Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Drake West Bungalow: Walk to Downtown Bend & Drake Park

Bedrooms 1
Space 792 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

The Drake West Bungalow is located just one block back from iconic Drake Park along the Deschutes River, and one block away from popular Galveston Avenue with eclectic shops and restaurants. Leave your car at the house and enjoy walking to some of Bend's most popular places!

The Drake West Bungalow was built in 1919 as one of the original homes for the lumber mill workers that populated the area during that time. It has been totally restored and remodeled with 'green' efficiency building in mind, but the house still perfectly reflects the classic charm of its era. This one bedroom bungalow is perfect for those wishing to be within a beautiful stroll to the park, river, downtown Bend, and the popular west side where you can enjoy everything from quaint bakeries to superb restaurants, unique galleries to seasonal festivals, bike and recreation equipment rental shops, and not to mention some of the greatest microbreweries in the country-- all right outside the front door. The Drake West Bungalow is the perfect place to have all of Bend right at your fingertips.

Enjoy one private bedroom with California King bed, one full bathroom, living room with flat screen TV and DVD player, additional sleeping available on a pull out sofa bed, fully stocked kitchen with everything you need, free high speed wireless internet, washer and dryer, outdoor BBQ and deck. We include two cruiser bikes at the house for you to use while our guests. There is also a hot tub in the private yard for a relaxing end to a busy Central Oregon day.

The Drake West Bungalow is the perfect home for your Bend getaway. It is centrally located to everything you want to access in Bend, but is private with its fully fenced backyard area and private off street parking. Come be our guests to truly experience this wonderful area!

More Details

Property Manager
Erin or Lisa
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

Enjoyed our stay-- cozy bungalow with a great location. We love Bend!
Nov 2012
  • 1 of 19


Nearest Airport
15 Miles

Located on the popular west side of Bend, within walking distance to Drake Park and downtown Bend. Conveniently located to access the road to Mt Bachelor.


River West House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 792 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Brand new California King bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Brand new sleeper couch located in living room
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Drake West Bungalow: Walk to Downtown Bend & Drake Park
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 32 reviews

Cute bungalow

  • 3 of 5

The bedroom was super hot the small air conditioner did not cool the whole house. The pillows were super uncomfortable you should invest in some firm pillows. The knifes in the kitchen were not sharp enough to cut a tomato. There was no Kleenex and barely enough toilet paper had to go to the store. Someone should clean the windows especially the kitchen and you need a screen on the bedroom window so you could open it. All else was fine and is a good location. Just thought you could improve the experience with the above issues. Also could of provided additional wine glasses

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you enjoyed the location of this house, and that you thought it was a cute bungalow. It is indeed! This house is one of our most requested and people love staying so close to all the wonderful west side activities, especially now during the popular summertime. I love being a local operator here in Bend so we can take care of any guest concerns quickly, as long as we know about them. I only wish you would have called while you were staying to offer your feedback. We called out a technician to look at the air conditioning immediately after reading your review, and purchased brand new pillows and replacement wine glasses to compliment the set of four that were already there. Guest satisfaction is at the heart of our business and we love to make the guest experience a great one. Perhaps next time you might give us that chance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Bungalow, Centrally Located

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely time at the Bungalow. It's extremely charming and has all the extras and creature comforts like a washer/ dryer and the backyard porch.

Check in process was extremely easy, and we were able to walk to great coffee shops and even downtown alongside the river.

Plus, parking was a breeze. We never had an issue finding a space over the weekend.

I'd absolutely recommend staying here at the Drake Bungalow!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

Amazing house in an amazing location. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Short and sweet! Thank you for your nice review... we love this house and we LOVE that you did too!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great location, clean and well stocked. Best for 1-2 people.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Short and sweet.... we love that you loved it!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cute place!

  • 5 of 5

Great location; quiet, yet walking distance to most everything you might need. The Bungalow was well appointed (only minor complaint was that there was only 1 decent wine glass, but since we're lovebirds we shared!) and very thoughtfully re-finished. Hot tub was a key decision maker for choosing this home, and it did not disappoint!

Would be nice to have window coverings in the two side-yard facing windows, but another minor point. Overall, we loved it!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being our guests at The Drake West Bungalow! The hot tub at the house is luxurious, with tons of room to spread out and enjoy the private backyard. I am so glad you took advantage of it while you were here! I appreciate you letting me know about the wine glasses. We did find hidden glasses above the microwave, but we were able to replace those with a brand new set so they are all ready for your next visit... though we still encourage the lovebirding while on vacation. Thanks again for being our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable, accommodating and perfect location

  • 5 of 5

My partner and I visit Bend every year to ski at Bachelor. This year we stayed at the Drake for a week in March, I think this will be the yearly VRBO!

It's a fantastic location. Just a short drive to the mountain for skiing, walking distance to coffee, bars, food trucks, butcher, etc. The home and yard were very clean. The bedroom was very comfortable and well appointed. There is great local wall art that makes the space feel welcoming but not crowded. The kitchen is spacious with newer appliances and every dish and utensil we needed to cook well for a week. The neighborhood can get a little busy, it was nice to have two off-street parking spaces off the alley.

We were able to stay during the weeks of reduced rates for 'winter discounts', so the price was just right.

This place is great. Seriously. But, now for some honest feedback. There is only one heater/A/C in the living room, it works well, but the bedroom can get quite cold, even with the space heater provided. The pull out sofa was not the most comfortable, but that is to be expected. This is the first VRBO or Airbnb when I have been asked to wash a load of laundry before hitting the road on check out day. It was quite easy to do the washer is large and has a quick wash setting. Nothing would prevent us from staying here again, just a few items that surprised us.

The property management team was great. We had a few questions about the paperwork and check-in prior to our arrival, they return our calls quickly and were very pleasant.

We look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review. I agree... the location of this house cannot be beat. The Galveston Avenue District is so much fun to explore, and it sounds like you made the most of it! I am so glad we could respond quickly to the questions you had. Since we are a local company, it does make it nice that we are close and quick to respond for our guests. You are why we are here! I so appreciate the feedback as well about the laundry. We do ask our guests to wash all used towels (not sheets or linens) prior to check out in order to expedite our housekeeping time. It saves us a lot of time on our quick change over days, and allows us to save our guests money because we can charge lower housekeeping fees because of it. I do appreciate your feedback though so we can continue to offer guests different options to best fit their needs. Thanks again for the comments, and for being our guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $500

All cancellations made within 24 hours of booking are subject to a $50 cancellation fee. Reservations booked and confirmed online are charged a nonrefundable 25% deposit. Cancellations made with less than 30 days notice may be completely non-refundable. Please consider trip insurance for your trip. See our rental agreement for full details on the cancellation policy as they pertain to your individual reservation. If you reserve at a 3rd party website, we are unable to refund your 3rd party fees.
When your arrival is less than 30 days in the future, 100% payment is due when making the reservation. When your arrival is more than 30 days in the future, 25% payment is required to confirm your reservation. The remaining balance due will be collected 30 days prior to your check-in date.

Please be aware that if you reserve through VRBO you will pay their service fee for their additional services in addition to the rate we quote for you. We are not able to refund/remove/deduct that fee for you if you reserve through VRBO. You may reserve with us directly without a fee at

Please check your VRBO instant quote for complete stay pricing and additional fees.

Rates are based on length of stay, and number of guests.
They will vary for weekends, special events, and holidays.
Some restrictions on check-in and checkout days of the week may apply to certain date ranges.
DISCOUNTS may sometimes apply for multi-night, mid-week, and business stays.
There will be an 12.2% Lodging Tax applied to all bookings.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.