Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Clean & Modern, Rich With Amenities, Lake House

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,100 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath Lake House

Spend your summer here at the Chalet Eau Clair and enjoy a vacation home rich with amenities, outdoor beauty, and wildlife. This three-bedroom, two and half bath home that comfortably sleeps 8, is nestled on a gradual sloping, nicely wooded back yard area that meets the sandy, shallow beach area. In the morning, enjoy your coffee on the spacious deck that overlooks high above the beautiful lake and listen to the song of the loon as you relax in bliss thinking about your day. At night sip a glass of wine and watch a campfire crackle as you plan your next day with family and friends.

The name does truly fit this beautiful and modern chalet, house that is situated on Three-Cornered Pond in Augusta on the Buck & Doe Trail. Eau Clair indicates 'clear water' which so fittingly describes this body of water. Situated on about 5.1 miles of water, there is no deeded public access to the lake making it so very private with very low boat traffic. For the fishing enthusiast, Three-Cornered Pond thrives with small and large mouth bass and chain pickerel. Boat over to the island that is close by the home and enjoy the natural beauty of all this small lake offers.

Nearby, the City of Augusta owns and operates the Bicentennial Nature Park. The park encompasses approximately 25 acres on the southeastern shore of Three-Cornered off of U.S. Route 3. The park includes a swimming area, a designated fishing area, hand carry boat launch, walking trails, picnic area, a canoeing area, bathrooms, gravel roadways and parking areas.

For the golfing enthusiast, Natanis Golf Course, located on Webber Pond Rd., Vassalboro, is the only golf course in the State of Maine to offer 36 regulation holes. Go to their website for more information regarding this exceptional golf course Maine offers.

Be sure to ask us about other attractions, beaches, state parks, and historic locations nearby this vacation home.

More Details

Property Manager
Sue Barrows, Booking Agent
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 4, 2017

About Sue Barrows, Booking Agent

I am the property manager of the Chalet Eau Clair. I have been a manager of rental units for 21 years and am a native Mainer for 56 years now. I have a profound love and respect for our great state and the rich resources of our lakes, streams, oceans, and mountains. I have worked in all 16 counties and know many vacation areas as a great bulk of our vacation time has been spent in Maine. Our state parks are beautiful, well taken care of, and I just love visiting my local park in Damariscotta. I am a member of MOFGA (Maine Organic Farmers Gardeners Association) with a great appreciation of local, natural foods and supporting my local farms. I am a CSA member of the Sheepscot General, a local organic farm in Whitefield, Maine. I love gardening and canning in the summer and sharing my yield with others. My family are all wood harvesters, a huge industry in this state. I graduated Oak Hill High School with my business honors and am currently working on my Associates Degree in Paralegal Studies. I have lived in East Pittston for 18 years and my hometown of 38 years is Litchfield. I have been married 34 years but we have been a couple for 41. We have two wonderful children who are doing well in life and whom we are so proud of too. I hope you visit the beautiful lake house called so appropriately the Chalet Eau Clair. I take very good care of renters and love to meet people and talk about their rewarding lives and the beautiful places they come from too. I love our business and can't imagine anything else.

Why Sue Barrows, Booking Agent chose Augusta

It has such a great layout with plenty of bathrooms and bathrooms. The lake cannot be accessed by the public which is so very nice. The shore is shallow and sandy. It's wooded and private. The inside of the home is modern and clean. It permeates a well maintained atmosphere. The home offers many amenities too.

What makes this house unique

All bedrooms have a lake view.

Map

Sunrise China
Windsor Diner -- CLOSED
Maine Lighthouse Museum
Maine Lobster Festival
Riverfront Barbeque
Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Augusta Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Augusta
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Rockland, Maine
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Natanis Golf Course
Nearest Train
65 Miles
Portland, Maine
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
The Riverfront Barbeque & Grille
Nearest Ski
65 Miles
Saddleback Ski Area
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Rockland, Maine
Car: recommended

Augusta is Maine's state capital and bustles with lots of shopping and great restaurants that includes the franchises or local Maine made food. Kennebec Chocolates are Maine made and hand dipped and a favorite place for the lover of good chocolate. The Botanical Gardens in Boothbay, Maine is wonderful and breathtaking for those that appreciate natural beauty. The Boothbay Playhouse and the Carousel Music Theater is great for the musical entertainment enthusiast. The Rockland and Camden regions are very close commutes that offer the ocean. If you want to venture away from Augusta, both of these areas are rich with amenities with lots to do and fairly close commutes.

Amenities

Augusta House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Private to the master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Bathroom located downstairs
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
  • Half bath located upstairs off the entryway and off the kitchen. Private bath in the master bedroom with a jetted tub. Downstairs is a 3/4 bath for both bedrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , This room is private and beside the full bathroom downstairs
    Bedroom 3 - 1 murphy bed , This room is private.
  • Master bedroom is upstairs. Two private bedrooms are downstairs. A brand new sleeper sofa, queen size is located in an open area downstairs that is not private.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
New Dock 2016. New queen size sleeper sofa 2016. Deep whirlpool, jetted tub in the master bedroom. Auto start emergency propane generator. AC/Heat Pump system newly installed. Beautiful new retaining wall and steps down to the back yard.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Clean & Modern, Rich With Amenities, Lake House
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
5

Wonderful rental!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay with family! Nice open kitchen area, deck is great, and the downstairs is so great for families. Nice and clean. Sue was available for any questions, and very responsive. Would recommend this house to anyone!

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, Sara. Last minute bookings are no problem for us. We certainly do take pride in everything being just so for our valued guests. Would love to have you come back.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Granddaughter's wedding and family time: Perfect rental and location

  • 5 of 5

We can't say enough about this beautiful house and setting! We were joined by family from Arizona and Maine (we came up from Vermont) for 4 wonderful days together topped off by all of us attending our beautiful granddaughters wedding in nearby Hallowell. The booking agent Sue Burrows went above and beyond to help secure our rental on short notice and was so kind and helpful. Everything was as presented and more! Very clean and comfortable property on scenic Three Cornered Pond. The pond provided hours of entertainment for the grandchildren and was easy to access. It was beautiful weather while we were there and the foliage was at peak. We would highly recommend this rental and will be back ourselves when time allows.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much. You and your guests were wonderful. I strive so much to make things perfect for people. A clean house is a must and of course much credit goes to the owners for their attentiveness to details too. Please come back. I'd love to have you. Repeat renters who leave the home in good condition are not required to put a security deposit down either.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Lovely secluded, comfortable house on a quiet lake

  • 5 of 5

Chalet Eau Clair has much to recommend it and we enjoyed our month-long stay here. The main part of the house, a thoughtfully-laid out, open combination of family/dining room/kitchen, is warm and inviting, a great place for friends and family to gather over a meal or watch a movie. The lake is always present, due to the full wall of windows on that side of the house and the loon calls were a constant delight. The deck is roomy and comfortable with an ever-present breeze from the water. It was convenient to have the laundry right off the living area, and those appliances are top-of-the line. Although there are neighbors on both sides, the tall and thick pine trees made them close to invisible. The property manager, Sue Barrows, was as helpful as she was responsive. All I had to do was text or call her with a question or request, and it was taken care of.

For the nature purists among you, this house is probably not the best choice. During the day you could plainly hear traffic from Route 202 on the other side of the lake, and at times it got pretty noisy. (I wasn’t really bothered by this, but my husband found it very annoying, especially when he was out kayaking or on the deck). While the master bedroom is quite nice, the master bath is *very* disappointing. Although it does have a Jacuzzi-style tub, the bathroom itself is small and very dated, with ugly formica (and not much counter space) and the shower is just one of those small ugly fiberglass stalls with terrible water pressure (the one downstairs is considerably better both in appearance and performance). There’s a half-bath off the kitchen which was very convenient when we were entertaining guests.

This was our first vacation in Maine. We found Augusta to be very centrally located, in that there were a huge number of day trips between an hour and an hour-and-a half that we could take using Augusta as home base. It didn’t have the charm of some of the other towns and cities we visited, but its location was a plus.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful review due to it being so thorough and diverse, Ellen. Thank you so much. On behalf of management and ownership it is so appreciated as well as helpful so things can be discussed regarding improvements that could be done. Some can't so much regarding the city for example but the other info for others to read is invaluable because some lodgers may not like the noise like your husband. Often times I have said to potential lodgers inquiring to stay that it is very important to me that I disclose everything because vacation time is so important because we save a lot of our hard earned money to be able to have a good and memorable one. Vacation time should be as perfect as possible. I hadn't realized the noise from Route 202. I found that interesting. The other thing I really appreciated during your stay was the first few days you called a few times asking questions and wanting an auto drip coffee maker instead of the Keurig. Often times lodgers don't call to make requests or ask anything and walk away a little disappointed which disappoints me because I'm always readily available to deliver or answer anything even in the middle of the night for emergencies. We had one of those at a different lake house. Thankfully that's a rare occurrence but as a final note, Ellen, thank you so much for visiting and making the Chalet Eau Clair your temporary home for a month. We loved having you both and would love to have you visit again. Best to you both always, Sue
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

You Will Love It Here!!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here at the end of December, preparing for our New Year's Day wedding in Augusta. If you stay here, it will surpass all of your expectations!!! The kitchen is equipped with everything you could ever need, the fireplace is awesome on a cold winter's day/night, the view is beautiful, the beds are comfy ... I could go on and on. The manager of the property is exceptionally friendly and accomodating!! We loved our stay; our only regret is that we were so busy with wedding prep that we didn't get to enjoy Chalet Eau Clair as much as we could have!! Summer stays must be amazing!!!

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a kind response. I'm so glad you liked it here. I strive for things to be just so and am always flexible with needs. It's so important when on vacation. Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Wrentham, Ma USA
5

Lovely Well Appointed Lake Home

  • 5 of 5

Beautifully decorated immaculate, comfortable home, everything available for your comfort, and very spacious. Pictures can.t do it justice. Very quiet and secluded area, lots of glass to view the lake, so much more than we expected, hope to come back in the summer

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much! We strive to make it a really nice experience. I so appreciate your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Beautiful Getaway

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the best time at this lovely home. It was extremely clean, comfortable and spacious. Everyone enjoyed the use of the kayaks and the swimming was great. The location was convenient. The property manager was friendly and available. I would definitely come back again!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so very much. It means a lot to me. Clean is a high priority for me. I inspect every home I manage and harp on my workers. They should be 5-star hotel clean. I've vacationed at places that were terrible and would never want that for someone. Do unto others as you would want done to you is what I say. Thank you again and would love to have you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

When inquiring, a lodging agreement outlining the terms regarding reservation and cancellation policy can be emailed to the inquirer for their careful review. Any bookings made after May 1 require payment in full. Some exceptions are made.

Dogs only are allowed up to 20-30 lbs in weight and only one is allowed. Dogs must be pre-approved and are breed sensitive. Cats are not allowed due to allergies. There is a $75 pet fee to be considered before state sales tax.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties