check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

The Rock House: A Luxurious Modern Cabin Located in the Heart of Big Bear!!!!!!!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
Sleeps
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
2

About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, 6 Sleeps

The Rock House is a two bedroom two bath spacious cabin in the perfect location. 55 inch TV in the living room and a TV in each bedroom, all with DVD players attached. There are also 64 different movies to choose from! This modern and luxurious cabin has been fully remodeled from top to bottom. BBQ out back during summer or hit the slopes during winter. The Rock House is the perfect cabin for family and friends!


Owner
Matthew Vahabzadeh
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 24, 2017

About Matthew Vahabzadeh

Our names are Matthew and Monica. We are siblings that grew up in San Diego. We work in the branding and events field. Monica is the owner one of San Diego's finest event planning businesses. She specializes in weddings, but has had extensive experience in all other forms of event planning and management. Some of her hobbies include traveling, going to the beach, and drinking Starbucks! Matthew is the owner of a small business branding and website development/management business. He has had extensive experience in brand awareness and website development, but can also provide many other services, such as stationery and graphics design. Some of his hobbies include bodybuilding, aquariums, and spending time with his dog! We both love what we do!

Matthew Vahabzadeh purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Matthew Vahabzadeh chose Big Bear

We've always loved taking trips to Big Bear with our friends and family. When we came across this home, we knew it was the one for us! We both have a passion for snowboarding and wakeboarding; this property provides the perfect location for both. Only minutes away from both mountains and lake, this is the perfect get-away all year-round.

What makes this cabin unique

What made us fall in love with this home when we first entered it was the fact that it needed to be remodeled! Our favorite show that we like to watch together is Property Brothers, on HGTV; this made us have an interest in finding a place that we could design and leave our mark on. The location, framework, and layout of the home was amazing, but the finishings definitely needed adjustments. After a lot of discussion and hard work we believe we did an amazing job at refinishing the cabin beautifully.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(35 traveler reviews)

The Rock House: A Luxurious Modern Cabin Located in the Heart of Big Bear!!!!!!!
average rating of 4.6571426 based on 35 reviews
5

The Rock House ROCKS!!!

  • 5 of 5

The Rock House truly does ROCK! Five of my friends and I stayed at The Rock House over the Martin Luther King Day weekend and we could not have asked for a better experience. In fact, I travel to Big Bear frequently during the winter months as I love to ski and I can confidently say that The Rock House was one of the best cabins I have ever stayed in. The cabin has been recently, nicely, and tastefully remodeled, has all the amenities one would need, and was very clean top to bottom. Also, the location is fantastic! It is on a quiet street, a couple of minutes away from Vons, and literally an easy five-minute drive away from Bear Mountain and Snow Summit. Matthew, who is the owner, was super responsive and made the whole process very pleasant. It took an easy phone call to confirm cabin availability and reserve it. In addition, we had a couple of questions once we got to the cabin and Matthew himself was available over the phone and answered all of our questions. He was also extremely fair refunding our security deposit, cleaning fee, and linen fee. Above all, I have thank him for his generosity as he had filled the fridge with refreshments including energy drinks, all of which were offered to us at no additional cost! YES, TOTALLY FREE!!! Overall, it was definitely a five-star experience and not only will we recommend The Rock House to our friends, we will be sure to contact Matthew when we are heading to Big Bear again.

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
18 0
4

Great place to stay!!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the rock for 4 nights our first impression when we pulled up was that it looked tiny BUT... it's very spacious! Very nice size! We are a family of 6 and we had more than enough space. Kitchen had everything we needed. Very well equipped. Only thing we had to go out and buy was a pan for cupcakes lol but it even had an electric mixer!! We got the linen service they provided more than enough towels and sheets pillow cases. The kids had a great time in the back yard although in the night it could use a little more light if kids choose to play outside. Inside it was very well lit no problem. Reason why I didn't rate 5stars was because I emailed a couple of times and didn't received a response. Also my one of my kids slipped and fell coming inside from playin in the snow Thankfully she's ok just fell on her bottom but the house NEEDS mats! I emailed Mathew in regard to the incident after our stay suggested they needed mats inside the house till now haven't gotten a response or an apology. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay. Very clean cabin. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay! Unfortunately, I didn't receive the email but that is a great idea. We will definitely add the mats! Glad your girl is okay and that you all had a fun time. Hope to have you back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vista, CA
5

You need to stay here !

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed at the Rock House twice with both friends and family. It's in the perfect location and a good size. I think the prices are really fair. I love the upgrades throughout and the BBQ out back. We left the cabin just how we got it ( nice and clean ) and I received my deposit back right away each time. Definitely recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect getaway spot !

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

More Cons than Pros

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at the Rock House over the summer.

CONS:

1. As some of the other reviewers mentioned, the downstairs area that includes the kitchen and living room is not well lit at all. A couple of lamps would probably fix this problem.

2. The cabin was not clean when we arrived. For example, the downstairs bathroom trash bin had not been emptied and still had feminine products in the bin. There was also a muddy footprint in the shower. The downstairs carpet had not been vacuumed. The owner keeps costs low for the renter by not hiring a cleaner if the renter cleans up after himself/herself. Had I known this beforehand, I would not have stayed at this rental. This may have been mentioned in the rental description and I just wasn't paying attention.

3. The rental has no air conditioner. During our summer stay, we found it to be too warm in one of the rooms to be fully comfortable while sleeping at night, even with the windows open.

4. There is a nice gas grill in the backyard, but you need to bring your own propane tank to use it. I didn't see anything in the information provided to us that we would need to bring our own propane tank and when I asked about the grill prior to our trip, I didn't get a response.

PROS:

1. Affordable.

2. The owner returned our security deposit in full.

Lastly, something else to keep in mind is that clean linens are not included in the initial price for the rental, but can be requested for an additional amount.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback and review! Since this review we have added lights in the living room and kitchen. We liked the cozy cabin feel but understand that others may like it brighter so appreciate that feedback! Most cabins in our area do not have central air but we do have fans available for guests to use. There is central heat and extra heaters provided in the upstairs closets for those who visit in the winter. As mentioned in the description, we offer a lower rate with a fully refundable deposit as long as the cabin is left clean and undamaged. Our property managers clean the cabin if needed and replace the propane tank for the bbq. If this was brought to our attention during the stay our property manager would have taken care of it and filled the propane tank. Thanks for your feedback! We hope you had an enjoyable trip!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Fantastic!

  • 4 of 5

Provided everything needed for a relaxed weekend.

  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

A TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!!!

  • 1 of 5

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DON'T GO HERE! I think even 1 star is a higher rating than what the owner deserves! I was at the Rock House this past week, a poorly lit house, where you bump into walls because you can't see anything. The freezer barely opens, and every time you try to open it, you bump your hand against the wall! Now comes the biggest problem, the owner makes up stories that you broke his furniture, so he could overcharge you! He bases his "facts" from his neighbors. First, they said that we had 15 people in the house and then they said that we were blocking their driveway! Afterwards, he said that I broke his side door (which he admitted to me after that it was always broken)! Last but not least, he said I broke his picnic table by dancing on it at 1 in the morning (again from the neighbors) and I'm still in middle of trying to get my innocent money back from him! After all, DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT GOING TO THE ROCK HOUSE!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Yosef, I really appreciate your review. I'm very sorry that I could not give you your deposit back after you left a mess that took my cleaning crew three hours to pick up and your party was seen dancing on the now-broken picnic table at one in the morning (as witnessed by the neighbors). Seeing as this review conflicts greatly with every other review that I have received over the years, it's very hard to believe a word of it. With that being said, if you plan on disrespecting me, my neighbors, my property managers, or my property, don't bother booking my cabin—I will not hesitate to keep your damage deposit, much like I did with Yosef. Fortunately, in the many years that I have been hosting travelers in my cabin, this is the first person that did not receive the majority—if not all—of their deposit back. To all the other guests that have stayed in my cabin and treated me and my property with respect, thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
0.7 Miles
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Car: necessary

The Rock House is centrally located in Big Bear; within walking distance of the convention center, the weekly farmers market, and Big Bear Snow Play. Only minutes away from Bear Mountain and Snow Summit resorts. Conveniently located at the eastern tip of Big Bear Lake, this gives easy access to beaches, boat launches, and hiking trails. Enjoy both dining and shopping at The Village during your Rock House stay! The perfect location for Big Bear activities all year round.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Big Bear Lake Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Snow Season
Jan 16 2017 - Feb 16 2017
1 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 
 
Presidents Weekend
Feb 17 2017 - Feb 19 2017
1 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Snow Season
Feb 20 2017 - Mar 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
 
 
Memorial Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
1 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Independence Day
Jul 4 2017 - Jul 4 2017
1 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
Labor Weekend
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
1 night minimum stay
$200
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
 

Additional information about rental rates

Opening and Closing Fee $40 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Current calendar reflects proper pricing concluding 2016—Subsequent inquiries are subject to review to confirm correct pricing prior to acceptance of said booking. Optional Linen Fee available for $60—Linen Fee includes towels/sheets/pillowcases—Pillows/comforters are provided regardless—Upon request of Linen Fee a deduction of $60 from security deposit to provide requested. Cleaning services are not included in pricing or offered as a booking option—If cleaning is required following guest departure, cleaning fees will be relayed by excluding amount charged from security deposit—The property management companies cleaning fee is $30 per hour scalable in 15 minute increments. To receive your security deposit back in full, cabin is expected to be left as it was upon arrival; clean and undamaged. Existing damage yet to be tended to prior to your stay will be disclosed—Damage identified upon arrival not previously disclosed by owner must be brought to owners attention immediately upon discovery—Failure to do so within the first day of booking will result in guest assuming responsibility for said damage. Guests granted access to interior doors exclusively—Exterior security measure access omitted from guest privileges—Loss of cabin access will result in guest to assume financial liability for all measures necessary to resolve related complications stemming from negligence of aforementioned forewarning. Owner reserves the right to disregard booking commitments, revoke access, and/or expel occupants if said action is deemed warranted by the owner of this property. Cancellation fees apply—Reimbursement amount for booking cancellations which succeed the permissible cancellation time-frame are subject to judgement at discretion of the owner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Big Bear Lake Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1084 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 double , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties