Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautifully Renovated. Close To Everything Denver Has To Offer

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, 1 Office/additional Bedroom. 1/4 Acre Lott

This tastefully redone Sloan's Lake Ranch is an oasis in the city! Centrally located and close to everything Denver has to offer. Half a block away from Sloan's lake park where there are beatiful views of the mountains and the city. Sloan's lake has a walking/ running path that is anwhere from 3-5 miles around the park. Volleyball, tennis courts, and BBQ's are availible.

This property is very open and airy. Over $140,000 was spent in interior renovations since the owner bought it 10 years ago. All the rooms are filled with light and have an open air concept. The house is 1,800 square feet. Sleeps 8 with additional pull out couches. The main room is close to 700 square feet and has 12' ceilings. This room has the kitchen/ bar area, dinning room and living room all in one. The kitchen has all state of the art stainless steel appliances. A Jensen gas cooktop can handle all of your cooking needs in a fraction of the time. This main room has a 52' flatscreen with Sony Blueray player so you can watch Netflix, Cable, DVD's Blueray's, and listen to Pandora or any of your music and videos. The master has valted ceilings and is also close to 700 square feet including full bath. Bath is a jet tub. There is also a large sized office that has 11' window looking out over the courtyard and water feature. This room can be used as an additional bedroom.

Over $100,000 was invested in the front yard landscaping alone. Several full size trees give this 1/4 acre property a sense of seclusion even though you are in the middle of the city. The front of the house faces west so you can watch the sunset every night from the front porch. The landscape features include: Entirely fenced front yard, covered patio, courtyard with seatwalls and raised planters, water feature, and over 40 low voltage lights. Day or night the landscaping in this home is amazing! There is an oversized 1 car garage attaced that can fit full size trucks with room to spare as well as keep any additional toys or luggage in. The driveway can park up to 4 cars and there are double gates at the end of the driveway to completely enclose the property. The backyard is smaller and completely enclosed even for small dogs.

Sloan's Lake is a hidden gem in the city. Breathtaking views of the mountains in one direction and the city in the other. Amenities include:Drinking Fountain, Picnic Tables, Picnic Shelter, Playground, Restroom, Basketball Court, Bike/Pedestrian Path, Football Field, Soccer Field, Baseball / Softball Field, Tennis Court, Lake, Boating, Flower Beds. There are several neat neighborhood areas in close proximity. Downtown Denver is a 7 minute drive or a $7 cab ride. Mile High Stadium (Sports Authority Field) is 7 minutes away by car or you can walk within half an hour. Edgewater shops and resturants are a 3 minute drive or a 1 mile walk. The uber hip Highlands neighborhood is a 7 minute drive or a liesurely 15 minute bike ride away. Another hipster hot spot is LoHi which is only 9 minutes away.

In addition to being close distance to these neat neighborhoods, this house is close to everything you would want in centeral Colorado.

Drive times:

Denver International Airport-25 min

Coors Field-10 min

Sports Authority Field (Mile High Stadium)-5 min

Coors Field-10 min

Red Rocks Amphitheather-20 minutes

Estes Park-90 min

Elitch Gardens Amusement Park-10 min

Boulder-30 min

Golden-10 min

Colo. Springs-60 min

Fort Collins-60 min

Ski Areas:

Loveland-45 min

Keystone/ Breckenridge-70 min

Copper Mountain-90 min

Winter Park-60 min

Vail-95 min

The new light rail line that comes from DIA as well as the metro area stops 3 blocks away! Bikes can even be brought on this train.

Denver STR lic #2016-BFN-0006276

If you find yourself going to Fort Collins, we have another VRBO rental there.

A 5 bedroom, 2 bath just west of the CSU campus that sleeps 10.

Listing #661791

VRBO Listing #661791

More Details

Owner
Will Hyde
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Will Hyde

Me and my Wife are a fun loving couple that like to embrace all the fun things that Colorado has to offer. We both have a sharp sense of style. I have owned a landscape design/ build firm for 10 years and have done an extensive amount of work at the house. We also own an indoor/ outdoor retail shop in the heart of the art district on Santa Fe. In addition I do sculptural welding and there are a few pieces worked in throughout the landscape. We have put a great amount of thought and care into this home and hope you enjoy it and its surroundings!

Will Hyde purchased this house in 2003

Why Will Hyde chose Denver

After looking at over 60 homes I found this property and loved it due to its close proximity to everything and its 1/4 acre yard. Sloan's Lake Park is amazing with views in both directions. Many Denverites don't even know where it is!

What makes this house unique

I am an artist. I bought this house for its location, the property size, its bones, and it 7 large mature trees. After 10 years and $250,000 we made it the way we wanted. Now with our growing family and business' we have moved to our next project.

Amenities

West Colfax House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Main Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , A work of art. Homeowner designed and installed this bathr.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Master Bed and Bath - 1 king , Large 700 sqft bedroom and bathroom together.
  • Large Master Bedroom with attached full bath including shower and jet tub, as well as door that opens to courtyard. Second bedroom has queen and closet. Office is large and has pull out queen with high end memory foam mattress and 3 huge closets. This room is between kitchen/ living room and master bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(56 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Beautifully Renovated. Close To Everything Denver Has To Offer
average rating of 4.732143 based on 56 reviews
5

Nice quiet neighborhood with a beautiful park in walking distance.

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed staying in this beautiful home for part of our vacation. Very clean and the master bedroom is so spacious. Everything was on one floor and that was an asset with having our 18 month old grand daughter with us. Plenty of room to roam around. Close to Denver for all the attractions we wanted to see. Sloan Lake and Park is a block away and spent several evenings just walking or sitting in the park. Nice playground there for our grand daughter to play. Very peaceful and quiet neighborhood. Just what we needed on our vacation, fun with lots of relaxation. Thank you again for opening up your home for us to stay. Would love to come back some day.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house with tons of amenities.

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here for festival at Sloan's Lake Park. Perfect place and close to downtown. Had everything we needed.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Dirty, subpar mattresses/bedding, outdoor area needs TLC, windows need blackout shades

  • 2 of 5

Quite disappointed. We found sheets in the dryer--were the beds clean??? You are charged a cleaning fee--housekeeping should be fired! Kitchen countertops were visibly dirty, outdoor area not swept or blown clean, mattresses were uncomfortable. We were there in a heatwave, the AC was turned too high. In an effort to cool the house, we found NO filters in returns & full of dirt. It took about 24 hrs to get temp comfortable. While the skylights in MBR provide lots of light, it also lets in much heat & sunrise is an abrupt alarm! 2nd BR needs blackout shade too. Patio furniture was uncomfortable & dirty and in need of an upgrade. Yard is nice, but porches were dirty--not everyday stuff either. Yard crew came while we were there and did not blow off porches. Porch light fixture was NASTY & wasp nest under the eaves near front porch. Be aware there is only 1 TV in den. Not a problem for adults, but if you have kids--beware. The property could be quite nice with a good cleaning, bedding upgrades, comfortable patio furniture and attention to bedding areas around patio. Also, the fountain featured in the listing was yucky, murky water & 2 of the 3 spouts did not work. Stayed 1st wk of July '17 and it was run down from pics posted in listing. location is OK & convenient. I have pics & can share if interested and let you decide for yourself.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your input on the property. We will address the pertinent items in your review. We have tried to pick furniture and bedding that is comfortable for the majority of people, and can withstand the test of time. As far as bedding, we tried to go with mattresses' that are not too hard nor too soft. Sorry these were not what you were looking for. The house was built and decorated to be light and airy, most people enjoy this characteristic of the house. Sorry it was not to your taste. As far as the bedding being in the dryer upon arrival, unfortunately when we have one group of travelers leaving and another group coming in the same day, the cleaners only have a few hours to clean the house. Once in a while that means that some bedding is still drying when the new visitors arrive. We have several extra sets of sheets and linens so when the cleaners take off the old ones to clean, they can put new ones on right away. There are instructions for leaving the thermostat set at 72 degrees in the summer, unfortunately sometimes visitors do not follow these directions. Ultimately completely out of our hand. Sorry it took so long to get the place cooled down.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Spacious home and beautiful landscaped yard!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our time in this lovely home which had everything we needed to be comfortable. We especially liked the landscaped yard that was private and beautifully lit at night. It was a great place to relax!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing place!!

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing house with an even more amazing yard! The landscaping was clearly done by a professional and we enjoyed many evenings on the front porch looking out over the beautiful yard. The owner was very responsive with any questions we had and quickly refunded our deposit in full. The location is perfect, close to downtown, but only a few minutes to the interstate to head up to the mountains.

WE HIGHLY RECOMMEND STAYING HERE, WE DEFINITELY PLAN TO RETURN!!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Brothers Inlaw Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Great location with a beautiful home décor. Ideal for a quiet get away with friends or family. Caught some good weather in Denver and had a chance to just enjoy the wonderful space. Would certainly book this space again!

  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Denver International Airport
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Many on Colfax
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Fox Hollow Golf Course
Nearest Train
0.3 Miles
Denver Light Rail
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
6th avenue
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Many on Colfax and Edgewater
Nearest Ski
60 Miles
Arapahoe Basin
Car: not necessary

This property is close to everything you would want to do in Denver. Only 10 minutes from downtown Denver. Close by to many neighborhood shopping and dinning areas. Close to all major stadiums and arenas. 1-2 Hours to ski resorts. Close to hiking, biking and all the mountains have to offer.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Deposit $500

50% deposit will hold your dates. Check-in 4 pm, check out 11 am.
SPECIAL RATES MAY BE CONSIDERED FOR LAST MINUTE BOOKINGS!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.