Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Charmer: Our Surf - Your Lullaby

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

Hale Hau`oli (Happy Home in Hawaiian), is where your master bedroom and living room are both as close as it is possible to get to the ocean without being sprayed by surf -- a rare find on Maui.

Awake to the sound of surf slapping on the shore reef and stars filling the tropical sky above palm trees swaying in the trade winds. On romantic full moon nights the entire Ma`alaea Bay shimmers silver, highlighted by white-tipped waves and bobbing sea turtle heads. No traffic sounds! Only birdsong and a panorama painted in vibrant golds and reds, luring you out of bed to capture the sun rise over the ancient volcano Haleakala (House of the Sun).

Fix yourself a freshly ground cup of Kona coffee or a nice cup of tea, and a plate of local papaya, mango and bananas on the lanai, with the Pacific Ocean just 60 feet away, so close to the water you can count turtles from the lanai, or just kick back and watch the whales. Why settle for less when you’ve come all this way to experience paradise?

Our luxurious two bedroom, two bath Condo is situated on the top floor of a four-story building in Ma`alaea, on quiet Hau`oli Street, which dead ends into a beach that is a secret to all but local residents. (Beware ground-floor condos as they are susceptible to burglaries.)

Our master bathroom has been totally remodeled and has handmade Hawaiian petroglyph tiles with half inch frameless glass enclosure. The other bathroom also remodeled, has a pebble floor and a walk-in shower also with half inch frameless glass enclosure. The maple kitchen is generously appointed with all appliances, water filters, stainless steel sink and a microwave/convection oven.

The floors are soft-on-your-feet maple pergo and tile, with colorful walls and Hawaiian decor. With central air conditioning, you will be comfy no matter what time of year you come. Two elevators guarantee you easy access.

Ma`alaea Kai is one of the best buildings on the block, the coolest and the quietest. We have the largest swimming pool, oceanside, surrounded by expansive lawns planted in putting-green grass. Lush blooming hibiscus, bougainvillea and plumeria fill the air with tropical smells underneath coconut palms. Lounge chairs offer a day off to read or work on your tan. Two gas grills and one charcoal grille, cleaned daily by the staff, are placed at the ocean’s edge with tables and chairs. Our resident manager keeps everything ship shape, and lights the shore tiki lights every weekend.

A quick stroll in one direction brings you to the charming Ma`alaea Harbor where fishing and snorkeling boats take off for the day’s runs; or to Haycraft Beach Park where you can either jump into the ocean for a morning dip or walk/run/beachcomb the six miles of secluded sand to Kihei’s Sugar Beach. No crowds here since access to the beach is protected from the road by the bird-filled ponds of Kealia Wildlife Refuge.

Living in centrally located Ma`alaea puts you in walking distance of the Ocean Center Aquarium, the Pacific Whale Foundation, a shopping center and fabulous oceanfront restaurants a mini-golf and climbing area, a gas station and convenience shops. Beaches for snorkeling, swimming and surfing are all close by, as are 19 famed golf courses. Twenty minutes to the west is the old whaling village of Lahaina, with its magnificent Banyon Tree and shopping galleries. Ten minutes east is the long village of Kihei and a bit further the ritzy resorts of Wailea. You couldn't be in a better place to explore all Maui has to offer.

As we say here: a hui hou, or see you soon! Aloha.

Hawaii Tax ID No. W01452246-01

Keywords: Condominium

More Details

Anne MacColl
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Nice hearing from you on our return home. We very much enjoyed the condo you provided for us and were much impressed with the location, the view, AND THE SHOWER!!!. We had a marvelous time with our friends touring around the entire island. We will certainly recommend your place to all our friends who travel to the island. We hated to leave but life gets in the way sometimes.

We hope to be back one day and make use of your lovely condo.
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 20


Ukumehame Ahupuaa Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms have been totally done with walk in tile and six way shower heads.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (2) Hawaiian style bedspreads, comfortable extra thick mattresses.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Ceiling Fans in each room plus a locking screen front door to allow in the trade winds, All Linens provided. Walk-in Showers with half inch thick frameless glass enclosures - Hair dryers in each bathroom.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Oceanfront Charmer: Our Surf - Your Lullaby
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 47 reviews

Beautiful condo!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a lovely stay in Anne & Mac's condo. The location was absolutely perfect, the weather was fantastic and we saw SO many turtles!! The condo is nicely appointed and comfortable. Would love to stay again. Thank you for sharing your piece of paradise with us!

  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was our pleasure to welcome you to our condo and so happy you had a lovely time and hope you can come back again some time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful, clean and million dollar views

  • 5 of 5

Anne and Mac's Maui home was exactly what we were looking for. The views are stunning. The condo complex is very well maintained and the landscaping was manicured.We arrived right after Christmas and the Christmas lights on the path to the pool and around the pool were really something to see. Tiki torches are lit along the ocean at night creating a magical island feel. About 25 minutes to Lahaina and a half hour to the airport.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic views. Wonderful hospitality.

  • 5 of 5

Anne and Mac are wonderful people. We had to extend our trip on Maui for a medical emergency with my boyfriend and they were so accommodating and flexible when it came to extending reservations and a pleasure to talk to on the phone. Thoughtful, helpful people with hearts of gold. Also, the condo is beautiful, well maintained and pretty much had everything we needed. The grounds are also well kept and watching sea turtles and the sunrise over Haleakala was a definite plus. Thanks Anne and Mac! My Mom and I will both be back for sure. Happy Thanksgiving!!

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Was a pleasure to accommodate Keri and her mum under some trying circumstances. Happy to oblige and would do so again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Olive Branch, MS

Our Winter Retreat....again!

  • 5 of 5

Ditto to everything I said last year and even more! This year we had some of our best friends with us, and they were "in awe" with the beautiful view we had from the lanai. They didn't think they would be getting up early, but after the beautiful sunrise the first morning they changed their minds. They were on the lanai even before I got up. As many times as we've stayed in Maalaea we saw more whales and turtles tha ever of the main reasons we go during the winter months. This condo has everything you could ask for and the best view on the island. Anne is delight to talk with and so helpful in answering all of your questions. We're already looking at dates for next year and plan to stay at Anne and Mac's condo again...for the third time! If you want to read last year's review take a look at "Our Winter Retreat" from Carolyn J. It's just another day in paradise! Thanks again Anne and Mac!

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Legal, Alberta

Dishwasher failure

  • 1 of 5

The main reason we are rating this as poor is because the dishwasher quit while we were there (an electrical problem - a short in the control panel - blamed on operator error) and the owners kept our damage deposit to cover repairs. All we did was put the dishes in and start it. We are both in our fifties and we took as good care of their condo as if it was our own. The dishwasher was an older Kenmore so be prepared to lose your damage deposit for subsidising older appliances.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: According to the Sears technician, the problem was caused by operator error. The dishwasher is in fact a top of the line Sears Elite Kenmore and is not an older appliance, nor are any of the other appliances as the kitchen was completely remodeled with new appliances approximately three years ago. This is the first negative review we have had in over five years of renting our condo through VRBO, as evidenced by the posted positive reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Fabulous, relaxing and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we opened the door, this condo was perfect! Our immediate view drew us to through the comfortably appointed living area to the ocean side lanai. The condo was clean and well stocked with whatever anyone might desire for a restful beach vacation. I was a little nervous about renting directly from the owner because of all the negative info on the news about internet scams. My worries were erased when Anne spent almost 45 minutes talking and explaining the area to me by phone. Once we got there, everything was perfect! The beds were comfortable and bathrooms decorated nicely. Each bedroom had its own bath, furnished with nice linens and lots of extra paper products! Since we were travelling with friends, it gave each couple a nice place to relax after a long day of sightseeing and snorkeling. The main living area is equally comfortable. Decorations reflect the history of art and nature on the island, while the lanai allowed the warm, tropical breezes to flow through from ocean to front door. The kitchen has everything you would ever need for food preparation and cooking. We especially loved the blender, which we used for our own happy hour in the afternoons! We spent a few afternoons just hanging around the pool area and on the beautiful, carpet-like grass next to the surf. It was both peaceful and relaxing. Perhaps the best thing about this condo is the location. It is on a quiet, dead end street that eliminates lots of traffic and ends with a public park with a beautiful, sandy beach. Since it is centrally located, we were able to do many day trips to Lahaina, Iao Valley, Haleakula Park, Kihei, etc. None were more than 20 minutes away. We loved the view and were fortunate to be there during the peak whale season. In the morning, we could watch the whales breaching and playing in the surf. Upon closer look, we saw a family of sea turtles that seemed to live along the lava beach directly in front of the condo. Though it was a bit humid during the day, we kept all the windows open and never had to use the air conditioning. In the evening, the sound of waves rolling across the rocks lulled us to sleep. The only way that this place could be improved would be a laundry directly in the unit and parking in the condo parking lot. As it was, the laundry was on the same level and just two doors down. However, since that is something that the owners have no control over, I wouldn't fault them. We definitely will return! Thanks

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

Beachcombing, Whale and Turtle Watching, Sunbathing


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

One time cleaning $130
Refundable damage deposit $300
Tax Rate 14.42%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties