Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Lake Leelanau Beachfront Cottage. August dates still open! Partial week options!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Fresh 2BR 1BA Cottage sleeps 6, full kitchen, indoor & outdoor eating areas

Unit 4 of West Wind Resort, a collection of 11 cozy cottages, is on over 400 feet of direct lake frontage on beautiful Lake Leelanau! The Resort has so much to offer: On the water side take in the sandy beach to gather Petoskey stones and relax in the sun, fire pits to make the day linger into night, a romantic gazebo, private protected harbor for your boat (up to 22 feet), lots of land to play catch with the kids or just sit back and enjoy the nature of Northern Michigan. The back side of the cottage features a gigantic children's playscape, volleyball court, horseshoe stakes, basketball court, trailer and extra car parking and a fish cleaning area for all the Walleye and Bass you'll catch! If you're thinking family reunion, we can explore multiple unit rentals.

The inside scoop: Inside you'll find one bedroom with a queen bed, and the second bedroom has two twin beds. There is a sleeper futon in living area. Brand new in 2013, the fully equipped kitchen features a full size refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, coffee pot, pots, pans, dishes, blender, toaster etc...

The exterior offers a picnic table, propane grill, fire pits, playscape, private harbor, basketball court, volleyball, horseshoes, sandy beach, open area for running and playing and all that Northern Michigan has to offer!

Lake Leelanau is an unlimited use lake where you can swim, powerboat, pontoon, ski, wakeboard, fish, sail, windsurf and whatever else you can dream up. If you are interested in renting a boat or personal watercraft, I'd be happy to email you rental company names.

With this central location, Northern Michigan is at your fingertips! Sleeping Bear Sand Dunes, Leland, Interlochen Arts Academy, Leelanau Trail, Traverse City, two peninsulas of wine tasting and brewery exploration, golf courses, Suttons Bay, Chrystal Mountain, Glen Arbor and The Homestead, Lake Michigan, fresh fruit picking, hiking trails, canoeing and tubing on many rivers....the list is endless.

You'll find many brochures and information inside the cottage to help you decide how to spend your time......if you want to leave the beach that is!

Need more info? Got a question? I'd be happy to help find the information you need to make your stay a memorable one.

Call for more information on any activity and we'll get you going! Don't forget about just relaxing though - there's plenty of space for that!!!

Email me at for anything you might need to know!

More Details

Ann Porter
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 9, 2017

About Ann Porter

We are so fortunate to live in Traverse City and call this cottage our second home. We are vacationing here ourselves when it is not rented, so we maintain it as if we were living there. We clean it ourselves, so we take our time and do it right, so you can sit back and relax once you open the door!

Ann Porter purchased this cottage in 2003

Why Ann Porter chose Traverse City

My husband Chris and I first saw West Wind on a cold December Saturday, but fell in love with It’s location, glimmering sunset, open property, beautiful beach and private harbor. It has so much to offer, both on the property itself and in its central location to so much of Northern Michigan.

Each year we try to make the cottage a little more like home, without taking away its charm and character.

So far we’ve replaced all the windows and the roof, painted over the exterior orange and brown, added flower boxes and whimsical shutters and tried to create a fun feel. We added ceramic tile in the bath and re carpeted. The polka dot room with the star ceiling was the brainchild of our children.

Our latest project was the kitchen. Brand new as of June 20th, 2013!

We hope you find the cottage comfortable and fun!

What makes this cottage unique

Location, location, location! As a Realtor, I know how important this is, and this cottage has it all. Close to everything you would want to do and see in Northern MI, and with the beach and private harbor right out your front door!


Traverse City Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Newer floor and toilet
  • Bathroom was refurbished in May of 2007. New ceramic tile floor, toilet, faucet and decor. Clean and fresh!
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , newer bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , recently updated
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , in Living Room
  • Living area features a full size futon for added guests. The twin bedroom was recently updated in polka dots and stars! Both bedrooms feature dressers to get clothes out of the way, with a hanging area in the queen bedroom. All beds are clean and comfortable - a perfect way to end a day of playing at the beach or exploring in one of the neighboring towns.
  • Books ...
  • Books for Adults
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Beach Chairs
  • Boat Dock
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Sand Box
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • festivals
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Wonderfully large picnic table just outside your door to eat with the sunset and gentle swaying of the lake. Invite the neighbors! Beach chairs to sit and watch them play! Linens and sheets available for a $35 fee. Beach towels available for $10.00 fee. New in 2013, the kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, pots, blender, toaster, coffee maker, microwave. Full size refrigerator, stainless steel sink, both plastic and glass tableware for outdoor or indoor dining. Your own gas grill right out your door for fine vacation barbecue.


3.7/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

28% Complete
28% Complete
28% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Leelanau Beachfront Cottage. August dates still open! Partial week options!
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 7 reviews

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Great location on Lake Leelanau. Far away enough from the traffic of Traverse City, but close enough if you want to visit. Kids aged 4 & 6 loved playing on the beach everyday which was steps away from the cottage. They also loved the play structure right behind the cottage. The queen bed was not very comfortable....that could use updating. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much! Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful place for a family vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Hadn't been to West Wind in 15 years. My daughters were little then. The place hadn't changed at all. Went with my grandsons and family. We had a couple of cottages. The ones that fished caught fish. The skiers and tubers had their fun. I enjoyed the beautiful view and sunsets. The best part was seeing the little ones having so much fun.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to help make family memories! That is the beauty of West Wind - so much common ground that can be used, but everyone has their own space too. Never a dull moment if that is what you are after, or you can find a quiet place to enjoy on your own if you need to get away! We look forward to having you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Peaceful and beautiful lake... be warned no wi-fi or cell service to speak of

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful place to stay, just wish there was wi-fi considering that there was no cell service.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Noisy Fridge

  • 2 of 5

Beautiful Lake. The refrigerator was making an awful noise on certain cycles from the time we arrived. Texted the owner, her reply was sorry. Kitchen was nice otherwise.

Carpet was dirty and dated.

Beds were not very nice either.

I guess if you are looking for a rustic experience this is it.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments! The refrigerator was replaced, and spring cleaning has occurred. We love sharing beautiful Lake Leelanau with guests and hope you enjoyed all that Northern MI has to offer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
White Lake, Michigan

Anniversary stay

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for our 5 year Anniversary trip. We took out two year old son with us. The cottage was comfortable and my son loved the beach. We brought sand toys and he spent hours digging and playing. He also enjoyed the playground. We enjoyed the fire pit and wood was available for purchase. This was a shared pit but during our stay only 3 cottages were occupied so we had it to ourself. There is a small marina with boat launch, however the entrance was next to our cottage. No one was using it this time of year but we wondered if that would be a problem during warmer months. (Noise, safety) It was very quiet here and the location was convenient to both Traverse City and the Sand Dunes. Boathouse winery is also very close. This suited our needs well relaxing and beautiful view.

Negatively... The vaccume cleaner chord was tattered and dangerous, this was a concern because we found some small ants under the kitchen rug. We were infested with gnats. We made homemade traps and attempt to vaccume some up. They seemed to be coming in from around the air-conditioning unit which was poorly fitted. Our GPS had trouble locating the entrance.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Happy Anniversary! Thank you for taking the time to review our home away from home. Just to clarify, the boat launch is rarely used, as it can only be used to launch at 16 foot boat and shorter. It is recommended that the Bingham County Launch, located a mile south, be used for launching purposes. It is a great launch and easy to use. Please note that the cottage is sprayed every spring for ants, and it is possible that control system needed to be repeated. The fruit flies are very friendly during the late summer in Northern Michigan, sorry you had to meet them!! The vacuum cleaner has been replaced. We appreciate your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful location.

  • 3 of 5

The cottage suited our needs for touring the wineries. It was tastefully decorated. The kitchen and living room were small, but we did not use it much. The twin bed I slept on was very uncomfortable. Our biggest complaint was a lack of hot water. Nobody in our group was able to get a hot shower or even a luke warm one for that matter. I emailed the owner on the Wednesday before our stay to request linen service but never got a response back from her, nor when I emailed her again on Thursday. I found her lack of response a little disappointing as well.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our Lake Leelanau Cottage. We do have a small hot water tank, so guest showering does require some staggering in timing. I do apologize about my lack of response regarding our linen service. I gladly provide that service, and typically can accommodate a last minute request. It is a beautiful spot and hope you were able to enjoy the fall colors while you were here!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Apache Trout Grill
Cherry Bowl Drive-In Theatre
Roman Wheel Pizza and Subs
Sleeping Bear Dunes National Lakeshore
Cherry Republic Grand Cafe
Tart Trails Inc
Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Cherryland Capitol airport - Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
15 Miles
Many in Suttons Bay and Traverse City
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Manitou Island Transit
Nearest Restaurant
15 Miles
Many in Traverse City, Suttons Bay and Leland
Nearest Beach
Lake Leelanau is out your front door
Car: necessary

On beautiful Lake Leelanau, close to so many northern Michigan attractions. Located on the east side of south Lake Leelanau, the cottage is close to Traverse City, Suttons Bay, Leland, Glenn Arbor, Sleeping Bear Dunes, Lake Michigan, hiking spots, shopping, restaurants, Interlochen School for the Arts (check out their concert schedule and so much more! That is if you want to leave the beach ten yards from your door!


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

In season nightly rentals maybe available 2 weeks prior to arrival. Please inquire.
Ann Porter 231-944-4959
Please don't hesitate to contact us with any additional information you may require.

We require a $100.00 deposit within 5 days of making a reservation to hold your reservation.
1/2 of your remaining balance is due 60 days prior to your arrival date. Final payment due 30 days prior to arrival.
We only accept checks. Please call for additional information and to reserve your vacation!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.