Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Newly Renovated Beach Home w/WiFi&Cable, Just Minutes Away From the Beach!!!

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 31 nights


About the property

2 bedroom, 2 bathroom beach home, sleeps 6 just a 7 minute walk to the beach

The 'Cocktail Hour' is a Newly renovated pier home located in the gated community of Oceanside Village in Surfside Beach, SC just a few miles south of Myrtle Beach. It’s only a 7 minute walk or 3 minute drive to Oceanside Village’s private beach access with parking. The 'Cocktail Hour' can accommodate 2 vehicles parked in the driveway under the pier home, no on street parking is allowed. The 'Cocktail Hour' has 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms with plenty of space to sleep 6 people comfortably and has cable & WiFi. This home has been completely renovated inside and out everything from laminated hardwood flooring, windows, interior paint, siding, a deck with wheelchair ramp, furniture, and much much more.

The master bedroom has a new queen size bed, large closet, 32” flat screen TV with cable, reading lamps, alarm clock, ceiling fan, linens, blankets & pillows along with a private master bathroom with stand-up shower.

The second bedroom has two new twin beds, reading lamp, alarm clock, ceiling fan, new linens, blankets & pillows, walk-in closet with stacked washer & dryer, and iron & ironing board with the second full bathroom just off the hallway.

The newly renovated kitchen with open concept offers all the amenities of home with a new side-by-side refrigerator freezer with water/ice dispenser, full size dishwasher, microwave, 4 burner flat top electric stove with oven, coffee maker, toaster oven, blender, pots, frying pans, plates, glasses, bowls, utensils and much much more. This kitchen is fully equipped with everything you will need to prepare a simple breakfast to a full course meal. The kitchen has an island that offers storage and 2 bar stools for casual dining as well as a separate dining area with a table that seats 4. We also have a small computer desk for those that choose to bring their own laptop or tablet.

The open concept living room has a 32” flat screen TV with cable, DVD/CD Home Theater surround sound system, with a small selection of movies, radio/CD player stereo, wireless internet and a new couch & loveseat. Adjacent to the living room is a separate sitting/gaming area with a futon that can sleep 2, 22” flat screen TV, Wii gaming console with a small selection of video games and a few board games as well. This area will be great for that morning cup of coffee, watching the sunset and/or for the kids to play video games on that occasional rainy day.

We also have 4 beach chairs and small coolers for your days at the beach.

In your rental fee you will get all the amenities Oceanside Village has to offer. Things like private beach access with parking, indoor & outdoor swimming pools with adult lounge area and kids water play area coming in the spring, tennis, volleyball & basketball courts, baseball field, playground, gym/fitness room (small extra cost) and community center.

Linens are available, for an extra fee, such as bed sheets, blankets & bath towels. We do not provide beach towels, paper products (bathroom tissue, paper towel) and soaps.

No Pets Please

Must be at least 25 years old to rent

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About Shawn

I have been enjoying Summer vacations with my family in the Myrtle Beach area since I was a child. I have wonderful memories of the area and hope you will too. My wife and I have recently (January 2013) purchased this newly renovated property and have made every attention to detail to ensure you and your family will have a safe and excellent vacation experience. With all the property and area have to offer, you're sure to want to visit again. Thank-you for considering The 'Cocktail Hour' for your vacation!

Shawn purchased this house in 2013

Why Shawn chose Surfside Beach

This property has been newly renovated and everything is new or in like new condition. It is centrally located in the Myrtle Beach area and best of all it's only a 7 minute walk to the beach or a 3 minute car ride.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Thank you for sharing your home in Surfside with us this past week! My

family had a wonderful time and the kids are already asking if we can

return next year!"

"Your home was wonderful and accommodated our needs perfectly."
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2


Melody Gardens House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , alarm clock, ceiling fan, reading lamps...
    Second Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Walk in closet with stackable washer&dryer,ceiling fan,lamp
    Sitting Area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Full size futon that sleeps 2
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Games
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Tennis
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 3 beach chairs
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Newly Renovated Beach Home w/WiFi&Cable, Just Minutes Away From the Beach!!!
average rating of 4.65 based on 22 reviews


  • 5 of 5

There's so much I could say about this lovely property but simply put, if you are visiting MB this is the place to be. This property has EVERYTHING that you need and more. VERY CLEAN and in great condition. I'm very hard to please and this property exceeded my expectations. My family (husband and 3 kids ages 12, 12 and 7) were so comfortable in this home that we hardly wanted to leave. Any future trips to MB will definitely include a stay at the Cocktail Hour!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the home as much as we do! We look forward to hearing from you on your next vacation. Thanks again, Shawn
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 1 of 5

Location wise, not too bad. Very close to the playground and indoor pool. Only 10-15 minutes walk to the beach or outside pool. Sadly the property did not live up to expectations. It's hard to tell how it's been "newly renovated". I guess maybe the laminate floors are new. The kitchen was well equipped though.

Although linens are provided I would advise taking your own, the ones there are not great and comforters are frayed and lumpy.

We also had a problem with cockroaches while we were there. We advised the owner on the Monday of our stay, but pest control did not come until Friday evening. Admittedly Tuesday was a holiday, but even so we paid an awful lot of money for our vacation and had hoped the problem would have been dealt with quickly.

We have stayed at numerous other properties on Oceanside village over the years and there are nicer options available in the same price bracket. Overall, very disappointed

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Grandson's first beach trip

  • 5 of 5

Terrific experience ! Home has eveything needed for a wonderful relaxing trip . The resort is very family friendly and has everything you could want in outdoor activities . Shopping for anything you could want is just minutes away . Water park , putt putt golf just around the corner as well . We plan to make it a annual trip .

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you Steve! Sounds like you had a great time. Can't wait to hear from you again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cocktail Hour - Highly Recommended

  • 5 of 5

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Cocktail Hour. Oceanside Village feels more like a community of friendly neighbors than a vacation spot, and it's within easy driving distance of anything you might want to do (including grocery shopping just down the street). The Oceanside Village private beach is perfect, with plenty of space for everyone, and my kids were thrilled with the two pools, one of which includes a water play area.

As to the Cocktail Hour, I've given it five stars, which says it all. We loved it, and didn't want to leave. It was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. Shawn is altogether helpful and easy to work with.

Our family prefers to spend most of our time at the beach, by the pool, or tooling around the neighborhood, and though it was an extra expense, we rented a golf cart and had an absolute blast with it. Otherwise, walking is not a problem. But the golf carts are fun, and seem to be the primary mode of transportation.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Good location

  • 3 of 5

Good location, walking distance to the beach. The only good thing about this property. Shawn was nice and fair by returning the cleaning fee as the house was not cleaned at the time of the arrival due to a mixed up with the cleaning crew.

On a down side, beds were terrible and pillows even worse. Take your own. Towels are very old but at least were clean. I wouldn't stay there again but like I said the location was great.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Edit 12-23-2016- Purchased new memory foam mattress for master bedroom. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Its sad that the ONLY thing you thought was good about the home was the location. We take pride in the fact that we offer a home that many people have enjoyed for their family vacation. Unfortunately we did have a mix up with the cleaning schedule. As you know the home was cleaned for you free of charge for that incident as a gesture of good faith and a commitment for the satisfaction of our guests. We also make every attempt to provide practical linens for our guests that do get removed from service once they are no longer to most people's standards. We do appreciate you choosing our home and do hope you enjoyed you vacation. Shawn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Our family of 6 was comfortable! House was clean and close to the beach front.

  • 4 of 5

Overall, we had a great stay. We had 2 teens and 2 kids and the six of us fit comfortably in the house. The house was clean upon arrival and Shawn was quick with responding to my emails. Kitchen was well stocked with supplies. Only downside was not being able to rent an outside golfcart. We had to rent from the village and couldn't take them off of the property. The golf carts had to be plugged into the storage area since there aren't any outdoor outlets. We were so busy enjoying the local attractions though, that we never really got a chance to be in the house to enjoy the Wii or other games. The house would be great for rainy day. The pools are close by by golf cart but we didn't have a chance to enjoy those either. Next time we will plan for a 2 week vacation! Thank you for the great mini vacation!!

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank-you for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the home and hope to hear from you for your next vacation. We are working on ways to improve our guest experience and are considering a golf cart for the property. Thanks again! Shawn
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Myrtle Beach Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
Conch Cafe & Lounge
Nearest Golf
0.7 Miles
Tupelo Bay Golf Center
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Surfside Beach
Car: recommended

This property is centrally located to everything you will need on your vacation.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $145
Damage Deposit $250

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties