Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

700 Acres to explore, privacy, large covered porch overlooking ponds, waterfalls

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Lodge, 5 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 4 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Hummingbird Lodge at Highlands Pass - A getaway in the mountains (Hiking, Creeks, Waterfalls)

Cabin designed for a cozy vacation for 2 or for a group of 10

5 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, Sleeps 10

Getaway to the mountains to our spiritual sanctuary and enjoy this wonderful retreat. Lodge is wooded and private overlooking two ponds with access to Highlands Pass. Highlands Pass is a 500 acre community with spectacular views, hiking trails and perfect for mountain biking and enjoying the outdoors. Relax on the large deck in one of the rocking chairs or the double hammock with your drink and loved one while watching the sunset in the mountains. Fully furnished with antiques, linens. Large great room and dining area with gas fireplace. 3 Bedrooms on the main floor - 2 of these are Master Bedrooms, each with their own bath. One Master Bedroom features a king bed and Jacuzzi Tub with bay windows overlooking the outdoors. One Master Bedroom features a king bed and french doors that open to the large deck overlooking the twin ponds. Third bedroom on the upper level has a double bed with private bath and jacuzzi tub.

In the lower level you will find a large bar with a full size kitchen 2 bedrooms, one with a queen bed, one bedroom has two twin beds, 1 Large Bath. A large game room with a pool table and dart board.

Outside the french doors to the walking pond and the gazebo pond which join together thru waterfalls fed by two converging mountain streams. Fish feeding is a fun activity and the ponds are stocked. Catch and release fishing is allowed.

Bring your bow, there is an archery target between the twin ponds. There is a canoe and life vests for throwing a line in the ponds or sit on one of the benches,

Professional photographers come to Highlands Pass to photograph creeks, waterfalls and wildlife. The Bear Cave and Indian Cave and others are located in our high mountains to peak your curiosity. There is so much to do here at Highlands Pass, you do not have to leave the property to enjoy the area.

There's nothing quite so magical as gathering around a blazing campfire under the night sky, listening to night-time country sounds together.

All the fun of camping out

for kids of all ages!

Children always love to roast marshmallows in the fire pit just outside the cabin's lower level.

Our PRIVATE roads offer kid-friendly: Nature Walks

ATV Trails

Hiking Trails

Nature Photography Trails

Horseback Riding Trails

Mountain Bike Riding Trails

Happy Walking Trails

Running Trails

Bird Watching and Wildlife Viewing Trails

Four-Wheeling Roads

and more

Folks who just like to wander and roam, enjoy finding their own way around our trails, creek banks, mountains, and woods.

Keywords: 5 Bedroom, 4 Bath, 2 full kitchens, Sleeps 2 to 10, Hiking, Waterfalls, Fishing, ATV and 4 Wheelers welcome, Privacy, Sanctuary

More Details

Property Manager
Julia Curtis
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 4, 2017

Amenities

Franklin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), (2) Single Beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
700 Acres to explore, privacy, large covered porch overlooking ponds, waterfalls
average rating of 4.8421054 based on 19 reviews
Marietta, GA
5

Exceeded Expectations

  • 5 of 5

We really loved our stay at the end of October at Hummingbird Lodge. We had plenty of photo opportunities and the scenery was amazing around the property and the adjacent Highlands Pass. The house is equipped with everything you could imagine, even on one day it rained, there was plenty to keep us entertained inside. It was very clean and you can tell everything is well taken care of. The owners were great to work with and it was a very easy check in/out. We both agree it exceeded our expectations and that we would like to come back in another season. My wife even said she wants to retire right there if she could! :)

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So wonderful to hear you enjoyed the cabin and property. We welcome you to come back and stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Palm Beach, Florida
5

Wonderful Stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I brought our children and grandchildren to the lodge for Thanksgiving. There were 10 of us and there was plenty of room. The house was well maintained and had everything we could possibly need. The caretakers were extremely friendly and addressed all of our needs. We did have a small problem with bees but as soon as we called someone was there with spray to correct this need. My family and I look forward to returning.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hilton Head, SC Richmond Hill, GA
2

The scenery was gorgeous but the lodge was filthy.

  • 2 of 5

Not the typical VRBO property; which we have stayed in numerous times. Having to evacuate for Hurricane Irma my family and I needed to find accommodations for all of us; including two furry family members. Upon entering the lodge there was a distinct odor; mold to be exact, which my son is allergic to. He and my granddaughter had health issues during our stay. We vacuumed three of the days and cleaned our own bathrooms (prior to using) and cleaned the kitchen counter. There was a dead bug in my grandchildren's bed, holes in ceilings, yard was unkept; the grass almost a foot high, closet full of dirty sheets and half of the lights did not work. These issues necessitated us to leave early. We lost power which meant no water; flushing of toilet and food spoilage.

The cleaning fee was incorrect as we did not use the downstairs. Our family of three adults and two children, ages 6 and 9 and was charged additional $20/day for three members. We were able to receive a partial refund for early departure but the cleaning fee was a complete error.

I have pictures and would be glad to post.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We accommodated this guest on an emergency basis because she was urgently trying to escape the hurricane. We understand her panic but we believe her complaints are unjustified. The storm actually ended up in the mountains and the Lodge was without power for a short period of time. The guest departed early and the owner was gracious enough to refund a portion of their stay. We will continue to strive to keep our cabin a wonderful place for families to enjoy this beautiful area of the North Carolina mountains.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quiet secluded but still close to everything!

  • 5 of 5

Older 80's style lodge home in the mountains. Very clean with everything you need for a peaceful quiet relaxing stay. Still close to several towns with shopping, restaraunts, antiques and flea markets. Many parks and areas just to enjoy the outside. All questions were addressed and everyone was very helpful and booking was easy.

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Cheraw SC
5

Beautiful and spacious

  • 5 of 5

The home is beautiful. Peaceful setting. We enjoyed the front porch and the ponds. Home was comfortable. Great for families or a group of friends. Thanks so much for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

I've learned one thing, you can still get away from it all, which is exactly what we did. The drive into the property is beautiful, the destination, outstanding!!

The lodge had everything we needed and also things we didn't know we needed but did, hummingbirds that you can't stop watching, the groundhog that came out everyday and the turkey coming in to say Good Morning. The Lodge is large but homey with lots of room inside and out. Easy getting in and out through the backdoor(one step). Kitchens are well equipped, antiques add to the over all beauty of this property. Julia was a pleasure to work with and will answer any questions you might have. Thank-you so much for all you do. Our group ranged in age from 3 to 93 with all having a great time. I can not imagine not visiting here again, the only question is when and for how long. God Bless the Smokies and the people that live there.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Helen, it is so wonderful that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. Nice to hear the hummingbirds and wildlife visited while you were there. We welcome you to come back and stay with us again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Franklin
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Fatz Cafe
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Franklin Golf Course
Nearest Train
44 Miles
Great Smoky Mountain Railroad
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 441
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Thai Paradise
Nearest Ski
59 Miles
Cataloochee Ski

9 miles to downtown Franklin, 13 miles to Highlands

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.75%

$150/night for two guests
$20 for each additional person per night

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.