Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Balcony - Oceanfront Castle

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 1,450 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Bath, (Sleeps 6-8)

Located on the boardwalk upstairs of the building , the Hamel's Castle is a oceanfront luxurious unit that has been remodeled to a 3BR/3BA apartment in 2012. It has a spacious 440 sq ft furnished terrace and breathtaking views. The location by itself is priceless. The apartment is right at the board walk and a couple steps away from the famous Belmont Park. There are retailers downstairs and many shops around, bars, restaurants, pizzerias, etc. Subway Food and Starbucks are on the corner, and much more in the Bay area. Downtown San Diego is easy to reach from here by car (15 minutes) and so are most of San Diego's attractions such as Sea World (5 minutes), Legoland (30 minutes)and the San Diego Zoo (20 minutes) on light traffic day.

This comfortable 1,950 sq ft luxurious apartment offers everything you need for a great escape right on the beach. You will enjoy the nicest appointments, romantic getaways, or just the beach atmosphere in the beautiful Mission Beach in San Diego. The apartment has been remodeled and upgraded in June 2012. The apartment features a fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, slab granite counters, pantry room and designer finishes throughout. There are plasma TVs in every room - including one of the bathrooms. The living room area opens up to a spacious private balcony on the 1st floor that offers lots of seating, gas BBQ, home theater stereo in-out doors, and the beautiful ocean view. The main bathroom was remodeled in 2014 and now offers a tub/shower. Washer and dryer in-unit.

Sleeping arrangements include one king bed and two queen beds plus a pull out queen sofa in the living room. This unit is ideal for 6 people ( 3 couples) but it will accommodate up to 8 people - considering that 2 people will sleep in the living room. No private parties with more than maximum occupancy is allowed in the unit. No visitors overnight is allowed if maximum capacity is exceeded.

There is a designated parking spot detached from the building (about 150-200 feet away) for 2 compact cars (tandem parking) or 1 large car , but lots of parking spaces surrounding the area - one handicapped parking across the street. We provide linens and towels, beach towels, beach toys and umbrella, chairs and complimentary discount vouchers from retailers downstairs. WiFi-Internet is provided with no extra cost to you - bring your laptop! Our home system allows music in the balcony and TV or DVD at the family room. There is one portable A/C in the living room and one portable A/C in one of the bedrooms. (Wall A/C units are out of order ).

There are security cameras surrounding the building, Verizon antenna and power generator in the building. If noises are a concern to your party, please inquire.

Total space ( including the balcony) is around 2,300 sq ft. No pets allowed!

If you need a bigger place to accommodate your family and friends, please check my other apartment at the same building - next door ! Description and photos at VRBO # 479249 - around 550 sq ft 1 BR / 1 BA perfect for 2, but it can accommodate up to 4 - with sleeping arrangements in the living room with sofa bed.

Here are some details about Mission Beach and surrounding areas to help you with your decision to stay in Mission Beach:

Mission-Beach is a San Diego favorite among locals and visitors alike. It lies between Mission Bay and the Pacific Ocean and has nearly two miles of beautiful white sandy beach. The area is filled with pastel colored houses, condos, old style cottages, beach apartments and hotels. The colorful Boardwalk at Mission Beach runs for three miles ending north of Pacific Beach and is always filled with bicyclists, runners, skateboarders and rollerbladers, and has designated lanes for walking. You can engage in people watching and sunbathing on Mission Beach, or the more strenuous activities of swimming, surfing, body boarding and kayaking. The southern part of Mission Beach is known for its' beach volleyball. To the east lies Mission Bay, which contains two islands with many coves and inlets, and has a large marina for pleasure boaters, and facilities for picnics, camping and fishing. One special point of interest at Mission Beach is Belmont Park, once the site of an amusement park that now is home to shops and restaurants, and a completely restored roller coaster. This 73 foot wooden roller coaster called the 'Big Dipper' was built in 1925, closed in 1976 and reopened in 1990. Everything is convenient for visitors to Mission Beach; just two blocks east are coffeehouses, fast food, taco shops, ethnic food or fine dining. Bicycles and in-line skates are both available for rent on the Boardwalk right below our Vacation rentals which is located inside a Mission Beach historical landmark: The Hamels Castle!

Note: Mission Beach is also known as the place for young groups; if you are noise sensitive you probably should research more before making a commitment to stay in this area. We are in the middle of the action. I am not kidding!

Surrounding areas: Mission Bay, California (0.6 mi), Pacific Beach, California (1.3 mi), Bay Park, California (2.7 mi), Ocean Beach, California (2.7 mi), La Jolla, California (4.4 mi), San Diego, California (6.1 mi), Point Loma, California (6.8 mi)

For more available dates and rates, please inquire with owner. We will be looking forward to talking to you soon!

Keywords: Beachfront, Terrace Overlooking the Ocean, Ocean Views from All Rooms, Luxurious, Comfortable, Close to Restaurants, Bars, Shops, Coupons for Clothing and Bike Rentals downstairs, Upscale, enclosed tub/Shower, Tvs in Every Room (Even in Bathroom), gas BBQ , Sleeps 8, inside the castle, top notch,

More Details

Property Manager
Claudia Shaw
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Why Claudia Shaw chose Mission Beach

Conveniently located at the boardwalk

What makes this apartment unique

Retailers downstairs of the apartment with: bike rentals, surf and skate shop, resort wear store with clothing, souvenirs, beach toys, sunglasses, etc. Mention that you are a guest upstairs to get the renter's discount.

Map

Mission Beach - Oceanfront Boardwalk
Giant Dipper Roller Coaster
"lots of fun at this amusement park for the whole family. Check coupons and other savings onl..."
Nearest Point of Interest
Mission Beach Resortwear
Nearest Point of Interest
MB Rentals and MB Surf Skate
Nearest Point of Interest
Sea World
Nearest Point of Interest
Belmont Amusement Park
Car: recommended

All communication and payment should be direct with the owner. NO personal check accepted. Thank you.

Amenities

Mission Beach Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 full bathrooms; 2 bathrooms are located inside the bedrooms and 1 bathroom is considered the bathroom of the house ( also, belongs to the main bedroom!)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • There are 3 bedrooms total with couple beds: King size bed (1) 1 Luxurious bed with built-in drawers on each side., Queen size Beds (2) 2 Luxurious beds, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a pull out sofa in the living room that converts into a queen size . Adult limit weight of 200 lb. If everyone wants to be accommodated inside rooms, the ideal number of people is 6; however, due to the size of the apartment and the bed arrangement in the living room , it is suggested that 8 people can fit in comfortably.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Custom-made built-in bar in the lounge area fully equipped with wine fridge, blender, regular fridge, granite counter, wine glasses, sink and faucet. There are speakers inside and outside the apartment - at the balcony. Perfect to enjoy your day surrounded by your favorite music . Owners do not allow the location to be rented for private party in the premises. Please do not rent it if you plan on throwing a party with more than our maximum overnight capacity. Our rental agreement enforces the maximum occupancy of 8 people to overnight - visitors are welcome but do not exceed total of 15 total .

Reviews

Exceptional! 4.9/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious Balcony - Oceanfront Castle
average rating of 4.95 based on 40 reviews
5

Royal stay at Mission Beach !

  • 5 of 5

Mission beach location is perfect, right on the boardwalk / beach. Place is very comfortable, clean, modern, and has everything you need. Thanks Claudia !

Alex

  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, Canada
5

Beatiful location

  • 5 of 5

We were 7 ladies staying at the castle, and it was a great location with a perfect patio and the condo was well stocked. One lady had to stay on the couch and I would say this condo is perfect for up to 6 people.

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comments. I just want to clarify that we have disclosed the accommodations as 3 BR/3 BA plus a living room with a pullout sofa in order to allow 8 people.It sounds like you had a person in the group who wasn't expecting to be placed in the living room. I am sorry about that, but all rooms are shown in the website with pictures to avoid disappointments.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

The Castle was a great place to stay. Clean and well kept, with a view that can’t be beat. And it was nice being close to everything South Mission has to offer as well. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy to hear that your family had a good time in the castle. I am always open for new suggestions on how to improve the level of comfort and practicability for my guests too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

We had 81 to 12 year olds and everyone enjoyed there stay the house was beautiful would definitely come back again

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that your family was entertained regardless the age difference. I am always open for suggestions too.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location but sleeps less than 8

  • 4 of 5

I loved the property and location. Great times and nice set up. Very clean. It does not sleep a true 8 people, though. We made it work with the coaches and blow up air mattresses. It should advertise as sleeps 3-6 (1 king and 2 queens) with couch and blow up mattress options for up to 8.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your comments. I just want to clarify that we have disclosed the accommodations as 3 BR/3 BA plus a living room with a pullout sofa in order to allow 8 people.I corrected the description to be even more clear about that to avoid disappointments. I am glad it was an overall happy stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The castle was perfectly placed in the middle of everything

  • 4 of 5

We would like to stay again. Everything you could need is just a short distance away. There is a gift shop located below the unit that has bike rentals for an awesome price, the Belmont (like a mini carnival) is right next door.

The unit is very nice inside, perfect for our family.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy to hear that you had a good time in the castle. We are always receptive for new ideas on how to improve your experience for next time. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $215 + Tax
supplies $35 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 11.05%

1st payment is 50% of rental amount. In order to secure reservation, send UPS /FEDEX for faster delivery. Remaining balance of 50% rent should be received within 30 days of check in by cashier's check, or bank deposit. If credit card is the option, extra paperwork will be required to accept Paypal and 3% to cover fees imposed by Paypal.
Refundable damage deposit is required upon check in - no Amex or Discover accepted.
Preferred payment: cashier's check or bank deposit to minimize possibility of fraudulent transactions by CC.
Credit Card Payment: Visa or MC plus 3%. Check with Owner payment terms for signatures and extra paperwork required. Vacation rentals is considered a risk business for credit cards.
Holiday Rates are higher than regular rates. Please contact owner to get your final quote or to get clarification of final quote. Rates disclosed by VRBO/ Homeaway DO NOT reflect the correct amount if holiday falls under the dates.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties