Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Home, Home on the Ranch:Lake, Wildlife, Serenity

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

3 BR, 2 Bath, Studio:1 BR, 1 Bath

2 story spacious home with fireplace and HDTV, under huge trees, surrounded by decks, and flagstone patio with outdoor fire pit. Lakeside beach with 2 story dock for swimming and fishing. Canoe, John boat, paddleboat and kayaks provided. Optional studio apartment with king bed (Additional charge applies.) Explore 2 miles of improved road and 200 acres of forest with golf cart and bikes (provided.)


Owner
Sandy Street
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 25, 2017

About Sandy Street

Retired professionals live across the lake on the property and offer on site assistance. Owners are enjoying a second career as ranchers and stewards of the land.

Sandy Street purchased this chateau / country house in 1999

Why Sandy Street chose Prairies & Lakes

If you want to get away from the city for a week, or weekend, this is the place. Cottage sits within 100+ acre ranch, surrounded by game fence, enclosing exotic deer and cattle. Beautiful skies and trees during the day. Unlimited stars at night.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Explore within 25 miles: RoundTop antiques, Historic Columbus, New Ulm, Cat Spring and LaGrange. Don't miss the Painted Churches tour near Schulenberg. Easy access to I-10 and Metropolitan KATY/Houston area. However, most guests prefer to stay home, home on the ranch, where the deer and the antelope play.

Amenities

New Ulm Chateau / Country House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Located on Second Floor
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower
    Studio Bath - toilet , shower , Rented Separately with Studio
    Deck Shower - outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Sleeps 3, Second Floor with French Doors to Balcony
    Guest Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
    Guest Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Studio - 1 king , In Detached Garage. Additional charge applies.
  • Master includes available twin mattress for additional flexible sleeping.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • swimming
Notes:
The cottage is located in the middle of a ranch, surrounded by 8 foot game fence. Controlled access via coded electric gate. Although there are numerous tourist, sports attractions, and restaurants near by, most guests chose to never leave the property.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(59 traveler reviews)

Home, Home on the Ranch:Lake, Wildlife, Serenity
average rating of 4.881356 based on 59 reviews
5

Ultimate tranquility

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time and was so appreciative of the hospitality from Lou and Sandy. Word of advise... be ready to relax. It has been a long time since we really just did nothing. Our 20 year old son fell in love with taking to golf cart and just touring the property. The mornings are a must see. Have camera ready. We hope to stay again.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Terri, Your family is a perfect fit for our ranch. Those who value peace, tranquility and nature will always be welcome here. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Pure Tranquility

  • 5 of 5

We had such a relaxing time. I would highly recommend this spot if you are wanting to get away from it all and full unwind. Everything you need is there and as said in other reviews there were 2 days that we did not leave the property. Each morning was a beautiful adventure and then rocking the day away in the hammock or just fishing and exploring. Sandy and Lu were so sweet and welcoming. I recommend also taking a couple trips to the surrounding towns as there are so many wonderful hidden gems. We will absolutely be back.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Second time around, and seeking third!

  • 5 of 5

Second time at the Blue House and it never ceases to amaze how awesome this house is! Our family enjoyed themselves immensely, we spent a weekend and there's just so much to do within the property that the time just flew by, if you're looking for an AMAZING getaway stop looking, this is the place.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Owner wasn't pleasant, beds horrible

  • 3 of 5

I'm going to go against the grain here. I didn't gave a good experience. The owner was very short with me upon arriving, to the point he made me feel 'stupid' for incorrectly going to the address posted on VRBO. There are 2 addresses listed and both lead to gates that say "The Blue House." Minor mistake on our part for going to the wrong gate but upon calling the owner, you would have thought I did something horrible to justify his reaction. Bottom line, you just don't treat another person in that manner, esp in customer service.

The beds were terrible. Very loud and uncomfortable. I'm not picky about my bed so for me to complain, it was bad.

Be prepared to do lots of cleaning and laundry. The house rules are strict. Still, upon arriving I found dirty towels laying about, wet clothes in the wash machine and dirty dishes stored in the cabinets. I guess that's what you get when you expect the guests to clean up after themselves and your dishwasher barely works.

It's such a shame. This place has the potential to be awesome but it's not. The only reason I gave this place 3 stars was for the deck and golf cart.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amanda, Thanks for pointing out the old directions still on the VRBO hospitality site, so I could remove them. I did personally email you correct directions, as I do for all guests. Anticipating your requested early arrival at 2, our housekeeper must have rushed to clean between guests. Your arrival was 4 hours later than you requested, so we were late leaving for our appointment. No matter, a better host would have cancelled their appointment to accommodate you, the paying guest. Please accept my sincere apologies. I am sorry that our initial contact soured the rest of the visit for you. On the other hand, I observed the rest of your family having a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the blue house. We loved the house and the property was beautiful. My 2 daughters were obsessed with the animals. We enjoyed taking the golf cart around the property and feeding them. My husband really enjoyed the fishing, as well as my 7 and 2 year old who caught their 1st fish!

It was a fun getaway from the city life to relax, unwind, and enjoy nature.

The owners of the property were very nice and checked on us to make sure our stay was going great.

We loved our time at the blue house!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed our ranch. We loved hearing your daughters peals of excitement all the way across the lake when they caught fish. Please keep bringing them back as they grow up. City girls need a slice of the country every now and then.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Snyder, TX
5

Peace and quiet in the country

  • 5 of 5

This rental has the delightful combination of nice accommodations and outstanding access to nature. All the rooms were comfortable and well maintained l. The kitchen had enough items to cook most anything you'd want to cook. Beds were comfortable. The owners were available and helpful. We appreciated the use of their "toys" and thoroughly enjoyed the property. There is LOTS to do here outside--especially in summer (swimming, boating) We will be coming back!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cathy, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We welcome such polite guests return anytime to enjoy our serenity.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Austin/ Houston
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
wine bar New Ulm
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Columbus
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Interstate 10
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Texas Star-New Ulm
Nearest Beach
100 Miles
Matagorda, Palacios, Galveston
Car: necessary

Rural ranching community 45 minutes from Katy, TX, within 12 miles of I-10. World class golf course within 5 miles, 'Painted Churches''Tour, RoundTop antiques, and 'Small Town TX,' Columbus on Colorado River. Enjoy beautiful scenery, birding, fishing, wildlife, while surrounded by working cattle and exotic game ranch. Tell tall tales around fire pit built into deck.

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Ulm Chateau / Country House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
$1,500
$5,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $15 + Tax
Cleaning $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Additional charge of $65 per night for use of studio apartment with King bed and private bath.
While we do not offer refunds, we will allow guests, who must unavoidably cancel, to reschedule within a year. Rescheduling is, of course, subject to availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties