Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'Crows Nest' Studio Apartment on the Beach

Sleeps3
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Great getaway from the usual. Escape the crowds and enjoy virgin beaches but still have all the comforts. Studio style room with cooking facilities for small meals. Sleeps up to three persons, two adults and one child. Large shaded outdoor veranda. Located on the beach. Boogie boards and kayaks available. Hot showers, in room safe, charming and cheerful appointments.

Keywords: Second floor apartment on beach


Owner
Don Weber
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 18, 2017

About Don Weber

We share our time between Corn Island and Bellingham Wa. Have been coming to the island since 1997.

Don Weber purchased this studio in 1998

Why Don Weber chose Nicaragua

Beautiful location with a simpler lifestyle.

Guestbook comments from the owner

“We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Crow's Nest. What a lovely beach and so quiet. Just what the doctor ordered! Kathy and the staff were there to help if you needed but, otherwise, left you to your own devices. That doesn't mean we didn't speak or enjoy some chats over a glass on red in the evening. The beach, a constant sound of the surf and a wonderful ocean breeze ... incredible. There's not a lot of great eateries but that's not what we came for. However, there's a really good authentic Italian restaurant just down the beach. You can rent bikes or simply get a cab (incredibly cheap!). All in all, we would love to have the opportunity to return. Thank you Kathy.”
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 12

Amenities

Corn Island Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • - toilet , shower
  • Separate shower and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 double
  • Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Window seat will seat small size person.
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • shelling
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rock climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

'Crows Nest' Studio Apartment on the Beach
average rating of 4.909091 based on 23 reviews
5

Front Suite - Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

Best place we stayed on Big and Little Corn Islands. We originally booked the Crows Nest but ended up upgrading to the Front Suite because it happened to be available when we arrived. Thank you Kathy, Helen and Narrie for making us feel so welcome and at home. We hope to be back again sometime soon :)

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Simply paradise

  • 5 of 5

An incredible stay! Initially we thought it was a little far from town but after a day of having the beach pretty much to yourself we decided it was the perfect location. Taxis were easy to catch and there is a bus that runs on the island although nobody really knows what the schedule is.

The studio was perfect for my husband and I. It had everything we needed. French press for morning coffee, toaster oven for bread, small fridge for perishables AND beer plus a magnificent view albeit from the side but who cares...it was simply paradise.

No need for ac, the warm sea breeze cooled things down. The surf lulled us to sleep every night and the songbirds woke us every morning.

We ran, boogie board, walked around the island, swam on the other side of the island or simply lazed about on the hammocks under the coconut trees.

Don and Cathy were great hosts, unobtrusive but available. Helen was the best! She cooked us lobster dinners and even fried up conch at our request.

Yes, it was definitely one of our favourite spots...

Would definitely come back.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Location!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here 3 weeks and had a wonderful time. Nice owners and the property manager Helen was great and looked after anything we ever required. Beautiful quiet location on the beach. It's typically the windy side of the island which made for incredible breezes in the room with very few mosquitoes. There is a calmer beautiful beach for easier swimming within a 30 min walk or 10 min taxi ride. Bycyles are also available for rent, however taxi's are so cheap we hardly used the bicycles. Very relaxing on the hammocks at the waterfront. Helen will also cook you up a nice lobster dinner (provided it's in season) for a very reasonable price. It was fun exploring all the small vendors to see who had what supplies as it often changed from day to day. We much enjoyed this location and would highly recommend it. The hot shower was also a big bonus as hot water is not common here.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic location and staff

  • 5 of 5

The Crows Nest and Tree House apartments are wonderfully located on their own at the far end of Long Beach. Good value. Delighted to have hot water. Helen the housekeeper is an angel! She was always available to help, clean, and cook if given enough notice. The owners live underneath the Crows Nest but respect their guests' privacy, whilst providing sun loungers, hammocks, and belly boards for surfing. The property opens directly onto the beach while the tree house is immediately across the dirt road. The weather provided some challenges. We stayed in January and there was a lot of warm driving wind and rain, which made a mess of the road. But we also enjoyed a lot of glorious sunshine and fun surf. 15 min walk along deserted beach to nearest bar / restaurant.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing getaway on an awesome beach.

  • 4 of 5

The property is nicely located on the beach and the Crowsnest accommodation provided the basics I needed for my week long stay in a self-catering unit. It is clear that the design of the space was well thought out and developed with attention to details. Overall the maintenance is good and the place is clean and comfortable. Communication with the owners was very prompt. Staff were helpful with what I needed and otherwise I had the independence & solitude I was looking for. Wifi and body boards were a great added bonus. Would have preferred if the bikes were free to use. The lobster dinner I ordered was good but pricey at 500 cordobas (only 300 elsewhere).

My one disappointment was the deck area. It was located at the back of the property and thus did not face the beach. Additionally the deck was useless in the rain because it got wet and worse yet, water collected in the overhead canvas. I got soaked twice and the cleaning lady regularly got wet when trying to drain the collected water. This inability to use the deck during rainy times meant there was no good place to sit and eat. It also meant I ended up sitting inside on my bed to read or watch a movie when it was raining rather than being able to use the awesome deck chairs outside. It seems like this is something that could be easily improved.

Yes I would recommend this accommodation but FYI:

- If you are planning to self-cater - the grocery situation is poor. The Commisary is mostly empty shelves. Use the pulperias but you will probably have to visit a few to get what you want. I recommend bringing as much as you can with you from the mainland.

- Some taxi drivers do not like to go to the end of Long Bay road - 4 drivers turned me down at the airport when I arrived before I got ride. Also, a driver during the week would not drive off the paved road. Granted it's not a really long walk along the beach... just something to be aware of.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Laura thanks for taking your time to write a review and to give me the opportunity to address some of your issues. We want our guests to be comfortable. I think a quick email to us or speaking to Katie our caretaker would have taken care of some of the disappointments. First let me say we are lucky to have neighbors that will bring their small businesses to our home. We do not have a restaurant but Helen will cook if asked and has her a menu in the room. Lobster dinner is 250 . She pays $200 cords for each bag She stores it in two portion bags. She reports you got two portions. She thought you wanted it. The teenager that rents the bikes has the cheapest bikes on Corn Island 2$ an hour 5$ a day. They may seem expensive in comparison to Granada but parts are hard to get. We are in the middle of the ocean. Bikes here are a maintenance nightmare. We just can't keep prices where they are and have free bikes. We do have free boogie boards and kayaks. Sorry for you taxi trouble. If you visit again have Helen set you up with one driver. Also upon arrival all the drivers directly outside the door at the airport are there to rush people to the boat for Little Corn. You always have to walk 20 feet to the curb and hail a cab. About those shade sails,the deck off the Crows Nest is about 7 feet by 18 feet with side views of the beach and topped with water resistant shade sails. If we extended the roof the rain would still be on the deck during heavy rainstorms. Most of our guests sit on the big covered veranda using the tables where you at your lobster when the weather is bad. We also have adirondack chairs on that veranda . Great for watching the storms during those times. Another suggestion if you wanted to eat privately would to be to use the eating bar in your room . It looks directly over the beach and the fridge and utensils are handy. The fact that you had a hard time finding food really makes us feel bad.. You are right Whole Foods hasn't found Corn Island yet but Helen can find almost anything fruit vegetables ,fresh herbs, even when the boats are slow due to weather.Cocunuts are right in the front yard. She makes milk for drinks at no charge. All you have to do is let her know We want our guests to be comfortable. If you had let me know I think I could have satisfied all your concerns while you were there. Helen tells me you spend a lot of time in Granada . Hope you give us another chance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Best view on big Corn island

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved this beautiful island as well as our choice of accommodations. You cant beat the view from the property and the privacy of your own beach and hammock to lie and read a book or go for a swim. No one will bother you and you can completely relax.

Kathy and Don were very accommodating by helping us find where things were located on the island and providing fresh drinking water daily.

There are dogs living on this property but they are extremely friendly and we especially loved Sweeny who was always up for a scratch on the head.

The place is extremely secure with a night watchman and a safe inside the condo

The condo itself was basic but had enough for our needs during our stay. Stove top for cooking, fridge, shower and a double bed. The balcony had comfortable loungers and a table and chairs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on this beautiful and friendly little island. It truly felt like paradise.

Thank you for making our holiday so relaxing and enjoyable. It was just what we needed after a busy few months prior.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Big Corn Island
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Island Style
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Ferry to Little Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Island Taste
Nearest Beach
On site
Car: not necessary

Boogie Boards,Bicycles, Kayak

Photos

Rates & Availability

Corn Island Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 15 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$50
$300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
Nov 1 2017 - May 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$55
$330
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $75

Three person maximum Check-in time is 2:00, check out-time is 11:00. Prices are for 2 people. Extra persons are 15/night .Three person maximum, 2 adults 1child or two adults Check-in time is 3:00, check out-time is 10:00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties