Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Epic ocean view with large outdoor living spaces

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom All With On-suite Bathrooms, Stunning Panoramic Ocean View


• completely secluded and private estate

• outstanding ocean and mountain views

• all bedrooms air-conditioned & on-suite bathrooms

• large raised covered patio over looking the ocean

• infinity pool with tiled deck area

• large air-conditioned lounge with 55inch wide screen tv/ dvd (no satellite or cable)

• fast internet with wifi throughout property

• gas bbq

• drive time to dominicalito beach 8 minutes

Casa Pura Vista is in the select neighborhood of escaleras mountain at an altitude of 1,200ft/365mts the property befits from the cooling ocean and mountain breezes and offers commanding panoramic views over the ocean, north along the coastline to manuel antonio and south to dominicalito bay with views of the surrounding mountains with dense tropical forest home to huge variety of wildlife, monkeys and birds.

The villa has been built in a spanish colonial style and decorated with tasteful finishes and fittings with comfortable furniture.

Villa layout

The villa is built on a slopping mountain incline that give it a natural 2 stores with the main level is accessible with the use of steps or stairs.

On the main floor overlooking the expansive panoramic views of dominicalito to manuel antonio is a large covered patio with sofa, chairs and coffee table this leads to the tiled deck area around the infinity pool with deck chairs table and sun umbrella.

The kitchen leads off the patio area, which is well equipped with all utensils and appliances. And has a central island for added counter space. This leads to a spacious lobby that leads to the bedrooms and the colonial style walled garden courtyard with a fountain surrounded by tropical flowers and plants.

The on the main floor there are two bedrooms both with queen size beds. The master bedroom has an ocean view and leads directly to the pool. This bedroom has air-conditioning, on-suite bathtub, and separate shower, twin sink granite vanity top & toilet. The second bedroom also has queen-size bed, air-conditioning an on-suite shower & twin sink granite vanity top & toilet.

The lower ground floor

The third bedroom is on the lower floor has a Queen-size bed, air-conditioning an on-suite shower & single sink ceramic vanity top & toilet.

There are two off street areas for parking 3 cars with one under a covered carport.

• You will need to rent a 4x4 vehicle to access the property and to enjoy the southern Pacific zone of Costa Rica

More Details

Property Manager
Adam Wood
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018


Dominical Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Quiet time after 10:00 pm
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Twin Sinks with Marble Vanity Top
    Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower , Twin Sinks with Marble Vanity Top
  • All bathrooms are spacious
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Air conditioning, On-Suite Bathroom, View of Ocean
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Air conditioning & On-Suite Bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , Air conditioning & On-Suite Bathroom,
  • All bedroom and pillows are very comfortable with good quality sheets and towels
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Epic ocean view with large outdoor living spaces
average rating of 4.571429 based on 21 reviews

Magestic Views! !Upscale Finishes! Great Service!

  • 5 of 5

This house is laid out for just about any type of group. Whether you are one large family, two small families, or a group of friends....this house has got you covered. We were two couples and two singles (group of friends). With two bedrooms (with en suites), a Den Area upstairs, and a separate bedroom (with en suite) one level down and with its own private are able to achieve any level of privacy or intimacy that you are looking for. The flow of the house was well thought out and the outdoor entertainment space is everything you could ever want. I really liked all of the screen doors for the many points of entry leading you in and out of different areas of the house. These definitely come in handy when attempting to minimize the amount of insects inside the house. You are in the jungle; be prepared for big bugs and for getting to a place in your head where you can ignore them. It will no be that hard considering where you will be. The pool was great as well. When inside, the pool water literally looks as if it connects with the sea. Another aspect of the house we all could not stop commenting on was the lush landscaping around the property. You do have one neighbor down and across the street, but you barely even realize they are there. If privacy is important to you like me on trips like this, then you have absolutely no worries with this house. Cleanliness was top-notch and maintenance and upkeep were almost perfect. The property manager Adam was great. We were a very low maintenance group in terms of needing recommendation, tips, and the like. This was my 5th trip to CR, so we were pretty well set; however, I immediately got the impression that Adam is a very communicative and caring manager. I loved his story.

A Couple Cons/Criticisms:

Upon arrival, there was a binder with general information about the house and the local area. This binder essentially told us everything we need to know; however, there was info that should be removed. It mentions a security system in the binder, but ownership has since removed it due to motion detector issues with birds and the like. I get it, but why don't you simply update the binder? It would only take a couple of minutes and its an item that many people will take seriously in terms of understanding how it works. Also, I had to put the downstairs shower faucet back together in order to get the shower to work properly. That was it!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Breathtaking views with large outdoor living space, but not without it's issues.

  • 2 of 5

I'll start this review by stating that I'm very familiar w/CR, especially this area as I travel down here 3x a year. This past Jan, I stayed at La Joyita - which is a smaller neighbouring house. During that stay, I walked up the road & saw this property, which prompted me to rent it this time around. I traveled w/my 23 yr old daughter this trip.

The Good: The grounds, the views, the pool, the covered patio - all great. We spent a lot of time enjoying the views from the pool and the jungle rains from the covered patio. The house is located beside a tall line of trees that appear to be a travel line for Howlers & Capuchins, so there is a lot of monkey traffic which is great for those of us who want to connect w/nature.

The Not So Good: I'll start with the biggest issue with this house - security. For starters, there are many points of very easy access to this house for anyone wishing to get in. Eg: Directly beside the main front door is a large window opening (no window). Anyone can very quickly and easily climb through it in seconds and they're in the house. The entrance to the kitchen is only a swinging door with no locks. All of the french doors throughout the house (except one) have deadbolts but don't bolt into the floor, so pushing them from the outside easily opens them. Because the master bdrm had no lock, we ended up sleeping in the back bdrm where there was a lock on the door. I did not sleep one decent night the whole trip. Now, none of this would have been an issue if the alarm system worked - but it did not work. We were told the alarm company was coming on the Tuesday, but they never showed. The alarm was broken our entire trip.

Other issues: Waterfall in courtyard broken, screens in kitchen windows all torn, blinds in master & TV room broken, dishwasher broken, several lights were out, no larger sized frying pans, right side burners in BBQ did not work, kitchen faucet was broken, some of the lawn furniture was in rough shape, torn and unusable.

The amenities of this property are part of the pricing. Many did not work, so that was quite disappointing. In essence, I paid for things I did not receive, and that is never a good thing.

NOTE: None of this is a reflection of Adam, the property manager. He tried his best, but a lot of the issues were out of his control. Adam is absolutely wonderful & one of the reasons why I rented through him again.

Until all the issues are fixed, I would not recommend this house.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kymberlee, Thank you for your thorough and honest review. I have allowed some time to pass regarding my response because we have taken your review seriously and have been considering all of the items you have mentioned. I am pleased to say that we have been working to improve Casa Pura Vista and will continue to do so. I can also report that the owner is committed to making the necessary improvements so that we can restore Casa Pura Vista to it's original beauty and comfort. We look forward to the opportunity to enhance Casa Pura Vista and hope you'll consider staying again in the future. !!!UPDATE!!! Hi Kimberlee, I wanted to follow up on my previous response and am pleased to report that the house has been receiving a lot of love and attention during the low season. First, we have installed a new security system in order to provide our renters more security and peace of mind. We did a thorough evaluation of all appliances, air conditioners, fans, and lights. We installed a new dishwasher, kitchen faucet, and we had all of the air conditioners cleaned and serviced as well as all light fixtures and fans. We have replaced the upholstery on the furniture cushions, added new slings to the pool lounges, and have installed a new fountain pump for the waterfall in the courtyard. In addition to all of these changes the house is under contract and the new owners are excited to continue improving Casa Pura Vista and really making it shine. If you would like to come back for a return visit I would be proud to have you in Casa Pura Vista and can offer you a discount on your stay. Pura Vida, Adam Rental Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


  • 5 of 5

In a nutshell we loved staying in this house. We stayed with another couple and great layout for everyone having their own space. tranquil, loved the pool, great view. Adam was great and helpful, met the owner who was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
The Woodlands

Amazing property! Breathtaking views!

  • 5 of 5

The pictures cannot do this place justice - we arrived right around the time of sunset, and the view from the amazing outdoor living space was breathtaking. Spectacular view of the Pacific Ocean! You need 4WD to get there, but totally worth it!

The layout of the house is great, just as described. Each bedroom has it's own adjoining bathroom, and the outdoor living space is great. There is also a "den" type room near the bedroom in the rear of the house. We didn't spend much time there, but could easily be used as additional sleeping space for larger families. House is amazingly clean, and had a cleaning service come in mid-week to change linens and general cleaning. Kitchen is very well equipped, with all the utensils and equipment you could need. House also has a washer /dryer.

Adam was so helpful with everything - he sent us information before our arrival about activities in the area, and we definitely took him up on it. He had everything all confirmed and planned out when we got there, with a day by day itinerary. We did surf lessons in Dominical with Sunset Surf (highly recommend!), horseback riding to Nauyaca Falls (highly recommend!), a canopy tour at Osa Mountain (highly recommend!), and the day trip via boat to Corcovado National Park (highly recommend! - are you sensing a theme here?). On the National Park tour we saw dolphins on the boat ride there. Once we got there, we did hikes where we saw howler and spider monkeys, coati, a sloth, crocodiles (both in the ocean and in the river), and about a dozen scarlet macaws! We also visited the beach in Dominical and a day at Uvita exploring the Whale's Tail.

We would come back to the house each day after doing these great activities and were treated to the most amazing sunsets from the infinity pool. Truly beautiful to watch each night.

We also frequented many of the local restaurants - some of our favorites were Cafe de Ensuenos (great for breakfast and lunch and the most amazing smoothies), El Pescado Loco (fish tacos and fish & chips), and Fuego (new Brewery and Restaurant - worth it just to see the cool building) in Dominical. Uvita is just a bit further down the road, but there we enjoyed La Fogata for pizza and Sibu for craft beer, coffee, and wonderful desserts. Even further, but worth it for some great restaurants, is Ojochal - where we had an amazing dinner at Exotica, and a nice lunch with a view at Bamboo.

Highly recommend this property - we will be back!

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

It's hard to leave......

  • 5 of 5

Casa Pura Vista does not disappoint!! There is always the anticipation of what "it" will actually look like when you arrive. This property is one that gets better when you arrive in person!! The house is very comfortable and inviting. My wife and I were the only guests but talked regularly about how it would be no problem to have two other couples with us and all enjoying the house comfortably. The layout allows everyone to have their own wing of the house and share common areas. A family with children would also be comfortable, however you are spread out with sleeping arrangements. Gary is very helpful with getting you acquainted with the property and it's surroundings. He will be as involved as you'd like during your stay.

My wife and I spent a week enjoying all the Central Costa Rica Pacific coast has to offer. After daily excursions it was very relaxing to return to the house, open the windows and doors to the house letting the mountain breeze cool the house and hop in the pool in time to watch the sun set over the ocean. We cooked each night on the outdoor grill and enjoyed dinner on the patio. Everything in the house is provided for your use, with all the creature comforts of modern living.

The property is beautifully landscaped with many native flowers and plants. The surrounding property is mountain rain forest. We were awakened each morning and serenaded each evening by jungle frogs, howler monkeys and various birds in the surrounding trees and forest. There are several groups of howler and white faced monkeys in the area that you will easily get to view in person.

Dominical is situated in a great location to explore the central pacific coast. We traveled to Osa for a zip line jungle canopy tour. Quepos for off-shore fishing. Uvita for jungle and snorkeling tours. Osa is about 45 minutes South while Quepos and Uvita are 20-30 minutes North and South. There are many great restaurants in the area, Por Que No and Villas Alturas were our favorites. Although the house provided modern amenities, Dominical and the surrounding towns and villages have no commercialization, mom and pop is the name of the game.

You will need 4 wheel drive to get from the main highway to the house and for other excursions. Nearly every vehicle in CR is 4 wheel drive so renting in easy. Take your time and you'll be fine getting up and down to the house.

Great house, great property, great location......great vacation!!!!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A little slice of heaven

  • 4 of 5

Truly this property and its manager deserves 5 stars...I want to start with the positive, because quite honestly, 97% of our stay was positive. The house itself is beautiful and left nothing to be desired. It is exactly as pictured in the photos and then some. The ride up the hill - well, there is a reason they tell you to arrive before sunset if possible!! And yes, 4 wheel drive is a necessity. In case you have not figured it out from previous posts, only the main road down the Coast, Rte 34, is paved. The rest of the area is "off the beaten path". That is truly not an issue - you do get used to it after the first day, though some rides to area attractions (Jolly Roger for instance)can be rather daunting.

The views are incredible....the ocean, the countryside that is visible from the property is just stunning. We spent several days just sitting on the patio, watching the birds and the monkeys. Yes, the howler monkeys are easily heard just before sunrise and sundown. The sounds can be startling, but after the first few days, the noise becomes part of the background, as do the cicadas, which are apparently an annual event in Costa Rica, unlike those in the US. The way the back of the house is situated made it very easy for us to traverse from lounge chairs, to the pool, back to the chairs, or up to the covered patio.

The gardeners were there early in the a.m. and the pool guy announced himself twice during the week. Along with the handyman who worked on the alarm system with Gary, all were very pleasant and friendly. The house was very clean and stocked with the basic supplies for our stay. All the appliances and the grill were in good working order.

The manager checked in several times during our stay, but mostly that was because they were working out the kinks in the newly installed security system. Reading the previous post, I can attest to the fact that they are addressing the security issues. Based on the quality of our stay, it is unfortunate that the previous guests has such an unpleasant experience. I am happy to say that the system appeared to functioning properly before the end of our stay - I am sure the neighbors are as well .

We did a major grocery stop in Herradura on our way down, and easily found anything else we needed in the smaller stores in Dominical and Uvita. Those staples and the beautiful, peaceful setting were all we needed for a wonderful week of R&R that we were seeking.

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
27 Miles
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 34
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Nearest Beach
1.5 Miles
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $250

For a 7 night stay the Villa cleaned once during your stay with no charge. Additional cleaning is available for a fee.
Rates are subject to change until dates are confirmed.

Fifty percent of the full rental amount is due on establishment of the reservation, and the remaining amount is due thirty days prior to your check in date or cash on arrival

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties