Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

As Close as You Can Get 1936 Key Lime Cottage

Bedrooms 2
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)


This is the cutest beach cottage you have ever seen. Totally restored in October 2004. Built in 1936. We added a deck on the top which is wonderful for sunbathing, watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico or just enjoying the gulf breeze. You can see for miles. This is on a stretch of beach which is dedicated NO condos or highrises in this area. One of the last VINTAGE Florida places to go.

Granite Countertops, all new kitchen. Very 'Shabby Chic' with all new furniture and some antiques mixed in. Done in the 'Decor' of the 1930's and 1940's (1950's and 1960's too!). Very private. A wonderful honeymoon, anniversary, or special occasion place as well as anytime. Has repeat renters that have been coming for over 25 years!!!

Thomas Doughnuts is across the street from the cottage for the best homemade doughnuts you have ever tasted!

Keywords: Beach Cottage

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 8, 2017


West Panama City Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
TV in each bedroom, Living Room TV has DVD


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
28% Complete
0% Complete
As Close as You Can Get 1936 Key Lime Cottage
average rating of 4.142857 based on 7 reviews
Montevallo Al

Perfect stay as always!!!

  • 5 of 5

OMG. Yet another perfect month in Key Lime. I have been enjoying a month in the fall at Key Lime for almost ten years now. Weather, water, and lovely cottage were great. Watched dolphins and sunsets from the upstairs deck. Also had a nice water view from the front porch patio along with my coffee and a Thomas Doughnut ( Apple Fritters are my personal favorite). I can even see the water while cleaning up the kitchen. Can't wait to get back down there! Thanks Tammy for spoiling me soooo!!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Ideal location and more than you expect

  • 5 of 5

Key Lime cottage was perfect for our stay. Across the street from the beach as well as Thomas' Donuts, and down the road from a well-stocked grocery store, all you need is right there. This year our older kids came along, and the 2nd bathroom was a definite plus!! The home has been expanded since 1936, so it is quaint, and definitely on our list for future stays.

  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
canton ohio

Needs better cleaning

  • 2 of 5

We liked the location of the cottage. Unfortunately, I spent hours cleaning before we were comfortable to stay in it. Although kitchen and bathrooms were clean enough, it seems to have been months since it had been thoroughly cleaned. Fans, blinds, doors, walls, vents, under beds, etc. were filthy. Be aware also that there is no table indoors for seating for meals or games. Only a counter that seats two.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I always strive to make each rental experience a positive one. If I remember correctly, you called when you arrived and I asked my cleaning lady to come over to correct the cleaning situation as soon as possible. I have been renting this cottage for many years and have never gotten a complaint about the cleaning situation until now. I apologize for the situation but tried to correct it as soon as I was notified. As for the seating situation, the small kitchen space limits the options for seating. The counter bar and stools are the only option for this cottage. There should have been 3 stools for seating around the bar. I will have my cleaning check on the number to make sure that none are missing or have been moved to the outside deck.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Great beach cottage

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful cottage just across from the beach. the view from the top deck is great. Super easy to cross the street because no traffic to speak of. Very comfortable & everything a person needs. my sister & I were there 7/6 for 4 nights. Convenient to grocery stores & dining out. Very relaxing & no huge crowds on the beach. Highly recommend. The only drawback is while inside... opening the blinds you see the other houses on each side however who goes to the beach to stay inside?!!!!. plus we had my sisters little dog with us & she loved it too. We will be back. Thank you Tammy for this very cute place.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Paintsville, Kentucky


  • 5 of 5

This is my 2nd time at this cottage. I travel with my family & my 2 dogs. Tammy the owner is always been very helpful if needed. I only had one problem that she took care of right away. I will always rent this cottage for my vacations. Thank you Tammy for sharing your little cottage with me.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
LaGrange, GA

Awesome Location, Needs Some Upkeep

  • 2 of 5

I love where this house sits! It's just across from the beach, however it fits really tightly between two other homes, one which could questionably be falling in, and the other that's a nice little rental. The neighborhood as you move away from the beach is questionable too, but it takes you straight to back beach road! Very convenient! You can sit on the covered porch or on the deck and enjoy the ocean views. Very calm area. Thomas' Donuts has to be the best I've ever had! They are open until 1 everyday in the winter and have all types of food! You have two grocery stores nearby, which is convenient. The house itself is ok, but it's in a bit of disarray. The table beside the bed in the back bedroom is leaning because the floor is very spongey back there, almost feeling like it will cave in if you walk too firmly...the new bathroom is good, along with the deck. One of the windows does not lock. A closet door was missing, the door which would've covered what I would assume is a closet for the cleaning lady with a padlock on it. There's a gas grill on the deck which is nice! It's right outside the kitchen. Other than the flooring being an issue, it has old Florida charm! I cooked several has a very adept kitchen. Very little yard, however I was able to park two cars. Some furniture needs to be replaced or redone...

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You must remember that this cottage and all the cottages around it were built in 1930's. I can assure you that the cottage next door is NOT falling in, there was an addition added just last summer. It is an odd shaped house but that is just it's personality. My cottage was built in 1936 on a concrete slab. I can assure you that the floor is NOT about to fall in. The slab had a "lean" to it and we had to put a "floating floor" in the bedroom. That is why there is a lean and the floor gives somewhat. I can assure you that unless you can step firmly enough to go through concrete, you will not be going through the floor. The bi fold closet door obviously was off of the track and someone placed it in the closet (that's where the cleaning lady found it). Unfortunately, guests sling those doors open so forcefully that they always come off the tracks. As far as the furniture, we love it. We decorated the house to keep it's nostalgic feel and we feel confident that it serves that purpose. We have many many returning guests yearly and we never have complaints. If you will review the states that it is a quaint 1936 cottage with a nostalgic feel. Most the homes on the street are originals as well. Thanks for your review and I hope that I have cleared up any misunderstandings. According to your email you were very happy with the cottage so I hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 4


Beach just across the street


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.