3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
About Jesse O'Brien
I am the founder of Central Athlete, a health and fitness startup in Downtown Austin.
Jesse O'Brien purchased this House in 2011
Why Jesse O'Brien chose South Austin
This house is the perfect blend of being out the city, with close proximity to Central Austin. We have a Whole Foods, Costco, great tacos places and no more than 5 minutes away.
What makes this House unique
We have our own functional fitness gym as well as an outdoor gym.
Please consider the following guidelines when booking this property:
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
The perfect home retreat!
We loved using the outdoor sauna, relaxing in the comfortable and well appointed accommodations inside. The water pressure is great, awesome for showers. And healthy plants are in every room. What a great place to stay!
Great House in South Austin
I rented this property for 5 days in April 2019 during a trip back to Austin for a friend’s wedding. We had 4 adults, an infant, and a large dog in our group and there was more than enough space for everyone to be comfortable. The house was perfectly clean on arrival and had plenty of the items we have come to expect from short-term rentals in Austin – pots, pans, cups, towels, TP, etc. The backyard was very nice and we did not hear any noise from neighbors during our stay – the ones we saw waved to us and had the typical friendly hospitality you get in nice neighborhoods. If you don’t know Austin, this is a great part of town (we lived ~1 mile away for 3 years). You are a short Uber from downtown/South Congress/UT but surrounded by less traffic and more space. Evangeline Café is right down the street (must try) and Stephenson Nature Preserve is nearby and has great trails for hiking and letting the dog run. We highly recommend this property and plan to check their availability on future trips to ATX.
Now to respond to the previous review from May 2018. I’m actually surprised they were able to compose it given how helpless they sound. Regarding the odor, I can’t say what it was a year before we stayed but there was no issue for us. The owners had some essential oils diffuser thing (I think) going when we arrived. I would describe it as a light incense. Well its not our cup of tea so we turned it off on arrival and it was unnoticeable by the time we had finished unpacking the truck. There is a gym in the garage which is nice if you want to get a workout in but it also had no smell. No workout for me but I did utilize the sauna in their nicely landscaped backyard. I try not to judge other people with kids (our first is 3 months) but I don’t think it is unreasonable to do a walkaround when staying at a fully furnished house to look for hazards and move things that your toddler might get into.
I’ve done my share of travelling and I would have never guessed that somebody could complain about good water pressure. When you start to turn the knobs, water comes out. If you keep turning them, more water comes out. The pressure is sufficient that if you aren’t paying attention and point the shower head wrong you could expect water to splash out onto the floor. We aren’t talking Harvey levels of flooding. The owners obviously care about this property given its condition and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Austin.
We agree that this rental property is in a great location in Austin, but we had a few issues we hope the owner could address to improve this property.
As soon as we opened the front door to the house, there was a strong and very unpleasant odor. It would be difficult to describe it, but it was overpowering. We found a diffuser on the table in the entryway and when we went to put water in the tray, we saw black debris floating in the diffuser's water. We dumped it out and added new water and a few drops of the peppermint oil that was there. Unfortunately, even the smell of peppermint could not mask the pungent smell that was throughout the house. The house was not dirty, but because of the strong smell, the house "felt" dirty. We think we figured out how to describe the smell...it smelled like a gym or locker room. We read later that the owners have a gym in their garage, so we think that might be why it had an odor.
We had a two year old in our group, but we did not think the house was kid friendly. First, there is a portable bar (looks like a podium) in the living room. There is a lamp and a big crystal on top of it and they are both plugged into the wall. The problem is, someone could easily go behind the bar and trip over the electrical cord (it is not flat on the floor) and knock either or both things onto the floor. Having a young child around makes it very dangerous. There was also a basket of balls on the bookshelf which our great-nephew found right away. Problem is, some of the balls looked like dog toys and we kept having to tell our nephew to put them down just in case they were dog toys.
The last thing we wanted to bring attention to was the issue with possible flooding of the bathroom. The owner does warn renters about the water pressure and to "barely turn on the water or you will risk flooding the bathroom". Is it the water pressure or just poor drainage? We think this is could be a costly risk for anyone renting this property if flooding is a possibility. That is not something a renter should have to worry about when taking a shower.
There were no prior reviews of this property for us to read before agreeing to rent this house. We paid for two nights, but the odor was so overpowering, we decided to pack up and head home after our morning event that brought us to Austin. We hope the owner will use this review to make any necessary improvements.
Thank you for the feedback and we were upset that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope to resolve these issues for future guests. Thanks you for taking the time for the feedback.
We had three people come to the residence and no one was able to smell the same odor you described. After we investigated, we determined that this could have been the diffuser that the cleaning lady left on. We cleaned all the diffusers to ensure that if this was the issue, it would not happen again.
Thanks for the feedback about the lamps. That is an easy fix!
The dog toys are in the residence since this is a pet friendly home. Maybe an easy fix would have been to place those where the kiddo cannot reach?
We received feedback that our water pressure was too low. We fixed the issue and now every person who stays needs to be considerate of how much they turn the water on. As with any shower, if the nozzle is pointed out of the shower area, the bathroom will flood. Seems like an easy fix to keep the shower head pointed to within the shower and adjust the water pressure accordingly.