About the property
- Chalet2150 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 5 nights
Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)
The Purgatory Lake Chalet
Elevation 8,872 Feet
2,150 Square Feet
BOOK WITH US AND RECEIVE DISCOUNTS ON SKI AND SNOWBOARD EQUIPMENT RENTALS!*
Welcome to the Purgatory Lake Chalet. This home is exactly what you picture when you think Colorado ski chalet. Located just 2 miles from Purgatory/Durango Mountain Resort, this home is a great place to stay for your next Durango vacation. The chalet was just beautifully remodeled to include a new kitchen and updated bathrooms. The main floor features a large, fully stocked kitchen with bar seating for 2 as well as a dining area with seating for 8. The spacious living room has plenty of space for the entire family to curl up by the large fireplace or play a game of cards at the game table. There is a queen sofa sleeper available. The downstairs bath features a wonderful sauna. A private bedroom with queen bed is also on the main floor. Upstairs you will find the loft with futon. The master bedroom features a queen bed, tv in room, private balcony access, and a private bath. The front bedroom features a queen bed and also has its own private balcony. (A spiral staircase is required to reach this level and may not be appropriate for small children.) There is a bbq and outdoor dining on the back deck where you can take in the beautiful mountain views. Enjoy great lake fishing, swimming and tubing at Lake of the Pines, just a short walk through the meadow right behind the home. Please note this home does not have internet access.
*Excludes Christmas/New Years/Spring Break
Durango Red Cliff Properties
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within one hour
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 21, 2018
About Durango Red Cliff Properties
Pool / Spa
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Wonderful and cozy
My family and I went for spring break and had an incredible time. The chalet was very spacious, and the sauna was what won us over. Fairly close to town and easy to go pagoda springs. Everything was very clean except some dishes but that was an easy fix. At night it’s a little hard to see but the gps was very handy. This gorgeous out of the movie chalet made our spring break great and we would be happy to go back
We went for Thanksgiving and it was the best! The cabin had everything we need it! We had such an amazing time!
Not as advertised
My wife and I stayed at this property from July 14-18 2014. We were drawn to this listing because of the advertised access to the private lake. We were unpleasantly surprised to find that there really isn't lake access since the water is so low behind the house that about all you can access is weeds and muck. In addition, do not let the photos fool you. They show a property where the grounds around the home are neatly mowed and trimmed. This is not the case. The grass around the home had not been mowed for some time and in some areas was waist high on me (I'm 6 feet tall). Only a small strip that leads from the parking area to the deck was trimmed. This probably wouldn't have been a big deal but we had our dog with us and the small trimmed area wasn't really enough for walking our German Shepard. When we complained about the grass/lake they said this was a "rustic property" and the area around it was a "wild meadow" (an understatement) but that doesn't explain the photos showing it being mowed. They did give us recommendations for some other lakes to visit which were very nice but we were planning on walking to a lake...we could have stayed anywhere and driven to these other lakes. The interior of the home is OK, and it was relatively clean although there may be a rodent problem (as evidenced by the traps in the living room and the droppings we found in some of the pots and pans). The water for the property is apparently very hard and many of the fixtures are badly corroded/rusted. The bedframe in the master bedroom was so loose we were afraid to use it, and the sliding glass doors that lead to the upstairs deck were so dirty you could hardly see out of them. On a positive note, this property would probably be a good place to stay during ski season. It is located very close to DMR and the large fireplace in the massive living room would be really nice to sit in front of after a long day of skiing. Unfortunately that wasn't an option for us in July. To be fair, we were given a 10% refund after voicing our complaints but given what they promise relative to what they deliver, 10% was hardly adequate as far as we were concerned.
We are again sorry that you found the cabin surroundings not to your satisfaction. This is a very rustic cabin in the mountains and one of our older properties. We do not try to hide that fact and do not feel that our advertising of the property is unjust. If you read the listings description we do not mention that a trail to the lake is provided from the home, just that the there is a lake located behind the home. The area surrounding the cabin is a meadow not a yard and it changes throughout the seasons. It is not for us to maintain an open meadow. At times the owners have done some minimal mowing during high fire seasons around the house however, this home is in a natural meadow that reaches all the way to the lake. Even if the area around the house had been cut it still would have had high grass to the lake. We have had many guests fish and swim in the lake. Some took tubes down and floated as they had shared that with us. We have walked to the lake several times and yes it can be spongy and muddy at times. It does change and we do not regularly walk to the lake to report conditions nor do we retake photos each season to show the different conditions. We have managed this property for several years and not had anyone until now find that the conditions were unmanageable. We felt that since the issue was something we are not in control of a 10% discount was very fair.