Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Boutique Resort Oceanfront Suite Main Floor

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 6 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio Executive Suite on beach, freshwater pool, resort, restaurant

Come stay in the luxury villas formerly owned by the legendary John McAfee and live like a multi-millionaire! The famous multi-millionaire creator of McAfee Antivirus designed, built and owned the property that you will be staying in. John has led a very interesting life both in the USA and here in Belize and is a very interesting character to say the least, so come and become part of his story by staying in his former home.

Just 4 1/2 miles North of the city, with stunning views of the ocean, this completely renovated suite in the Turtle Cove villas is a wonderful place for your dream vacation. The Barrier Reef that shields the island is just off shore and provides calm waters for you to relax beside or to enjoy the many colorful species of fish just below the crystal clear waters of the Caribbean. The water is very shallow and perfect for swimming in. Sit on the edge of any nearby pier (all piers on Ambergris Caye are public access 6AM to 6PM) and soak up the serene beauty of the crystal clear Caribbean Sea.

This main floor suite has its own porch with a beautiful unobstructed view of the ocean, just steps from the water and is perfect for lazing around and enjoying a morning coffee or a late afternoon nap. Alternatively, you may wander around back to the pool area to enjoy the afternoon sun in any of the beach chairs or take a dip in the fresh water pool. Or you may choose to kick it up a notch and explore all that beautiful Belize has to offer; including, but not limited to, snorkeling, diving the 'Blue Hole', fishing, exploring the many Maya Ruins, cave tubing, or zip lining through the jungle to name a few. We can help you arrange all tours in advance. Please let us know and we would be happy to help.

Each unit comes complete with air conditioning, 2 ceiling fans, Hand crafted King size bed with fresh linen, Mahogany hardwood floors throughout, closet with hangers and shelves, security safe (large enough for iPads, 15 inch laptop computers etc.), modern style granite kitchen complete with stainless steel fridge and cooktop, dishes, utensils, pots and pans, coffee maker, toaster, microwave, blender, LED flat screen TV, table, chairs, plenty of books to read and Wi-Fi. There is a modern indoor bathroom complete with sink, toilet, shower and hot and cold running water from our fresh water well. Also, the outside porch has plenty of seating for relaxation.

Things to know about where you are:

The distance from San Pedro Town to the cottages is 4 ½ miles North (about a 1.5 hour romantic walk along the beach) a short bike ride, golf cart ride, or a short boat ride by water taxi. The water taxi service is called 'Coastal Express' and operates from 6am - 10:30pm daily. This is very convenient for those who wish to explore the city of San Pedro or tour the island. You can also get to this location by golf cart and we can help you arrange a Golf cart rental. Please send us a note to arrange it for you.

Things to bring from home:

Swim trunks, flip fops, snorkel gear, suntan lotion, mosquito repellent and a care free relaxed attitude!

Turtle Cove now has a new Restaurant and Bar called John's Escape located on-site which offers good food, good friends, and great times.

Notes about the on-site caretaker:

We have an on-site caretaker staying in another smaller cottage at the back of the property. He is your contact to help you with your questions and ensure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible. He is there for your security at night so feel free to contact him at any time. If you have a batch of laundry that needs cleaning be sure to contact your caretaker and he will arrange it with housekeeping. If you are interested in taking a day trip somewhere be sure to ask him that too.

This peaceful property opens up to miles of beautiful turquoise waters and white sand beach. The climate here is wonderful and the local Belizeans are warm and friendly people. We are certain you will enjoy your stay with us. Don't miss out on this great opportunity to enjoy the beauty of the island!

The following units are all on the same property if you are traveling in larger groups:

vrbo 565872

vrbo 565871

vrbo 655318

More Details

Property Manager
Brian
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

Amenities

San Pedro Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Events Allowed
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

Boutique Resort Oceanfront Suite Main Floor
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews
5

Fantastic!!

  • 5 of 5

Many thanks to Brian and Carrie for making our 10 day stay at Ambergris Caye so enjoyable. They are very

"Belize savvy" and gave us great recommendations for things to do and see. The accomodations were exactly as described...waking up each morning to the rising sun is not a bad way to begin the day! We especially liked having the restaurant next door. Cookie would deliver our evening meal straight to our room. The food was more than ample ; it was well prepared and at a reasonable cost. Becca came by regularly to keep the place clean. Everything associated with the property was neat and tidy...but it was the people we met who made ALL the difference. Kudos for making us feel "at home"...we will forever remember your gracious hospitality.

Art & Sue

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacatiin

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time. Brian and Carrie are great and very helpful. Place is well kept, pool refreshing and the views are great

Tim and Julie McCall

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada
1

Wrong Room

  • 1 of 5

I can't give a review of this room as, though we booked and paid for it at the beginning of Dec. for our Honeymoon, when we arrived we were checked into a cabana with no view of the ocean and no explanation as to why we were in that room. We asked what went wrong. There was no apology, only an explanation of "someone else booked at the same time". So, instead of emailing us to ask if we wanted the dimly lit room with no view, they took the unwelcome liberty of thinking we did. They also told us the room was the same price as the beachfront room. Way overpriced. Nothing at all was done to rectify the situation nor did they offer to comp our room for any of our 4 nights. The room had salt and pepper shakers which were empty and there was no coffee. No hooks, side tables, lamps or pictures. No books or games as advertised. It felt as though the room had been thrown together hours before our arrival with the most minimal of utensils and cookware. Instead of a beachfront view for meals, we were closed inside with curtains pulled shut as we were squeezed in right beside 2 other cabanas with views of their living rooms. The bed was the most uncomfortable, hard and squeaky thing we have ever slept in. There is Quite a high cleaning fee which does not include making the bed (as our bed didn't get made once) but sweeping only. Also, this site states town is a romantic 1.5 hour walk from town;the owners said it was a 3 hour walk. There is also construction right beside the cabana. We took the kayak out for a couple of hours and 2 nights later, were brought an invoice for it. By this point we both felt so discouraged and upset by the start of our trip, I requested that in light of the unacknowledged mess up on their part, could that fee (which we weren't aware of) be waived. They agreed. I again, patiently, let them know that though the room was nice and updated, we would not have stayed in that room. Again, nothing was done to turn the situation around. Our honeymoon started the day we checked out of this room and into a beautiful and welcoming place on the South end where we were treated wonderfully. TurtleCove was a truly disappointing experience. One that should have been handled more professionally with the owners communicating their error or offering something to make up for the fact we paid WAY too much for what felt like a hotel room. We have already booked our next Belize trip. Needless to say, this place isn't even on our radar.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that the first few days of your long awaited honeymoon was not as you had hoped they would be. Our vision is that every one of our guests should be treated well, so that they have the holiday of their dreams. Unfortunately we had no idea that your time with us was so disappointing to you. We checked up on your satisfaction with the unit many times (on your arrival, at your complimentary drink and information session, and when we or the housekeeper checked on things with you) but there was no mention that you were unhappy. Clearly there was a communication problem, and we would have made every effort to make things better for you had we known you wanted things changed. From our side of things, in the booking process you ended up with a different unit because the other one was booked from another website at the exact same time. In the rental agreement which you signed, we state that should the property not be available, we will make every effort to provide another unit that equals or exceeds the other property. As the property you had was larger and quieter, and as you accepted the arrangement without comment or complaint, we believe that we met our side of the bargain. Other guests have been very happy with that property, and as you did not say anything, we had no idea there were problems. Regarding your other comments, there is a great deal of building going on nearby however every effort is being made to minimize disruption. Even though you had been previously told about the fee for kayak rental, we agreed as soon as you asked to give you a free rental to make up for you getting a different unit than you expected. Although we cannot recall the conversations you were so disappointed in, we do know that we provided you with a completely redone unit, with a brand new pillow top king sized bed and lovely Belizian Mayan art - admittedly not in every room yet, so stay tuned. Again, we would have changed what we could had we known you were unhappy. We do like our properties treated with respect, though, and we can’t say that you did this. We used more than the cleaning fee you paid to make your unit presentable after you left. Again, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and would have found you different accommodations with another agent immediately had we known ours was not working for you. We do our best to look after our guests because we are hoping for a great experience for all and many return customers.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
5

Cozy Cove

  • 5 of 5

Our studio apartment was exactly like the photos - very clean, beautiful wood finishing inside, and a deck that looked right out into the ocean. The owners, Brian and Carey, also did not disappoint as they were very welcoming and accommodating, and made our stay that much more enjoyable with their warmth and friendliness. There was construction on two more units at the back of the property which did not bother us from our studio, but made the pool area a little less inviting, which is why I gave the 4 stars for "property." However, when everything is done, likely in the next few weeks, it will be truly be a "boutique resort" as they advertise. Their new restaurant on the property is just opening and adds to the whole experience; also, the food was excellent. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. SNORKELLING, a 10 minute kayak to the reef right in front of the property, was excellent - no need to hire a boat to take you anywhere else, unless you don't want to kayak. You cannot go wrong with this property, it is everything it promises to be.

  • Submitted: Mar 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Joliet,Il
5

Turtle cove resort

  • 5 of 5

My favorite vacation ever. Felt like home away from home. Clean, beautiful views, and helpful staff. Kayaks and bicycles were included. The coral reef was a short kayak trip away for snorkeling. Many restaurants within walking distance and a small grocery store too! Cannot wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Liverpool, Texas USA
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Cabana was incredible. The view was breathtaking. I highly recommend this property. You will not find a nicer person on the Island than Brian. He was very helpful and had lots of information on anything we wanted to do. He set up our golf cart and had it delivered to us. He set up our trip to the Mainland to see the Mayan Ruins. He was just all around helpful. Property very well kept. Will be staying there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
5.5 Miles
Tropic Air / Maya Island Air
Nearest Barpub
John's Escape Bar and Grill
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Coastal Express
Nearest Restaurant
John's Escape Bar and Grill
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Out Front
Car: not necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

San Pedro Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
May 6 2017 - Sep 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$190
$1,295
 
 
Fall
Sep 2 2017 - Nov 17 2017
6 night minimum stay
$165
$1,120
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
6 night minimum stay
$210
$1,435
 
 
December
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$180
$1,225
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 17 2017 - Jan 1 2018
6 night minimum stay
$260
$1,785
 
 
January
Jan 2 2018 - Jan 26 2018
4 night minimum stay
$190
$1,295
 
 
High Season
Jan 27 2018 - May 4 2018
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,365
 
 
Summer
May 5 2018 - Sep 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
$195
$1,330
 
 
Fall
Sep 2 2018 - Nov 17 2018
6 night minimum stay
$170
$1,155
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2018 - Nov 25 2018
6 night minimum stay
$215
$1,470
 
 
December
Nov 26 2018 - Dec 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$185
$1,260
 
 
Christmas/New Years
Dec 16 2018 - Jan 1 2019
6 night minimum stay
$265
$1,820
 
 
January
Jan 2 2019 - Jan 25 2019
4 night minimum stay
$195
$1,330
 
 
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
$205
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties