check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

'Crows Nest' Studio Apartment on the Beach

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
studio
Sleeps
3
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Studio, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Great getaway from the usual. Escape the crowds and enjoy virgin beaches but still have all the comforts. Studio style room with cooking facilities for small meals. Sleeps up to three persons, two adults and one child. Large shaded outdoor veranda. Located on the beach. Boogie boards and kayaks available. Hot showers, in room safe, charming and cheerful appointments.

Keywords: Second floor apartment on beach


Owner
Don Weber
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 21, 2017

About Don Weber

We share our time between Corn Island and Bellingham Wa. Have been coming to the island since 1997.

Don Weber purchased this studio in 1998

Why Don Weber chose Nicaragua

Beautiful location with a simpler lifestyle.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Crow's Nest. What a lovely beach and so quiet. Just what the doctor ordered! Kathy and the staff were there to help if you needed but, otherwise, left you to your own devices. That doesn't mean we didn't speak or enjoy some chats over a glass on red in the evening. The beach, a constant sound of the surf and a wonderful ocean breeze ... incredible. There's not a lot of great eateries but that's not what we came for. However, there's a really good authentic Italian restaurant just down the beach. You can rent bikes or simply get a cab (incredibly cheap!). All in all, we would love to have the opportunity to return. Thank you Kathy.”
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 12

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

'Crows Nest' Studio Apartment on the Beach
average rating of 4.875 based on 20 reviews
5

Fantastic location and staff

  • 5 of 5

The Crows Nest and Tree House apartments are wonderfully located on their own at the far end of Long Beach. Good value. Delighted to have hot water. Helen the housekeeper is an angel! She was always available to help, clean, and cook if given enough notice. The owners live underneath the Crows Nest but respect their guests' privacy, whilst providing sun loungers, hammocks, and belly boards for surfing. The property opens directly onto the beach while the tree house is immediately across the dirt road. The weather provided some challenges. We stayed in January and there was a lot of warm driving wind and rain, which made a mess of the road. But we also enjoyed a lot of glorious sunshine and fun surf. 15 min walk along deserted beach to nearest bar / restaurant.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing getaway on an awesome beach.

  • 4 of 5

The property is nicely located on the beach and the Crowsnest accommodation provided the basics I needed for my week long stay in a self-catering unit. It is clear that the design of the space was well thought out and developed with attention to details. Overall the maintenance is good and the place is clean and comfortable. Communication with the owners was very prompt. Staff were helpful with what I needed and otherwise I had the independence & solitude I was looking for. Wifi and body boards were a great added bonus. Would have preferred if the bikes were free to use. The lobster dinner I ordered was good but pricey at 500 cordobas (only 300 elsewhere).

My one disappointment was the deck area. It was located at the back of the property and thus did not face the beach. Additionally the deck was useless in the rain because it got wet and worse yet, water collected in the overhead canvas. I got soaked twice and the cleaning lady regularly got wet when trying to drain the collected water. This inability to use the deck during rainy times meant there was no good place to sit and eat. It also meant I ended up sitting inside on my bed to read or watch a movie when it was raining rather than being able to use the awesome deck chairs outside. It seems like this is something that could be easily improved.

Yes I would recommend this accommodation but FYI:

- If you are planning to self-cater - the grocery situation is poor. The Commisary is mostly empty shelves. Use the pulperias but you will probably have to visit a few to get what you want. I recommend bringing as much as you can with you from the mainland.

- Some taxi drivers do not like to go to the end of Long Bay road - 4 drivers turned me down at the airport when I arrived before I got ride. Also, a driver during the week would not drive off the paved road. Granted it's not a really long walk along the beach... just something to be aware of.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laura thanks for taking your time to write a review and to give me the opportunity to address some of your issues. We want our guests to be comfortable. I think a quick email to us or speaking to Katie our caretaker would have taken care of some of the disappointments. First let me say we are lucky to have neighbors that will bring their small businesses to our home. We do not have a restaurant but Helen will cook if asked and has her a menu in the room. Lobster dinner is 250 . She pays $200 cords for each bag She stores it in two portion bags. She reports you got two portions. She thought you wanted it. The teenager that rents the bikes has the cheapest bikes on Corn Island 2$ an hour 5$ a day. They may seem expensive in comparison to Granada but parts are hard to get. We are in the middle of the ocean. Bikes here are a maintenance nightmare. We just can't keep prices where they are and have free bikes. We do have free boogie boards and kayaks. Sorry for you taxi trouble. If you visit again have Helen set you up with one driver. Also upon arrival all the drivers directly outside the door at the airport are there to rush people to the boat for Little Corn. You always have to walk 20 feet to the curb and hail a cab. About those shade sails,the deck off the Crows Nest is about 7 feet by 18 feet with side views of the beach and topped with water resistant shade sails. If we extended the roof the rain would still be on the deck during heavy rainstorms. Most of our guests sit on the big covered veranda using the tables where you at your lobster when the weather is bad. We also have adirondack chairs on that veranda . Great for watching the storms during those times. Another suggestion if you wanted to eat privately would to be to use the eating bar in your room . It looks directly over the beach and the fridge and utensils are handy. The fact that you had a hard time finding food really makes us feel bad.. You are right Whole Foods hasn't found Corn Island yet but Helen can find almost anything fruit vegetables ,fresh herbs, even when the boats are slow due to weather.Cocunuts are right in the front yard. She makes milk for drinks at no charge. All you have to do is let her know We want our guests to be comfortable. If you had let me know I think I could have satisfied all your concerns while you were there. Helen tells me you spend a lot of time in Granada . Hope you give us another chance.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best view on big Corn island

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this beautiful island as well as our choice of accommodations. You cant beat the view from the property and the privacy of your own beach and hammock to lie and read a book or go for a swim. No one will bother you and you can completely relax.

Kathy and Don were very accommodating by helping us find where things were located on the island and providing fresh drinking water daily.

There are dogs living on this property but they are extremely friendly and we especially loved Sweeny who was always up for a scratch on the head.

The place is extremely secure with a night watchman and a safe inside the condo

The condo itself was basic but had enough for our needs during our stay. Stove top for cooking, fridge, shower and a double bed. The balcony had comfortable loungers and a table and chairs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this beautiful and friendly little island. It truly felt like paradise.

Thank you for making our holiday so relaxing and enjoyable. It was just what we needed after a busy few months prior.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
saginaw,mi usa
5

great stay!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I returned to The Treehouse for the third time this year. It's becoming our preferred honeymoon get away spot. We enjoy cooking our own breakfast with fresh eggs we gather from the chicken Coop and having housekeeping do the dishes. Tucked up in the trees it is private yet steps to the beach. It has everything we need. What a find. Mitch Tarras

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
Wyoming, Mich.
5

Northerner

  • 5 of 5

A repeat visit to the Crows Nest on Corn Island proved it was even better than I remembered. . Meditating on the unbelievably blue waters,fresh coconuts,great walks through tropical gardens. Amenities and location can't be beat . It has everything I want when traveling in the tropics. A comfortable bed,a great bath , a cool breeze and a great beach. The Crows Nest remains a great value. Rosemary Fiscus

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Cambridge, Ontario Canada
5

Beautiful secluded island paradise

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing place. You must not need to be babysat. Come with independence. Kathy and Don and Helen will give you any help/info you need then go to it yourself! Thats what makes it great. Cook in or dine out whatever you want. Explore the island or sit on the beautiful secluded beach. Very quiet and private.The view is beyond expectation, you can have all the sun or shade you need. The property is very clean. Be patient, sometimes the power can go out, but remember this is a little island not a big 5 star resort! We loved it and highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Big Corn Island
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Island Style
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Ferry to Little Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Island Taste
Nearest Beach
On site
Car: not necessary

Boogie Boards,Bicycles, Kayak

Photos

Rates & Availability

Corn Island Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - May 14 2017
3 night minimum stay
$50
$325
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $75

Three person maximum Check-in time is 2:00, check out-time is 11:00. Prices are for 2 people. Extra persons are 15/night .Three person maximum, 2 adults 1child or two adults Check-in time is 3:00, check out-time is 10:00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Corn Island Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - toilet , shower
  • Separate shower and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Window seat will seat small size person.
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shelling
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties