Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Puget Sound Beach House - Gorgeous Waterfront, Views - Beach Access

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

YOUR PRIVATE GETAWAY ON THE BEACH!!

For those seeking a peaceful nature retreat with stunning year-round water views, Agate Beach House is the perfect place to relax in solitude or gather with friends and family.

Privately nestled amidst towering fir trees, Agate Beach House offers wide-ranging views of Hammersely Inlet, 8-miles of winding saltwater connecting Oakland Bay with Puget Sound. Watch the playful seals, fish from the beach, dig clams for dinner, and (on rare but fortuitous occasions) witness pods of splashing Orcas from the home’s wraparound deck.

The beach house consists of almost 2300 square feet, sleeping up to ten guests. There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms upstairs, with a third bedroom and an additional sleeping/entertainment room (with a door) and third bathroom downstairs.

The spacious main level living room features a cathedral ceiling and an entire wall of windows framing sweeping water views, which is equally mesmerizing in misty fog as when illuminated by bright sunshine. This room is comfortably and tastefully furnished with leather sofas, fireplace, 40” flat screen TV, DVD player, basic cable, a selection of books, as well as wireless internet (available throughout the house).

The open kitchen is fully equipped to prepare a gourmet feast, and includes an espresso machine, blender/food processor, commercial grade waffle maker and cookbooks.

Through the sliding glass doors of the adjoining dining room (seating 6 to 8), the large deck includes a gas grill and outdoor table and chairs overlooking the water. During most weeks of the year, fresh herbs for cooking are available in the garden, which is tastefully landscaped with mostly native shrubs and trees.

Still on the main level, the master bedroom offers a queen bed with water views, cable TV, and an en-suite bathroom with jetted tub. The guest bedroom next door faces the fir trees lining the private driveway. Furnished with a queen size bed, it is situated a few steps from the main level bathroom, which includes a tub and shower.

The downstairs living area offers limited views of the water, a cozy wood stove, and a sliding glass door to the lower garden. This spacious room with a door for privacy is furnished with a twin bunk bed, full size futon, and offers cable TV, videos, and board games. It is an ideal space to entertain children.

Also downstairs is yet another private bedroom with queen bed. There is also a third bathroom with a shower on the lower level.

WATER ACTIVITIES

Enjoy long strolls along the beach in either direction during low tide. Rent a kayak and have it delivered from the nearby town of Allyn (please note that the current strength varies throughout the day; consult tide schedule and kayak rental professionals regarding skill level requirements).

NEARBY ATTRACTIONS

Less than two hours’ drive from Seattle, Agate Beach House offers nearby conveniences and recreation including hiking, fishing, kayaking, wine tasting and fresh local seafood.

Fresh local oysters, Dungeness crab, and fresh and smoked clams can be purchased to bring home, from Taylor Shellfish’s Retail Store on the southern edge of Shelton. One and a half miles from Taylor Shellfish, visit the friendly staff at Walter Dacon Winery’s tasting room and sample their award-winning Washington wines.

In the opposite direction, seven miles north of Agate Beach House, on the way to Harstine Island State Park (which has been described as “the best kept secret in Puget Sound” for its pristine shorelines and protected forests accessible by hiking trails), the Olympic Bakery & Deli offers daily fresh baked goods, quick and healthy casual meals, and wine & cheese tastings.

Take a daytrip to the magical Olympic National Park, North America’s only temperate rainforest, with its breathtaking views and abundant wildlife.

Take the scenic ferry ride from Bremerton to downtown Seattle, where the ferry stops only a few blocks from Seattle’s famous Pike Place Market. Explore downtown Seattle by foot, avoiding the stress of navigating traffic and parking.

Less than 45 minutes’ drive from Shelton, scuba enthusiasts can dive with the giant Pacific octopus, wolf eels, rockfish, and anemones that reside in the clear waters of the Hood Canal.

WELCOME TO YOUR WATER FRONT RETREAT

The setting is so private and the view so amazing, you won't want to leave Agate Beach House once you arrive. Please inquire for more photos.

Agate Beach House is managed by Picture Properties Vacation Rental Management, where prompt and courteous guest service is our priority.

Keywords: Beach House, Cabin, Cottage, Beachfront, Waterfront, Getaway, Vacation rental

More Details

Property Manager
Picture Properties
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 24, 2017

Amenities

Agate House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 bathrooms with either tub or shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size beds (3), Full sized futon, plus queen air bed, Bunk Beds (1). Pack n play portable crib available. Sleeps 10, but 8 adults maximum please.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Puget Sound Beach House - Gorgeous Waterfront, Views - Beach Access
average rating of 4.5 based on 32 reviews
Portland OR
5

Gorgeous home with beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for Thanksgiving and the house was perfect--beds comfortable and house impeccably furnished. Amazing artwork everywhere and beautiful view of the Sound.. Kitchen very well equipped and stocked and was a pleasure to cook Thanksgiving dinner here. Would highly recommend. All questions addressed by property manager very quickly. Highly recommend Smokin Mo's in Shelton!

  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Forest Park, WA
5

Perfect for our long weekend. Very comfortable , clean and spacious.

  • 5 of 5

The Home has everything. Feels like home. We had a great stay.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lacey, WA
5

Perfect getaway property!

  • 5 of 5

We chose this place to stay during Oysterfest weekend to accommodate three couples. If you are looking for quiet, seclusion, privacy, fantastic views, saltwater beach, then this is the place for you! It is remote, but more than worth the twenty minute drive from Shelton. We were treated to jumping porpoises, harbor seals, seabirds, eagles, and a couple hummingbirds checking us out while greeting the sunrise over coffee on the deck. The kitchen is well-supplied with cookware, dishes, and plenty of glassware for a weekend of meals if you just want to stroll the beach or relax at home during your stay. The kitchen, dining area, and living room all offer wonderful views of Hammersley Inlet. There was a small supply of firewood on the front step for the living room fireplace which was perfect for taking off the chill after a wet day at Oysterfest. Klay's Burger Shack (best halibut burgers on the planet!) and Spencer Lake Tavern are ten minutes away if cooking dinner is not on your agenda. We highly recommend Smoking Mo's BBQ (we grabbed some takeout to enjoy at the house) and The Strip steakhouse (reservations recommended) in downtown Shelton.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Great home away from home!"

  • 4 of 5

What a little gem! We had a wonderful time at Agate Beach House. Being from MN, we werent accustomed to tide waters so it was really intriguing to watch the change in water level. Lovely neighbors on both sides shared so much information about the tide, clam bags, oyster/clam bakes, and the surrounding area. The location was ideal for us as we had planned on traveling both to Seattle as well as to the northwest coast. It is quite a drive to Seattle. So if you are planning on spending a lot of time in the city, plan on driving. We drive to Bremerton to catch the ferry to Seattle one day and that was an enjoyable way to travel to Seattle! But other than two days in the city, we drive west and visited the Hoh Rainforest and Rialto Beach area. Both amazingly beautiful experiences! Coming. Back to the beach house was welcoming with its beautiful views of the inlet. Very quiet and peaceful. Watch for a variety of boats coming through. Barges, tugs, fishing, sailboats. The grounds around the home are stunning! A little walk down to the water through the foliage is really pretty. It's a ways down to the water but once down it's fun to hunt for special rocks and treasures. If I had to comment on any negatives I guess it would have to be the fact there is no a/c in the house. It was a pretty warm week when we were there and got a little warm in the house at times but nothing that would ruin our stay. Also, the mattresses were quite harder than what we were used to. Again, just trying to give someone some honest information. The three bathrooms was a treat! I do wish we could have been down on the beach at any given time but I realize it doesn't work that way with the ocean water. Overall we all had an amazing time and this house was a great place for us to gather and plan all our NW adventures!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad these guests had a nice time and that they got to experience tides for the very first time. As we northwesterners know, AC is hard to come by around here. None of the houses Picture Properties manages have AC. That is because we rarely need it around here. Of course, we do not advertise for AC and had they asked, we would have made it clear. This has not been an issue with guests in the past, so don't worry! Thanks! Debra, Picture Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Blacksburg, VA, USA
5

Natural Beauty, Great Views, Walk on the Beach

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property with 3 children and 6 adults. The house was nicely furnished with tasteful decor, comfortable, clean and the internet worked well. The kitchen was well stocked and we enjoyed eating meals on the upper deck, just outside the kitchen, overlooking the water.

There's a small convenience/grocery store very close by for quick needs (basics), although we planned day trips to the Olympia Farmer's Market and Taylor Shellfish for fresh local seafood and produce. The kitchen was VERY well equipped, far more so than any other vacation home we have rented. There are plastic plates and utensils for the children as well as ample serving pieces and cooking gadgets.

There are great water views, regardless of weather or time of day. We enjoyed a gorgeous sunset from the lower deck one evening. The gardens were lush and just about to bloom when we stayed. Our kids loved playing on the beach, where they spent much time throwing oyster shells into the water and turning over rocks to look for baby crabs. The air was so clean and refreshing, we slept with the windows open every night and could hear only the wind blowing through the trees.

I agree with many of the other reviewers, the view over the inlet is spectacular and I look forward to returning again soon to this special place.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Corvallis OR
3

Fun location on Puget Sound inlet

  • 3 of 5

We had a lovely family time with three generations, enjoying the great location, beautiful view, and water activities. The house was clean and provided a nice space for the children to play downstairs in the bunk room/playroom. The two decks were wonderful spots for watching the water activities, including seals and barges. There were plenty of supplies (towels, toilet paper, etc.) which was nice. The kitchen is stocked well with pans and dishes, but lacked a simple spatula for turning burgers, etc. Also missing were potholders. The barbeque on the deck was not very effective, so after struggling to get hamburgers to cook the first night, we opted to use the oven for the second night's entree.

Our main complaint was the bathrooms... the two shared bathrooms were small, and the showers were not very good. Neither the showers or the bathtub in the master drained very well. We could not understand why a master bath would not have a shower, and this was not convenient, but we managed just fine.

We loved the pretty gardens surrounding the house, and overall had a very nice stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We found out about the slow drains from the next guests and addressed them same day - solved. It's always best to contact us during your stay rather than in a review afterwards, since most things we can fix either same day or next day. All things in this review will be addressed quickly (except there is only a soaking tub in master bath, but there is a shower upstairs on same floor across the hall). Please let us know if you have any questions. Thanks! Debra, Picture Properties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
70 Miles
SeaTac Airport, Seattle, WA
Nearest Ferry
35 Miles
Bremerton Ferry
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Highway 3
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
Right in front of the property!
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Agate House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Memorial Day
May 25 2017 - May 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Peak Season
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$229
From
$259
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$319
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Season
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$259
From
$299
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$319
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Shoulder Season
Sep 5 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$229
From
$259
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
$279
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Christmas
Dec 15 2017 - Dec 19 2017
2 night minimum stay
$229
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas to New Year's
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$269
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$199
From
$219
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Process fee $20
Refundable damage deposit $400
Cleaning fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

Sleeps 8 to 10 (8 adults max).
4pm check-in, 11am check-out
If interested in dates more than 6 months out, please contact us before booking online.

CANCELLATIONS – A thirty (30) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than thirty (30) days prior to the arrival date will be fully refunded, less a $25.00 re-booking fee. Cancellations that are made within 15 to 29 days of the arrival date, forfeit half the entire rent payment. Cancellations within 14 days forfeit the full payment. Early departure does not warrant any refund of rent or deposit. Any nights of the cancelled stay that are re-booked will result in a refund, less a $25.00 re-booking fee per new booking.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties