Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sandbanks Country Cottage

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom 1 Bath Sleeps one To Eight

Great Family Vacation Or Couples Retreat, Home To Magnificent Beaches & Wineries. Quaint cottage in the heart of Prince Edward County. Home to fabulous beaches,diverse wineries, boutique shopping, great fishing and finer dining. Grande vacances en famille ou Couples Retreat, abrite des plages et caves magnifiques. Chalet coquet au cœur du comté de Prince Edward. Accueil des plages fabuleuses, diverses caves, des boutiques, des lieux de pêche et des restaurants de fine.

Sandbanks Country Cottage is quaint, cozy and spacious. It features 4 full bedrooms, fireplace,dishwasher, hi def LCD, DVD/CD, wireless internet, large deck, BBQ and fire pit. Rental will also include a summer vehicle permit to get into Sandbanks Provincial Park .

sandbanks Country Cottage is located in Prince Edward County home of Beautiful beaches, wineries, boutiques,markets museums and fine restaurants

More Details

Owner
Sharon
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, french, spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Sharon

Prince Edward County has been home to me for the last 37 years. i consider myself extremely fortunate to call this beautiful place home. I look forward to the tourist season and all of the energy they bring. I like to see peoples expression when they view some of the county treasures for the first time. I think this is a great opportunity to help the tourists enjoy this gem while they are visiting.

Comté de Prince Edward a été à la maison à moi pour les 37 dernières années. Je me considère extrêmement chanceux d'appeler cet endroit magnifique maison. Je me réjouis de la saison touristique et toute l'énergie qu'ils apportent. J'aime voir l'expression des peuples quand ils voient quelques-uns des trésors de comté pour la première fois. Je pense que c'est une excellente occasion d'aider les touristes apprécient ce joyau tandis qu'ils visitent.

Why Sharon chose Prince Edward County

This property is established with beautiful trees , shrubs and gardens and is within walking distance to some very popular wineries.

Cette propriété est établie avec de beaux arbres, les arbustes et les jardins et se trouve à distance de marche de certains établissements vinicoles très populaires.

What makes this house unique

whether you want to sit on the quaint front porch drinking your morning coffee or lie on the spacious back deck basking in the sun, this is the place to be. Everyone who enters for the first time has often described this property as cozy. You be the judge of this claim for yourself.

si vous voulez vous asseoir sur le porche pittoresque boire votre café du matin ou mensonge sur la spacieuse terrasse arrière se dorer au soleil, c'est l'endroit à être. Toute personne qui entre pour la première fois a souvent décrit cette propriété aussi confortable. À vous de juger de cette demande pour vous-même.

Amenities

Wellington House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1.2 size bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
cleaning and linen changed only on turnover days. Laundry mat is 5 min drive in town of Wellington. If available will arrange wine tour 60$ PER HOUR MAX 6 PERSON. WILL ARRANGE PERSONAL CHEF IF AVAILABLE 20$ PER PERSON

Reviews

1.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

Sandbanks Country Cottage
average rating of 1.5 based on 2 reviews
1

Owner not interested in your comfort

  • 1 of 5

Upon arrival, found a pair of soiled underwear at the foot of a bed that had been made up. Owner assured me that this was the only bed whose sheets had not been cleaned, which was not very reassuring. Despite being asked vehemently, she refused to re-wash any of the linens, and simply said there was a new pack of sheets we could re-make the bed with.

Upon closer inspection, the sheets on a different bed were seen to have white stains. We tookall the linens to the nearest laundromat, in Picton, and thoroughly washed everything from all of the beds. The white stains from the second set came out completely.

When asked if we could at least have a discount because if the issue, she said that she would discount one room for one night. This discount did not ever materialize, even though I asked her about it specifically by text.

When I let her know that we had gone ahead and washed the sheets, as we had told her we intended to do, she seemed indignant, and replied that that was 'completely unnecessary'.

We did receive our damage deposit back, and the owner even said that she had "waived" the $25 online booking fee, which I had not been informed of at all prior to that, and certainly was not mentioned when I booked the rental online.

I will mention that the owner offered to refund our money if we wanted to leave, when she heard about the underwear, however we had already traveled a long way to get there, including a young baby, so at that point our alternatives were quite limited.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: How can traveller say im not interested in comfort?. I contacted guest before arrival to inform him that I was having issues with r efridgerator and told him then I would refund the entire stay due this fact. He was very gracious and assured me that it would not be a problem. I then received an email from guest upon arrival and they said they loved the place it was perfect above expectations. I later received a call and text at work about underwater found in one of the linens I was as horrified as they and utterly embarrassed to say the least. I was told what room and knew exactly because I was told that room wasn't used so just regular dusting and cleaning took place.I assured them all of the other linens were changed but they refused to believe me. I told them the only thing I could do was refund their stay. I was also told that only 6adults and one child would be staying only to find out they lied to me that another couple was joining them.One of the women even claimed that she was picking up a child in Belleville so that they wouldnt max the 8person allowable limit only to find that was a lie. So their claims have lost all credibility with me. They then wanted to go to my neighbor to bother them about laundry..they carried on redicilously about something that now im not even sure are the facts now. Maxing the eight people limit I should have charged them extra. Sean Morris will never rent from me again. cheers
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
Ottawa, ON
2

Great location for wineries with a few cautions

  • 2 of 5

A group of us booked this place last minute over the Sept long weekend as it was the only one left available. Overall, we had a good time but with a few cautions that made our experience "fair".

Good things:

-Walking distance to three wineries ( and short drive to others)

-Short drive to sandbanks (20min) , pass provided

-Cozily decorated, newer kitchen

-Fits 7 comfortably (plus futon in hall)

- all items needed provided, dishwasher, water cooler, welcome wine even

- nice big yard and fire pit ( on major street but didn't bother us) (buy your own wood)

-owner let us have 2 extra people stay a night which was nice

Negatives

- Water has a really strong sulphur smell - was not expected.  We have cottages and have stayed in cottages before that have a sulphur smell, which is common, but this was by far the strongest any of us have experienced ( some could not shower)

- Although cutely decorated - the structure/ backbone appeared to have some issues - e.g, uneven floors, holes in walls, doors would not close, banisters shakes, electrical outlets sparked etc.

- Unfortunately we had a bad experience with the damage deposit.  There were two gravity outdoor chairs that broke.  The first chair broke as soon as someone sat in it for the first time (light person) and the other the next day.   After this happened we checked out the other chairs and loungers and saw they were moldy, with some tears already - so we stayed away from those.  The owner decided to keep the damage deposit to cover these two chairs.   We sent several emails back and forth with the owner but unfortunately it was not resolved and the entire amount was kept.  We felt this was unfair and normal wear and tear should have been covered in the daily rental price.  

Summary - great location for wineries, good time, but factor in the damage deposit "just in case " ( and keep in mind the sulphur smell)

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This property has been in the family for over 20 yeas. It is a very quaint, warm, decorative cottage that would comfortably meet all of your vacation needs. Every stay so far has had a very positive response with the only negative being the hint of sulfur smell in the water Anyone staying there has mentioned noticing it slightly then after a while not noticing at all. This can be typical in country dwellings. A water cooler is provided for drinking and cooking even though there is absolutely nothing unsafe with the well water. The dwelling is safe and sound. Unaware of holes in the walls and sparking plug ins that were previously mentioned. A damage deposit is required in the event some property is damaged or destroyed. I had the unfortunate experience of people staying who mentioned they really enjoyed their say and had ripped one of my zero gravity chairs so they folded it on the deck.To my surprise i found both (NEW) chairs completely destroyed. The wear and tear was above normal use. This same patio furniture has been used by people all summer with absolutely no issues. In hind sight more money should have been charged for allowing extra people to stay above the recommended and maybe more of a damage deposit should be collected to cover costs of actual damages. Renters beware to who you are allowing to stay at your place. The name on this review serves as a caution.
Did you find this review helpful?
21 2

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Wellington House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$146
$1,024
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $146.34

This rental is 3 day minimum. e-mail vendor for details . I will start taking bookings May 1st. sorry for any inconvenience this may cause.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties