About the property
- House3200 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 3 nights
5-bedroom, 3-bathroom home with panoramic mountain views
You will love this mountain home overlooking a small lake with amazing mountain views. Its spacious feel is both rustic and modern and it has all the amenities you will need. Easy access from the highway and on paved roads.
On the main level there are 3 bedrooms: 1 with king bed, 2 with queen beds. Downstairs there are 2 bedrooms, 1 with a queen and a full bed and 1 with 4 twins (2 bunk beds) and a crib. Also plenty of space for air mattresses and there is one sleeper sofa.
Although we feel there is adequate space for our family and extended family, we recommend a maximum 10-12 people and that you call the owner to discuss any questions on bed sizes, room layouts, etc. prior to booking.
Minutes from Devil's Thumb Ranch and Snow Mountain Ranch and a short drive to Winter Park Resort and Granby Ranch.
5-bedroom, 3-bath house is set up with a large, open kitchen and two separate living areas. The finished, walk-out basement has a second living room, bar area and pool table. Walk out to a beautiful stone patio with fire pit. Main living room upstairs walks out to a deck with amazing mountain views.
Trails for walking and snowshoeing are right out the back door and around the small lake that the house overlooks.
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Apr 08, 2018
About Peter Spina
We live in Denver and recently purchased this home to be a weekend and vacation get-away for our extended family. This area was appealing for the space, the views and the proximity to multiple downhill and cross country ski resorts plus plenty of hiking and other outdoor activities.
Peter Spina purchased this House in 2012
Why Peter Spina chose Tabernash
The location is ideal for those looking for a mountain get-away while avoiding the Summit County traffic and tunnel.
What makes this House unique
Very spacious home, pool table, fenced-in backyard is very pet-friendly, outdoor fire pit, wood-burning fire place. Snowshoe and hiking trails right out the door and around the small lake which the house overlooks. Also a kids playground just a short walk away.
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 10:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.
Wonderful spacious mountain home!
We absolutely loved this gorgeous mountain home! The view of the mountains from the huge glass french doors was amazing. We cooked most of our meals in the very well stocked kitchen and ate at the island and open concept eating area. The ceilings were tall both upstairs and down. Beautiful stonework surrounded the fireplace. The bedrooms were super comfortable. My family enjoyed playing pool and grilling on the back patio. The town of Tabernash was close to Winter Park and Granby Ranch ski resorts where we enjoyed 4 days of skiing. We enjoyed an afternoon tubing in Fraser. I highly recommend this beautiful home.
6 couples stayed at Peter's beautiful home over the Thanksgiving weekend and we can't wait to go back! We loved how much space there was for everyone and different zones between the upstairs and the downstairs to hangout in. All of the beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with everything that we needed to make a big Thanksgiving dinner for 12 people. It was very cozy with 2 indoor fireplaces and an outdoor fire pit. The view is breathtaking! We enjoyed our daily walks around the lake. It's a lovely and very peaceful neighborhood. Winter Park is not too far away but we enjoyed the serenity of the house so much and the ski conditions weren't great that ending up spending a majority of our time relaxing in the comfort of Peter's home. The fenced in yard was a plus for our pups (one of the reasons we chose this place). Peter was great to coordinate with and very responsive. We're looking forward to making memories here again in the near future. Thank you for welcoming us into your home Peter, we didn't want to leave and can't wait to come back!
Great house with the most amazing view.
This house was in a great location right outside of Winter Park. It was perfect size for 12 people had an absolutely stunning view. The owner was super helpful answering any questions that I had and I would highly recommend booking this property!
Nice house in Tabernash.
This house is clean, comfortable and well stocked. The pictures in the listing don't begin to show the awesome views this house has. There was plenty of room for the 11 people in my group. There is grocery stores and restaurants close by and shops for the regular vacation shopping. Horseback riding in the mountains, Zip lines, hiking, Grand Lake where you can rent a boat and Rocky Mountain Park are all less than an hour away. The only con, this is noted in the listing, there is not any Wi-Fi and only 1 Television to watch regular channels. (I know some people that would consider this to be a pro) There is very good cell reception. When you are from Texas it is wonderful to sit in 65 degree dry air in July.
We are so happy to hear this feedback, thank you. And the added description of things to do in the area is great info for future guests. Thank you!
First I'll start with the pros. This home is gorgeous. It's a great area, easy to find and the neighbors are awesome. The owners were very easy to work with and were timely and thorough with communications.
Now for the cons... If you are a couples only group, this house isn't for you if you have more than 4 couples. One room is crammed with bunk beds and a crib. There's a sofa couch but that leaves no privacy for one couple. We had 6 couples and made it work but don't know if we would do it again.
If you like to cook, this house may not be for you. Nice kitchen but EVERY time we used the stove, the smoke detectors went off. No there wasn't any smoke but they were that sensitive. We had doors open but that didn't help. We couldn't open windows and I'll get to that in a minute. Another thing about the kitchen, if you are bringing a large group, bring your own big pans. We had to cook stuff in phases because there weren't big enough pots and pans for 12 people.
There are signs/notes/ RULES EVERYWHERE! By the doors, windows, fireplace, etc all telling you what you can't do in the home. Seriously there were so many signs, my husband literally looked for one by the couch to make sure it was ok to sit on. Speaking of the signs and back to cooking, you can't open any windows. (So as the alarms are blaring, there's nothing you can do about it but wait for them to stop.) The windows are either sealed or locked shut. Seems like a fire hazard to me but it was more of a nuisance. Because the windows didn't open, we could never all get comfortable at night in the house. It was too hot up top and the couples downstairs were freezing.
Iron before you go unless you want to create a makeshift stand for the board. It had no legs and the iron was probably older than me.
The TV in the master bedroom only plays DVDs. Just want to throw that out there so you don't think there's Direct TV in there like we did. There's no TV other than that one upstairs at all. So if you want to gather and watch a movie, you have to go downstairs to do so.
Speaking of downstairs, the bedrooms seem to be for children. That was a little scary considering there's a door that leads to outside. If I had children with me, I would make sure an adult was staying downstairs with them.
Now all that being said, again I'll say it's a beautiful home. We've rented several gorgeous homes in the area for our couples getaway and this one is comparable but I don't know that we would rent it again.
Thank you for the feedback in your review. We take great pride in our home and in the happiness of our guests and we are both sad and sorry that things did not meet your expectations. We do appreciate your kind words about the beauty of our home and about our thorough communication. I am very sorry about the rest and would like to address your other comments in hopes that future guests can benefit from this feedback.
I just wish you had contacted us if and when you had any problems, we could have helped with management of the temperature of the home, air flow, and other items. To future guests, please feel free to call anytime and I can help address any questions that may not be answered by the information on VRBO. I’ll address each of the other comments below:
- Home layout: yes, it is very much set up as a family house. It is described as such on VRBO and the pictures illustrate the set-up of the room with bunks/single beds. Very kid friendly and safe and we strive for that.
- We have large groups at the home often and have not heard of any shortage of cookware, but we are very open to suggestions on new items that would improve our guests’ experience.
- Windows: We had crank mechanisms replaced in 3 windows recently and they failed again, so we placed notes asking guests not to open just those 3 until we have a chance to solve the problem. Please note that all windows open, none are sealed or locked, but those three can be very hard to close and that is why we ask them not to be opened until the problem is fixed. It will be resolved shortly and there is definitely no fire hazard.
- The smoke detectors are in place for the safety of our guests. We are very sorry if they seemed overly sensitive, I can’t speak for what may have happened but would have been happy to help address and fix any issues if we had known about this.
- Notes: We do have notes around the home for informational purposes. We don’t mean for them to sound like rules, we just like to make sure people know to open the flu if they light a fire and ask them not to move the pool table (which a guest once did and damaged it).
- Heat: This is something we could have helped with if you had called. The heat can be turned on in the lower level to help keep things even, and there are 5 fans in the home to help with air flow upstairs. I believe there were a few unseasonably warm days in July which unfortunately likely contributed to the issue.
Thank you again for your feedback.
The home was lovely and quite comfortable and plenty of space for our family
We became quite spoiled waking up to a scenic surrounding and going to sleep after s'mores by the fire. This vacation came when my entire family was in need of a much needed respite. So many happy memories were shared and the days will be long as we wait to come back for our next family vacation. Many thanks!
Thank you for this, we are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time at our home just as we always do.
Additional information about rental rates
Check in is 4pm and check out is 10am unless otherwise discussed with owner.