Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful mountain home with amazing views

Sleeps16
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5-bedroom, 3-bathroom home with panoramic mountain views

You will love this mountain home overlooking a small lake with amazing mountain views. Its spacious feel is both rustic and modern and it has all the amenities you will need. Easy access from the highway and on paved roads.

On the main level there are 3 bedrooms: 1 with king bed, 2 with queen beds. Downstairs there are 2 bedrooms, 1 with a queen and a full bed and 1 with 4 twins (2 bunk beds) and a crib. Also plenty of space for air mattresses and there is one sleeper sofa.

Although we feel there is adequate space for our family and extended family, we recommend a maximum 10-12 people and that you call the owner to discuss any questions on bed sizes, room layouts, etc. prior to booking.

Minutes from Devil's Thumb Ranch and Snow Mountain Ranch and a short drive to Winter Park Resort and Granby Ranch.

5-bedroom, 3-bath house is set up with a large, open kitchen and two separate living areas. The finished, walk-out basement has a second living room, bar area and pool table. Walk out to a beautiful stone patio with fire pit. Main living room upstairs walks out to a deck with amazing mountain views.

Trails for walking and snowshoeing are right out the back door and around the small lake that the house overlooks.

More Details

Owner
Peter Spina
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 18, 2017

About Peter Spina

We live in Denver and recently purchased this home to be a weekend and vacation get-away for our extended family. This area was appealing for the space, the views and the proximity to multiple downhill and cross country ski resorts plus plenty of hiking and other outdoor activities.

Peter Spina purchased this house in 2012

Why Peter Spina chose Winter Park Area

The location is ideal for those looking for a mountain get-away while avoiding the Summit County traffic and tunnel.

What makes this house unique

Very spacious home, pool table, fenced-in backyard is very pet-friendly, outdoor fire pit, wood-burning fire place. Snowshoe and hiking trails right out the door and around the small lake which the house overlooks. Also a kids playground just a short walk away.

Amenities

Tabernash House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 baby crib , 2 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 double
  • All bedrooms have closets, dressers and nightstands. There is a sleeper sofa in the downstairs family room.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
Notes:
Cell service is very good. Verizon 4G works well. Although there is no WiFi internet service it is recommended that you use a hotspot.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful mountain home with amazing views
average rating of 4.7647057 based on 17 reviews
5

Amazing views, well appointed and the perfect vacation home for large families!

  • 5 of 5

Clean, well appointed property with spacious rooms to support multiple gathering areas. Friendly neighborhood with views overlooking a lake. Great location for both lake and skiing access. Loved our stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your visit to our home and shared the same feelings that we have on the house and the area. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pearland Tx.
5

Nice house in Tabernash.

  • 5 of 5

This house is clean, comfortable and well stocked. The pictures in the listing don't begin to show the awesome views this house has. There was plenty of room for the 11 people in my group. There is grocery stores and restaurants close by and shops for the regular vacation shopping. Horseback riding in the mountains, Zip lines, hiking, Grand Lake where you can rent a boat and Rocky Mountain Park are all less than an hour away. The only con, this is noted in the listing, there is not any Wi-Fi and only 1 Television to watch regular channels. (I know some people that would consider this to be a pro) There is very good cell reception. When you are from Texas it is wonderful to sit in 65 degree dry air in July.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear this feedback, thank you. And the added description of things to do in the area is great info for future guests. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Beautiful but......

  • 2 of 5

First I'll start with the pros. This home is gorgeous. It's a great area, easy to find and the neighbors are awesome. The owners were very easy to work with and were timely and thorough with communications.

Now for the cons... If you are a couples only group, this house isn't for you if you have more than 4 couples. One room is crammed with bunk beds and a crib. There's a sofa couch but that leaves no privacy for one couple. We had 6 couples and made it work but don't know if we would do it again.

If you like to cook, this house may not be for you. Nice kitchen but EVERY time we used the stove, the smoke detectors went off. No there wasn't any smoke but they were that sensitive. We had doors open but that didn't help. We couldn't open windows and I'll get to that in a minute. Another thing about the kitchen, if you are bringing a large group, bring your own big pans. We had to cook stuff in phases because there weren't big enough pots and pans for 12 people.

There are signs/notes/ RULES EVERYWHERE! By the doors, windows, fireplace, etc all telling you what you can't do in the home. Seriously there were so many signs, my husband literally looked for one by the couch to make sure it was ok to sit on. Speaking of the signs and back to cooking, you can't open any windows. (So as the alarms are blaring, there's nothing you can do about it but wait for them to stop.) The windows are either sealed or locked shut. Seems like a fire hazard to me but it was more of a nuisance. Because the windows didn't open, we could never all get comfortable at night in the house. It was too hot up top and the couples downstairs were freezing.

Iron before you go unless you want to create a makeshift stand for the board. It had no legs and the iron was probably older than me.

The TV in the master bedroom only plays DVDs. Just want to throw that out there so you don't think there's Direct TV in there like we did. There's no TV other than that one upstairs at all. So if you want to gather and watch a movie, you have to go downstairs to do so.

Speaking of downstairs, the bedrooms seem to be for children. That was a little scary considering there's a door that leads to outside. If I had children with me, I would make sure an adult was staying downstairs with them.

Now all that being said, again I'll say it's a beautiful home. We've rented several gorgeous homes in the area for our couples getaway and this one is comparable but I don't know that we would rent it again.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback in your review. We take great pride in our home and in the happiness of our guests and we are both sad and sorry that things did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your kind words about the beauty of our home and about our thorough communication. I am very sorry about the rest and would like to address your other comments in hopes that future guests can benefit from this feedback. I just wish you had contacted us if and when you had any problems, we could have helped with management of the temperature of the home, air flow, and other items. To future guests, please feel free to call anytime and I can help address any questions that may not be answered by the information on VRBO. I’ll address each of the other comments below: - Home layout: yes, it is very much set up as a family house. It is described as such on VRBO and the pictures illustrate the set-up of the room with bunks/single beds. Very kid friendly and safe and we strive for that. - We have large groups at the home often and have not heard of any shortage of cookware, but we are very open to suggestions on new items that would improve our guests’ experience. - Windows: We had crank mechanisms replaced in 3 windows recently and they failed again, so we placed notes asking guests not to open just those 3 until we have a chance to solve the problem. Please note that all windows open, none are sealed or locked, but those three can be very hard to close and that is why we ask them not to be opened until the problem is fixed. It will be resolved shortly and there is definitely no fire hazard. - The smoke detectors are in place for the safety of our guests. We are very sorry if they seemed overly sensitive, I can’t speak for what may have happened but would have been happy to help address and fix any issues if we had known about this. - Notes: We do have notes around the home for informational purposes. We don’t mean for them to sound like rules, we just like to make sure people know to open the flu if they light a fire and ask them not to move the pool table (which a guest once did and damaged it). - Heat: This is something we could have helped with if you had called. The heat can be turned on in the lower level to help keep things even, and there are 5 fans in the home to help with air flow upstairs. I believe there were a few unseasonably warm days in July which unfortunately likely contributed to the issue. Thank you again for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The home was lovely and quite comfortable and plenty of space for our family

  • 5 of 5

We became quite spoiled waking up to a scenic surrounding and going to sleep after s'mores by the fire. This vacation came when my entire family was in need of a much needed respite. So many happy memories were shared and the days will be long as we wait to come back for our next family vacation. Many thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this, we are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at our home just as we always do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home with plenty of room

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay! There was plenty of room for all 10 of us (4 adults and 6 kids) and everyone had a wonderful time making memories!

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

We would recommend

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 6.0%

Check in is 4pm and check out is 10am unless otherwise discussed with owner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.