Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Come experience why we call this the Happy House

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Happy House is a legal vacation rental on Molokai !! Happy House- why? because staying here makes you happy! The Happy House is a three bedroom, one and one half bath oceanfront home on Kanoa Beach. Located 3.5 miles from the main town of Kaunakakai on Molokai's protected south shore. Enjoy beautiful views of Maui and Lanai across the channel.

This is a very casual house with lovely tropical decor. There is a large covered lanai with two wicker lounge chairs and swinging daybed great for enjoying the tropical breezes, sunrises over Maui and sunsets over the ocean. The master bedroom faces the ocean and has a queen sized bed and a half bath. The second bedroom has a queen sized bed and the third bedroom has a full sized bed and is adjacent to a full bathroom. There is also a full kitchen with most amenities.

A 3 minute walk down the beach is a wonderful children's playground at Oni Alii Beach Park.

In the winter months enjoy the humpback whales breaching in the channels from the lanai. Kayaks or SUP boards can be rented though Molokai Outdoor Activities. Other amenities include cable TV, stereo, There is high speed internet via WIFI, washing machine with a clothesline. In the oceanside of house there is a piicnic table and two lounge chairs to relax on and watch the fabulous sunets at night.

Rent SUP Boards or Kayaks through Molokai-outdoors.com or call 808 336 0946

Please review the house rules before renting this property:

http://molokai-vacation-rental.com/graphics/house-rules.pdf

Happy House Permit Number STMO 2013/0005

Hawaii State Tax ID# TA-148-751-7696-01

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2017

Amenities

Kaunakakai House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Come experience why we call this the Happy House
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
5

Private, well-supplied, and VERY accommodating hosts!

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed in many hotels, vacation rentals, and I'm also from Oahu so the chances of my personal experience at the Happy House being influenced by just "being in Hawaii overall" is non-existent. I am writing from a purely lodging/amenity-judgement standpoint, because while the beaches and ocean are beautiful to me, they don't "WOW" me like they may somebody who lives outside of Hawaii.

With that being said, I and our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Happy House and very much felt comfortable, safe, and RELAXED. The house was really quite spacious with the 3 rooms, decently sized living room, really large patio(overlooking the beach and out to Lana'i island), and huge yard. It's indoor/outdoor living. I love hammocks, and there was a large one with other patio furniture to lounge on. There was an outdoor gas grill for us to use, an outdoor shower which made it really good for our experience as we were there for water activities, and 2 kayaks and a stand-up paddle to use with the sign of waivers. The house is easy to find, convenient on the South Shore(a handful of minutes from the main town), and safe. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils, cookware, pots/pans, coffee-maker, rice cooker, and fridge/freezer with ice machine. Everything you have at home, they will have, so it's perfect for a party that wants to save on some meal costs by preparing food at home.

Our hosts were really accommodating as I had a few questions during our 4-night stay, and they answered all our requests promptly and as best they could. Their office is located just 5-7 minutes down the road.

A note about Moloka'i in general: The people of Moloka'i are warm and friendly and loving, so please remember that you are on THEIR island and respect each and every one of them with the level of respect you would expect in your house...yes, not in your hometown or homestate, but if guests were in your own house. I am from Oahu, and it is a very different vibe on Moloka'i, one to embrace, cherish, and honor. Leave any negative attitude and/or entitlement at home for a better experience there!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Now you know why we call this place the "HAPPY HOUSE" all are happy there!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellevue, Washington
5

Wonderful location on the island!

  • 5 of 5

This house was close to everything and had spectacular views of Lanai and Maui. Calm waters for floating, paddle boarding and kayaking. Amazing covered Lanai for reading, relaxing and napping. The house was clean and comfortable with adequate furnishings and supplies, to make a great vacation. Very memorable! We hope to return soon to the warmth and hospitality of Moloka'i :-)

  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Another Happy Guest at the Happy House!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Rural Washington coast
4

So relaxing!

  • 4 of 5

This house is such a wonderful place to relax and unwind. We spent every minute on the big, shady lanai with a view that cannot be beat. The chairs are comfortable plus there is a chaise, a swing and a hammock and two lounges in the yard! We even had a resident friendly kitten. Who could ask for more? It is very quiet and private. We slept like babies.

The kitchen was well-stocked with plenty of pots, pans and dishes and the ice machine was well used. The beds were comfortable and we didn't miss AC because of the efficient ceiling fans.

Two small issues ... the shower curtain is moldy and there is a broken lamp shade in the living room that was pretty annoying. Both things are simple and inexpensive to fix and really won't affect your relaxing stay in this very nice, very Happy House!

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: If for future you have issues call out office and we will replace it right away. New shower curtain and lamps shade is now there.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very happy!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at the happy house! The location is perfect, the house is comfortable, and the view can't be beat. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: That is why it's called the Happy House. Everyone is happy with their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Happy House, Indeed!

  • 5 of 5

The house was awesome. We enjoyed our stay immensely and look forward to being able to stay at the Happy House in the future. It was literally equipped with basic essentials. The view was spectacular and ocean breezes were relaxing. Enjoy! Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Every one is HAPPY at the Happy House. It's just the perfect place to stay on Molokai. We always paddle out in the water in front on our stand up boards and swim . Yesterday we saw a seal in front. That was so cool. Usually it's just turtles, manta rays, and whales.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very private

  • 5 of 5

The house was in good shape and clean. Because of the hedges along the property line it feels very private. You feel like you have a private beach and we only saw two groups of people walk by in front of the house during the four days we were there. If we were to go back to Moloka'i we would certainly consider staying here again.

The only negatives really have more to do with Moloka'i than the house:

The ocean in front of the house is only knee-deep out about 1/2 mile until you get to the edge of the reef. Do not plan on a morning swim nor snorkeling here (drive down to Mile 20 instead).

There's a very proud and temporally-challenged rooster that thinks sunrise is at 4 AM, and 6 AM, and 6:15, 7:22, noon, etc.

Make sure anything sweet is completely sealed up as there are tiny ants that will find it (like our sugar cubes).

General comments:

Kalaupapa was very interesting and I highly recommend the trip. We walked down and back up, but don't even think of this unless you're in good shape (and you'll still be sore for a few days).

Whatever is at the end of the road is always interesting. Go to East end (bring your snorkeling gear, beach chairs and towels) - there are several good beaches with crystal clear water along the way. Go to the West end too - Kapukahehu Beach was very cool and we should have gone there before our last day (even has a shower).

If you're a foodie, cook at home so you're not disappointed. Kualapuu Cookhouse was the best available - portions are huge.

If you're a Maui fan you probably won't like it here. If you're looking for a place to truly relax and chill for a few days, then Moloka'i should be on your short list.

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2016
  • Stayed: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Availability

Available
Unavailable