Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Large Cabin great for snowmobiling,families, reunions, close to Marquette, NMU,"""

Bedrooms 6
Space 3,100 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights


About the property

A Perfect Getaway For Your Entire Group/family - Tons Of Room And So Much Fun!

This cabin is a wonderful place for families and friends to gather. We are about 25 minutes from Marquette and situated in Gwinn Michigan on a perfect inland lake. This is two story cottage with six bedrooms

Bedroom 1 (downstairs) two twin beds

Bedroom 2- (downstairs) one queen bed

Bedroom 3- (upstairs) queen bed

Bedroom 4- (upstairs) two full beds

Bedroom 5- (upstairs) full bed

Bedroom 6- (upstairs) four twin beds (one is bunked)

Also one sleeper sofa in the upstairs master bedroom.

Enjoy complimentary use of our 14 foot aluminum fishing boat, two kayaks and lifejackets during the summer months.

We have a six person sauna as well as a fire pit with complimentary firewood in the yard for campfires.

Inside we have cribbage boards and cards, an electric fireplace, brand new kitchen and appliances, washer and dryer, HD Smart TV and WI-FI along with a variety of books and games for both adults and children.

This is a great winter or summer getaway and close enough to drive to area events and landmarks including the gorgeous Pictured Rocks National Park, Marquette's many amazing biking and hiking trails, we are close to NMU - Northern Michigan University and Marquette's beautiful Lake Superior.

In the winter - Access to snowmobile trails right from the cabin in the winter as well as downhill skiing at Marquette Mountain, sledding, cross country skiing nearby and ice fishing right on the lake. We can accommodate large snowmobile trailers.

More Details

Trista Houle
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

About Trista Houle

We have been enjoying our cottage four doors down for fifteen years now and put it on VRBO (#422453). We found that we missed being there and purchased this property. With our three children growing and involved in activities we do not always have time to get out to the cottage so we have decided to share this wonderful place with YOU! We promise you will be pleased with the location, space and amenities. You will create memories to last a lifetime!

Trista Houle purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Trista Houle chose Gwinn

We are both from Marquette and have always enjoyed the outdoors, camping, fishing, watersports and winter sports. Gwinn offers all of the necessities you need while you are visiting, including a local grocery store, bait shop and the wonderful UP North Lodge restaurant. You can just 'show up' and get what you need while you are here.

What makes this cabin unique

We enjoy every aspect of this cottage from the beautiful sunrise, water fun, sauna, ice skating/pond hockey on the ice, snowmobiling, campfires, fireplace and so much space to have large gatherings.


Gwinn Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Max. adults: 20
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , second floor
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , first floor
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , one bunk, two twin (sleeps 4)
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen , first floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon , second floor, lake view
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , second floor, lake view, sleeps 4
  • 1 pull out couch in upstairs master - queen size
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
26% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Large Cabin great for snowmobiling,families, reunions, close to Marquette, NMU,
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 15 reviews

New Year's Ski Trip

  • 5 of 5

We rented this home to ring in the New Year. We found the home to be very spacious for all of us. We had three families that stayed (included 6 adults and 10 kids). We had enough space for all of us. The kitchen was equipped with everything we needed. We used the gas grill to make steaks for New Year's Eve. The home was clean and fairly comfortable. We went skiing at Marquette mountain which was about a 20-25 minute drive from the home. When we returned home in the evenings we enjoyed the fireplace, football and cocktails. We also enjoyed playing some of the games that were provided. The newlywed game got us laughing!

We did find it difficult to find the home according to our directions on our smart (or not so smart) phones.

Thank you Houle family. We may return in the future!

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carolee and Family - Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad you enjoyed our cabin. I sincerely thank you for taking such good care of everything. That really means a lot as we have spent a lot of money on updates and renovations and do spend time there when we do not have renters. I am sorry about the bad directions. I do encourage guests to use my directions as we have had issues in the past but we did not talk before you arrived and for that I am very sorry. I will try to figure out on the website/app where I can include this information. Thank you again and have a great 2018! We would love to have you back again and again! Kind Regards, Trista
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Belleville, Michigan

Very pleased our family plans on booking in the future

  • 4 of 5

Our family really enjoyed the property very well maintained it's in the process of being remodeled a little bit which once complete will be absolutely breathtaking. The View of the lake and the owners of the property are wonderful. We plan on booking this property in the future again.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indianapolis, Indiana

One of our best family vacations!

  • 5 of 5

Cannot say enough about this fabulous place. The cabin is beautiful - recently totally remodeled. Wonderful appliances. Great comfy beds. Nice bathrooms with tons of big fluffy white towels. Waffle iron, griddle, coffee maker - we fixed the best breakfasts in the UP! But even better, the gorgeous, quiet lake is 5 steps from the door and offers great swimming, boating, fishing, kyaking . 17 of us from age 2 to 72, all loved our week at this beautiful cabin. Owner is great to help with questions, directions, suggestions for sight-seeing and has really made this a beautiful vacation home. Can't wait to return! Thank you, Trista!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

More than we imagined!

  • 5 of 5

Recently returned home from our family vacation to the UP! 15 of my husband's family stayed in the cabin. We had plenty of room and truly enjoyed our stay. Trista was more than accommodating and we all had a wonderful time. Gorgeous morning views, kayaking and playing in the water, enjoying campfires and the sauna at night were just a few of our favorite activities. Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin with us!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Great Family Gathering Space

  • 4 of 5

We booked the cabin to serve as a base of operations for family attending our granddaughter's wedding in Marquette. It was perfect for our needs. It was clean and well stocked and provided a place to meet, relax, and socialize which would have been cumbersome at a hotel. Unfortunately the days were cloudy with sprinkles of rain so we could not take full advantage of the many water activities but the view from the cabin was spectacular. The fire ring and ample supply of firewood was a definite plus as it provided the perfect place for unwinding at the end of the day. Many in our party also enjoyed the sauna.

We highly recommend the Up North Lodge for family dining and Rodney's Pizza was excellent.

There was one surprise, however, which we believe future guests would want to know. We originally estimated our party would be 13 and advised the owner we would call with a final number of guests as the day drew closer so the appropriate number of towels and bed linens would be available. The week before we submitted the final count of 19 and were surprised when we received an invoice for an additional $500. So be aware there is a $25 per person/per night charge for each guest over 15 which was not mentioned in the listing. We paid the $500 so as not to lose the reservation and since our number of guests fluctuated throughout our stay we contacted the owner with a revised count by night and were given a hassle-free refund for those nights when our count did not exceed 15. Thus our 4 star rating rather than 5.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marilyn, Thank you again for staying with us and thank you so much for the kind review. It is so nice to hear you had a good time with your family and friends at the cabin. The price for the cabin includes up to 15 people and the additional per person charges are included on my VRBO listing for your review at all times. I am sorry if you did not see that when you booked the property. It was not meant to be a surprise. Again it is included in the listing when you put the number of people in the reservation. I think it was something that neither of us anticipated. When you originally emailed me you said you may want to "add additional days" but did not mention anything about additional people thus I did not address the issue at that time. The week prior to your arrival when you emailed me that your "numbers have risen as your grandchildren had invited friends" and you wanted to make sure there were linens for both rollaway beds" is when I sent the additional charges. I just wanted to review the scenario so as not to paint a picture of my rates being misleading. The great news is that our property does allow and can accommodate so many people which is why it is so unique. We are happy to have large groups like yours so that you can enjoy such special times together. Thank you again for staying at our cabin. Kind Regards, Trista
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Ypsilanti, MI

Had a great time, but..(

  • 2 of 5

We were planning to get married in Marquette and were looking for a place to stay for us and our family. I (wife) called and talked to Trista about the house and said we’d planned to stay 3 nights. We were still figuring out between 2 weekends and I said I’d get in touch with her in a couple of days. Tried calling her a couple of times, leaving a message that we were excited to stay at the house and ready to book and didn’t hear back. At this point, we really needed a place large enough for our families and this was the only option in the area, so I wasn’t ready to give up on this place. My husband called and got in touch with her. He didn’t mention I’d tried to call and she actually told him about me…saying “some gal” was interested in the house that weekend but was only going to stay 3 nights and she’d really prefer 5. (Something she never said to me.) We ended up getting the house through my husband for 5 days, her not ever knowing we were the same group and she never ended up calling me back. I was a little irritated by the whole thing and wasn’t sure I wanted to go through with it but like I said, we didn’t have another option and I just let it go.

The actual house was okay. A little more dumpy than it looks in the pictures. Duct tape holding one of the screen doors together, dirty carpet and what not. In the master bedroom there was a big telescope in the middle of the room looking out at the lake which had no eyepiece. Another thing is there was only enough toilet paper, paper towel, dishwasher detergent, etc. for maybe 2 days. We were quickly out of everything and had to go to the store to restock. Those were things I’d assume should be included and at least have more than enough to get you through your stay.

We cleaned the house really well before leaving because we had our dog with us and were hoping to get our security deposit back. The day after we left, my husband realized he forgot his camera charger there. He called and Trista said she hadn’t been there yet but would let him know after she checked and would mail it back. A couple weeks later, we hadn’t heard back about the camera charger or security deposit. Tried getting a hold of Trista, leaving a couple messages and she just never called back.

Despite all this, we had a great time and absolutely loved the property and location. But there were just too many strange/unprofessional situations when it came to dealing with Trista for me to give it more than 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The pictures are as is on the website. Dumpy? I don't think so. I shampooed the carpets myself so they certainly were not dirty. Regarding the 3 night vs 5 night stay. I do have a 5 night stay minimum, that is displayed on the website and has always been so. I am concerned that you may have misunderstood me contemplating a 3 night stay. I would not do that in August unless it somehow fell between other reservations. The telescope had an eye piece... I missed at the time that it was not there. I apologize and was not very happy that it was gone. Thank you for letting me know about needing more TP and such. It is hard to tell sometimes just how much people will use and so I will definitely take your comments into consideration. Some groups use a lot, some not. Thank you also for cleaning up so well. Your refund was returned in full. Your last email to me said you had a really great time and that you would be interested in staying again. Again, I am glad you had a good time despite being disappointed in me. Thank you for your review and thanks again for staying, Trista
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Sawyer International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Full Throttle
Nearest Golf
23 Miles
Greywalls, Heritage Marquette, Red Fox (KI Sawyer)
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
M-35, M553
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
UP North Lodge, Rodneys Pizza
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Marquette Mountain Ski Hill
Nearest Beach
22 Miles
McCartys Cove Marquette
Car: necessary

Gwinn is perfectly situated in a small town with everything you need for your vacation including, a reasonable grocery store with beer and liquor, bait and tackle shop, gas station and even 'Brown's' a small convenience store with the best butcher in town - the fresh tenderloin are wonderful! The Full Throttle Bar and Grill is close as well as the UP North Lodge for a rack of unbelievable ribs and the best Bloody Mary's around.

We are located less than 1 hour from Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Marquette is less than 1/2 hour where there are beautiful hiking and biking trails as well as pristine beaches and amazing scenery.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200
Damage Deposit $300

1) No access to the garage.
2) No RV parking available.


Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties