Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Front House with elevator and boardwalk to the surf

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Sunroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Beach home with boardwalk thru dunes directly to the water. Master bedroom has an office with daybed connected. Second bedroom has queen bed and third has two single beds. Large screen porch underneath with tables and chairs and grill. Walking distance to all island restaurants, grocery stores, shops and the St. George Island Lighthouse.

Keywords: Beach home near center of island close to stores and restaurants.


Owner
George Floyd
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
10%
Calendar last updated:
November 6, 2017

About George Floyd

Apalachicola native went into the military at age 18, then a career in the corporate world, now retired to the good life on the island. I live on St. George Island and run the Maritime Museum in Apalachicola.

George Floyd purchased this house in 1985

Why George Floyd chose Gulf Beaches

The great thing about this home is the proximity to the center of the island. The beach café, Blue Parrot, is a short stroll down the beach from the house. All other restaurants, grocery stores, curio stores, gift shops and equipment rentals are within just a few blocks. The lighthouse and park is visible from the yard and only three blocks away.

What makes this house unique

This home is at the midway point on the bike path that runs the entire length of the island. It is a two hour round trip ride in either direction. It is a short ride to the stores for grocery shopping or dinner There are other great bicycle rides along the back roads of Pine Street and other bay roads that offer great adventures exploring the older parts of the island. It is also very close to the bridge where the old bridge fishing pier is great for riding or wetting the hook.

The palm studded lot, outdoor hammock and extra large yard make this a spacious and comfortable location with a good deal of privacy. The screen porch under the dock with the nearby grill is a shady and cool respite for dining with an eight seating table and lounge chairs with ferns and other greenery.

Map

Dolphin tours, Maritime Heritage tours, Out Island tours, wood boat school, golf cart access . Festivals, events and other activities listed at http://www.apalachicolabay.org/

Amenities

Gulf Beaches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Bicycles, paddle boards and kayaks available for rent at property

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

42% Complete
21% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
14% Complete
Beach Front House with elevator and boardwalk to the surf
average rating of 3.7142856 based on 14 reviews
5

The house is older but very comfortable. We enjoyed our stay.

  • 5 of 5

There was a wonderful view from the beach house and the porch. George, the owner, was responsive and helpful throughout our stay. The beach house had belonged to his grandparents. The house was clean and the beds were comfortable. The boardwalk to the beach, including a gate at the end, was one of my favorite things. It gave pets and small children the run of the deck without allowing them to escape. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking and the floor plan worked well for our family of 6, even when our numbers swelled to 8 with a 2 day visit from my parents. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

broken shower and kitchen sink owner is dishonest-

  • 1 of 5

The house was in a good location but there were issues constantly. The kitchen sink started leaking all over the floor. Once we got that cleaned up and finally contacted the owner, I waited in the house until after lunch for the plumbers. The shower in the master was destroyed! There were huge chunks of tile out of the walls and laying all in the floor. Nothing was done to correct this so our family of 6 had to all shower and get ready in one bathroom for the entire trip. Also, the house wasn't very clean. There was dog hair on everything. The owner seemed understanding and offered a partial refund for the trouble but never sent it nor will he respond to me.

Overall, I am very disappointed and hurt with the way we were treated. Our family goes to SGI every year and have never had problems like this before.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter came in midway through the peak of high season. Properties are rented back to back during this time. Checkout at 10 AM and new arrival at 5 PM leaves only 7 hours to do a turn around. In this case, the renter the week before was abusive of the property wherein the plumbing leak and broken shower tiles could not be resolved until early during the week of rental due to very busy schedule of everyone during this time of peak activity. The plumber may have been a bit delayed, but that is reasonable due to the high volume of repair activity during the peak season. Same goes for the shower. It was usable despite the broken wall tile and there were no debris left on the floor. The wall tile was replaced during the following week as matching tile was required to be ordered. The issues of dog hair was never mentioned to me, but is now brought forth the first time in this review. These were annoying but not bad enough to render the sink or the shower unusable. Instead they demanded a refund after returning from the trip and threatened a slanderous review if I did not provide do a refund. Now they write this review without even giving me time to get a check out despite having to deal with the ravages of hurricane Hermine which hit our area hard. A very egregious and demanding bunch of folks these were. They greatly exaggerated the severity of the issues in order to demand a refund and when a refund was not immediately forthcoming, they launched this attack. And to attack my honesty is especially inappropriate in that nothing in their complaint reflects lack of truth in my words or actions. They simply seek to inflict as much harm as possible with a dishonest review.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Alpharetta, GA
3

This is the best view on the Island and just the right distance from the shops and crowds.

  • 3 of 5

It's a classic, rustic, comfortable beach house. The boardwalk leads you to within steps of the beach. The kitchen was easy to work in and well enough equipped to make all of our meals. The view is wonderful.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

The location was wonderful and the house was good with a few flaws

  • 3 of 5

The location you cannot beat! It is a beautiful spot on the beach. The house is older - but still very nice and accomodating for our family that consisted of my parents who are older, kids, and adults! The elevator is not meant for much weight - so really is just for carting stuff up and down not people - which we were not aware of and an adult was stuck in the elevator for a bit. The dishwasher never worked while we were there although a worker was supposed to be out multiple times. The location made up for the issues we had and I believe my whole family enjoyed themselves.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Relaxing house; great location

  • 4 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It was a perfect location: close enough to the middle of the island to walk to the store, restaurants, etc., but far enough away not to be in the beach crowd (for as much of a crowd as there ever is at SGI). The house wasn't fancy, but it was comfortable, and it had everything we needed. Loved the boardwalk right out to the beach and the view from the porch. Also loved that our small dog was welcome--she had a great time on the beach, too. We hope to go back!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Spring Hill, Tennessee
4

Nice, easy access to the beach, old but comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

Nice place to stay. Nice parking, Great access to the beach. Older home, comfortable and spacious. Covered deck is a plus in my book. You can enjoy the beach without going out on to the beach in a windy or rainy day. Convenient to stores for food, shopping or just site seeing. Short walk to the Light house and easy to get on and off the Island.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.