Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury 2 bedroom apartment with breathtaking views of the Bay of Kotor

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 968 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Beautiful 2 bedroom apartment (sleep 6) overlooking stunning old town of Kotor

Beautiful, high quality, luxurious 2 bedroom apartment with spacious balcony offering glorious views of the Bay. Situated in the small complex of 'Kotor Vista' with two swimming pools and a small cafe serving drinks. The pool is open from May 15th to Oct 15th. The apartment is one of only six in a low rise building with a fantastic view over to the old town. The apartment has 2 bedrooms, each with a double bed. The master bedroom has a ensuite bathroom with a full length hydro-massage bathtub. The living room and open plan kitchen are fully furnished and the apartment is fitted with a flat screen TV, DVD player and FREE high speed wireless internet connection and sat. TV. The apartment has floor to ceiling windows and a huge balcony looking out over the bay. Air conditioning and central heating/underfloor heating are installed. The terrace furniture set (table and 4 chairs, 2 sun loungers and parasol) is great for enjoying meals or a glass of wine while watching the sun go

Environmentally Friendly: The apartment and surrounding grounds contain many environmentally friendly features. Rainwater is recycled for garden and pool useage. Both the swimming pools and hot water systems are partially heated by solar power. The gardens are lit with solar power lights.

Wall and roof insulation and double glazed windows help minimise energy needed for cooling and heating.

Inside the apartment, all light bulbs have low energy consumption. The oak flooring is sourced from sustainable forests.

Travel from Dubrovnik by car: Travelling from Dubrovnik Airport by car: Leaving the airport you turn left onto the main road E65 then a straight drive for 20km to the Croatia boarder and in to Montenegro. Continue on the main road for 8km you will pass through the town of Hercig Novi. A further 20km will bring you to the village of Kamenari at the mouth of Kotor Bay. Here you can take the short ferry crossing at a cost of 4 euros. Leaving the ferry at the other side you turn left onto E65 and follow the small lake road for a further 15km until you reach the village of Muo. You will see Kotor Harbour and Old Town across the bay on your left. Look for the Kotor Vista apartment sign on the left. Turn right at the sign and then right again, up the hill which bends left and onto the flat car park area. .

Travel from Tivat Airport by car: Distance aprox 10Km : Turn right out of the airport, follow the E65 for 2km towards Budva. Turn left on the Tunnel Road signposted Kotor. This will take you through the mountain tunnel coming out close to Kotor town. At the small roundabout near the water front turn left around the bay road towards Muo. Look for the Kotor Vista apartment sign on your right. Turn left at the sign and then right again, up the hill which bends left and onto the flat car park area. This year Thomson and 1st Choice chartered flights go from London Gatwick direct to Tivat on Wednesdays in July and August. Montenegro Airlines also fly direct from London Gatwick to Podgorica in Montenegro (40km from Kotor) on Wenesday & Sundays. BA fly to Dubrovnik from London Gatwick all year round. From April to October Easyjet fly from London Gatwick, Liverpool & from May 2010, London Stansted.

More Details

Owner
Paul Clarke
Member since: 2009
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, Japanese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 19, 2018

Amenities

Muo Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 968 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , jetted tub , Ensuite bathroom comes equipped with hydro massage bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Each bathroom has a toilet, sink and either shower unit or bath. The ensuite bathroom has a full length bathtub. The tiles are imported from Italy.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • The master bedroom has an ensuite bathroom with shower and direct access to the balcony with stunning views over the bay. Additional beds are able on request to all the apartment to sleep six. The cost of an additional bed is aprox Euros 45. There are built in wardrobes and bedside tables in each bedroom with large storage facilities. An iron and ironing board are also provided. Linen is changed free of charge after each stay and fresh clean towels are provided as standard. The bedrooms have bamboo parquet floors.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Outdoor Pool
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The apartment at the Kotor Vista complex will be our home away from away. My wife and I fell in love with the area, the first time we visited in 2006. The people are warm and friendly, the climate wonderful, and the views over the bay and the surrounding mountain range are truly breathtaking. The fact that Montenegro boast 200 sunny days a year is in stark contrast to the weather in my native Scotland and was a major attraction. The huge balcony comes equipped with 2 new sun loungers and parasol offering the opportunity to lie back and enjoy the beautiful views. There is also a wooden table and 4 matching chairs, which is ideal for dining outdoors. A welcome pack is presented to all guests upon arrival. The history and culture which the country and specifically Kotor has to offer is astonishing. I hope you will enjoy everything that the property and the area has to offer. We welcome you and invite you to use our home as your own

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury 2 bedroom apartment with breathtaking views of the Bay of Kotor
average rating of 4.76 based on 25 reviews
5

Everything we needed for a comfortable stay!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a week at Whitsun - the apartment catered for all our needs as a family with two children (aged 10 & 13). The balcony view is breathtaking - you can never tire of the view of Kotor Bay. Muo is situated within easy walking distance of beautiful Kotor town, however taxis are readily available and cheap for those not up for walking!

The swimming pool was great, and although there are nearer local beaches on the immediate shoreline our children preferred Jaz and Przno which are about 25 min drive away.

Montenegro is a wonderful country and this apartment is well equipped and situated perfectly to explore the surrounding area. Would highly recommend this apartment and would love to return. Thank you Paul for an unforgettable stay. Thank you Vesna for your warm hospitality.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Joanne, Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed the holiday. Thanks for the beach recommendations. I usually recommend Jaz to guests but will also be sure to mention Przno. I will definitely pass on your comments to Vesna. I am lucky to have her as a property manager. Have a wonderful summer and I hope to have you back as guests sometime in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Appleby Magna, Leics, UK
5

Lovely apartment with great views

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in July as a family of 4, 2 adults, and children aged 9 & 12.

Apartment Pros

* Our flight was over 3 hours late. Vesna the agent made contact and was there to meet us. Helpful and friendly. A food welcome pack of water, milk, wine, beer and chocolates was appreciated as we hadn't stopped at a supermarket.

* Kitchen was fully equipped with everything needed including tea and coffee, dish washer, cloths etc. Plenty of cups and plates.

* Clean throughout, good standard of furniture, bedding and decoration and washing machine.

* Good air con in main bedroom

* Quality towels and toiletries

* Allocated parking space in carpark above apartment (1f)

* Great views of the old town and bay.

* Wifi

* Good sized and clean pool area

* 20 minutes walking distance to old town of Kotor.

Apartment Cons - Things that personally didn't work so well for us, but don't prevent a 5* review.

* No air con in second bedroom - 2 fans provided though - doors can be left open to get benefit of lounge aircon.

* Double bed in second bedroom. Older children found it difficult to share! Twin beds would be more useful for most families.

* Pool area is up across the car parking area and up steps. Hadn't realised that it wasn't adjacent to apartment building. Consequently, we probably spent less time there than we might have.

* Hilly and a lot of steps from roadside. Fine for able bodied family, but could be difficult for older visitors.

* Nearest shop / bakery / bar a 10 minute walk along the road. No paths on the road, so can be a bit dicey in the dark.

General Pros

* Fabulous views

* 20 minute walk to the old town - fabulous old town, great atmosphere - 2-3 hour walk to the Hill top Fort

* Lots of beaches in short driving distance, approx 10 miles, though traffic could be heavy in and out of the town. Sunbeds are €10 at the beach.

* Contact Kotor Boat Tours by iMessage. They will collect you from the jetty in front of the building. Fab tour to blue cave, Perast €30 each.

* Ice cream is €1

* Swimming good

General Cons

* Eating out is expensive in the tourist area. Didn't find many restaurants that could be called cheap. Dinner with 1 drink each, a shared pasta dish for the children and fresh fish for us came to €71 at several places. Still enjoyed eating in the old town. Pizzas cheaper.

* Traffic is bad, roads are narrow and drivers crazy. Pressure to purchase extra hire car insurance at Avis.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely views overlooking Kotor Bay

  • 5 of 5

Very easy to book and Vesna arranged taxi for pick up from airport. Lovely well equipped apartment with much needed air conditioning. 2 fans also supplied. Impressed with the Welcome goodies, Thank You! Very large balcony which was well used, breakfast in the sun and was lovely to sit in the shade in the afternoon. Fabulous views of Kotor Bay, but would be better if hedge in front of apartment was pruned.

Approx 20 mins walk to Kotor Bay. Quite steep from apartment to main road which wasn’t a problem for us but some might find it hard going. 2 mini markets and bakery on the way. Large supermarket as you reach Kotor.

Kotor Old Town was beautiful with lots of places to eat and drink. Musicians playing in the evening was an added enjoyment.

A walk up the 1200 steps of the city wall is a must but beware of the cost. Guide states 3 euros but that has increased to 8 euros!

Perast was a lovely old town worth visiting and only 1 euro on bus from Kotor.

Overall a very enjoyable week!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Would not go back to this apartment !!

  • 2 of 5

Rented the apartment from 16 to 23 June 18. The views from apartment are really stunning! I would not say this is a luxurious apartment. It’s adequate. I was very dissatisfied with the bedding it was old and well used.Old brown fitted sheet and brown quilt cover and pillow cases that weren’t ironed.. Pillows were stained and so was mattress protector. I did complain and the bed was made up with new white bedding to the standard it should have been when we arrived! Shower room and toilet could do with a revamp. Black mould along shower base and in tlies. have spoken to Paul and mailed him pictures.. No air conditioning in second bedroom. Unfortunately this did spoil our stay..

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Brenda, Thank you for your feedback. I take all guest feedback extremely seriously and, given the extent of your complaints, have conducted an extensive investigation of the issues you have raised. 1) Bedding including pillows: The bedding, as you stated, is brown in colour but there are no stains. Any miscolouring is as a result of the washing. All bedding is washed immediately prior to the arrival of guests. I have, however, noted your comment that you felt the bedding was old and have asked the management team to replace all the sheets. I was informed that you requested a midstay cleaning of the apartment on day 1 when you arrived but, unfortunately, that is not included in the price nor is it offered on the website listing. My management team did not, however, receive any complaint from you about the bedding until day 5 of your stay. If you were unhappy with the condition of the bedding at the outset and had informed the team, this would have been rectified immediately as it was when your complaint was received. I am sorry but I disagree with your statement saying there is mould in the bathroom. There is discolouring between some tiles and along some of the edgings but the bathroom in particular is scrubbed and bleached extensively ahead of every stay. Cleanliness is something that the management team and I take extremely seriously and is the first thing that guests notice. I have not received any negative feedback regarding this in the +5 years that I have been renting out the property. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful Views of Kotor Bay

  • 4 of 5

Lovely property in a lovely setting, with everything you need. Well equipped and very comfortable. Walking distance to Kotor Old Town. We tended to walk there and catch a Taxi back, which ranged in price from under 2 euros to 10! Do not use the Taxis parked in the car park across from the main entrance to the old town, they will rip you off. Turn left at the bottom of the road there is nice little café right on the waters edge approx. 20 minute walk, worth a visit.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Caroline, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Regards Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An excellent location

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our week here: beautiful views across the bay from a large balcony; easy access to an attractive old town; good pool and surrounds with plenty of sun loungers and shades and a well resourced apartment.

All communication from our initial enquiry through to the end of our stay was handled quickly and efficiently. The on site manager was very proactive and quickly sorted out a couple of teething problems on arrival and was readily accessible if needed. We also found it very convenient to be able to book our airport transfers through her.

Small improvements could be made by having lights on both sides of the beds and a larger table on the balcony. For anybody considering cooking all week, kitchen work surfaces are limited (although there is a table) but this wasn't a problem for us as we mainly ate out.

Overall, we'd have no hesitation in recommending the property.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Tivat
Car: not necessary

The property is situated in the tranquil village of Muo just 100m from the waterfront and enjoys a beautiful view over the Bay to Kotor old town. The bay is a UNESCO world heritage site and the old city of Kotor is one of the most exquisitely preserved medieval centres in the Mediterranean. Narrow cobbled streets open out onto piazzas, churches, cathedrals and palaces. There is a lively atmosphere among the many varied restaurants and bars. Muo is conveniently located to Dubrovnik airport (45km) and Tivat airport (10km) both of which are 2.5 hour flights from London. The apartment is a 1 min walk from the waterfront and a 20 minute bayside walk to Kotor old town. Around the old town, the awe-inspiring 12 century city walls climb 200m up the sheer mountain face and form an impressive backdrop to Kotor's annual venetian carnival. Kotor is only a couple of hours drive from the ski resorts of Zabljab and Kolasin as well as the the stunning River Tara canyon.

Other Activities: Hiking, whitewater rafting

Ski: Kotor is only a couple of hours drive from the ski resorts of Zabljak adn Kolasin.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Montenegro Tourist Tax
Please be advised that a Montenegro tourist tax now applies to all foreign holiday guests staying within the country. This is currently set at 0.80 Euros per person per day. 0.40 Euros for children under 18 years but is NOT charged for children under 12 years old. You should pay this small amount to the property manager on arrival at the apartment who will log your stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties