Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Just Around The Corner From Chesterman Beach

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6-7

*VRBO lists all rates in USD- please go to rate page and click on Canadian flag for CAD or go to HomeAway. We have a 2 night minimum stay requirement in the winter, holidays are a 3 night and summer is a 7 night*

Beautiful, private 3 bedroom vacation rental with hot tub, jetted tub and 2 full bathrooms within a 5 minute walk to South Chesterman Beach.

1 king bdrm, 1 queen bdrm and 1 bdrm with single over double bunkbed, fridge, stove, microwave, washer, dryer, fireplace outside shower with a large hot tub on very private deck.


Owner
Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 8, 2017

About Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle

Brian and Julie completed construction on this vacation rental in June of 2006. Built by themselves, it was created to provide a comfortable lodging for family and friends when they come to visit in Tofino. It has proven to be extremely well liked by numerous groups and always has repeat guests.

Why Julie Hughes or Brian Buckle chose Tofino

The Abalone Inn is situated on an amazing 2 acre property that is completely surrounded by trees which makes it very private but still very close to the beach. You feel like your in your own little paradise here surrounded by ancient cedars. Still lots of sun on deck and you can here the surf.

What makes this house unique

The Abalone has beautiful fir logs supporting the ceiling which were salvaged and milled by Brian and Julie. The ceilings are cedar tung and groove and the floor is solid hardwood.

There is a beautiful large jetted tub in the master bathroom to provide that spa- like atmosphere.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Julie, it was great dealing with you and arranging everything for our weekend. The place was great for 6 people, the location being steps away from the beach was perfect and being so close to everything one would need. Great to be close to surf, rental shops, coffee shops and restaurants.

Loved the hot tub and the kitchen had everything we needed. 2 bathrooms!! One with soaker, excellent!! Being nestled in the forest provided the perfect getaway. Thank you for everything,

Jen
Sep 2013
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Tofino House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • We will not tolerate loud noise or music past 10pm. We live her on the same property and do not want our neighbors or other guests disturbed.
  • No oils, soap, bubble bath or sand in the hottub. Please shower prior. The floating dispenser is there to keep the tub clean. Leave it in the tub
  • Max 2 pets. Not allowed on furniture or bedding. Do not leave your pets unattended in our rental. Pick up after your pets inside and out.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • King bedroom - 1 king , Upstairs beside large bathroom with soaker tub
    Queen Bedroom - 1 king , Downstairs across the hall from 2nd bathroom
    Bunkbed room - 1 bunk bed , Single over double bunkbed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

65% Complete
30% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Just Around The Corner From Chesterman Beach
average rating of 4.604651 based on 44 reviews
3

The Property was very private and ideal to enjoy the forest and short walk to Chesterman Beach.

  • 3 of 5

We were two couples. The cabin was comfortable for 4 and we enjoyed the hot tub. We had two surprises: First. there was no shampoo or conditioner and the small rounds of soap were inadequate for a shower or bath. This is unacceptable given the nightly rate charged. Second, the book instructions stated that internet access was from 3 p.m. onward. This did not work well for us because we wanted to go on the internet in the early morning to decide our plans for the day. It would have been better if we were given a choice of time for the internet. Apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate any feedback. Our vacation rental rates are a great value considering it has 3 bedrooms, a hot tub on a large spacious deck and a jacuzzi tub in the master bathroom. We have a fully equipped kitchen and have a washer and dryer for your convenience. We provide hand and facial soaps that are never fully used. We do not provide shampoo or conditioner as it comes in small plastic containers. Our internet is working perfectly and can be used 24 hours per day. Please email, text or call us if you have any questions when staying with us. Our phone #s are provided in guest info booklet. We are more than happy to answer questions that will help you have the most comfortable stay possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Well appointed cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is comfortabel and well equiped including gas barbeque and hot tub. The beds are good, so are the bathrooms and the kitchen

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Perfect little cabin stay for our family!

  • 4 of 5

This is a very clean and comfortable accommodation. We really enjoyed the hot-tub on the deck as well as the heated outdoor shower. A 5 minute walk to Chesterman's beach, which the kids really enjoyed. Super private with trees all around, feels like you are nested in the forest. Well stocked kitchen with all the tools that you need, as well as lots of extra towels and linens. The upstairs master bathroom is large and gorgeous. We visited with our 2 toddlers and 2 babies, but you could easily accommodate a family with kids plus grandparents or another couple. We put 2 playpens in the master bathroom (need to cover the lovely skylight if you do this); any of the bedrooms are large enough for a playpen also. The bedrooms have good blinds that keep it really dark! The owners were very responsive to email/text leading up to our stay. We would stay here again :)

  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place to stay in Tofino!

  • 5 of 5

We went up for my 25th birthday with a group of girls. The place was absolutely beautiful! Very easy to get to, great location, and the house itself was everything we could have asked for. Clean, spacious, private, and convenient. Would definitely stay here again :)

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cabin

  • 5 of 5

It was so peaceful surrounded by trees, so private but yet on 5 minutes to beach. We had 4 adults and 3 kids stay for a week. Lots of room and very comfortable. Loved having the hot tub as we did a lot of hiking and beach activities through the day and soaked in the hot tub almost every night. I would definitely stay here again if we return to tofino.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great property!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at the inn for a week with our whole family. The house was great for 7 adults-it was as described and the owners-Julie and Brian were very nice. ! Would definitely come back and would recommend it to others!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

beautiful beaches, excellent hiking, Pacific Rim National Park, whale, bear, wolf and couger watch and tours

surf lessons, kayak rentals and guided tours, bird watching

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $23.51 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.75%

Rates are in Canadian dollars. GST is 5% and an additional 3.5% booking fee for a total of 8.5% will be added to the nightly rate.
Rates are based on 6 people- we will accept up to 1 additional person only, at a rate of $30 per stay. We will not accept any more than 7 guests at any time.
Holidays are a minimum 3 ngt and a rate of $350.00
Christmas break beginning on the Friday prior and up to and including Jan 1st is $350.00 per night and a 3 night stay.
CANCELLATION POLICY:
If cancellation occurs prior to the 30 days of arrival there will be a small fee of $3.5% charged.
If cancellation occurs within 15 and 29 days of arrival you will receive a refund of 50% of the amount paid if we are able to rebook all of the dates you cancelled.
If cancellation occurs within 14 days of arrival there will be no refund.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties