Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Outdoor Lovers Paradise-200ft on Broad River-Golf, Tube,Raft, Fish- Dogs LOVE US

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 2,400 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 8 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bath, hot tub, game room, Dish TV-Wi Fi - Free Long Distance

With over 200 feet of frontage on Broad River, nestled in the gated community of Riverbend, this is a fabulous getaway to sooth the stress & strains of everyday life! Enjoy the relaxing sounds of the Broad River from every room, all nestled against the backdrop of the beautiful mountains. This romantic, centrally located cabin will accommodate 2 guests as comfortably as 10.

The hot tub is ready for your enjoyment or you can go tubing in the river, jump in for a swim, roast marshmallows at the fire pit or grab a pole and fish – all right from the backyard. If you need to connect, we also offer unlimited long distance calling and Internet access. PET FRIENDLY - they are our favorite guests!! Dogs of all sizes welcomed!

This truly is an outdoor lover’s paradise! 13 Golf Courses within 20 minutes, tubing, fishing, hiking, hiking, antiquing, & gem hunting all around! Skiing (Boone, NC) is just one hour away!

We are about 30 minutes away from the Waterfall Center of the USA –including Brevard County, Dupont state Park and Pisgah National Forest. Come Join us

- Brand new "bunk House" in basement sleeps 4 - everyone loves it and brand new Serta Mattresses for your sleeping pleasure! Our home is your home !

NEW! Just around the corner from us- experience ZIP LINE Canopy tours, kayaking, rock climbing or tubing too! If you are an outdoor enthusiast- this is your place to be! ( check out under links and video)

Yes, our Cabin is DIRECTLY ON THE BROAD RIVER – for your tubing, swimming, fishing and frolicking adventures. Lots of hiking paths, fire pit to roast marshmallows; Neighborhood amenities include private lake, water fall, and picnic pavilion. Perfect for Families or Family Reunions - lots of space to come together and have fun!

Planning a Wedding in the local area?

Our cabin is located less than 5 minutes from the Lake Lure Inn and Spa. Perfectly located to prepare for the Wedding or spend your first night together. Perfect for retreats and refreshing times


'The Hunger Games' 4-Day Itinerary - all within 30 min- 1 hour from our cabin!

Ready to experience “The Hunger Games”? You’ve come to the right place. The road to Panem starts and ends in North Carolina, where the eagerly awaited movie was shot.

This four-day itinerary, which loops from Charlotte to Asheville and back, leads to film locations, choice star hangouts and sites that connect to elements of the Suzanne Collins novel. It also notes training options to learn skills a Tribute could use.

Day 1

Imagine you’re Effie, leaving the decadence of the Capitol (Charlotte), dropping by District 12 (Hildebran), then landing in a fun-loving place that makes film stars feel at home (Asheville).

Day 2

Having eaten as well as the Tributes during training, prepare to enter the Arena (DuPont State Recreational Forest between Brevard and Hendersonville).

Day 3

Journey from the heart of District 12 (Shelby) to the belly of the Capitol (Charlotte) and sense the atmospheric change from small-town warmth to urban cool.

Day 4

Explore the Capitol (Charlotte), which turns out to be Haymitch’s kind of place

Cabin Overview - 2 acre property- lots to explore!: The Main level of the home features a large and open living/dining/kitchen area with gas fireplace and great leather couches to cuddle up in! The main level also has two bedrooms ( both queen beds) and a full bathroom. The large deck that is accessed from this level wraps around the entire back and one side of the home, offering beautiful views of the Broad River and a perfect place to BBQ on the Gas Grill. The upper (loft) level of the home is a romantic, private bedroom retreat (queen bed) and has a convenient half bath as well. The lower level of the home is perfect for the kids or a second family to join you, featuring a bunkhouse that sleeps 4, a second full bath, large game/recreation room and a laundry room. You can also access the Hot Tub from here and bring a book from our library!

Ingles Market, with its full-service supermarket and pharmacy, is a 5 minute drive from the home. to make those great dinners!

The Community, Lake Lure & Riverbend has amazing 'community only' amenities for you to enjoy: canoe on Mirror Lake, build sandcastles on the Mirror Lake Beach (there's a play area for the children), have a meal at the covered picnic site that offers spectacular views, hike, bike or jog one of the many trails, or just sit and relax by the waterfall.

Use our home as your 'home-base' and go to quaint towns and villages within one hour drive, Visit Hendersonville (home of the NC Apple Festival), Asheville, the Biltmore House, Gardens and Winery, the beautiful waterfalls of Brevard, NC, Trout Fishing in the rivers, Black Mountain, Saluda, Bat Cave and Chimney Rock and of course--Lake Lure. Take a tour of Lake Lure and see why film makers have chosen our area for several famous movies!

And your Dogs will LOVE the river and frolicking in the woods- over 75% of our guests are furry!

Enjoy the Fall Leaves and Apple Season Too!: Our cabin turns into heavin in October thru November when the leaves change and the mountains and valleys light up with all the colors of the rainbow! Be sure to visit Brevard, NC to see the backdrop of waterfalls against the changing leaves! The view from Chimney Rock- just 10 minutes away during the fall can not even be captured in words that would do it justice! You have to come to appreciate! OH AND DON'T FORGET APPLES!

Hendersonville, NC is about 20 minutes away and the HEART of Apple harvests in NC- chose from over 20 varieties for your home made apple pie!

PLEASE NOTE: We are here to make your stay enjoyable, Pls ask us for any special requests and our local friend and property manager, Heather will try her best to accommodate your needs!

All you really need to bring are your personal belongings, a toothbrush and a sense of adventure!

More Details

Please contact Owners via email - response within 24 hours!
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2018

Why Please contact Owners via email - response within 24 hours! chose Lake Lure

We fell in love with the changing leaves in NC many years ago and when our son was little, we wanted a fun place to visit and unwind and create lasting memories.

We walked into our cabin and KNEW this was the place to create those memories- especially with the river easily accessible to us too!

We hope you enjoy our home away from home as much as we have, and as much as our dog, Lefty has as well!

We welcome our furry guests with open paws!

What makes this cabin unique

We have the most accessible river access property in all of River Bend!

Hearing the rushing water is music for your soul!

Lighted stairs that are easy to maneuver make going down for a nightly marsh mellow roast in our fire pit fun!

And the cabin is decorated to give you all the comforts needed for our tree canopied retreat!


Guestbook comments from the owner

My husband and I loved the serenity and privacy! The sounds of the river can be heard from all the decks and we enjoyed sipping our coffee and listening to the birds chirp away in the morning. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a place to unwind and be one with nature! great for families or romantic weekends and our lab LOVED the river to play in! We will be back in the fall
May 2017
  • 1 of 5


Lake Lure Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • 7 DAY STAYS REQUIRED BY COMMUNITY DURING THESE TIMES: 1- SUMMER - From Memorial Day thru Labor Day 2- Holidays ( Christmas, Thanksgiving, New Years)
  • Non Smoking home- please keep our cabin pristine and fresh
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , main floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , basement
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1/2 bath in loft
  • Cabin has 2 full baths, one with shower, one with tub/shower and one 1/2 bath- as well as a full laundry room.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Romantic Loft w 1/2 bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 4 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Bunkhouse Plus extra Futon in Family area
  • (2) QUEEN BEDS (1) DOUBLE BED (4) TWIN BEDS (1) FUTON (1) SECTIONAL COUCH The main level has two bedrooms ( 1-Double; 1-Queen Bed) .The upper (loft) level of the home is a romantic, private bedroom retreat (queen bed)The lower level of the home is perfect for the kids or a second family to join you, featuring a bedroom with a built in Bunkhouse- 4 twin beds and sectional that can provide additional sleeping space
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gated Community
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Terrace
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • 6 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Pet Friendly - dogs of all sizes welcome. DIRECTLY ON BROAD RIVER – for your tubing, swimming, fishing and frolicking adventures. Lots of hiking paths, fire pit to roast marshmallows. Perfect for Families or Family Reunions - lots of space to come together and have fun! Planning a Wedding in the local area? Our cabin is located less than 5 minutes of the Lake Lure Inn and Spa. Perfectly located to prepare for the Wedding or spend your first night together. Perfect for retreats and relaxation. Be sure to also visit Chimney Rock and home of 'last of the Mohicans' and 'Dirty Dancing' Films. Great location for day trips to: Asheville- home of the Biltmore Estate, Waynesville- home to lots of antiques and APPLES Riverbend amenities include private lake, water fall, and picnic pavilion. ****please note dam release from Lake Lure varies especially during summer and this can vary the level of the river call 828-625-9227*** Non Smoking in home- you are able to smoke on outside deck.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(50 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
18% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
Outdoor Lovers Paradise-200ft on Broad River-Golf, Tube,Raft, Fish- Dogs LOVE US
average rating of 4.44 based on 55 reviews

Wonderful stay!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed here with a group of ten to celebrate a friend's birthday. The house was so cozy and inviting and comfortably slept all of us. The property and location were beautiful - great spot for a mountain getaway. The hot tub was much smaller than expected - only comfortably fits two people which was not ideal for a group of 10 but nonetheless, we really enjoyed it! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco

Great place for families who love to be outdoors

  • 5 of 5

All around great space. Easy access to Lake Lure and Chimney Rock. And so close to the zip line (which we did twice!). We loved the fire pit and made s’mores and roasted hot dogs.

The bunk room is too chilly for winter stays but I bet it is great in the summer. Clean, nice bedrooms and bathrooms.

  • Submitted: Nov 12, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC

Great Spot on the River!

  • 5 of 5

This place is nestled in that perfect spot between middle of nowhere and accessible. It's very close to the Lake which has plenty of attractions in itself.

The house is in good shape and has a walkway that takes you straight down to the river. We had some chairs that we put in the river and enjoyed the sunset. There is also a fire pit on site with a tent pad if you're looking to do primitive camping on site too. The house has plenty of room for 8 people and the management team was a huge help with all of my questions.

We did some whitewater kayaking on the Green river which is about 30 minutes from the place and was easy to get to in the nearby town of Saluda.

My only gripe was the initial check-in was difficult due to the access road being blocked with construction, but this shouldn't be an issue for the future because they were paving the access road which was basically complete when I left.

I wound definitely come here again!

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A place get away and relax peacefully!!

  • 5 of 5

Great place ......very comfortable.....everything there you need. Many things to do in the area. River below offers good fishing opportunities.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
North Carolina

Good location! Easy access to river! Needs some TLC!

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our overall stay but did have some issues with the maintenance of the cabin and grounds. The main level and upstairs loft were in good condition and comfortable. The basement smelled very musty when we first arrived but after talking to the owner he instructed us to turn on the dehumidifier in the basement and after a couple of days the smell was better. The bunk house appeared rather dark and dingy so our younger two kids who are 10 & 13 wouldn't sleep down there. Our oldest slept on the basement futon and couch after he arrived on day 3 but said they were not comfortable. The main deck outside had not been cleaned at all. The outdoor cushions on the deck chairs were dirty and soaked from days of rain. We suggested an outdoor storage container to keep them in. The grill was a mess and had to be cleaned the grill brush and ignition switch were broken. Grill was very worn and needs replacing. The downstairs porch was unusable. Hadn't been cleaned & had a broken railing on one side. Window over hot tub was covered in spiderwebs and other debris so we didn't use the hot tub due to lack of outdoor maintenance. Driveway on the listed exit side was covered in moss and had two large pot holes where someone had gotten stuck. My Mom's two wheel drive SUV couldn't get out and even lost traction sliding backwards onto the landing in the middle (scary but we got her down) so we were forced to use the entrance as our exit. Only 8 wash cloths provided for 9 people for 5 days and some linens were old, had holes in them, and were stained. Upstairs loft bed had no mattress pad and was not double sheeted. Lights on stairs didn't work going down to river. The stairs to the river were manageable but slick when rained on. Do not wear Crocs! Both my son and brother fell. The trees needed trimming back at entrance to river so u can see the view and playing kids more easily. We did notify Heather (caretaker) and Tim (owner)of these issues and they were very apologetic and kind. Heather had more wash cloths, kitchen towels, & a mattress pad sent over. Basically the main parts of cabin were good, bathrooms were good and the downstairs living room was good. But the inside of the cabin needs a good cleaning and outside of the cabin definitely needed some TLC! We enjoyed our trips to Chimney Rock and Lake Lure! River was fun to! Tim was very nice and understanding. But I feel like for the money the cabin should have been better prepared for guests!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ali, I am glad you had fun. Unfortunately, we cant help the weather and I am certain there are not as many fun things to do when it's raining. Most of your complaints stemmed from the rain. from A few things I wanted to address for future guests: BASEMENT HUMIDIFER – we keep this for guests, as it is a basement, and as such they get musty, especially if it rains. It has a cedar smell as the walls are cedar. No guest have ever complained before, perhaps you’re not used to the cabin life. MAIN DECK- Again, so sorry it was raining- we can’t help that, and as such, things do get wet. And under the beautiful tree canopy- you MAY have to wipe it down. We used to have an outdoor cushion storage- but guests complained they had to get them out. The grill, is a cabin grill and just fine- we just used it when we were up there. DRIVEWAY: - We again were there a few weeks ago and all was fine- it gets slicked with RAIN like every driveway in the world. WASHCLOTHS- in 10 years we have never had a guest need 25 washcloths for a week. We accommodated your ridiculous request, seems there was no way to make you happy and I am sorry we tried.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
St Augustine


  • 4 of 5

The house itself is very nice, although I would not consider it a 4 bedroom. The upstairs private bedroom has no door and the bathroom is only a sink and toilet. The basement which is considered a fourth bedroom is only good for children as it's just bunk beds, if 4 adult couples rented this house they would not like the bunk beds or the lack of full bathrooms.

The description and pictures of the house have you believe that the river runs through the yard and is easily accessible. Not the case. On one side of the house there is a very step and slippery staircase with no railings and about 55 steps. After you get down that then you have to navigate through some trees and tree roots and more slippery terrain before you reach the river, that was disappointing. There is basically no back yard until you go down all those steps. The jacuzzi is on a lower deck under the upper deck and very dark and moldy area not conducive to a relaxing location. We had a lot of rain the week I was there and the mosquitoes were so much of a problem, I never was able to sit on the porch.

The owner as well as the property manager were very kind and tried to accommodate my concerns. I'm glad it was only my husband and myself but I truly was disappointed with the whole layout of the property. As per other reviews, people loved this rental, I just wish it was a little more forthcoming.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you had fun at the cabin. Darn the rain, it has effected the past few guest stays and we are so sorry! It get’s slippery and debris. We try to tell you everything in the listing, but as you can imagine we don’t know what everyone wants to know – we have successfully let guests stay in our cabin for over 10 years and we’ve never been told its misleading or I would have adjusted it. As you know from our prompt response to every one of your calls- we want our guest to have a great experiences. And thank you for acknowledging that our other guests loved our rental. They truly have and again, darn the rain- you would have had such a better time if it was sunny.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


DIRECT River Front on the Broad River- amazingly stunning and private location- you can fish, swim, tube or just have fun frolicing in the water. Dogs LOVE us too! And zip lining is just next to our gated community's entrance!

Come visit where HUNGER GAMES, Last of the Mohicans and Dirty Dancing were filmed. You will fall in love with the tranquilty and beauty that awaits you here! Lake Lure is a coveted vacation destination! You get the best of both worlds- ur cabin is nestled in the trees for tranquility and seclusion- yet minutes away from all the great things Lake Lure and Chimney Rock have to offer!

Other Activities: tubing, white water rafting, gem mining, wineries, Wildlife, Casino, Indian Reservations

Golf: Over 13 Golf Courses within 20 minutes make this a great golf mountain getaway!

Tiger Woods first golf course, The Cliffs at High Carolina being built just less than an hour away!

Ski: Appalachian, Ski Beech, Sugar Mountain 7 Wolf Laurel- all within your reach from here!

Antiquing, mining for gems, fishing, fly fishing, tubing, boating- we have it all in our area for you! And try to visit during one of our annual festivals like July's Dragon Boat events and Apple Festival galore in Sept and Oct!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $100
Pet Fee $100
Refundable damage deposit $200

Holiday weeks such as Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Years require 7 night stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund