Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Magnificent Views from the Top-Floor Summit Condo -- Great for Families!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms/ 2 Baths, Close to Village Center; Panoramic view; Non-smoking home

A BEAUTIFULLY RENOVATED KITCHEN!

Our vacation home on top of the mountain is perfect for a family who would like to create a special "forever" memory. In the morning, it is as if we are on an island of clouds that gather and eventually settle n the valley. In the evening, the sky is truly fireworks.

Skiing should be fantastic this year with the change of ownership/management at the resort. They are eager to improve!

Please note that smoking is NOT allowed in our home or in all buildings. Also, pets are not allowed in any of the Summit condos outside of the pets owned by the owners.

Every year, we try to do something to make it more special, and this year, we splurged and renovated the kitchen. We absolutely love it!

We have three bedrooms (Queen, double and twin/double) and a sofa bed in the living room. As Summit condos will not allow more than eight (8) occupants, please make sure that your group does not exceed this number.

After a long day of skiing, relax by the gas fireplace and, with a glass of wine, watch the most beautiful sunset right from the living room! Summit Condos are known for the beautiful western view. Third-floor condos offer a view over the mountains, looking down at the valley.

Snowshoe Resort is an “upside-down ski resort” with the lodging on top and lifts beginning from the mountaintop (elevation of 4848' with 251 acres of ski-able terrain). That gives us this wonderful mountain view. Snowshoe was once described 'an island in the sky.' In the morning, as the low clouds hover over the valley, we feel as if we are in an ocean, surrounded by islands. Over the years that we have visited our home, no sunrises or sunsets have been the same. It is as if nature erases the canvas during the night for the next day's pleasure!

We have a contract with Ski Barn (at the base and at Silver Creek) to give you a 10% discount on the equipment rental. Just tell them that you are renting our unit.

We appreciate your interest, and we look forward to meeting you via phone or VRBO

Sincerely,

Kei and Michael Gilbert (owners)

240-535-1230, 240-535-5510

More Details

Owner
Kei Gilbert
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 5, 2017

About Kei Gilbert

We never age! That's because we have not changed our photo in years. Michael (husband) was at one time a fearless skier going down the black diamond, and I (wife) was one of those 'forever beginners,' preferring the gentle green terrain. Years later, we are now happy to just watch others enjoying themselves.

Kei Gilbert purchased this condo in 1995

Why Kei Gilbert chose West Virginia

The view. Period. You can go skiing anywhere, but there is something super special about being on top of the mountain, watching the sun setting behind the mountains. The sky slowly changes color (red, orange, pink), as if we are watching acrylic paint being splashed on a three-dimensional canvas. Or, on a calm quiet morning, there is nothing more soothing than seeing low clouds that hover over the valley, with mountain peaks showing their majestic presence. Inspirational!

What makes this condo unique

Again, I say that what is so unique is the view from this third-floor Summit condo. You do not have to go to a restaurant to get their best table to watch the sunset. Just enjoy a private view from our living room! Summit condos are spacious and our newly renovated condo will make your stay very special!

Map

Amenities

Snowshoe Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Wall heaters were replaced by the ceiling vent/heater. Please see the notes marked on the switches.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed
  • There is a queen sofabed in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Our third-floor condo is perfect for the family. We have equipped the home with families in mind. Of course, the view from our window and sliding doors are magnificent in good or bad weather. It is heavenly!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Magnificent Views from the Top-Floor Summit Condo -- Great for Families!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 12 reviews
5

Amazing View and very cozy!!

  • 5 of 5

Our ramily of 6 adults and one child just got back from Snowshoe and we had a wonderful time! This condo was very cozy and had plenty of room for all of us. We were lucky enough to get about 6" of snow the first day which was amazing! The view out of the condo is phenomenal also! You are literally one flight of stairs (which are a bit of a workout, but not terrible) away from the slopes and everything in the village. We had deer walking up right under the condo and they would almost eat out of your hand. Overall, this unit is great and we would definitely go back. For those that haven't been to snowshoe before, we had problems with cell service which makes it a little difficult to communicate with each other (at least with verizon). Some others we saw were using walkie talkies, which seemed like a decent idea if they are strong enough. Go see snowshoe and this condo is a perfect place to stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your thoughtful review! Unfortunately, because of the federal observatory nearby, there is only one cell phone tower (AT&T). If you have Verizon, you will not have good connection there. (Once in a while we get one bar). We usually go to Starbucks to call the condo. You can use Skype from your cellphone. Having a Walkie talkie sounds like a good option. We will purchase a set for the next season for everyone to use. Thank you for your great suggestion!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Mcfarland

  • 5 of 5

We had a very nice stay in the West Virginia mountains. The room was a great central location for quick access to the slopes, dinning, shopping and shuttles. The pantry was full of those supplies you always forget and the unit is warmly decorated. Thanks again

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad to know that your stay was comfortable. We look forward to having you again in March!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Spacious, great views, issues with plumbing and nails in paneling

  • 3 of 5

Although the condo was very spacious for our family of five offering three bedrooms and two bathrooms, issues with the bathroom plumbing resulted in renting a three bedroom and 1 bath condo. There were also three nails sticking out of some of the wood paneling that punctured a hole in a pair of pants that should be fixed.

The views off of the rear deck were beautiful and the condo was very close to village central; there are 64 steps from the condo's parking lot before crossing the street to get to the village.

Kei was very responsive to our issues with the plumbing and was always prompt to return any messages prior to renting and during the stay. However, the overall value could have been better due to these issues we had.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was surprised to get a low rating since we did so much this summer to upgrade our condo (new carpeting in the bedrooms, new furniture in the bunk room, a new spacious refrigerator, etc.) Our closet was full of food waiting for you. When we learned that you had toilet issues, our manager immediately went to see you, and he offered to go buy a new toilet that day. (The toilet was not flushing regularly.) You told me that you had told him that it was OK to wait to replace it on Monday, after you checked out. We were so willing to replace it that day, but since it takes an hour to Elkins to go buy a new toilet, I appreciated your understanding. I am sorry that this happened. We now have not one but two brand new toilets, so this should not have a problem in the future. We are very sorry that you only had one toilet. Things break, and we appreciate your understanding.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Condo with lovely views

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this condo twice this season and both times have been memorable. The condo is very cozy, well stocked and contains everything you need to cook right there. It has a comfortable lay out, great location to the village and ski lift and has magnificent views. The owners did everything possible to make our stay worthwhile. Feels like home. We have been there twice this season do to all of the above and plan to return in the future. Thank you Kei!

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This property was amazing and the condo owners were very accommodating. A hidden jewel!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family spent a long weekend at this condo, and I can't say enough about how nice the room was, its cleanliness, easy access to the slopes, and very kind and accommodating nature of the owners. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad that you enjoyed it so much. Whenever we go there, we don't want to leave... It is so wonderful to be able to share the mountain with our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great visit to snowshoe and this unit in summit was just right for our two families- 4 adults and three kids. Location across from the village allowed us to walk right up to the slopes whenever we wanted. The stairs were a little daunting in ski boots but even my 4 year old managed them. The unit owners were very responsive and kind to us, even when we had to spend an extra night because of a big snowstorm. Unit had all we needed and the great view was a bonus

  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Administrative fee $20
Refundable damage deposit $400
Tax Rate 12.0%

There must be at least one adult over the age of 25 to be responsible for the group. This is a family-oriented condo, so please be considerate of those next to or below you. We hope you will enjoy your stay!

Cancellation policy (deposits) :
60 days prior to check-in: 100% of the deposit; 30 days: 50%; 14 days: 25%; <14 days, no refunds.
$35 admin. fees will apply to refunds in such cases.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.