Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

MONARCH LODGE - Authentic 3000' Log Home on the Etowah River

Bedrooms 3
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

You will find peaceful luxury in our Sunny Authentic Log Home, surrounded by gushing water from the Etowah River on the left side of our 3 acres and Mooney Creek on the right side.. Our lodge is fully decorated and furnished boasting 3 bedrooms, 3 full baths, granite countertops, great Living and Dining rooms with magnificent wood burning fireplace, flat screen TV and leather furniture. The dining room looks out onto a large wood deck, surrounding half of the lodge and your backyard forest with river views. Upstairs offers the Master Bedroom and full bath, closet, TV, and an office room area, overlooking the first floor. On the 2nd floor we have a bedroom with closet and full bathroom access, on the 3rd floor you will find our 3rd large bedroom and closet, Laundry/mud room, game area and second living room. We have a large car garage as part of the amenities of our home. We have satellite TV and high speed internet access.

Our Dahlonega town is rich in the culture and charm of Appalachia within its beautifully preserved downtown historic district. Dahlonega is the site of the first U. S. gold rush, is home to The Gold Museum, gold mines and gold panning facilities. Charming shops around the Square are filled with regional art, antiques, unique jewelry and collectibles. Enjoy wonderful exhibitions and concerts in the park or jamming on the square. Local potters, painters and photographers display their craft in galleries and shops throughout the historic community. Dahlonega is also the Heart of Georgia's wine country. Tour all the local wineries and downtown tasting rooms.

Wineries & Vineyards : With the highest concentration of wineries and vineyards in North Georgia, the Dahlonega mountains are recognized as 'the Heart of the Georgia Wine Country'. Grape growing conditions and favorable mountainous elevations make Lumpkin the perfect place to grow and ripen a wide variety of European, French hybrids and American winegrapes. Wolf Mountain Vineyards, Habersham Winery Tasting Room, Three Sisters Vineyards & Winery, Frogtown Cellars, Blackstock Vineyards and Winery, Monteluce Winery & Estates. Ask for Phone Numbers & Websites.

Further details for our vacation place: Some of the unique benefits of our cabin are that you can explore the Etowah river in our backyard, visit the nearby national parks such as the Amicalola State Park & Falls, The Chattahoochee-Oconee National Forestall, The Folk Pottery Museum, The Kangaroo Conservation Center and much more at your own pace. Dahlonega has something to offer for all who visit us, this is just the perfect place to relax. Enjoy a local hike or sit back on our large deck and enjoy the river. Our place offers all the comforts of a home with the advantages of being located by the Etowah River.

Keywords: cabin, lodge, gold, fishing, mountains, Dahlonega, Winery,

More Details

George Aufderheide
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 25, 2018


Dahlonega Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Accommodation Type:
  • Guest House
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Sofa Available in Master Suite
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Sofa available in Game Room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Sofa Available in Living Room
  • Private Bedroom on all 3 floors Full Bath on each floor, 3 Couches that are very comfortable to sleep on and 4 Inflatable Mattresses
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Music Library ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Screen Porch / Veranda
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • coin laundry
  • forests
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
If you have any questions regarding any of our amenities please feel free to contact us.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
MONARCH LODGE - Authentic 3000' Log Home on the Etowah River
average rating of 4.6041665 based on 48 reviews

We were disappointed in the overall condition of this property.

  • 3 of 5

While this property had the potential to be a great place to stay, the lack of upkeep distracted from our enjoyment. The front steps need to be repaired. Many of the electrical outlets didn't work including the kitchen and upstairs bathroom. There was a note on the bathroom wall about the shower leaking into the kitchen if the handle wasn't pulled all the way out. Another note was left about the toliet possibly overflowing. None of the decks were cleaned off before we arrived. Ashes were actually piled up under the green egg! The beautiful glass doors all stick. I could go on. The point here is that instead of leaving notes, you need to fix these issues that you obviously know are broken! The people who stay in your home are expecting to find it in immaculate condition! I am sorry to say that we did not!

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate feedback from our guests, however stating that a few inconveniences ruined your trip seems like an exaggeration. Numerous guests have had good things to say about their stay, and have also returned for another visit. The porch steps are completely safe and functional. As soon as time permitted, we had an electrician come out to fix the two outlets that did not work. In regards to the note about the shower and the toilet, we have not had a leak in many years. However, we have posted notes as a reminder for guests to be mindful. Over the years, as with most older homes, they continue to settle, due to wear and tear and cold and hot weather. For this reason the French doors tend to stick some times. We continue to make improvements when finances are available. At Monarch Lodge we focus on providing a clean, comfortable, and relaxing atmosphere. We apologize that the decks and underneath the Green egg were not pristine. Please keep in mind that we are in the beautiful Dahlonega mountains and it is difficult to always have a deck that is clear of leaves. With that being said, we have also spoken to our cleaning staff and they will be more detailed with the deck area.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Lots of fun

  • 5 of 5

Great location, awesome place , we will go back

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great location but house needs TLC

  • 3 of 5

Beautiful home located on on the river. Beds and showers were good! Lighting in the kitchen is bare, and outlets and switches did not work- some of the lights were taped off instead of repaired. Ceiling fans needs to be tightened and kitchen sink faucet handles are loose. Once these items are fixed it will make a huge difference. Once again the home is beautiful but needs some maintenance including the outside deck area!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

not the most relaxing stay

  • 1 of 5

Well first off, the driveway down to the cabin is a nightmare. It is downhill with a VERY steep drop on one side. Very nerve - racking. Second, the beds -all of them- are extremely uncomfortable. So never a good night sleep. Third, the kitchen lighting is awful. Light in the kitchen kept flickering and light above sink has ground fault . We tried to keep moving lights around to not only see but to at least get a cozy atmosphere. Lights over the dining table very bright. And no shades or curtains on living room windows gave a cold feeling by night. The pots and pans in kitchen are all very old and scraped Teflon, no cutting board either. The lights on back porch not enough to grill by night. So cooking was not fun. And finally the plumbing has a lot to be desired. You had to worry you might flood the kitchen while taking a shower or flushing upstairs toilet(how relaxing is that really). There were notes on the wall explaining this after you arrived. Honestly I could not wait to drive up that driveway one last time and head home. Our two teen daughters could not wait to leave either. They walked up and down that driveway after the first drive down because they were afraid to drive off the cliff. We will not be back. Really no stars at all.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There are so many things to say about this review that I don't know where to begin. Our 3000' authentic log cabin is nestled in the beautiful mountains of Dahlonega. With that said, it can be expected that there will be steep areas of land. The side of the driveway that is being referred to is not an issue because it is lined with trees to prevent going off of the driveway. We have new queen sized beds on all three floors and we have not received any complaints until now. The main light in the kitchen doesn't have any issues and the dining room lights can be dimmed using the switch. In regards to the pots and pan, even though they are not brand new, they are in good condition. There are also a few cutting boards available in the cabinet. While the plumbing is a work in progress, we have not had an issue in a few years. In the future we would suggest for this guest to stay at the Hilton, where they may customize their lighting preferences.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2

Beautiful property

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful property to wander and explore. Cabin is older but has lots of space to either be together or hang out by yourself.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Beautiful cabin on a beautiful river

  • 5 of 5

Very well maintained cabin and well appointed. It felt like staying at a friend's cabin, not your typical rental. 3 bedrooms and each can have it's own bathroom. 1 bed/bath on each floor. Great kitchen to cook in, everything you need. On 3 acres on the etowah river.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
67 Miles
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport
Nearest Barpub
6.7 Miles
Johnny B's
Nearest Golf
10.6 Miles
Nearest Train
28 Miles
Gainesville, Georgia (Amtrak station)
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Route 9
Nearest Restaurant
6.6 Miles
Smith House
Nearest Beach
334 Miles
Tybee Island
Car: necessary

Panning for Gold.

Enjoying the serenity of the Etowah River -

rushing water over the falls 24/7

Dahlonega, GA

'Greatest little town anywhere. Quiet downtown square loaded with great shopping, entertainment & restaurants.

Near Monarch Lodge:

Monteluce Winery:

Wolf Mountain Vineyards:

Consolidated Gold Mines

'Best gold mine to visit. Guided tour takes you down into the old tunnels from the gold rush.

Dahlonega Gold Museum Historic Site

'Well done in the very center of town. Movie of the gold rush days.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $75 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties