Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Lakefront Down East Victorian Cottage

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,055 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

'Boyden Belvedere' is a new year round country Victorian designed for casual living with contemporary conveniences. Located 3/4 of a mile down a gravel drive off a country road which passes through fields, horse pastures and woodlands. The driveway ends at the house and there is only 1 other small camp at the end. Perry is a rural village with approximately 800 inhabitants and a relaxed atmosphere. It is also home to the Passamaquoddy Reservation at Pleasant Point. Our property is 5 acres of native woods, with a small area of lawn immediately around the house, suitable for croquet or horseshoes. The house is 100' from the shore and the lake is visible from 3 sides of the house. The lake is home to loons and bald eagles and has some of the best fresh water fishing down east. There is a lighted wood chip path to the dock where a canoe and kayak is kept. Our swim float is anchored about 50' offshore. There is a public landing at the west end of the lake where a power boat can be launched.

The house is designed for outdoor living with a wraparound porch and a large screened in dining area off the kitchen and inside dining room. It is a perfect place to relax on a rainy day and read or rest on the wicker porch furniture. There is a charcoal grill there. The first floor consists of 2 bedrooms; 1 with twin beds, 1 with a full bed. There is a bath with tile shower. The laundry is also on the first floor. The lakeside of the 1st floor consists of a living room, dining room and kitchen with full glass sliding doors to the porch. All the 9' ceilings on the 1st floor have ceiling fans to take advantage of the breezes off the lake. The second floor consists of 2 bedrooms; 1 with queen bed, 1 with full bed, 2 baths with clawfoot tubs with showers. The second floor bedrooms each have ceiling fans and a balcony with outside furniture overlooking the lake accessed by sliding doors. There is a ship's ladder with railing leading to the 3rd floor Belvedere which has a cushioned bench and small table and windows on 4 sides for a 360 degree view of the lake and woods. Wifi access is available!

Information on the surrounding area can be accessed online via 'Quoddy Loop', Cobscook Bay, or Eastport Chamber of Commerce (eastportchmaber.net). The property is unique as it is situated on the easternmost lake in the United States, yet 6 miles from Passamaquoddy Bay, where one can see Deer Island, Campobello and the Old Sow whirlpool.

The Boyden Belvedere weekly rate is $1650. 00

Keywords: Secluded Lakefront Year Round New Home, Wraparound Screened Porch, Dock, Swim Float, Near Eastport, St. Stephen, Campobello, and Passamoquoddy Bay. Fully Equipped Kitchen, Laundry, Belvedere, Boyden Lake, Eastport,

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 4, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

We appreciated your beautiful "camp". Our dog Hannah especially loved the freedom. Thank you for allowing her to stay!
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Perry House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2055 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 3 full baths
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Dock and swim float.

Reviews

4.6/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Lakefront Down East Victorian Cottage
average rating of 4.6 based on 9 reviews
5

Beautiful, secluded paradise!

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed a week of relaxation at this beautiful property. The house is spectacular, probably the best on the lake. One small camp to the left of the house, but otherwise nobody else, so it was very quiet and relaxing. The inside of the house is beautiful, with plenty of space. Enjoyed the all the porches/decks, especially the screened porch for dinners. Easy access to lake down a well lit path, with canoe and kayak. Fire pit next to the house was used just about every night. The lake itself wasn't the greatest for swimming, only about 3' deep out near the floating dock, with the deepest part of the lake on our end at maybe 7'. Very thick weeds out past the dock and in to the main body of the lake. Still, great for an early morning/evening canoe or kayak! Tried fishing just about every day, but nothing much other than some small largemouth bass and golden shiners. I would expect the deeper, Northern part, would provide better fishing, so a boat with a motor would be a plus. Really enjoyed the surrounding area, including all the state parks and National Wildlife Refuge. Eastport is a great place to check out for good restaurants and shops. We also took a whale watch out of Eastport, seeing 7-8 whales, seals, harbor porpoises, and bald eagles (also saw 2 eagles on the lake!). Definitely check out reversing falls in Pembroke, you won't be disappointed! Caretaker did stop by 2 times during our stay to meet up with Orkin tech, which the caretaker had asked us ahead of time about. We were OK with this, but it really shouldn't have ever happened and should have been scheduled for a time when nobody was staying at the house. Overall, a great stay and hope to go back!!

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jefferson, NH
4

Beautiful house

  • 4 of 5

The house is great, in a great location to get to Eastport and other spots on the ocean. The lake is pretty mucky and full of plants, ?millfoil. Good for fishing things like pickerel and perch, but not great for swimming. The float was only out in about 2-3 feet of water which was disappointing for the kids, and the ladder was broken to climb on it. It is a nice lake for kayaking and canoeing.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, the lake is at an all time low this season. They will move the float out further in the lake. Normally we canoe out to the float and swim from that
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful Home!

  • 4 of 5

Hello!

We had a great week at the house. It was great weather and the perfect size for all of us. The bathrooms were clean as was most all of the house. Maybe fresh shower curtains for this coming season. Love the tiled shower! I did talk to the cleaner regarding a couple issues. We did have a mouse and mouse droppings through out the week that we cleaned. The floors were not cleaned well and there was dog hair on all the coverings to the furniture. We through those in the washing machine but there was not soap to wash them. I know we were the first renters and it takes a bit to iron out the kinks. All all it was great. Thank you.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Belchertown
5

A Great Week at The Belvedere

  • 5 of 5

What can I say but wow. A beautiful house inside and out. It had everything we could ask for, it was clean, bright and huge. We went up with 6 adults and 4 children, we did have to bring a crib for our 10 month old and a blowup toddler bed for our two year old but we had a ton of space to really spread out. The wrap around deck was amazing and the screened in area was perfect for dusk when the bugs came around. The pictures don't do the house justice. The kitchen is great with plenty of matching dishes and pots and pans, and a nice gas grill helped a lot with meal prep. The lighted pathway to the dock and swim float was perfect the water level of the lake was pretty low so you had to wade out a little before you could swim but I was able to float my smaller bass boat up to the dock. The fishing was very good with half a dozen large bass and lots of white perch caught. The house is about 3/4 of a mile off of the road with only one other small lake house next door but we didn't hear much of them and only occasionally saw them, in fact I think we counted less than 10 motor boats on the lake all week. A very, very, quiet place with lots of loons swimming around a sounding off. Down town Eastport was only about 25 minutes away by car and there are several general stores closer. The one thing I'd add to the place would be a small second refrigerator but we brought a medium sized cooler for our adult beverages. I'd stay here again in a heart beat, I can't wait to get back.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Millersburg, PA
5

Beautiful and serene location

  • 5 of 5

The lake house is beautiful, in the perfect location and very well equipped. The location is secluded in the woods, on a lake and is so quiet except for the occasional loon or owl.

It was awesome that we could have our dogs on vacation with us.

I would definitely recommend this house if you want a private, secluded location to enjoy your vacation and have a true sense of relaxation.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
125 Miles
Bangor, Maine or St.John, NB
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Eastport, Maine
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Eastport, Maine
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Calais, Maine
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Perry, Maine
Car: necessary

Whale Watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 9.0%

Weekly rental - Saturday to Saturday.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties