Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spectacular Short Term Vacation Rental in Kent

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type barn
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Barn, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Easily sleeps 6!)

Exceptional Post and Beam Authentic Timber Frame Barn in Kent, Ct. Fully restored and converted with all modern amenities for vacation rental weekend getaway, parties or other events. Tastefully furnished with high end accessories, gourmet kitchen appliances, open floor plan with private sleeping quarters and loft areas. Huge fireplace and wood burning stove add warmth and drama!

Private residential residence. Excellent group lodging facility. Relax and enjoy the full sized high quality pool table, built in swimming pool, bar, professional gym facilities and scenic grounds with horses, free-range chickens and more. The barn also offers a professional grade garage band style music experience, complete with amplification, guitars, keyboard, drums, mic stands and setups, bass, and more. A great place for family gathering.

Keywords: Kent, Ct. Weekend Rental, Seasonal Rental, Summer Rental, Ski House, Vacation Rental, Family Reunions, Parties, Rental. Furnished Rental, Swimming Pool

More Details

Owner
Guy
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 9, 2018

About Guy

I am a local craftsmen, fine home builder and musician married with four children. We encourage travelers from all backgrounds to come visit Kent and explore the Litchfield Hills.

Guy purchased this barn in 2002

Why Guy chose South Kent

We love Kent for its unique blend of rural simplicity and cultural flair. The air is crisp, the water is clean and the rural underpinnings of this progressive town instill a calm tranquility and measured appreciation of the natural surroundings accessible to all from The Spirit Horse Farm.

Our farm dates back to the founding of Kent, and remains an iconic property which once housed the local nursery school and kindergarten.

What makes this barn unique

The Litchfield Hills offers visitors an exciting mix of easy country living with up to date cultural experiences in arts, music, entertainment, shopping and fine dining. Kent offers travelers access to all of these benefits plus offers great outdoor activities including hiking the Appalachian Trail, fishing, rafting and kayaking the Housatonic, or exploring miles of preserved land. Motorcyclists, and automobile enthusiasts also find Kent to be the perfect destination or way point while driving the Route 7 corridor through the Bershire foothills. The Spirit Horse Farm is located just at the north end of town and offers both convenience and a private retreat for rest and contemplation at the end of the day. Night time activities include barbequing, fireside gatherings indoors or out, and an opportunity to visit with the horses, work out in the gym, shoot a game of pool, or swim in the moonlight.

Amenities

South Kent Barn Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • barn
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Child Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Full Professional Gym, Horses! Vegetable and herb gardens, Music Room with professional band equipment, bar, outdoor shower, outdoor patios, outdoor fireplaces, free-range chickens providing fresh eggs daily.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Spectacular Short Term Vacation Rental in Kent
average rating of 4.9069767 based on 43 reviews
5

Excellent Bachelor Party Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic time at Spirit Horse Farm. The check-in process was seamless, the space is spectacular, the grounds are delightful, and the host was extremely helpful. Great kitchen for cooking for large groups, the firepit, the pool table, the drum set, the guitars. It's really a great destination for a fun weekend away.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2018
  • Stayed: September 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Always a home away from home

  • 5 of 5

There are not enough stars to post here. For me this is my perfect place and always will be. I can't help but keep coming back. First off Guy is the perfect host - love the horses, doves, peacocks, chickens, roosters and goats - I can go on but you will have to experience it for yourselves...Thank you again - P.S. I'll be back - Lisa NY

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, unique, wonderfully accommodating, we will come back!

  • 5 of 5

We had so much fun. 6 women. The farm is gorgeous and Guy was very accommodating.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property, very well kept, spacious, and I will be going back!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I absolutely LOVED our stay! Guy was such a great host and made it such a personal experience for us the entire stay. There is so much included with the stay, more so than any place I’ve visited. Guy left us a beautiful array of welcome gifts for the kitchen to help complement our stay. The interior was spacious, clean, lots of random art, and a fun interior. The pool was well kept and the kids loved playing in it. They also loved the close proximity to the friendly goats, chickens, and beautiful horses. This is a stay we definitely plan on making a yearly thing. So glad we found the Spirit Horse farm!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our stay was amazing everyone enjoyed themselves

  • 5 of 5

The property was absolutely breathtaking. Would definitely like to return soon with my family. Guy was awesome very welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away with a small group

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Unprepared for guests

  • 2 of 5

We were not at all happy with our stay. We had 4 ladies and only one working shower. We all

had to shower in the downstairs bathroom and there was not water pressure in that shower.

There were no wash cloths or hand towels available. In fact, there were no linens were out for us at all. It was freezing!! It was 62 degrees downstairs where I slept and the thermostat didn't change anything. I slept downstairs and the pullout mattress was so thin that you could feel every spring. We had to drag a futon mattress, which was very heavy, and put it on top of the bed. The lights were very confusing and there wasn't a book or directions for the house anywhere. The outlets in the downstairs bathroom didn't work. The kitchen sink dripped creating a chinese torture situation trying to not here it while going to sleep. The hosts didn't even know what day we were arriving and acted like we had arrived early. The people we dealt with (owner was out of town) were not at all helpful or friendly. We would never stay there again and we definitely would not recommend it to anybody else to stay there.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is our first negative review in 9 years. It is a disappointment, but in some ways accurate. We were out of town, so only available by phone and email. We never heard from the guests regarding any issues, so we were not able to assist. There was a miscommunication regarding arrival time, and in retrospect I can see that that was probably my fault. For that reason, the barn was not fully ready. We do provide linens, as well as firewood, charcoal for the back deck barbecue, fresh eggs, fruit, coffee, tea, cream, butter, jams, artisanal breads, and wonderful locally made cookies. These items are usually stocked before arrival, but unfortunately, they were not delivered to these guests until shortly after they checked in. We were also not able to give them a proper introduction to the property, as we normally do when arrival time is clear. The thermostat and heat do work properly, as do both showers, so it is hard to respond to those complaints, but I can agree that of all the 16 possible available beds, the fold out couch may be the least desirable, since the mattress is so thin! The outlets in the downstairs bathroom do work, but are set up on GFCI's as required by code. GFCIs disable the outlet to prevent electrical shock, and are activated when excessive moisture is detected. There is a little reset button on each outlet, as is the case in most homes, but I know not everyone is familiar with that feature. I cannot comment on why the GFCI was activated in this case, but it is a rare occurrence, and easily remedied, so will add instructions on how to reset the GFCI for future rentals. While I do not fault our guests in their criticisms, I do wish we had more open communication so we could have helped them to enjoy their stay. We take pride in our farm property rental, and do everything we can to ensure our guests do enjoy their stay. I am very sorry this rental fell short of our guest's expectations. We welcome constructive criticism, so we are grateful for all reviews, and are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experiences here at The Spirit Horse Farm.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: necessary

20 minutes to Lime Rock Race Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
day guest fee $35

We offer a 100% refund for cancelled dates as long as we can rebook your dates for equal value.
Otherwise, we offer rain dates. Rain dates must be scheduled within 60 days of cancellation.
Please note or standard check in time is after 4pm, and check out is by 11am. In some cases, we can extend check out or allow earlier check in times, but because we often have back to back bookings, it is not always possible to do so.
Guests may 'purchase' early check in, or late check out, provided no others have already booked immediately preceding or following your visits for an additional $150.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties