Located in the Lodge Building of Historic White Pine Camp, a lovingly restored Adirondack Great Camp that was the summer White House of President Calvin Coolidge in 1926.
White Pine Camp was built in 1907 in the tradition of the Adirondack Great Camps - magnificent rustic compounds of comfort built a century ago by the rich and powerful on wilderness estates. The camp offers a year-round restful retreat in unparalleled natural surroundings in a private setting on 35 acres and almost a mile of lakefront on a dead-end road surrounded by state land.
Longfellow cabin is situated about 300 feet from the lake, which is visible through the trees. Living/dining room with small free-standing cast iron woodstove and kitchen. Two bedrooms-one with queen bed, one with two single beds. Full bathroom with shower (no tub). Covered porch overlooking the lake through the trees. Note - Longfellow can be joined with Osgood to sleep 6 in three bedrooms.
The Great Room: The social retreat of an Adirondack Great Camp is the Great Room, a rustically grandiose meeting place for formal and informal activities. White Pine Camp's Great Room is available to guests at all times and provides a comfortable setting with furnishings typical of the era, including stick furniture, leather couches and decorative taxidermy. Firewood in the huge flagstone fireplace is always laid for guests to light at their leisure. Guests may borrow the Great Room's reading materials, board games and puzzles; and those with laptops or smart phones can use the room's Wi-Fi to connect to the Internet. The screened-in front porch offers a pleasant place to sit and enjoy the vista of the property, surrounding forest and Osgood Pond. The Great Room may also host intimate group dinners, corporate meeting or other specialized events.
The Overlook: Under a canopy of cathedral pines and overlooking the Japanese Tea House and Osgood Pond is the Overlook. With its expansive vintage red tile patio, pergola, Adirondack furniture and fire pit, the Overlook is a popular spot for a lunch time picnic, late afternoon cocktails or an evening campfire with s'mores. Most White Pine Camp brides choose the Overlook as the perfect location for a wedding ceremony.
The Bowling Alley: Part of the Addison Mizner architectural design, the bowling alley was added to the game room in 1911. Yes, the set-your-own-pins bowling alley is still functioning and is much enjoyed by guests young and old. It also boasts a large stone fireplace, pool table and intimate 'back porch' with incredible sunset views of Osgood Pond.
Japanese Tea House: Much coveted by the wealthy ladies of the Great Camps was a Japanese Tea House on an island. Olive White, wife of the original owner, was determined to have one as well. Today the Tea House is one of the most sought-after photo subjects in the Adirondacks. Our guests enjoy unlimited use of the Tea House island as a quiet getaway, sunbathing spot or a place for an evening cocktail. Accessing the Tea House entails a pleasant walk across a lagoon over a 300-foot wooden bridge and then a short arched stone bridge. Small weddings are sometimes held at the Tea House.
Beach: Off the Tea House island in Osgood Pond is an expansive, sandy bottomed shallow wading area that gradually deepens for great swimming. Because the lake is a relatively shallow body of water, the water warms quickly, allowing swimming by mid-June and into early September
Boat Houses: White Pine Camp boasts two boat houses. The 'original' boat house is pictured on our signature logo and houses canoes, kayaks and rowboats (as well as required life jackets) for complimentary use by our guests. The original boat house features the slip where President Coolidge's boat, Winkler, was kept during the summer of 1926. A large undercover deck area provides pleasant seating with an extraordinary view of Osgood Pond. The 'new' boat house, or 1926 boat house as it is sometimes called, was built to accommodate the President's stay. Complimentary canoes are available to guests here as well. The large sun-filled deck with Adirondack chairs and spacious interior with wood stove, ping pong table and an exhibit of the camp's history in the 20th century make this facility a popular spot for recreation and social events.
The Tennis House and Tennis Court: The Tennis House is one of the more unusual buildings at White Pine Camp, straddling the ridge overlooking the lake to the rear and the old clay court to the front. The long and narrow building features large folding doors that fully open to the court and floor-length windows that swing open to the rear. Flanking comfortable rattan furniture in the center of the building are a stone fireplace and a bar. The tennis court, originally of imported red English clay, now serves as a location for tented receptions and occasional performances. Common bathrooms are located in the adjacent Tennis Tea House.
The Athletic Field: Nestled in among the tall pines across the lane from the tennis court is a well maintained grassy athletic field with volleyball net, badminton and horseshoe pits. Athletic equipment is provided for these sports as well as croquet.
Alpine Rock Garden: This one-of-a-kind Alpine Rock Garden, designed and built around 1925 by French immigrant and White Pine Camp gardener Fred Heutte, earned a presidential commendation from Calvin Coolidge. The recently restored garden, located along the lane leading to the main compound, features plants reminiscent of gardens in the 1920s.