Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Quaint Yurt in Woods at the Foot of Olympics Along Elk Trail

Bedrooms Studio
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, Studio + Loft, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Well furnished yurt tucked away in the national forest Along the Dosewalips river adjacent to national park on two acres of hillside, unit has full kitchen, wraparound deck with gazebo with excellent views of mount Jupiter and adjacent area. Hiking trails start at you doorway. Elk walk past on their way to the valley on a daily basis. Mountain biking, hiking, kayaking, and fishing are but moments away. The sleeping loft has two double beds and a foldout couch. enjoy one of the most beautiful spots in Washington state. Hillside has an abundance of back berries, huckleberries, and others to nibble on as you enjoy your time away from it.

Keywords: Peaceful, Charming, Cozy Warm, Inviting, Economical, Fishing, Kayaking, Hiking, Biking

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 25, 2010

About The Owner

My wife Svetana and I have spent the last three years working on the place and enjoy being there ourselves. We live in Seattle and work in Bremerton. We both wish we could make it out there more often out like every one else life is very busy. We enjoy the outdoors and kayak and fish as much as we can. I have been coming to this area ever since I moved to the NW twenty years ago. Often you see the elk, or bald eagles, chipmunks, or the other creature that inhabit these woods. I have stood on the deck and watched a herd of 50 elk walk by, other mornings I walk out and see deer on the hillside above. Paul and Lana

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2006

Why The Owner chose

This is a great place to relax and let things go. You can go play outdoors or you can just sit and read while you listen to the sound of wildlife around you. We like this area because it is close to Seattle yet far away.

What makes this cabin unique

we are more relaxed all the time we are here, I feel like life is more in perspective. I hope our guests enjoy their stay as much as Lana and I enjoyed creating it.


Brinnon Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
large 2 acre site backed against natiobnal forrest, very private


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
21% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Quaint Yurt in Woods at the Foot of Olympics Along Elk Trail
average rating of 4.285714 based on 14 reviews

Ladies Weekend in the Yurt

  • 4 of 5

I stayed with some girlfriends for the weekend and had a great time! The Yurt is close to some great waterfalls, Geo Duck Cafe, and we hiked Lena Lake just a little bit to the south. This was a cozy stay with everything that we needed. We watched some classic movies, and enjoyed making some good meals together. Note that the oven is a microwave/oven combined, which threw us for a loop, but it all worked out great. I would recommend the Yurt to anyone, it was something fun and different, and made our weekend special.

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great Yurt!

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was amazing! The yurt was beautiful and had everything one would need for a stay. The wood-burning stove kept the whole place cozy, especially upstairs. The suggested hikes that were on the table were beautiful and so close by. It was quiet and peaceful. We would definitely stay again!!! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Value: Perfect Setting for Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Met all criteria for a sister bonding/cleansing/unplugging weekend: seclusion, rustic lodging, electricity, no sound curfew, fire pit, surrounding forest, nearby waterfall/river, fresh air.

Comparative luxuries: flushing toilet (compost toilet during Winter), hot shower, heaters, microwave/toaster ovens. Fridge/freezers are small, enough for roughly 3 days of whole foods. I never knew if the tap water was filtered in any way, so we drank bottled. Huge movie selection (though we didn't use TV at all).

The only hiccup was that the owner mistook my arrival date for a day later, so the yurt wasn't cleaned before I arrived, and he arrived to clean while I was there. But it wasn't too bad to begin with, so I'd already taken care of it. It was nice to meet him, because I was very appreciative of his property.

  • Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 1 of 5

I booked this yurt for the 3rd and 4th of July. Here is an exact copy of the email I sent the owner after we left an hour after arriving :

Paul we did not end up staying in your yurt, after unloading the car we went out on the deck and we were immediately swarmed by aggressive bees. We had to run inside and one of our dogs was stung. We really looked around to see if we could find the hive but had to keep running inside. We didn't want to spend our trip inside and some we left and came home. We tried and tried to put the key back in the lock box but we couldn't get it to closed, meanwhile dodging bees so I put it in a blue bag and tied it to a pipe inside your water she'd. So sorry it didn't work out. I will leave it up to you whether or not you will give us a part or whole refund. Have a happy fourth.

No response from the owner, until July 12 I inquired about the 150.00 dollar damage deposit and when it would be returned. I can't expect the rental fee to be returned, as the bees are not his fault, but if were me I would return the fees and the damage deposit. His response: ' First I need to know what happened to the key.'

I explained again where I put the key and why, but I still can't get a response out of him. So I can only assume he intends to keep my per night rate plus tax and my damage deposit for spending an hour at this place.

This is a total rip off. DO NOT RENT THIS YURT. The owner is very rude and so far, it looks as if I'm getting ripped off on top of it. If the owner returns my deposit, I will update this review to reflect the fact.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
17 5
Puyallup, Wa

Yurt rental

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time in this homey yurt. We have thought about buying one and also a compost toilet, so this experience was valuable. We really loved both. There are four beds to sleep 8, plus a couch and a recliner which can sleep 2 more....not to mention sleeping bags for the floor if you need more. Kitchen was great. Equipped with all cooking needs. Just bring your food! 2 refrig, 2 micro. Living room has large tv, radio, lots of lighting. Deck is pure delight. Area offers lots of water, beaches, streams, local waterfall, many National parks, a wonderful nursery. Highly recommend. Will be back many times.

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Loved this Yurt~

  • 5 of 5

As soon as we drove up the hill to this nicely secluded yurt, we felt happy. It was exactly what we were looking for. When we opened the front door we were surprised at how spacious it was. Very private and peaceful. The gazebo, a huge deck, bbq, full kitchen, and an amazing upper loft are all part of the experience.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


This owner has not provided a specific location. If you would like more information, please contact the owner.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $15
Pet Fee $25
Damage Deposit $125

You might like these similar properties