Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Resort Oceanfront Suite Main Floor

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 0 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio, 1 Bath, Sleeps 2

Come stay in the luxury villas formerly owned by the legendary John McAfee and live like a multi-millionaire! The famous multi-millionaire creator of McAfee Antivirus has led a very interesting life both in the USA and here in Belize and is a very interesting character to say the least, so come and become part of his story by staying in his former home.

Just 4 1/2 miles North of the city, with stunning views of the ocean, this completely renovated suite in the Turtle Cove villas is a wonderful place for your dream vacation. The Barrier Reef that shields the island is just off shore and provides calm waters for you to relax beside or to enjoy the many colorful species of fish just below the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean. The water is very shallow and perfect for swimming in. Sit on the edge of any nearby pier (all piers on Ambergris Caye are public access 6AM to 6PM) and soak up the serene beauty of the crystal clear Caribbean Sea.

This main floor suite has its own porch with a beautiful unobstructed view of the ocean , just steps from the water and is perfect for lazing around and enjoying a morning coffee or a late afternoon nap. Alternatively, you may wander around back to the pool area to enjoy the afternoon sun in any of the beach chairs or take a dip in the fresh water pool. Or you may choose to kick it up a notch and explore all that beautiful Belize has to offer; including, but not limited to, snorkeling, diving the 'Blue Hole', fishing, exploring the many Maya Ruins, cave tubing, or zip lining through the jungle to name a few. We can help you arrange all tours in advance. Please let us know and we would be happy to help.

Each unit comes complete with air conditioning, ceiling fans, hand crafted King size bed with fresh linen, Mahogany hardwood floors throughout, closet with hangers and shelves, security safe (large enough for iPads, 15 inch laptop computers etc.), modern style granite kitchen complete with stainless steel fridge and cooktop, dishes, utensils, pots and pans, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, blender, LED flat screen TV, table, chairs, plenty of books to read and Wi-Fi. There is a modern indoor bathroom complete with sink, toilet, shower and hot and cold running water from our fresh water well. Also, the outside porch has plenty of seating for relaxation.

Things to know about where you are:

The distance from San Pedro Town to the cottages is 4 ½ miles North (about a 1.5 hour romantic walk along the beach) a short bike ride, golf cart ride, or a short boat ride by water taxi. This is a very convenient location for those who wish to explore the city of San Pedro or tour the island. You can also get to this location by golf cart and we can help you arrange a Golf cart rental. Please send us a note to arrange it for you.

Things to bring from home:

Swim trunks, flip fops, snorkel gear, suntan lotion, mosquito repellent and a care free relaxed attitude!

Turtle Cove has an on-site restaurant called John's Escape which offers good food, good friends, and great times.

This peaceful property opens up to miles of beautiful turquoise waters and white sand beach. The climate here is wonderful and the local Belizeans are warm and friendly people. We are certain you will enjoy your stay with us. Don't miss out on this great opportunity to enjoy the beauty of the island!

More Details

Property Manager
Brian
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
February 20, 2018

Amenities

San Pedro Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • 1 King bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Turtle Cove ocean front executive suite
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
TUCSON, AZ
5

Great beachfront property

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Nice boutique hotel right on the beach. Grounds were well maintained with a nice pool. Owner and staff were very helpful and accommodating. Loved our view!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Could not have asked for better service!

  • 5 of 5

The description and pictures on rental websites are exactly what this place is. It is beautiful. The views from the windows and deck are breathtaking. It is a very quaint resort. The bar, Johns Escape, is nice with good food. The customer service from owner, Brian, was awesome. He went above and beyond what I expected. He arranged outings for us and helped out with whatever we needed. I do know that another couple received an all inclusive package. I was unaware there was the option. If I had known I would have choose that option. Make sure you ask about it if interested. We will definitely return to Belize and rent this same room. I highly recommend Turtle Cove Boutique Resort. You will not be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

Many thanks to Brian and Carrie for making our 10 day stay at Ambergris Caye so enjoyable. They are very

"Belize savvy" and gave us great recommendations for things to do and see. The accomodations were exactly as described...waking up each morning to the rising sun is not a bad way to begin the day! We especially liked having the restaurant next door. Cookie would deliver our evening meal straight to our room. The food was more than ample ; it was well prepared and at a reasonable cost. Becca came by regularly to keep the place clean. Everything associated with the property was neat and tidy...but it was the people we met who made ALL the difference. Kudos for making us feel "at home"...we will forever remember your gracious hospitality.

Art & Sue

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacatiin

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time. Brian and Carrie are great and very helpful. Place is well kept, pool refreshing and the views are great

Tim and Julie McCall

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada
1

Wrong Room

  • 1 of 5

I can't give a review of this room as, though we booked and paid for it at the beginning of Dec. for our Honeymoon, when we arrived we were checked into a cabana with no view of the ocean and no explanation as to why we were in that room. We asked what went wrong. There was no apology, only an explanation of "someone else booked at the same time". So, instead of emailing us to ask if we wanted the dimly lit room with no view, they took the unwelcome liberty of thinking we did. They also told us the room was the same price as the beachfront room. Way overpriced. Nothing at all was done to rectify the situation nor did they offer to comp our room for any of our 4 nights. The room had salt and pepper shakers which were empty and there was no coffee. No hooks, side tables, lamps or pictures. No books or games as advertised. It felt as though the room had been thrown together hours before our arrival with the most minimal of utensils and cookware. Instead of a beachfront view for meals, we were closed inside with curtains pulled shut as we were squeezed in right beside 2 other cabanas with views of their living rooms. The bed was the most uncomfortable, hard and squeaky thing we have ever slept in. There is Quite a high cleaning fee which does not include making the bed (as our bed didn't get made once) but sweeping only. Also, this site states town is a romantic 1.5 hour walk from town;the owners said it was a 3 hour walk. There is also construction right beside the cabana. We took the kayak out for a couple of hours and 2 nights later, were brought an invoice for it. By this point we both felt so discouraged and upset by the start of our trip, I requested that in light of the unacknowledged mess up on their part, could that fee (which we weren't aware of) be waived. They agreed. I again, patiently, let them know that though the room was nice and updated, we would not have stayed in that room. Again, nothing was done to turn the situation around. Our honeymoon started the day we checked out of this room and into a beautiful and welcoming place on the South end where we were treated wonderfully. TurtleCove was a truly disappointing experience. One that should have been handled more professionally with the owners communicating their error or offering something to make up for the fact we paid WAY too much for what felt like a hotel room. We have already booked our next Belize trip. Needless to say, this place isn't even on our radar.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that the first few days of your long awaited honeymoon was not as you had hoped they would be. Our vision is that every one of our guests should be treated well, so that they have the holiday of their dreams. Unfortunately we had no idea that your time with us was so disappointing to you. We checked up on your satisfaction with the unit many times (on your arrival, at your complimentary drink and information session, and when we or the housekeeper checked on things with you) but there was no mention that you were unhappy. Clearly there was a communication problem, and we would have made every effort to make things better for you had we known you wanted things changed. From our side of things, in the booking process you ended up with a different unit because the other one was booked from another website at the exact same time. In the rental agreement which you signed, we state that should the property not be available, we will make every effort to provide another unit that equals or exceeds the other property. As the property you had was larger and quieter, and as you accepted the arrangement without comment or complaint, we believe that we met our side of the bargain. Other guests have been very happy with that property, and as you did not say anything, we had no idea there were problems. Regarding your other comments, there is a great deal of building going on nearby however every effort is being made to minimize disruption. Even though you had been previously told about the fee for kayak rental, we agreed as soon as you asked to give you a free rental to make up for you getting a different unit than you expected. Although we cannot recall the conversations you were so disappointed in, we do know that we provided you with a completely redone unit, with a brand new pillow top king sized bed and lovely Belizian Mayan art - admittedly not in every room yet, so stay tuned. Again, we would have changed what we could had we known you were unhappy. We do like our properties treated with respect, though, and we can’t say that you did this. We used more than the cleaning fee you paid to make your unit presentable after you left. Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and would have found you different accommodations with another agent immediately had we known ours was not working for you. We do our best to look after our guests because we are hoping for a great experience for all and many return customers.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
5

Cozy Cove

  • 5 of 5

Our studio apartment was exactly like the photos - very clean, beautiful wood finishing inside, and a deck that looked right out into the ocean. The owners, Brian and Carey, also did not disappoint as they were very welcoming and accommodating, and made our stay that much more enjoyable with their warmth and friendliness. There was construction on two more units at the back of the property which did not bother us from our studio, but made the pool area a little less inviting, which is why I gave the 4 stars for "property." However, when everything is done, likely in the next few weeks, it will be truly be a "boutique resort" as they advertise. Their new restaurant on the property is just opening and adds to the whole experience; also, the food was excellent. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. SNORKELLING, a 10 minute kayak to the reef right in front of the property, was excellent - no need to hire a boat to take you anywhere else, unless you don't want to kayak. You cannot go wrong with this property, it is everything it promises to be.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2015
  • Stayed: February 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees