portland half a dozen times and stayed in a different house each time. I've NEVER had a bug problem before. I haven't seen one other review for a Portland property complaining about these bugs.

Even though we reported the house to VRBO and told the owner we were leaving after less than 24 hours, it took him over 30 days to refund our money, a not even the cleaning deposit, and I had to send a threatening email to get the money back!!! DO NOT RENT FROM THIS OWNER OR STAY IN THIS HOUSE.

SHADY, SHADY, SHADY.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, it is a fact there was a period were there were swarms of beetles across town. and we were affected. this was a weather induced problem, not specific to our house. Sadly, alternate facts and misrepresentations abound over and over in this persons review. we have sealed and had the exterminators spray a prevention barrier, which has caused the problem to stop. the scope, drama and comments from this person are just way, way exaggerated and un true. We were at the doorstep, the very next morning and apologized for the nuisance caused by the few dozen bugs. But this person, seem to want to be as negative as possible. the weather swarm has passed and all is good. Thanks for considering another view.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Big home with bugs

  • 3 of 5

Overall, we enjoyed the house. Its in a great location, and big enough for our family but reasonably priced, however I can't say it was the most comfortable stay I've ever had.

We noticed soon after we got there bugs scurrying around upstairs. We killed a few in the bathroom and hallway and as we were going to bed, I noticed one crawling across the bed! I wasn't particularly happy about it, but we shook all the sheets out and laid down. About an hour of reading and I look down to see another bug crawling in the bed. I don't like camping for this particular reason. I expect to not have things crawling on me as I sleep.

I ended crawling into bed with my son in the next room to get some sleep. The next night we hadn't seen so many so I walk back into the room with my pillow ready to try again, and of course another bug crawls across the sheets. I spent all three nights sleeping with my son, much to my husband's frustration. On the third morning a few bugs even tried to joining me in the shower. So needless to say this house has a bit of a bug problem, I hope you get an exterminator before the next guest.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All of Portland has been hit by a swarm of Boxelder beetles due to the very unusual winter weather. they are attracted to come in thru open doors, and any crack they can find in search of heat. though harmless, they can be a nuisance. dustbusters are great tools! We have sealed, sprayed and called in exterminators. it is seasonal, it does affect all of Portland, some houses more than others...but it appears we have stemmed the tide and are not seeing those little intruders getting in the house. Sorry you got to experience this Portland winter weirdness.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Once Loved Beautiful Home

  • 3 of 5

This is a charming older home filled with unique furniture and fascinating details. It is in a beautiful neighborhood close to downtown and easily accommodates numerous people for a large group or family. Plenty of comfortable spaces to relax in and a kitchen that has every conceivable appliance and utensil. Sadly, the home is not well managed. I planned to rent the house for a long weekend to visit with my daughters in the area. I would be bringing my 84 year old mother. I corresponded with the owner prior to making reservations as I had read reviews which stated quite slippery stairs down to the entrance from the street, unlit areas in and around the house, and no smoke detectors.The owner responded quickly to my query stating that "additional lights have been installed for those dark January evenings, and there were always fire alarms and fire extinguishers, but they have been tested and batteries replaced. The steps are covered in non-slip treads, and this winter will make sure we de-moss the walkways before you arrive!" The owner seemed attentive to my concerns, so I made a reservation. The week before our arrival there was a snowstorm and the owner emailed and suggested I get an appropriate vehicle to handle the icy hills and snowy roads. I was grateful for the advice, and pleased that he was aware we would be arriving during this unusual weather and would have the house ready. This was not the case. We arrived to a huge snow-berm in the parking area which needed to be cleared in order to get out of the car. A shovel had been left beside the road! The staircase to the entrance of the house was also covered with deep snow and ice. I shoveled before anyone got out of the car - chipping ice as best I could. I was surprised no attempt had been made to clear the snow for our arrival. Once we were in the house, we were again disappointed. Perhaps the weather interfered with properly preparing for our rental, yet this was beyond annoying. The floors and furniture were extremely dusty and the rugs not vacuumed. Many light bulbs were burned out, though thankfully the sheets and towels appeared clean. We found candy wrappers on the floor and a stray sock in the corner of one of the bedrooms. The house had not been cleaned for some time. Lastly, the gutters leak producing glaciers at the front door and on the walkway making access and egress extremely dangerous in cold weather. Regrettably, poor management prevents me from recommending this rental.

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Delightful Historic Home in Portland

  • 4 of 5

My wife and I enjoyed a New Years weekend getaway with our two teenage daughters. The furnishings were museum quality and interesting to explore along with a variety of books to read. Bonus to have separate bedrooms, a modern kitchen, and a cozy fire to enjoy.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
PDX
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Amtrak station
Nearest Ski
80 Miles
Mt Hood

Photos

Rates & Availability

Portland Heights House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
$995
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $5 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250

The base rental rate covers the main level only (1 queen bed, full bath, & the LR, Kitchen, DR & Den. The upstairs is extra cost.if you want to use the extra 2 bedrooms, full bath and loft area.) The extra cost for the upper level use is $35 per night. Note: upper level is never rented to anyone else if you just use the lower.
We also accept Checks (10 days in advance), cash at check-in, or PayPal

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties