Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

**FEBRUARY SPECIAL $3200 month -HURRY!** Sleeps 6

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights


About the property

Waterfront home, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)


We were very fortunate with Hurricane Irma...we had minimal roof damage and we are happy to say we had a new metal roof installed. Home has been freshly painted and we are ready for your visit to Paradise!

Welcome to 'Shangri-La'. This is where you can RELAX and ENJOY the TRANQUIL beauty of the sun, sea & sand of the Florida Keys. Spend the afternoon 'lazying around' on the spacious screened porch/lanai or the large open deck overlooking the canal.

This CANAL-FRONT HOME is furnished in classic Keys style. This three-bedroom, two-bath home has everything you could want for your tropical vacation getaway! Six people sleep comfortably with one king-sized bed in the master bedroom, one queen-size in the second bedroom, and two single beds in the third bedroom.

Master bedroom has TV, a private full bath and a double sized closet. A fully equipped kitchen with everything you would need to cook the simplest meals or a gourmet specialty; for your comfort, there are paddle fans in each room along with central air conditioning. Ceramic tile flooring throughout home, screened in porch overlooking canal and an extra large open side deck, great for sunning. A grill is available for cooking your catch!

'Shangri-La' is also a FISHERMAN'S PARADISE.....bring your boat because we're only MINUTES TO THE OCEAN and some of the best BACK-COUNTRY FISHING around! Take a day to enjoy the many wonders of Key West or enhance your tan at Bahia Honda State Park (boat rentals also available nearby for fishing, snorkeling, diving, etc). We're only one canal (approx. 500 ft) in from the open water!

Other sites and activities: Deep sea & back country fishing, glass-bottom boats tour undersea parks, Easy access to Looe Key National Marine Sanctuary ~ an excellent SCUBA and snorkeling site for people of all skill levels; parasailing and skydiving, windsurfing and jet skiing, famous 'watering holes,' fabulous restaurants and entertainment, unique shops, historic sites, and so much more. Something for everyone, you'll never run out of things to do in the fabulous Florida Keys. 'Shangri-La' is a GREAT PLACE FOR A VACATION.... plan yours today!

There is a walking and biking path right outside our door!

Be sure to check out the comments/reviews (scroll down to bottom of page) left from previous guests. You'll want to add your own after your stay!

Keywords: Canal-front Home, 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, open water, fishing, snorkeling, scuba diving, back country

More Details

Lois DeSalvo
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2018

About Lois DeSalvo

Enjoying good times in Paradise!

Hope you make lots of good memories while staying

at Shangri-La II!

Why Lois DeSalvo chose Cutthroat Harbor Estates

My husband discovered this little Key called 'Cudjoe' when he was invited to help a friend move from NJ in 1984. He fell in love with the crystal clear Caribbean water and the warm year round climate. We knew this was the place we wanted to build our retirement home. Close enough to the excitement of Key West and only minutes to some of the best fishing spots and restaurants around. This is the second home we've built and owned in Cudjoe and are looking forward to retiring in the Keys very soon!

What makes this house unique

Sipping coffee or a Margarita on the enclosed lanai.....dining out at a favorite restaurant, only minutes away....quick & easy access to the reef and fishing spots....enjoying a sunset out on the bay. This is 'Paradise'

Guestbook comments from the owner

Lois and Ed,

We had a wonderful time at your beautiful place in the Keys. It was hard to leave.

We have decided warm weather trumps the cold hands down and will probably go for it again next year.

Your place was as nice as you described it on VRBO.

Thank you for sharing it with us.

Laurie and Mike
May 2009
  • 1 of 18


Cutthroat Harbor Estates House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Paddle fans in all rooms, DVD/CD & VCR Player, Fax/Printer available.Fully Equipped Kitchen, Toaster oven, Cooking Utensils, Linens & towels provided, full size washer and dryer & outdoor gas grill. Please, NO PETS. Note, PLEASE CHECK OUR CALENDAR FOR AVAILABILITY DATES, This is a stilt-style (2 story) home & all rooms are, on upper level, Phone # is for directions only, not to be used for reservations. This is a non-smoking home.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
**FEBRUARY SPECIAL $3200 month -HURRY!** Sleeps 6
average rating of 4.631579 based on 56 reviews

Truly Shangrila

  • 5 of 5

This is our 3rd time staying at Shangrila. I have always found the owners to be pleasant & accommodating. We arrived to find the house freshly painted & clean. We enjoyed having morning coffee & snacks while lounging on the new furniture in the screened upper level area. I fished almost every day from the new dock, caught a variety of fish & enjoyed cooking them on the gas grill on the open upper level deck. We all enjoyed the short trip to Key West, only about 25 minutes away. The next door neighbor is an avid fisherman & offered help & advice when asked. We are looking forward to visiting again nest year.

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so happy to have you return and enjoy your time at Shangri-La once again. The best compliments are from return visitors and it sounds like you certainly enjoyed your time there. Thank you for your nice review... Looking forward to your return visit. Regards, Lois & Ed
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The GOOD, the BAD and the UGLY

  • 1 of 5

The GOOD :Fishing in area is good.

The BAD: Dirty canal can’t swim. Bay very shallow, many prop trails where outboard props have hit. Owners old boat up on dock makes activities along dock very cumbersome, not shown in ad. Living room furniture is subpar, cheap and not very comfortable. Thermostat is wi-fi. Owners can control and they do. It changes to a higher temp. Very small TV in master bedroom that is difficult to view from bed. Shower in master so small you can’t turn around in. Front door rotted at bottom. Sliding doors very hard to open/close. Doors do not lock properly so securing your items is always a concern. Laundry doors are rotted off rail system so don’t open/close them or owners may deduct that from your deposit. Neighbors on left have two German Sheppard’s, one friendly, the other will charge you and nip at you. Neighbors on right leave early mornings on boat and can be noisy , no alarm clock needed. Their dog barks constantly at everything that goes up/down the canal. Linens are in very rough shape. The Ugly: We rented this property August 1-31 of 2016 and 2017. Please note that the review done for August of 2016 was NOT done by us! (How many more reviews falsified?). We decided we liked fishing there and told owners to keep deposit and we would rent for same time in 2017. Owners changed rental contract , we signed the contract in haste, assuming things were the same as the previous year. Owner failed to mention any changes. The home was a pig pen not ready for us when we arrived Aug 1st, 2017. It was cleaned later that night and the owners acknowledged they had made a mistake on the dates. After we returned home we were told our deposit would not be given in full. We had not done any damage to the property but were told half of deposit would be kept for electric bill because we stayed over 31 days. How leaving on the morning of the 31st day is justification to keep half of deposit. What seemed wrong was how owners justified keeping any part of our deposit .They didn’t care that we lost first day due to waiting for cleaning lady to clean a filthy house (she left at 9:30 at night). We wouldn’t bring any of our items into filthy home. Lost first day and second day was spent moving into the property. We overlooked all negatives about this property but we will NOT accept the lack of integrity and decency of the owners. Beware of fabricated reasons to not get your full deposit back. Would NOT recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to 2 very disgruntled guests: First, in all the 12 years of renting our home, we've never, ever had to deal w/problems we had with these guests. (You can see from our reviews) The 1st year we rented to them we asked for a certain amount of deposit & they did not want to pay that amount & asked if we can reduce it & we did. We rented the month to them at a very reduced rate since we had a last minute cancellation. They loved it, obviously had no complaints & wanted to rent it for 2017 & we agreed to hold their small deposit to reserve. The 2017 lease was to start Aug. 5th & end Sept. 3rd. (as all our previous guests know, we always start & end our leases on Saturdays even though the prior year we let them start on a weekday since the home was available for time they requested) The new lease stated clearly tenant was responsible for electric 30 days or more & had a start date of Aug. 5th (Saturday) but they arrived August 1st & the home was not ready for guests since their expected date was 4 days later. There was a misunderstanding, but we tried to accommodate them & immediately called our cleaning person upon their arrival & had someone there within 2 hours, which is not an easy feat last minute. I assured them the home would be clean for them in a few hours & it was. After their departure, we informed them we would be deducting the electric from their deposit, they had a very hard time with that & threatened to post a negative comment if we did not refund their full deposit. I was kind enough to return half of their deposit which I shouldn't have done since the electric bill was almost the total of their deposit & they arrived earlier than expected. They threatened to contact VRBO and "any other media" to make a complaint against us. NOTE:The same boat & neighbors were there the previous year as well as the same TV in BR, same shower, same furniture, thermostat, etc. Linens, pillows & blankets are replaced almost every year. No reviews on VRBO can be falsified. Reviews are only accepted through VRBO from previous guests. Signing a lease should be reviewed by all-we make changes as need be. As we know, we cannot please everyone, but we did go above & beyond for them by reducing rent AND security. It's a shame how they've tried to ruin the reputation of our charming rental in the Keys. They harassed us through emails threatening to come to our NJ home. Their only retaliation was to write a negative review. We always try to correct
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 5 of 5

This is the second year I have stayed here. Already booked the third.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The best compliments are from return guests! Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Second visit just as good as the first!

  • 5 of 5

When we planned on making our 2nd trip down to the Florida Keys, it was without thought that we book The Shangri-La home in Cudjoe. Great spacious home with all the comforts of home & close to so many attractions. Owners could not be more accommodating. From the minute we made our inquiry right up until checking out, they both were so helpful & wanting to make sure we had another 5 star experience. The weather was more cooperative this time around so we got to enjoy the wrap around deck overlooking the lagoon equipped with grill that we cooked our fresh caught dinners on which was a plus! I noticed upgraded bed linens from our last visit and some fresh new décor. Home is well taken care of & we cannot wait to return for our 3rd time! Would highly recommend to others, which we have!

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ricky.....we just love hearing from our return's great to know how much you appreciate everything...we try our best to update things in the home and keep everyone comfortable and glad the weather was good and so was the fishing.....can't wait for your return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Nice, well equipped home

  • 4 of 5

The house was very neat and clean. We loved the "sun porch" and shady deck. It is in a perfect place between Big Pine Key for shopping, etc. and Key West for interesting evenings. The neighbor is an avid fisherman which makes for lively viewing from the deck. A great white heron visited almost every night. We named him Charlie. The owners resolved what could have been a very difficult situation quickly and easily. Thank you for letting us share your Keys home.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Carol, Thank you so much for your is greatly appreciated....can't wait to meet Charlie! Hope to see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A Wonderful Time

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay, wish we were still there. The weather was great. The home had everything we needed and loved the lanai for morning coffee. We had a problem with the dishwasher and owner took care of it within 24 hours. Our favorite stop was Square Grouper and Mangrove Mama’s. Caught lots of fish and made new friends. Can’t wait to come back! Will recommend Shangri-La to others for sure.

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're always so happy to hear from our guests and how much they enjoyed their stay. We try our best to make everyone comfortable at Shangri-La. Thank you for your pleasant review and looking forward to your return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Key West Kayak Fishing & Eco-Tours
Mangrove Mama's
Square Grouper
"Our favorite place for dining and tapas...within walking distance"
Nearest Airport
23 Miles
Key West Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Looe Key Tiki Bar, 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Boondocks Grill & Miniature Golf
Nearest Point of Interest
Square Grouper Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest
Mangrove Mama's

Beaches, Day Spa & Movie Theaters, ~~~Please request our Shangri-La info sheets on restaurants, nearby activities, important info, & more!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rental amount (including taxes) due and payable 30 days prior to rental start date. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed & deposit is received.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.