Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Golf And Sun Await In A Natural Sonoran Desert Setting

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6, plus portable inflatable bed

The home was fully remodeled in 2013. Amenities include, full kitchen with new stainless steel appliances, new granite surfaces in the kitchen and baths, and new stone flooring in the kitchen, front room, and halls, new carpets in two bedrooms, and new hardwood floor in the master. The master bedroom is large and roomy and contains a slider to a private backyard and pool with a large walk in closet and private bathroom. All interior and exterior walls have been repainted!

The beautiful living room has a large HD TV and the home has free wireless internet. Air conditioning and ceiling fans are provided in all bedrooms plus the family room to allow individual temperature control.

The pool and landscape are maintained routinely by professional services. The pool has a heater to enable swimming during the winter, early spring, and late fall seasons when the air temperature drops at night. The private patio has a newly constructed outside dinning area with seating for 8 along with a built in aluminum ice cooler and sink. There are six comfortable patio chairs and lounges and two portable shade umbrellas.. There is also a new stainless steel barbecue and an built in propane fire bowl and numerous exterior solar lights.

Two of the bedrooms have brand new queen beds and mattresses. The concrete off the sliding door has been recoated and a new aluminum patio cover has been installed over the outside dining area with exterior fan for added comfort.

The kitchen is well stocked and has a Keurig coffee maker.

More Details

Owner
Kevin Ostic
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Kevin Ostic

My husband and I have been married for 33 years. we reside in the Seattle, Washington area and have raised our 3 daughters here. We have always loved the Gold Canyon area, Arizona golf, MLB spring training, and sunshine! Now that we have a beautiful home in Arizona it's hard to decide where to stay!

Our daughters are all on their own now so we are entering a brand new, exciting stage of life.

Kevin Ostic purchased this house in 2013

Why Kevin Ostic chose Greater Phoenix Area

This property has it all. Privacy, beautiful views, hiking trails, walking trails, world class golf minutes away, private back yard with heated pool, recently remodeled with modern finishes, and comfy beds! It is the wild west revisited complete with doves on top of the saguaros, lizards on the fence, and coyotes howling at night!

What makes this house unique

We absolutely loved the views and desert feel of this house. It is perfect for us and we are sure you will enjoy it too.

Amenities

Gold Canyon House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Master bath
  • Two sinks and roomy shower in master bath Tub/shower combo in guest bath Granite counter tops
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • Spacious master bedroom with slider to back yard. hard wood floors
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
Notes:
45 minutes away from MLB spring training parks, 35 minutes to ASU Stadium and Phoenix Zoo

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Golf And Sun Await In A Natural Sonoran Desert Setting
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
5

Ostic's Grand Canyon Home

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I have rented the Ostic home for three years now. We could not ask for a more suitable and beautiful home. The back yard is absolutely beautiful. When we leave at the end of March all the shrubs and flowers are in full bloom. It is the perfect back yard for grilling out and entertaining. The kitchen area is very well stocked with all the necessities for cooking and serving. And the three bedrooms are perfect for when our children come to visit.

Kevin and Beth Ostic are wonderful caring people who make sure we have everything we need while staying in their home. We couldn't ask for better people to rent from. They have helped us in so many ways to "live our dream".

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie and Roger are wonderful guests and feel like a part of our family. They have spent 3 seasons with us and they take such incredible care of the home. Roger even proactively volunteered to reattach one of the storage cabinets that dislodged from the wall in the garage during their stay. We feel very secure when they are in the home, and are elated that they can share the house, patio, and pool with their extended family and friends that all travel south for the winter! Not only are they excellent guests, they are simply wonderful people! We really appreciate their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Shickley, Nebraska
5

Wonderful Rental

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I rented this home for month of January 2017. We had a great time and the home is just as listed. We loved the heated pool. We hike and bike and Gold Canyon is great for all outdoor activity. January was a little cooler than we expected here. Very well-equipped home and patio and pool are a great asset to this home. Also loved the direction back yard faces for the sun.

  • Submitted: Jan 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely appreciate our new guests and wish to thank them for their stay. It was most unfortunate the weather was not more accommodating, but we were elated that they were able to enjoy the heated pool during a very cool January. We appreciate their personal email after their stay on opportunities to enhance the home for future guests and were glad to hear that given their experience they would be open to returning in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Not as it was listed. Not a Toscano Villa at all ,not on that location at all

  • 1 of 5

We had a rocky start to say the least. We found our place filthy. After calling the owners and them insisting the cleaning service was there, I sent photos of the filth. Then they said they would have it cleaned half way through our visit instead of have the cleaning service come immmediately. I explained that I wasn't going to clean someone else's filth. There was very detailed directions on the expectations of how we were to find and leave things on the property. Secondly, the gas fire pit and gas grill were to have new tanks. NOT. Empty. We were to fill them upon leaving. Thirdly, all patio cushions and fire pit cushions were to be stored in the garage. Not. They were out on the furniture. Lastly, this pool service guy has a great racket. The pool was out of chlorine pellets. He came checked the chemical dip stick and said yep it's low and was gonna leave without filling it. He said I don't carry chlorine on my truck?? That's like a firemen showing up with no water. He doesn't scrub the pool and if the cover is on. Which it wasn't when we got there DESPITE the direction sheet which clearly states to leave it on when not using it. The pool vacumn hose broke so it quite working, called the Pool guy said we would charge to come fix it so we took off a segment of tubing and got it working. If the pool guy EVER did preventative maintenance this could have been avoided. The gardener is allegedly to come a couple times a month. I was there 6 weeks saw him once. He never did anything like pick up sticks, leaves,etc he did dig 2 holes to repair sprinklers the first week I was there and those holes were still there week 6. Proof that he never returned. The cleaning service is a joke. 2 gals came and allegedly cleaned this 3 bed/2 bath house washing all 3 bed sets of sheets and cleaning two full baths in less than an hour. Not happening! There was no dusting! The floors were filthy. You couldn't go barefoot or the bottoms of your feet were filthy. The oven was nasty. Dirty dishes in dishwasher. A lot of this is truly not the owners fault, but you have to check up on your property. The owner was very defensive about his cleaners, pool guy and gardener. I think we spent enough time there to say that these service people are ripping the owners off. The icing on the cake were the neighbors that jump out the window-5 feet from the dining room window and smoke pot several times a day!! The smell comes into the home. 😬򛁔he kitchen was well stocked with items!

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have been renting our home for over 3 years utilizing the same professional service companies (cleaning, landscaping, pool) and have routinely received excellent reviews (5 stars) and positive feedback from our valued clients. We always seek opportunities for improvement and take great joy in every client leaving with a great experience. We have clients that continue to return each year for long durations. This is the first and only guest that has responded with a negative review. We certainly sympathize with them given the cleaning problem that occurred. As owners, we are responsible for making sure that each client has a clean home and a seamless vacation! We are constantly available via phone, text, or email on a 24 x 7 timeframe to respond to any customer concerns. We were extremely disappointed to learn from our new guests that the home was not cleaned to their satisfaction upon their arrival. This was very unfortunate as we had pre-scheduled the cleaning date and paid our invoice for service well in advance of the occupancy. Once we received the complaint, we contacted the cleaning company and they responded with 2 cleaners within 36 hours during the weekend. We requested that the cleaners consult with the client and do everything requested to extensively clean the home to their satisfaction. We followed up with the president of the cleaning company and the client immediately after the service for quality control. As home owners, we take full responsibility for the cleaning mistake and sympathize with the inconvenience that resulted. We apologized for this issue profusely and as compensation for the inconvenience purchased a gift certificate to their favorite golf course in the amount of $100. We received two texts during the stay regarding the pool and responded to both immediately. Our pool service tech returned to the home within hours of the first text to meet with the client and resolve their concerns. The 2nd text was responded to the same day and a new vacuum hose was installed 3 days later. We received a text about the previous tenant not completely filling the propane tanks and offered to mail our clients a check to their home address for the full cost of all propane used during their stay as an amenity. We also provided free meals delivered from Blue Apron. We value all our clients and urge any prospective customers to evaluate all of our reviews. We can also provide a list of many other clients as references if desired.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place in Gold Canyon!

  • 5 of 5

We just spent 10 days at this property and loved it. The outdoor space is beautiful and very tastefully decorated. The pool was perfect and we spent a lot of time in it since the weather was especially warm for October. The house had absolutely everything that we needed and the kitchen was very well equipped. We were very comfortable and felt very much at home. The homeowner, Kevin was very friendly and responsive from our initial inquiry about the house and we highly recommend this home for your future stay in the desert!

  • Submitted: Nov 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate the visit from Patti and Sean and their feedback. We are always looking for opportunities for improvement so our guests have a memorial experience and we can add new amenities for others in the future! They were outstanding guests and we hope they visit again in the future! Thanks Kevin and beth
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I and another couple spent the month of March at this location. I am so happy to say that it is everything as is described, and more. We spent many days in and around the lovely pool. The vista overlooking the pool is terrific. We also hiked (which is something I have never done) on a few of the trails in the vicinity. An absolutely perfect place to relax and soak up the sun and a little wine!

  • Submitted: May 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We want to thank our guests for their exceptional care of our home during their visit, and most especially for their constant communication, and very valuable feedback regarding opportunities for improvement. Thanks to their feedback we have added new chase lounges for the pool, removed two trees to keep the pool pristine, added privacy blinds in the master bedroom, purchased new dresser drawers, a few extra dining chairs, new kitchen utensils, coffee maker, and ironing board, and most importantly added the golf channel to the cable package! We also have the new pool heater and filtration system finely tuned. This summer we plan to add more patio space in the back yard along with a permanent fire pit and benches and install some decorative stone in the front to improve the aesthetics. Our only regret is that we were unable to meet our guests in person and personally thank them for their great hospitality, care of the home, and their comments that will allow us enhance the experience for our future guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Sky Harbour Airport Phoenix
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Gold Canyon Golf Resort
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Highway 60
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Wahoo's
Car: recommended

The greater Phoenix area has over 250 golf courses and one of best courses in Arizona runs adjacent to the property. The Gold Canyon Golf Resort clubhouse is one mile away and features 36 holes of championship desert golf. The Sidewinder and Dinosaur Mountain courses are hidden gems. The Best of Zagat rates the Gold Canyon Dinosaur Mountain course as one of the Top 3 Public Courses in Arizona based on: course conditions, service, facilities, and value. Sports Illustrated has ranked Gold Canyon in the Top 5 Public courses in Arizona for the past 12 years! The Dinosaur Mountain course winds across the mountains providing incredible elevation changes from tee to green and spectacular views of the Superstition Mountains to the East. The Sidewinder course navigates through natural arroyos and dry creek beds among the native cholla, prickly pear, mesquite and palo verde trees. Superstition Mountain Golf and Country Club, featuring the Prospector and Lost Gold courses, is less than a 5 minute drive, and has hosted multiple major LPGA and Champions Tour Tournaments. The Mountainbrook course is also within 5 minutes. Gold Canyon has a special discount card available for purchase (one free round and up to 50% off selected tee times), or you may consider buying a Southwest PGA card for discounts on up to 50 local courses including Gold Canyon. You can also obtain seasonal discounts online.

The city of Gold Canyon has some excellent restaurants nearby. Within a few miles mile are the Gold Canyon Resort Cantina, and Wahoo's. The Best Western Hotel on Kings Ranch Road is less than 2 miles away with a restaurant/bar that normally remains open late. Rosatti's has great Italian food that is very inexpensive. There is also a Basha's grocery store within 5 minutes and two Chinese food locations along with some local cafes. Basha's has a Starbucks coffee store inside.

Wildlife abounds on the Gold Canyon course and the surrounding neighborhoods. Bobcats, deer, coyotes, rabbits, lizards, doves and quail are often seen on the course or in the wash nearby.

Hiking is easily accessible on all sides of our home. Plenty of maintained walking trails throughout the neighborhood are available.

Gold Canyon living is special because much of the area is still undeveloped and remains native Sonoran desert. The local mountain ranges highlight the beauty and provide a great backdrop for sunset or sunrise photographs. This is true Arizona living with lots of wild birds nesting in a saguaros behind the house.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gold Canyon House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer Season 2017
May 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$875
$2,200
 
 
Mid Season 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Dec 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,150
$2,800
 
 
High Season 2018
Jan 1 2018 - Apr 30 2018
7 night minimum stay
$1,300
$3,275
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$150
 

Additional information about rental rates

non refundable cleaning $150
Property Damage Protection $59

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties