Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BOOK SUMMER NOW! WALK TO BEACH, SHOPS & RESTAURANTS! BRAND NEW FLOORS & SOFAS

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Adorable And Bright 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Minutes To The Beach

This charming, convenient, family and Small dog-friendly, two bedroom, two bath villa is perfect for families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers or a girl’s getaway. It is our vacation home, as well. It has been in our family for over 35 years.

The first floor unit is just steps away from the pool and only a 6-7 minute stroll to the beach, shops and restaurants. If you have lots of gear, public beach parking is less than a mile away. It is located in the popular South Forest Beach area of Hilton Head, just minutes from Coligny Plaza shops, restaurants and beaches.

Come relax and stay in a light, bright villa. There are no stairs in or leading to the unit and parking is just outside the front door, making it a great choice for families or retirees. Keep up with work if needed or check your e-mail with the high-speed wireless internet connection. The master bedroom has a queen-size bed and a full bath. The second bedroom has twin beds and a full bath just beyond the door. The very comfortable family room has an a newly installed 42 in flat screen tv and large coffee table perfect for playing board games.

Hilton Head is perfect for those who want an active beach vacation with extensive bike trails thru-out the Island (Rental bikes can be delivered to your door and picked up at the end of your visit), tennis courts, golf courses, wildlife viewing opportunities, and shopping centers. For those who prefer to lounge by the pool or on the beautiful beach with a good book Hilton Head is perfect for that too! ! HHI has pet friendly beaches (check with beach rules for times & dates)

Delicious restaurants are plentiful in all price ranges and styles of cuisine. If you prefer to eat-in, the fully appointed kitchen provides all you need to cook your favorite comfort foods. You can even prepare fresh seafood using the charcoal grill located adjacent to your private patio.

The complex has its own large, private fenced-in pool and a bike storage rack for bike rentals. The beach is a little over a block away down the bike/walking path located right outside the entrance to the complex. If you enjoy tennis, the Van Der Meer Tennis Center side entrance is located just 75 feet from your front door and offers lessons and clinics. Hilton Head has beautiful wide beaches, miles of bike paths, great golf courses, nature preserves and trails, horseback riding, fishing and much more. The island has a lot to offer in the off-season as well - a temperate climate, shopping, theater and music productions, a wine festival, biking, golfing, jogging and tennis. Fly in and out of the local Hilton Head Airport or Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport if needed - it's just 45 minutes away.

Included in your rental are free: WiFi Internet, local phone service and cable TV service (in living room and both bedrooms), central air conditioning and heating.

** Our condo association rules limit us to one dog in the condo with owner's prior approval. We do not allow cats due to owner allergies.**

More Details

Owner
Jeannine Hortman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About Jeannine Hortman

Our entire family is in aviation in the Philadelphia area. We first found the little gem called Hilton Head in 1978 when visiting the Grumman American (now Gulfstream Aerospace) factory in nearby Savannah, GA. We run a flight school and air charter company in Northeast Philadelphia.

Jeannine Hortman purchased this condo in 1978

Why Jeannine Hortman chose Island Areas

Our family has over 35 memorable years owning this property. Hilton Head truly is our second home and first in our hearts. So many of our fondest memories have happened here and in this villa. We love it so much that we want to share it with folks who want to create similar memories for themselves and their families for years to come.

What makes this condo unique

Ideal secluded ground floor patio just steps from the pool. Perfectly situated so as not to hear the tennis courts. Coligny beach, shops and restaurants are all just minutes walking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Loving the location and the condo! Everything is perfect. Owner was very easy to work with. Thanks for a great vacation!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

South Forest Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

BOOK SUMMER NOW! WALK TO BEACH, SHOPS & RESTAURANTS! BRAND NEW FLOORS & SOFAS
average rating of 4.3157897 based on 20 reviews
1

Good Location, but some problems with the condo

  • 1 of 5

We chose this condo when we booked our vacation based on the reviews and location, and the price was reasonable. It is close to Coligny Plaza and a short walk to South Forest Beach which is a nice beach that is not overcrowded, however there were several issues with the condo itself that we were not expecting based on the reviews. When we arrived, there were towels on the floor and the condo had not been cleaned from the prior guests' stay. We did notify the owner and the cleaning staff arrived about an hour and a half later, however the cleaning person did a marginal job. Additionally, neither of the tubs/showers and one of the bathroom sinks did not drain and the tubs would fill full with water while showering. We additionally found that the bed frame in the main bedroom was broken and there were multiple light bulbs that were out. The cable was not working although this was the least of our worries, and we did notify the owner of all these issues. We were surprised to arrive to all of these issues based on the prior satisfactory reviews.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always want the very best experience for all of our guests. This is not just a rental unit, it is also our vacation home for the past 3+ decades. The reviews, prior to this one, on our listing speak for themselves.We are very saddened by this review. When the cleaning needed to be done, we had the cleaners come in. The guests never mentioned a word about them doing a marginal job or we would have had them come back in immediately. As for the bath tubs, we spoke with our guests and offered to bring a plumber in, as well have our handyman let him in so as to not inconvenience and disturb them during their stay. The guests said that they wanted try to get Drano to take care of it. After being asked to"take a little of the price tag" we said we'd be more than willing to compensate them as well as reimburse them for any expenses incurred. We sent them two messages regarding the cable and asking them if everything was going ok. We never got a response back. There was never mention of the bed. We would have resolved that as well. As we told our guests, we had absolutely no control over the cable. The cable can occasionally be sensitive to weather conditions.The cable issues were completely beyond our control. This is an unfortunate, isolated incident. Attempts were made to rectify the situation and our guests never responded.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
5

Fabulous family vacation spot!.

  • 5 of 5

I have known the family who owns this condo for over 30 years. They are wonderful people. Their condo was a fantastic spot for my family to enjoy a much needed vacation over the 4th of July holiday week. The pool is just steps away from the sliding glass doors which made it super convenient for us. The beach is a little bit of a walk, but not too far that it isn't manageable. And what a lovely beach it is. Tons of room to spread out, the water was very warm and calm, small waves, we were able to float around for a long time. There is a supermarket close by in a small shopping center with lots of great restaurants and shops, plus the Coligny Beach and Shopping area isn't far at all. The condo itself had all of the amenities of home, plus it has brand new carpeting. We highly recommend this condo for a wonderful and relaxing vacation. We hope to get back again someday soon. Thanks again for everything! :-)

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved the place. Fresh new carpet added a fresh new smell. This was my third year here.

  • 5 of 5

Owner is pleasant & very accommodating. I come back every year for the cleanliness & location to the beach. Owner continues to upgrade something every year. Flat screen TV, new carpets & flooring just to mention the last year or two. Weather was great as well. We spent most of our time on the beach, afterwords we could keep our eyes on the kids in the pool from the sliding glass door. We never moved the car once we got there. Everything was a 5 minute bike ride away (supermarket, 20 restaurants for dinner lunch or breakfast, beach, coligny. ) We met another couple on the beach who stayed at Island House & they mentioned noise from the nearby tennis court. We were backed up to the pool & heard no tennis noise at all. Loved being on the first floor & walking straight out the back door to the pool. I would never stay in an any upstairs unit at Island house

  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hiawassee, Georgia
5

Good value for price

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Easy walking distance to beach and pool in backyard. Had some problems with pet odor, but owner took care of it!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice Vacation

  • 4 of 5

We spent a very relaxing week here with our grandkids. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Clean unit and quiet neighborhood. The pool was very clean, however it is quiet a walk to the beach. Would Stay Again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Sayville, NY
4

Visiting our granddaughter

  • 4 of 5

We had a very comfortable and quick visit to get our grand baby fix. The condo was clean and conveniently located. Perfect for our neefs. Thank you, thank you.

-Antoinette and Matt Martin

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Hilton Head Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Tiki Hut
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
278
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Coligny Plaza
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
South Forest Beach
Car: recommended

Harbourtfest, Shelter Cove Harbour's signature summer event, occurs mid June through mid August. Tuesday Nights Ending in Fireworks at 9pm

Shelter Cove Park Farmers Market

Wednesdays starting in May through October presented by the Island Rec Center

9AM - 1PM

Shelter Cove Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

South Forest Beach Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
SUMMER
May 29 2017 - Aug 21 2017
7 night minimum stay
$875
 
 
FALL
Oct 1 2017 - Nov 24 2017
3 night minimum stay
$125
$700
 
 
HOLIDAY THANKSGIVING-NEW YEARS
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$125
$650
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Until Confirmed, Rates Are Subject To Change Without Notice

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable