check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lake Leelanau Beachfront Cottage. Summer weeks still available. Hurry!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Traverse City Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Fresh 2BR 1BA Cottage sleeps 6, full kitchen, indoor & outdoor eating areas

Unit 4 of West Wind Resort, a collection of 11 cozy cottages, is on over 400 feet of direct lake frontage on beautiful Lake Leelanau! The Resort has so much to offer: On the water side take in the sandy beach to gather Petoskey stones and relax in the sun, fire pits to make the day linger into night, a romantic gazebo, private protected harbor for your boat (up to 22 feet), lots of land to play catch with the kids or just sit back and enjoy the nature of Northern Michigan. The back side of the cottage features a gigantic children's playscape, volleyball court, horseshoe stakes, basketball court, trailer and extra car parking and a fish cleaning area for all the Walleye and Bass you'll catch! If you're thinking family reunion, we can explore multiple unit rentals.

The inside scoop: Inside you'll find one bedroom with a queen bed, and the second bedroom has two twin beds. There is a sleeper futon in living area. Brand new in 2013, the fully equipped kitchen features a full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, coffee pot, pots, pans, dishes, blender, toaster etc...

The exterior offers a picnic table, propane grill, fire pits, playscape, private harbor, basketball court, volleyball, horseshoes, sandy beach, open area for running and playing and all that Northern Michigan has to offer!

Lake Leelanau is an unlimited use lake where you can swim, powerboat, pontoon, ski, wakeboard, fish, sail, windsurf and whatever else you can dream up. If you are interested in renting a boat or personal watercraft, I'd be happy to email you rental company names.

With this central location, Northern Michigan is at your fingertips! Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes, Leland, Interlochen Arts Academy, Leelanau Trail, Traverse City, two peninsulas of wine tasting and brewery exploration, golf courses, Suttons Bay, Chrystal Mountain, Glen Arbor and The Homestead, Lake Michigan, fresh fruit picking, hiking trails, canoeing and tubing on many rivers....the list is endless.

You'll find many brochures and information inside the cottage to help you decide how to spend your time......if you want to leave the beach that is!

Need more info? Got a question? I'd be happy to help find the information you need to make your stay a memorable one.

Call for more information on any activity and we'll get you going! Don't forget about just relaxing though - there's plenty of space for that!!!

Email me at theporters@charter.net for anything you might need to know!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Ann Porter
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 9, 2016
Call Owner

About Ann Porter

We are so fortunate to live in Traverse City and call this cottage our second home. We are vacationing here ourselves when it is not rented, so we maintain it as if we were living there. We clean it ourselves, so we take our time and do it right, so you can sit back and relax once you open the door!

Ann Porter purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Ann Porter chose Northwest

My husband Chris and I first saw West Wind on a cold December Saturday, but fell in love with It’s location, glimmering sunset, open property, beautiful beach and private harbor. It has so much to offer, both on the property itself and in its central location to so much of Northern Michigan.

Each year we try to make the cottage a little more like home, without taking away its charm and character.

So far we’ve replaced all the windows and the roof, painted over the exterior orange and brown, added flower boxes and whimsical shutters and tried to create a fun feel. We added ceramic tile in the bath and re carpeted. The polka dot room with the star ceiling was the brainchild of our children.

Our latest project was the kitchen. Brand new as of June 20th, 2013!

We hope you find the cottage comfortable and fun!

What makes this cottage unique

Location, location, location! As a Realtor, I know how important this is, and this cottage has it all. Close to everything you would want to do and see in Northern MI, and with the beach and private harbor right out your front door!

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

Lake Leelanau Beachfront Cottage. Summer weeks still available. Hurry!
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews
White Lake, Michigan
3

Anniversary stay

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for our 5 year Anniversary trip. We took out two year old son with us. The cottage was comfortable and my son loved the beach. We brought sand toys and he spent hours digging and playing. He also enjoyed the playground. We enjoyed the fire pit and wood was available for purchase. This was a shared pit but during our stay only 3 cottages were occupied so we had it to ourself. There is a small marina with boat launch, however the entrance was next to our cottage. No one was using it this time of year but we wondered if that would be a problem during warmer months. (Noise, safety) It was very quiet here and the location was convenient to both Traverse City and the Sand Dunes. Boathouse winery is also very close. This suited our needs well relaxing and beautiful view.

Negatively... The vaccume cleaner chord was tattered and dangerous, this was a concern because we found some small ants under the kitchen rug. We were infested with gnats. We made homemade traps and attempt to vaccume some up. They seemed to be coming in from around the air-conditioning unit which was poorly fitted. Our GPS had trouble locating the entrance.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to review our home away from home. Just to clarify, the boat launch is rarely used, as it can only be used to launch at 16 foot boat and shorter. It is recommended that the Bingham County Launch, located a mile south, be used for launching purposes. It is a great launch and easy to use. Please note that the cottage is sprayed every spring for ants, and it is possible that control system needed to be repeated. The fruit flies are very friendly during the late summer in Northern Michigan, sorry you had to meet them!! The vacuum cleaner has been replaced. We appreciate your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Beautiful location.

  • 3 of 5

The cottage suited our needs for touring the wineries. It was tastefully decorated. The kitchen and living room were small, but we did not use it much. The twin bed I slept on was very uncomfortable. Our biggest complaint was a lack of hot water. Nobody in our group was able to get a hot shower or even a luke warm one for that matter. I emailed the owner on the Wednesday before our stay to request linen service but never got a response back from her, nor when I emailed her again on Thursday. I found her lack of response a little disappointing as well.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our Lake Leelanau Cottage. We do have a small hot water tank, so guest showering does require some staggering in timing. I do apologize about my lack of response regarding our linen service. I gladly provide that service, and typically can accommodate a last minute request. It is a beautiful spot and hope you were able to enjoy the fall colors while you were here!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ann Arbor, MI
5

Great location, great value

  • 5 of 5

We loved the little cottage! Right on Lake Leelanau, with a nice sandy beach, a play structure for kids, fire pit, grill- what more could you want. The cottage is nice and has everything you need. My only minor complaint is that the water heater capacity is insufficient, so no long showers!

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Cherryland Capitol airport - Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
15 Miles
Many in Suttons Bay and Traverse City
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Manitou Island Transit
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Many in Traverse City, Suttons Bay and Leland
Nearest Beach
Lake Leelanau is out your front door
Car: necessary

On beautiful Lake Leelanau, close to so many northern Michigan attractions. Located on the east side of south Lake Leelanau, the cottage is close to Traverse City, Suttons Bay, Leland, Glenn Arbor, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Lake Michigan, hiking spots, shopping, restaurants, Interlochen School for the Arts (check out their concert schedule www.interlochen.org) and so much more! That is if you want to leave the beach ten yards from your door!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Traverse City Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring 2017
Apr 14 2017 - Jun 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$850
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,250
 
 
Fall 2017
Aug 27 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$130
$840
$3,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$115
$745
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

In season nightly rentals maybe available 2 weeks prior to arrival. Please inquire.
Ann Porter 231-944-4959
Please don't hesitate to contact us with any additional information you may require.

We require a $100.00 deposit within 5 days of making a reservation to hold your reservation.
1/2 of your remaining balance is due 60 days prior to your arrival date. Final payment due 30 days prior to arrival.
We only accept checks. Please call for additional information and to reserve your vacation!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Newer floor and toilet
  • Bathroom was refurbished in May of 2007. New ceramic tile floor, toilet, faucet and decor. Clean and fresh!
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , newer bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , recently updated
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , in Living Room
  • Living area features a full size futon for added guests. The twin bedroom was recently updated in polka dots and stars! Both bedrooms feature dressers to get clothes out of the way, with a hanging area in the queen bedroom. All beds are clean and comfortable - a perfect way to end a day of playing at the beach or exploring in one of the neighboring towns.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
Outside:
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Sand Box
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Wonderfully large picnic table just outside your door to eat with the sunset and gentle swaying of the lake. Invite the neighbors! Beach chairs to sit and watch them play! Linens and sheets available for a $35 fee. Beach towels available for $10.00 fee. New in 2013, the kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, pots, blender, toaster, coffee maker, microwave. Full size refrigerator, stainless steel sink, both plastic and glass tableware for outdoor or indoor dining. Your own gas grill right out your door for fine vacation barbecue.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties