Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Directly across from the beach! Sleeps 12 in beds! CLEAN & fun beach home!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Welcome to The Seahorse (formally M&M). Located on the highly desired Palmetto Blvd on Edisto Beach! M&M features 3-4 bedrooms, and sleeps up to 12! Just steps to the beautiful Edisto Beach! The Atlantic Ocean/Beach is directly across from you! - Beach access is as close as checking your MAIL!

There are 2 levels to our home, which are connected by inner stairs. Lower unit is equipped with central heating and air system also.

Ground level: 1-2 bedroom, 1 bath, laundry room.

Bedroom 1 features a queen bed, Television.

Living area can be used either as an extra bedroom, or as a living area (or both, your choice)- This area features a Queen size bed, and a sofa that converts into a bed. (Sofa Sleeper), and an LCD TV.

Laundry room features an HE Front Load washer and dryer, and also a 2nd full size refrigerator!

Ground level steps out onto covered sitting area, that is great to just hang out, play games, rock in one of the rocking chairs and enjoy the salty air.

Main Level of house- 2 bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, 1 bath, living area, dining area.

Master bedroom= 1 Queen Bed and television

2nd bedroom= 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed, and also a television.

There is also a XL Twin bed located just off of the living room, to provide a little extra sleeping space.

Spacious living room offers plenty of comfortable seating, of which 2 couches convert to a queen size bed. An LCD TV for your viewing pleasure.

Living Room steps out onto covered screened porch with plenty of seating. Porch also has an awesome hammock swing chair! Porch steps out to the Sunning deck! Here you can kick back and catch some rays, all while enjoying your favorite beverage if you so desire, and listen to the waves crashing!

Aside from the beach itself; these outside areas are where it is! Whether you want to turn up the radio and sun tan, or relax with a book while enjoying the salty air and the beach breeze. Enjoying the sounds of the waves crashing and the birds flying overhead. Why not just enjoy yourself a nap?!

Kitchen is large and spacious providing plenty of counter space and cabinets. Featuring a nice smooth top stove for the chef of the family to prepare a feast on! -Kitchen is fully stocked with virtually everything you will need to cook and serve with.

Side by Side refrigerator provides plenty of room for your entire week of groceries and drinks and less trips to the store! (remember, you also have the full sized refrigerator downstairs)

This home is very functional for so many different situations;

Very comfortable and accommodating for extra large families, like ours.

Or for multiple families that are vacationing together; having the upper and lower level provides the ability to have that extra privacy if so desired.

OR if you are a family with many children (pre teen/teen), they love to be given the lower unit as 'their area' while the adults claim the main house

OR if you have anyone elderly traveling with you, or anyone that has trouble with stairs, the lower level is perfect for them! They will have to battle NO stairs to be able to join you on your vacation!

While the house is not a brand new fancy home, she is very comfortable and clean. You will not have the fear of touching something you feel you 'shouldn't'. Here you can kick your shoes off and relax-- something we all need to do more often!

You can worry more about the important things, like making memories with your family, spending those special moments with your children or spouse. decompressing and/or letting loose!

WIFI & Cable are provided. (High speed) - We have a brand new HVAC unit, sure to keep you cool/ warm.

Their is an outdoor enclosed shower with HOT and COLD water, to shower off the sand after a fun day at on the beach.

Beach access is essentially directly across from home. 'Our' beach access is a treat in itself (see pics below). This is a no parking beach access, it is a wooden walkway surrounded by nature which forms a sort of 'tunnel'.

We hope to have you down to our home, and we can only hope that you enjoy her as much as we do! Come down and join us here on EDISLOW time!

More Details

Property Manager
Melissa Beach, PMIC
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 14, 2017

Why Melissa Beach, PMIC chose Charleston Area

So close to the beach, yet priced affordably!


Edisto Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upper Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Lower Bathroom - toilet , shower
    Outside enclosed - shower , Hot and Cold water
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Up Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 upstairs - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 (ground level) - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 and/or Living area - 1 queen , 2 sleep sofa /futon
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • churches
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Directly across from the beach! Sleeps 12 in beds! CLEAN & fun beach home!
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews

Who doesn't love M&M's?

  • 5 of 5

Great home to enjoy a relaxing vacation in at the best place on Earth! Proximity to beach, compared to the price- unbelievable! We dealt with Melissa when making our reservation, and throughout our stay. She was very well informed of the area, and was always right back to us when we reached out to her. The house was very clean, and the kitchen is very well stocked. Hope to get back down soon. This is a fantastic beach home.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Arden, NC

Great location and priced well

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this property. The house was clean and accommodated our family well. We loved walking across the street to the beach and sitting on the screened porch at night. The kitchen had everything we needed and the laundry room was nice to have. We were unable to come for the first night we had reserved due to the death of my Mom. We were hoping to be reimbursed for this night but we have not been able to get in touch with the owners since we came home. I am hoping they will come through on this as it was an unforeseen, unfortunate circumstance.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice for Large Family

  • 5 of 5

I first want to say that the property manager is really on top of this listing. The manager was always available and answered all my questions in a timely manner.

The house is very nice for a large family on a budget. As other post stated, the house is across the street to two beach access points and at night you can hear the waves crashing from the screen in porch. The kitchen is a nice size. The property is well maintained and clean. Restaurants are down the road and are easy to get to via a bike ride. In my opinion the house is safe for small children and there is plenty of space for everyone to get their personal time. We did no feel cramped with 6 adults, two teenagers,and our Terrier. My sister, who lives near Charleston, came to visit for a day at the beach with her 3 small children. While they where at the house we still had plenty of room for everyone.

We will stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

good time good friends

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a nice experience with this home and the owners. Very easy reservation process and check in. We enjoyed the home, it was very comfortable and had everything we needed to prepare meals and then some! Very close to the beach, just a mailbox trip and you're there. The beach access is literally right across the road from the house, making us feel almost as though we had rented a beachfront. We got some great steaks from the new Bi-Lo that is on the Island. We would recommend this home to anyone looking for a descent place to spend some time at the beach, that won't break the bank!

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2

Nice 5 night stay

  • 5 of 5

Just 4 seniors passing through after Thanksgiving. We had never visited Edisto Island. We actually had never heard of the place before. What a nice treat provided to us by our children for a Holiday Gift. Edisto is a fantastic place. If you have never been, I highly recommend you visit sometime. It is unlike any of your fast paced beaches here in South Carolina.

The home was very accommodating and relaxing. We were allowed to Check In early and Check Out late. We had everything we could possibly need in the kitchen to cook and serve a feast with. We slept well, and really enjoyed the front porch in the evenings. I would recommend this home to travelers coming in the area.

Thank you for having us.

Tom and Betty Saucey (and friends)

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0


  • 2 of 5

I really hate to write a negative review but I feel like prospective renters should have an accurate description of this property. If we had seen this property before renting it, we would not have chosen to stay there. We were very disappointed with the appearance and the lack of maintenance at this property. There was broken furniture, water leaks, exposed pipes, and many surfaces were stained and dirty. We noticed that as soon as we walked in the front door, with the screen hanging loose, a broken table, a dirty front door in need of paint, a large, recent water leak stain on the cushion of an armchair, etc. The mattresses and pillows looked old and stained. The "alcove" advertised for the extra twin bed is nothing but a bed frame with a thin, stained mattress, with paint cans underneath, wedged between the dining room table and a dresser, by the bathroom. The mattresses on the pull-out sofas were so thin and looked so terrible and uncomfortable that we couldn't bring ourselves to use them. Much of the cookware in the kitchen was stained or rusty. A general note, perhaps true of all properties in Edisto, is that the tap water is very salty and completely undrinkable. We had to buy a lot of water for 2 days/3 nights there. The internet did work very well, as did the appliances, which seem new. Edisto is a beautiful area and this home has excellent beach access but it is in need of maintenance/repairs/updating. It has potential but we cannot recommend it in its current state.

  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is very upsetting to see, as this is our very first "negative" review on Edisto M&M. There is some truth in this review, as we did have a very minor leak at a vent in the lower unit was a drip! The house had been vacant for 2 weeks prior to their check in, and it was noticed by housekeeping on her walk through the morning before these guests arrival. The drip was landing onto a cloth wing chair that sat below it. We had our plumber out before they arrived and he repaired the problem. The chair did remain in the house, pushed into a corner, waiting to be steam cleaned next week. One small corner of our screen, on the screen door, does continue to be pushed through. However, it was not that way when these guests arrived. Guests (Children in particular) are pushing on the screen to open the door in lieu of using the handle, and when that is done, that small corner pushes through. It is my guess that one of the several children that were with them, pushed it through. I'm sure they likely didn't notice the children did this, and chalked it up to "our fault". The twin bed that she complains of, is a Army bunk....that was just put there for extra sleeping as is always desired when large families are traveling. It is nothing fancy, as neither are the pull out beds! ARE ANY? We never claim them to be fancy and plush, because sofa beds never are! However, they do provide sleeping for those of us with lots of children and teens.....and for them it works just fine. The best I can chalk this review up to, is guests wanting to pay bottom dollar but expecting to receive top dollar! They slept over 10 guests, at the beach, for a week, during a Holiday-- FOR AROUND $400 RENT!! There are MANY pictures on the listing that accurately show the home. It is an "Older" beach cottage, it is not top of the line everything... But it is clean, it is close to the beach, it is comfortable and very affordable. Also, IT IS MAINTAINED! Not to include... The condition that they left the home in--I am beside myself that they would take the effort to leave a review, good or bad.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 9


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Charleston SC
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Beach
Edisto Beach


Rates & Availability

Edisto Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
May 21 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
July 4th Holiday
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
7 night minimum stay
Summer 2017
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
More Summer Fun
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Thanksgiving Week
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
Christmas & New Year
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 6 2018
5 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Holiday Rates differ, please inquire for accurate rate.

WELL trained pets are welcome, with paid pet fee ($150 per pet).
Linens not included.

Pet fee is $150 per pet. Pets must be well trained.

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing


You might like these similar properties