3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, A Fireplace, Secured Parking, A Balcony & Flat Screen TV'
- english, spanish
About Ryan Windsor
I have been in Austin since 1994. As much as I love the city, I also enjoy traveling and photographing vacation destinations and tourist attractions around the world. As a registered travel agent, I am able to work while I enjoy tours and activities in places like the London, Paris, Rome, New York, San Francisco, and Hawaii, to name a few.
Ryan Windsor purchased this Condo in 2013
Why Ryan Windsor chose Waller Creek District
I have always wanted to own/operate a hotel. That has been a passion of mine since I was a child. For that reason, I enjoy having guests staying in my rental properties, and I want to provide so much more than just a place to stay. My goal is to create a memorable experience for my guests.
What makes this Condo unique
I want my guests to know that not only does Austin deliver a good time, but that this home away from home is waiting for you. With my connections in the travel industry, and tenure in the city, I strive to provide a level of service you will not find with other rental managers. Please feel free to ask as many questions as you like. I enjoy talking about Austin and the property, so I welcome you to communicate with me. I am here to help, and your good time is my priority.
Please consider the following guidelines when booking this property:
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Awesome location, comfortable beds and nice kitchen. The only reason I give 4 stars is because there was obviously a bachelorette party there before us and lots of "phallic confetti" in the carpet and the entry. A vacuum would have fixed that.
Great place though.
Amazing downtown location!
Property is very nice and the location really makes it. So wonderful to be right downtown with easy walking to Sixth St, Lake Austin and all the downtown restaurants and clubs.
Our large family had plenty of room and we enjoyed the front room for games.
The unit had some basic maintenance issues (plugged bathroom sink, nonfunctional kitchen garbage disposal, no heat in the dryer) but nothing major.
Thank you for the review, Susan. I wish you had reached out during your stay, as we could have easily cleared that drain. The garbage disposal and washing machine/dryer have all been replaced since your stay, so I have to apologize that you got those on the tail end of their life span. We will make it up to you when you come back!!
Very nice, spacious property but needs some attention
Stayed 9/10/17 thru 9/15/17
Cons: while the property pictures are impressive, the furniture in the open area is worn and stained. Several of the closet and cabinet doors were broken/unhinged; no hangers in any closet, no kitchen linens. Lamps were broken or falling apart in several rooms. Wifi faded in and out throughout the day and water was shut off twice during stay.
Pros: Michael and Ryan were extremely responsive to water issues (wasn't their fault) and assisting with tips on improving wifi. They strive to provide prompt service which is great! Kitchen and all appliances are like new; beds were very comfortable, plenty of freshly laundered bed linens and towels. Being on the top, corner floor of the building made for a quiet stay. Conveniently located in the downtown area; easily within walking distance of many great venues.
With a bit more attention, this would easily be a 5-star venue for a group of 6-8 folks.
Thanks for the feedback, and I apologize that we fell short on your stay. We have since addressed the issues you pointed out, and apologize as we clearly had a rowdy group before your arrival. The wifi should have been an easy fix if you had let us know. There are 2 networks, and no other reports of outages during the dates of your stay. Please come back and give us another chance to earn 5-stars on your next Austin visit.
Perfect Downtown Austin Girls Getaway Location!
This loft was perfect for a girls getaway in Austin. Super convenient to get to and from 6th and Rainey Streets and all necessary amenities were at our disposal. Would definitely come visit again and rent this unit!
False Advertising and Poor Service
This was, by far, my worst experience at a property.
Our water was shut down entirely for almost a whole day as there was work being done in the building. Our party of 9 was forced to go to a nearby hotel and buy spa day passes in order to shower and clean up.
The internet was spotty at best if you stay in the living room.
When we arrived at the property there was no laundry detergent available as specified in the property description. There was also insufficient toilette paper, paper towels, trash bags, etc. leaving us with no option but to go out of our way to purchase additional supplies.
The property was not handicap accessible as specified on the posting – we had to lug our belongings 3 flights of stairs. Also, they post a pool, which is not part of the property.
Finally, when I sent a complaint letter to the owner and property manager, they in turn filed a claimed that stating that we broke their garbage disposal and charged a few hundred dollars in retaliation.
Sadly, 90% of this is false, and this guest (Hazel) trashed our place. We had to file an insurance claim (which we won) to return the condo to its original condition.
I will address the points listed one by one:
The water was shut off for 30 minutes by the HOA for an emergency water repair in another condo, and a note was on the door of the condo Hazel rented the day before to inform her. That was all that happened. We explained the situation to her when she called, and she seemed to understand. I am not sure about the spa day passes, as that was never mentioned during her stay.
The Internet works well, but Hazel had trouble reading the provided instructions. We helped her group, and they were fine.
All supplies were stocked in the condo prior to Hazel's visit. There were 6 rolls of toilet paper, laundry detergent and fabric softener under the kitchen sink, trash bags under all sinks, and 3 rolls of paper towels. That is the standard that we provide, and it was all there. Nothing was mentioned in this regard until this review. Otherwise, a property manager would have happily showed them where it was.
We have never advertised the property as handicap accessible as it sits on the 3rd floor of a 3-story building without an elevator. We confirmed with Homeaway/VRBO that the listing does not and has never had that information listed incorrectly.
Lastly, the insurance claim was filed within an hour or two of Hazel's departure. There was no retaliation, but now I am left to think that was your goal in writing this false review.
Sad that this happened, but our place is fixed and Hazel won't be invited back.
Very nice place and location
Very nice place and location. We will definitely use them again. But we only had one parking spot. It would have been nice to have two spots since we had 8 people with us. We tried to call and ask but did not get an answer back.
The Grand Austin Hotel is the perfect location for downtown staycations or event weekends like ACL, SXSW, Formula 1, UT Football, and so much more. Located just two blocks from the 6th Street Entertainment District, across the street from the Austin Convention Center, and in the heart of all of the bars, restaurants, and theaters that are downtown, this really is ground zero as for as Austin is concerned.