Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

BOOK FOR FALL WALK TO BEACH, SHOPS & RESTAURANTS! UPDATED BATHS & NEW SOFAS

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Adorable And Bright 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Minutes To The Beach

This charming, convenient, family and Small dog-friendly, two bedroom, two bath villa is perfect for families with young children, pet owners, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers or a girl’s getaway. It is our vacation home, as well. It has been in our family for over 35 years.

The first floor unit is just steps away from the pool and only a 6-7 minute stroll to the beach, shops and restaurants. If you have lots of gear, public beach parking is less than a mile away. It is located in the popular South Forest Beach area of Hilton Head, just minutes from Coligny Plaza shops, restaurants and beaches.

Come relax and stay in a light, bright villa. There are no stairs in or leading to the unit and parking is just outside the front door, making it a great choice for families or retirees. Keep up with work if needed or check your e-mail with the high-speed wireless internet connection. The master bedroom has a queen-size bed and a full bath. The second bedroom has twin beds and a full bath just beyond the door. The very comfortable family room has an a newly installed 42 in flat screen tv and large coffee table perfect for playing board games.

Hilton Head is perfect for those who want an active beach vacation with extensive bike trails thru-out the Island (Rental bikes can be delivered to your door and picked up at the end of your visit), tennis courts, golf courses, wildlife viewing opportunities, and shopping centers. For those who prefer to lounge by the pool or on the beautiful beach with a good book Hilton Head is perfect for that too! ! HHI has pet friendly beaches (check with beach rules for times & dates)

Delicious restaurants are plentiful in all price ranges and styles of cuisine. If you prefer to eat-in, the fully appointed kitchen provides all you need to cook your favorite comfort foods. You can even prepare fresh seafood using the charcoal grill located adjacent to your private patio.

The complex has its own large, private fenced-in pool and a bike storage rack for bike rentals. The beach is a little over a block away down the bike/walking path located right outside the entrance to the complex. If you enjoy tennis, the Van Der Meer Tennis Center side entrance is located just 75 feet from your front door and offers lessons and clinics. Hilton Head has beautiful wide beaches, miles of bike paths, great golf courses, nature preserves and trails, horseback riding, fishing and much more. The island has a lot to offer in the off-season as well - a temperate climate, shopping, theater and music productions, a wine festival, biking, golfing, jogging and tennis. Fly in and out of the local Hilton Head Airport or Savannah/Hilton Head International Airport if needed - it's just 45 minutes away.

Included in your rental are free: WiFi Internet, local phone service and cable TV service (in living room and both bedrooms), central air conditioning and heating.

** Our condo association rules limit us to one dog in the condo with owner's prior approval. We do not allow cats due to owner allergies.**

More Details

Owner
Jeannine Hortman
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2017

About Jeannine Hortman

Our entire family is in aviation in the Philadelphia area. We first found the little gem called Hilton Head in 1978 when visiting the Grumman American (now Gulfstream Aerospace) factory in nearby Savannah, GA. We run a flight school and air charter company in Northeast Philadelphia.

Jeannine Hortman purchased this condo in 1978

Why Jeannine Hortman chose Island Areas

Our family has over 35 memorable years owning this property. Hilton Head truly is our second home and first in our hearts. So many of our fondest memories have happened here and in this villa. We love it so much that we want to share it with folks who want to create similar memories for themselves and their families for years to come.

What makes this condo unique

Ideal secluded ground floor patio just steps from the pool. Perfectly situated so as not to hear the tennis courts. Coligny beach, shops and restaurants are all just minutes walking.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Loving the location and the condo! Everything is perfect. Owner was very easy to work with. Thanks for a great vacation!
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

South Forest Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Large Sleeper Sofa - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
BOOK FOR FALL WALK TO BEACH, SHOPS & RESTAURANTS! UPDATED BATHS & NEW SOFAS
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 25 reviews
Gilbert, S.C 29054
5

Comfortable, great location and owner was upfront and accessible. Next time , I hope to stay a week

  • 5 of 5

was very upfront about sudden problem and even offered a full refund. I opted to keep my reservation

so she gave me a discount. She was readily accessible for questions. I'm hoping to spend a full week.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Condo was great, complex safe, friendly and easy access to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Property was well equipped, clean and lovely new furniture.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Security issues.

  • 2 of 5

The condo was very clean but we had some issues with noise and the smell of smoke coming from other condos. Also the second bathroom's spicket constantly ran. We told the owner about it upon our arrival and she had already known about it. Also you had to lock the sliding glass door by a flimsy rod that did not look very secure and no deadbolt on the front door, only a combination to get in. While we were in the condo an exterminator came and sprayed inside. If we had not been there it looked like he would have come in anyway because he had a bunch of keys on himself. There was no prior warning.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our condo. We appreciate the comments. As for the leaky spigot, when the guests said something, we told them that our cleaning service had literally just informed us of it prior to their arrival. We would have been willing to have a plumber come in, however we did not want to inconvenience our guests during their vacation. No other mention was made regarding the door, the exterminator or the sliding glass door or we would have addressed any issues directly with our guest. The combination lock has a security lock. It acts as a deadbolt. Also, we found the guests were locking themselves out. If the deadbolt locked they couldn't use the combination to get in. However flimsy it may appear, the rod is very secure in keeping the sliding glass door locked. Shy of actually removing the sliding glass door, it is impossible to get in. Unfortunately, we cannot control what other guests in other units do. If we are informed of the smell of smoke or other disturbances, we immediately contact the other owners to attempt to alleviate the issue. Hilton Head is a subtropical climate. Regular and routine extermination is necessary. We, ourselves, get no warning when they are coming. We apologize for any inconvenience. We will take it up with our homeowners association to ensure that we are informed when they are to come in. We thank our guests for their honest review. We take all reviews seriously and always wish the best possible experience for our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hilton head

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Owners were super and we definitely go back again.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location

  • 5 of 5

Great location, near the beach, Sea Pines and Coligny Circle. We enjoyed the unit and time at the pool. We look forward to coming back and would definitely recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Good Location, but some problems with the condo

  • 1 of 5

We chose this condo when we booked our vacation based on the reviews and location, and the price was reasonable. It is close to Coligny Plaza and a short walk to South Forest Beach which is a nice beach that is not overcrowded, however there were several issues with the condo itself that we were not expecting based on the reviews. When we arrived, there were towels on the floor and the condo had not been cleaned from the prior guests' stay. We did notify the owner and the cleaning staff arrived about an hour and a half later, however the cleaning person did a marginal job. Additionally, neither of the tubs/showers and one of the bathroom sinks did not drain and the tubs would fill full with water while showering. We additionally found that the bed frame in the main bedroom was broken and there were multiple light bulbs that were out. The cable was not working although this was the least of our worries, and we did notify the owner of all these issues. We were surprised to arrive to all of these issues based on the prior satisfactory reviews.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always want the very best experience for all of our guests. This is not just a rental unit, it is also our vacation home for the past 3+ decades. The reviews, prior to this one, on our listing speak for themselves.We are very saddened by this review. When the cleaning needed to be done, we had the cleaners come in. The guests never mentioned a word about them doing a marginal job or we would have had them come back in immediately. As for the bath tubs, we spoke with our guests and offered to bring a plumber in, as well have our handyman let him in so as to not inconvenience and disturb them during their stay. The guests said that they wanted try to get Drano to take care of it. After being asked to"take a little of the price tag" we said we'd be more than willing to compensate them as well as reimburse them for any expenses incurred. We sent them two messages regarding the cable and asking them if everything was going ok. We never got a response back. There was never mention of the bed. We would have resolved that as well. As we told our guests, we had absolutely no control over the cable. The cable can occasionally be sensitive to weather conditions.The cable issues were completely beyond our control. This is an unfortunate, isolated incident. Attempts were made to rectify the situation and our guests never responded.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Hilton Head Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Tiki Hut
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
278
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Coligny Plaza
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
South Forest Beach
Car: recommended

Harbourtfest, Shelter Cove Harbour's signature summer event, occurs mid June through mid August. Tuesday Nights Ending in Fireworks at 9pm

Shelter Cove Park Farmers Market

Wednesdays starting in May through October presented by the Island Rec Center

9AM - 1PM

Shelter Cove Park

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Until Confirmed, Rates Are Subject To Change Without Notice

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.