Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A unique apple country retreat

Sleeps9
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths on twenty acres

Come join us and relax in this comfortable home away for home on 20 acres in the apple orchards on Golden Glow Farm. The house has a beautiful patio where you can enjoy a view of the mountains in the distance while the kids play in the large yard at the edge of the orchard. That same view is available through the large picture windows in the living and dining rooms, and the master suite.

The spacious master suite on the main level is perfect for a couple looking for a weekend away. Or bring the whole family and the house will sleep 8-9 comfortably when the three additional bedrooms are used. The large living room and multiple seating areas will provide great space to socialize with your family and friends.

The house is convenient to some of the best attractions in the area. A half hour drive can get you to hiking trails in DuPont State Forest, Pisgah National Forest or Chimney Rock State Park. Burntshirt Vineyards and Saint Paul Winery are less than 5 minutes from the house. The new, family friendly Sierra Nevada Brewery is only 20 minutes away.

Because our house is located in a working orchard, there will be orchard activities periodically such as pruning, spraying and picking the apples. These activities can be interesting and educational to observe and should be minimally disruptive to your stay. Several acres of the older trees have been removed to make way for new, more compact varieties in the future. For a couple of years this land will be planted in soybeans or other crop as part of a rejuvenation of the soil. However, the five rows nearer the house are still existing. The view is spectacular when the trees are in full bloom. Take a late afternoon walk on the two miles of wooded trails and there is a good chance that you will meet my wife and me as we walk our dogs.

More Details

Owner
Alli Finlay
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 30, 2017

About Alli Finlay

My wife and I welcome you to the home and farm where I was born and raised. My mother and father built the home in the early 1950's on farm property purchased by my grandfather in the 1920's. After serving four years in the Marine Corps and completing a degree at Western Carolina University in the 1970's, my wife and I moved to Atlanta, Georgia to raise our family and pursue careers. We had the good fortune in 2003 to be able to purchase a summer cottage on twenty acres adjacent to my father's property from another family member. Although we lived in Georgia, my wife and I still considered Hendersonville home and returned to live here full time in 2004.

Although we are located here, our daughter Alli manages the bookings for us, so your initial contact will be with her.

Alli Finlay purchased this house in 1953

Why Alli Finlay chose Smoky Mountains

The house is located in a beautiful rural setting but is convenient to shopping and downtown Hendersonville. It’s a peaceful place to just relax or as a resting place from your busy days at all the activities available in the area.

What makes this house unique

Although this was my childhood home, it has been renovated over the years and is such a wonderful place for family or friends to gather. Most of the family agrees that the patio is the place to be. But even a rainy afternoon can't spoil the trip. Just open the large windows on the back porch and read a book or take a nap while you listen to the rain.

Amenities

Hendersonville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Walk in closet
    Upstairs bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Foyer half-bath - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Upstairs 1 - 1 king
    Upstairs Bunk Room - 1 bunk bed
    Upstairs 2 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • water tubing
Notes:
Just down path behind the house you will discover two miles of wooded hiking trails. Be on the look out for owls, hawks, and a variety of birds. We have seen fox, coyotes, and on rare occasions a black bear.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

A unique apple country retreat
average rating of 4.818182 based on 33 reviews
5

peaceful, beautiful orchard views

  • 5 of 5

We gathered to celebrate the 101st birthday of Great Grandma! Four generations sat on the patio enjoying the fields of apple trees all in blossom. The house was just beautiful and had everything we needed. Highly recommend this great VRBO!

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing and unplesant owners

  • 1 of 5

While the view is beautiful from the back deck and you are close to the local wineries, the owners are VERY unaccomidating. Half of our security deposit was held for not placing linens in the proper bags, leaving a yogurt with a spoon in the fridge and not placing furniture in the exact location we found them...meaning...we moved a chair. Not to mention the owner was circling the property to verify check out when we were leaving for our family funeral.

The house is old and the only comfortable sleeping quarters is the master bedroom...other beds very uncomfortable and a bit musty. Not to mention the house was infested with stink bugs.

If you choose to stay, you better spend take a photo and spend 2 hours crossing all your T's and dotting your I's when you check out...Oh, and don't dare open the blinds to enjoy the view, that is against the rules too. This place is simply not worth the stress.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you are so angry about the forfeiture of half of your deposit, but we offer no apology for having kept it. It happens occasionally that guests get in a hurry to meet the check -out procedures. However, we have never had anyone fail to comply with almost all of them until now. We have a check-out time for a reason. We are also happy to accommodate late check-outs whenever possible. Since you did not request a late check-out the woman who cleans drove by the house so that she could start the job she was scheduled to do. Your behavior showed a total lack of respect for our property, the guests that follow you and the woman who cleans the house. You may not consider her time valuable but we absolutely do.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Home away from home.

  • 5 of 5

We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Our kids were constantly asking to go back to the house to run and play, and they have already been asking, "when are we going back to the Orchards?" We could have just stayed at the house and enjoyed every day, but we also had a great time visiting the surrounding areas. From the Biltmore to Chimney Rock to Gem mining, it was a wonderful trip.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully Peaceful!!

  • 5 of 5

We shared the property with another family of close friends, 9 people in all with children. It was so comfortable and relaxing. I would name the property Grandma's Orchard House. We felt like we were in a grandparents house. While our kids spent the evenings playing card games, the adults relaxed in the family room talking (like old times).

We did some hiking and spent a day at the Biltmore. It was a great location to come back to in the evenings. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5

We were attending a wedding in Hendersonville and this house was just great for a multigenerational family. Loved the space and the view was great. Had a fire at night on the patio with all the younger folks. Our Boston terrier enjoyed the visit the most.

  • Submitted: Jan 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Home

  • 5 of 5

The house was as advertised, everything worked and plenty of room for the 6 of us. Talking a walk around the farm property was enjoyable, and the location is very convenient to numerous local attractions (cities, hiking areas, mountain top views, etc). Highly recommend.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

The Orchards at Golden Glow is located in a beautiful rural setting but is convenient to shopping and restaurants. It’s a peaceful place to just relax or as a resting place from your busy days at all the activities available in the area. Downtown Hendersonville and Historic Flat Rock are only minutes away and it is only a short drive to many other area attractions. Some of those attractions include DuPont State Forest, Pisgah National Forest, the NC Arboretum, The Biltmore House, the City of Asheville, Brevard Music Center, Chimney Rock & Lake Lure, and the list goes on…. We would invite you to stay for a few days or the whole week to enjoy our mountain home.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Hendersonville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring and Summer
Apr 1 2017 - Aug 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$6,100
 
 
Leaf and Apple Season 2017
Aug 15 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
$1,925
$7,500
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$225
$1,575
$6,100
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Pet Fee $15 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.75%

Please note that the $15 pet charge is per dog per day up to $100. Your total invoice amount will reflect this additional charge.
Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable