Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront Condo - See Dolphins at Dawn from your deck!

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Oceanfront View; Steps to The Beach; 1 Bedroom, 2 Bath, Sleeps 4-5

This is a beautiful, newly decorated condo located just steps to the beach! Our condo is on the 2nd floor with fantastic views of the ocean and ocean front pool (unheated) from every window. The large deck right off the living room is the perfect spot to relax to the sound of the surf, to watch the sun rise and dolphins play at dawn (or all day!) in the ocean, or to idle the day away. Bring your binoculars or use ours for close ups of the dolphins, pelicans, seagulls etc. Our unit offers a master bedroom with king bed, two full baths (unique and super convenient for a family) sleep sofa queen bed (NEW), hallway XL single berth bed, fully appointed kitchen (including coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishwasher!), two flat screen TVs (living room and master bedroom), free WiFi, brand new deck swing, new keyless entry system, and much more. Please note our condo is on the second floor of a three story building with stairs and no elevator.

Our beach-- only steps away from our condo -- features coastal dunes, soft creamy sand, nice surf and great beach combing. We have beach chairs and boogie boards for your use during your visit.

In addition to our beach front, our condo community has an outdoor pool open year round (unheated), outdoor grills, basketball and tennis courts, pool side restrooms, and oceanfront showers and laundry facilities.

We are only a short 15 minute walk to the lovely, historical village of Duck where you can enjoy the lovely shops, buy groceries, eat at great restaurants and cafes, buy books and sip coffee at Duck Cottage, rent bikes to ride on the jogging trails, walk the sound-side boardwalk for bird watching, and rent canoes, kayaks and other water sport equipment.

Bring your binoculars to bird watch and get great close ups of dolphins in our surf. Superb viewing from our deck!

We keep our reservations calendar up to date so check it out to reserve now! If we're already booked for your preferred dates, check out our other properties in Duck listed on VRBO too. They are VRBO 513115, VRBO 667198, or VRBO 712993!

Cancellation policy: Policy is that we try and re-rent the unit then remit to you any monies received, less a$100 cancellation fee.

More Details

Owner
Mike and Mary Hayward
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 20, 2017

About Mike and Mary Hayward

We have been coming to Duck for almost two decades to vacation. Each time we were here we would fantasize about owning a little something of this wonderful island to enjoy whenever we could. Finally, we took the plunge this past Fall and now own Dolphin Dawn, WaveHi! and Dune Nest. They are just the right size and each one is of of our little places to escape to when the pressures of real life get to us. We hope you too will find that peace of mind and sense of rejuvenation that we get each time we come back to Dolphin Dawn. We look forward to sharing it with you! We hope you will select Dolphin Dawn as your vacation rental and help us with providing great reviews to share with future vacationers.

Mike and Mary Hayward purchased this condo in 2012

Why Mike and Mary Hayward chose Northern Coast & Outer Banks

Dolphin Dawn is located right on the ocean on one of the most beautiful east coast beaches in the U.S. The town of Duck is a quaint coastal village with super friendly folk and wonderful shopping, dining and many fun things to do. You can rent kayaks, canoes, bikes, tandem bikes, tc. to enjoy the many water activities Duck has to offer.

What makes this condo unique

Our favorite thing about Dolphin Dawn is the oceanfront location and view. When you step out on the deck the view and sound of the surf is the most magical sound in the world! We have a porch swing on our deck and have enjoyed watching the sunrise, seeing the dolphins play, while sipping our coffee or an evening glass of wine. Perfect.

Guestbook comments from the owner

The condo was a delight.  We so appreciated the cleanliness of the bathrooms and the kitchen.  The view from the porch was fabulous.  I wish I could package it to bring back to Ohio!
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Duck Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2 full baths (showers). Beautiful modern new flooring and freshly painted!
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Livingroom sleep sofa - 1 queen
    Berth bed - 1 twin/ single , XL single
  • Master bedroom, king bed, wall mounted flat screen TV, closet, night stand with drawers, window blinds, ceiling fan, IHome alarm clock, new bedside lamps, new cotton duvet and pillows, new track lighting, new area rugs. Linens (sheets) and towels are not included but can be rented through Moneysworth at rentbeachequipment.com, or call 800-833-5233, or you can bring your own.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The Outer Banks (OBX) offers lots to do besides the wonderful beach. Our condo is a short drive to Currituck, Bodie Island, Cape Hatteras, and Ocracoke Lighthouses, The Whalehead Club, North Carolina Center for Wildlife Education, Wright Brothers National Memorial, Jockey's Ridge State Park, Elizabethan Gardens, The Lost Colony, Roanoke Island Festival Park, and so much more!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(104 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront Condo - See Dolphins at Dawn from your deck!
average rating of 4.798077 based on 105 reviews
3

Comfortable

  • 3 of 5

We were just two of us and found the space was comfortable. We would have been cramped with more. Location is great and the unit was well equipped. Found having to bring our own sheets and towels were a bit awkward since we stayed for ten nights. But the laundry facility was easy to use.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A room with a spectacular view!

  • 4 of 5

The condo was perfect for our needs. Great location. View was amazing, and loved having the pool and the beach. Easy to get comfortable in this home.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Stayed 4 nights. The view from the balcony is beautiful, even though the Dolphins did not show up, lots of birds. We had some noisy neighbors on top of us waking us up at 6 am one morning and dropping Cheerios on the balcony but that is hardly the hosts fault.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
5

Lovely location, very comfortable condo

  • 5 of 5

This was our first visit to the Outer Banks of NC. We feel very fortunate to have found this condo. First of all, it was very quiet and relaxing. The view of the Atlantic Ocean from the living room and deck can't be beat. We did see dolphins swimming offshore everyday. The condo is a short walk to a great sandy beach, which was uncrowded. The unit has everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing getaway. We also appreciated the town of Duck, which is much less commercialized than Nags Head and Kill Devil Hills.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Dolphin Dawn - Caveat Emptor

  • 2 of 5

This condo is located in the Colony by the Sea complex, an older facility which has been allowed to fall into substantial disrepair with many deferred maintenance issues, e.g. peeling paint, burned out walkway/driveway lights, dirty walkways (cigarette butts), unclean swimming pool (sand, leafs and bugs), and many more issues. The condo location is fine with a very nice deck area and a good kitchen but sadly we found it to have filthy windows, dirty floors (literally turning our feet black from walking on the carpets), television issues and more. When the air conditioning systems comes on it is extremely loud, and at night making it hard to sleep. We have vacationed in Duck NC many times, and will return but it will not be to Colony by the Sea or Dolphin Dawn.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, this particular guest arrived with a bad attitude and even before their arrival started to criticize us and the unit. Despite multiple years of almost exclusively four/five star responses, every now and then a guest arrives for whom nothing can ever seem to be right. We could respond item-by-item (there are in fact no carpets in the unit, the pool was cleaned during the guest's stay, and is not heated so the guest had no intention (in April) to ever actually swim in it etc etc). However we think the best approach is simply to thank our other guests who have submitted accurate reviews for Dolphin Dawn over the years, and to look forward to providing a wonderful vacation spot to create beach memories for our guests for years to come.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Location in Duck, NC

  • 5 of 5

This condo was located right on the ocean. It had one bedroom with a pull-out sofa and a single bed in an alcove, which was plenty of room for the two of us. We loved the sound of the surf through the sliding balcony door and the daily sunsets over the water. Although right on the ocean, the unit is very close to both downtown Duck and Currituck Sound. The layout of the condo enabled a great view of the ocean. In April the water is still a bit cold, but we still experienced a pod of Dolphins from the balcony on our second day there.

We enjoyed walking the sound-front boardwalk and experiencing the shops and restaurants. We loved Donutz On A Stick for the donuts, coffee and ice cream. For a low cost meal try Duck Duck Burger.

We enjoy the off-season because it's quiet and easy to get around. We toured the Outer Banks and experienced them from Corolla to Rodanthe. We would definitely go back to this lovely spot.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
78 Miles
Norfolk International Airport, Norfolk, Virginia
Nearest Barpub
0.4 Miles
15 min walk (10 if you walk fast!)
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
15 minute walk
Car: necessary

Our condo is located in the much sought after area of Duck. The village of Duck is quaint, beautiful and welcoming with wonderful local shops, cafes, grocery stores, restaurants and water sports entertainment. Duck also has a unique coastal boardwalk that provides great bird watching over the Sound and beautiful sunset vistas. Great for families who wish to walk around Duck after a fantastic day on the beach.

For car trips and sight seeing during rainy days, you must visit Jockey's Ridge, the east coast's largest sand dune and site of the Wright brothers first flight! Visit the Wright Brothers national monument and museum and learn about our country's aviation history and first flight.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Duck Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 4 2017 - Aug 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
From
$250
Fri,Sat
$1,200
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 28 2017 - Sep 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
$200
From
$225
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,075
 
 
Fall
Sep 25 2017 - Oct 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$180
Fri,Sat,Sun
$880
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 31 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$130
From
$145
Fri,Sat,Sun
$660
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 27 2017
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$190
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$930
 
 
This Side of Christmas
Nov 28 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$120
From
$130
Fri,Sat,Sun
$650
 
 
Holidays
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$185
Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
 
 
Winter 18
Jan 3 2018 - Feb 28 2018
2 night minimum stay
$125
From
$140
Fri,Sat
$660
 
 
Early Spring 18
Mar 1 2018 - Apr 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$140
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$775
 
 
Spring
Apr 3 2018 - May 1 2018
2 night minimum stay
$175
From
$190
Fri,Sat
$895
 
 
Early Summer 18
May 2 2018 - May 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
$195
From
$210
Fri,Sat,Sun
$990
 
 
Nearly there!
May 21 2018 - Jun 2 2018
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$240
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,125
 
 
High Summer 18
Jun 3 2018 - Aug 26 2018
Changeover Day: Sunday
7 night minimum stay
$1,450
 
 
Late Summer 18
Aug 27 2018 - Sep 23 2018
2 night minimum stay
$215
From
$240
Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,125
 
 
Fall 18
Sep 24 2018 - Oct 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$170
From
$185
Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
 
 
Late Fall
Oct 31 2018 - Nov 20 2018
2 night minimum stay
$130
From
$145
Fri,Sat
$660
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 21 2018 - Nov 26 2018
2 night minimum stay
$170
From
$185
Thu,Fri,Sat
$900
 
 
This side of Christmas
Nov 27 2018 - Dec 21 2018
2 night minimum stay
$120
From
$130
Fri,Sat,Sun
$650
 
 
Holidays.
Dec 22 2018 - Jan 2 2019
2 night minimum stay
$165
From
$185
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$900
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$165
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 12.75%

Rates do not include 12.75% NC tax
Weekly rentals are Saturday check-in 4 PM and Saturday Check-out 10 AM
Inquire about off-season check-in/check-out/short stays.
Rates do not include linens/bath or beach towels. Please make separate arrangements for these items. Please contact owner for details, if needed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties