Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Cozy & well-decorated cabin with close beach access and dog friendly!

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, Sleeps 2

This snug Florence vacation rental is perfect for a romantic getaway for two or a solo retreat to the coast. Adorably provincial, this rustic cottage near beautiful Heceta Beach is a quaint little spot to enjoy a relaxing beach vacation year-round.

Beach access at Driftwood Shores Resort, which also includes the Surfside Restaurant, is only one block away. Head down to the shore and fly a kite or watch for whales in the winter and spring. A short and scenic drive south along highway 101, will take you to the stunning Oregon Dunes National Recreation Area. Watch off road vehicles navigate the sweeping dunes, hike around, or capture some amazing photographs to share with your friends.

The interior of the cottage features soothing colors and reclaimed wood accents. This freestanding cabin includes a small sitting area with a rich brown leather couch and a TV with a DVD player. After a day of exploring the nearby ocean shore, you can pop some popcorn and snuggle into the couch for a cozy movie night.

When it's time for a bite to eat, the kitchenette is equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge, and a small dining area - ideal for heating up leftovers, small breakfasts, or enjoying take-out feasts. There's also a coffee maker if you don't feel up to trekking into town for a caffeine fix. A variety of restaurants is at hand in historic Old Town Florence, just a six-mile drive away. Enjoy fish and chips and chowder at Mo's, crab-encrusted halibut at the Waterfront Depot Restaurant, or caesar salads and grilled Coho salmon at La Pomodori Ristorante. There are also a number of galleries to browse, shops to explore, and even the Siuslaw Pioneer Museum for learning about the area's history.

Sleep may be the last thing on your mind during your fun-filled vacation, but if you find yourself nodding off there is a full-sized bed tucked away in a peaceful nook. A small bathroom is just a few steps away with a shower, and a second sink located right outside for added convenience. If the bathroom is occupied by your companion, there'll be no wait to brush your teeth or wash your face at the end of the day!

This charming beach-shack style cottage will comfortably sleep up to two guests, as well as one canine guest (though a nightly fee per dog and a minimum fee per stay will apply). Other amenities include an outdoor fire pit for evenings of roasting marshmallows and making s'mores!

This quintessential cottage offers exactly the low-profile comfort you are looking for when you plan a private and relaxing escape to the South Oregon Coast!

More Details

Property Manager
Vacasa, OR - Oregon Coast Office
-
Member since: 2001
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
August 23, 2017

About Vacasa, OR - Oregon Coast Office

Thanks for considering a Vacasa home! We provide full-service management for privately owned vacation homes, and like to think that we offer our guests the best of both worlds: the unique experience of staying in a one-of-a-kind vacation home, with the peace of mind that comes from knowing that the home you book for your special vacation is cared for by professional housekeepers and property managers.

<br>

<br>

Vacasa began in 2009, simply because our founder and CEO Eric wanted to find a better way to share his wife’s family’s summer home in Long Beach, Washington with guests as a vacation rental. Eric and his early team worked to build Vacasa on the premise that local employees can do what they love most (taking care of guests, homeowners, and properties), while the hands-off tasks of vacation rental management—things like marketing, filing taxes, and maintaining a website—could be handled by a specialized central support team.

<br>

<br>

Our passion is connecting travelers with the unique experience of staying in a vacation home, and we would be honored to be your host. Please contact us with any questions about this home—our team is standing by!

Amenities

Florence Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

56% Complete
13% Complete
13% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
Cozy & well-decorated cabin with close beach access and dog friendly!
average rating of 4.0 based on 23 reviews
5

Quiet, cozy place for 2.

  • 5 of 5

The house was easy to find. The parking was good. It is a short walk to the beach, but not on the beach.

  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute, quaint, and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

This is a great place to unplug, relax, and get away from it all. I was quite comfortable in this little cottage for two nights during a solo road trip up the coast. It did not feel cramped (except in the bathroom) despite its small size. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Be aware that the large house on the propert is also rented out; when I stayed there, a group of 6 young people (early 20's) stayed and got a little noisy in the evenings. Otherwise, this neighborhood is super quiet. Bring socks; the painted concrete floor is not conducive to bare feet. This really is a sweet little cottage; I would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cottage Charmer

  • 5 of 5

We just loved the Fisherman's Cottage! It was a charming little place just perfect for my Son and I.

Everything we needed was so close and yet the cottage was cozy, quiet and pretty. The beach was a short walk away and driving to town or to the Heceta Head Lighthouse was quick.

Our excursions were the Heceta Head Lighthouse, Hobbit Beach, Old Florence, the Museum, fresh crab from the Crab Pot, the Sea Lion Cave, ice cream at BJ's, dinner at Bridgewater, and Homegrown, the bookstore where we purchased books on cds for the drive home, and of course the tide pools near Tokatee Creek, Cape Cove, and walking Heceta Beach. We topped off one day by watching a DVD about Moby Dick on the player at the cottage.

If you are looking for a pretty little place just right for two, on a budget, this is your spot. Just sweep the sand out the door and it's just as cute and tidy as ever.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Rustic hide a way, walking distance to beach.

  • 4 of 5

This small cabin is best for guest that like a primitive atmosphere. I was pretty happy there and would stay again. My friend enjoys more amenities like television. There was a television for playing dvds but no cable. Also, limited mobility might be a challenge. The bathroom is very small with a step up. Overall we both enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

It's Messy, It's Cold, and Spiders OH MY!

  • 2 of 5

Upon arrival you first notice, no cell service. At all. I got there when house cleaning crew was finishing up, she let us in 20 minutes early. We walked in and there was garbage on the floor, garbage stuffed in the coffee pot, and a child's dirty diaper under the bed. Shame on who Ever was there before me, and housekeeping I didn't pay a $70 cleaning fee to arrival to a dirty rental. Dust everywhere to boot. After that, found out there were only plates, no bowls, only coffee cups. No pans for the toaster oven so we couldn't even use it without making a huge mess. Microwave was made in the 60's so be prepared that a plate won't fit in it. If you enjoy the wildlife be prepared for spiders, everywhere. Outside, inside, in your food. So. Many. Spiders. The photos they provide arnt updated, no lawn chairs for fire sitting. Decor inside hasn't changed much. I don't know why so many people said the full bed was soft, it was like sleeping on a brick. NO CELL PHONE SERVICE AND THE WIFI BARELY WORKED! Vacasa you need to install a phone in this unit, it is not safe! What if someone has a medical emergency??? After all these disappointments, here is the good. You are definitely alone, the neighbors never bothered us and I never heard them. There are tons of beaches to visit in Florence, the city is lovely. We went out as much as possible to avoid our cold hobbit hole. If they add a phone line, a rug for that cold concrete floor, proper dishes and cooking equipment I would definitely return. I hope this helps future renters, make sure you bring dvds and games.

  • Submitted: May 24, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Owner's Response: We apologize this guest experienced some disappointments with the home. Our new housekeeper felt rushed due to the guest's early arrival and did not complete cleaning the home. She has been further trained and her performance has improved. Additional bowls, glasses, and a pan have been added to the kitchen. The microwave is from the 90s and functions well. The cabin is routinely sprayed for spiders, lawn chairs have been added, the bed is in great shape, and if you have Verizon you will have a good cell signal. Again, we apologize for the disappointments. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Opportunity for Tiny House Living Exprience

  • 1 of 5

Good for a short stay and quick access to the beach. Plus if you want to disconnect from media, staying here will ensure that goal Can't recommend for over 2 people And a dog. Delightful sun pocket with birds birds birds and a little bench make for lovely, quiet moments right outside door in between storms Note that it is very damp and only has space heaters for warmth You will experience the storms with the steel drum effect of rain on the galvanized roofing and siding. If thinking about tiny house living , this repurposed garage will let you know what is important for you within a day

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking.
Available
Unavailable